what kind of world we are having?
doing volunteer @ redhill still need to pay S$20.00
"Habitat for Humanity is recruiting 50 volunteers for Operation Homeworks this Saturday (26th April 2008) and it will be held at Redhill Close. Volunteers will be helping the elderly clean up their 1-room flats (most of which are in rather bad condition because they mostly live alone), so as to improve their living conditions.
Participation cost is S$20/person, which goes to help augment the operational costs. T-shirt, lunch and water will also be provided.
The slots are on a first come first served basis.
If you are interested, please reply to [email protected].
Registration will close latest by this Wednesday (23 April) or when the
slots have been filled up. In your reply, please provide us with the
following details:
Complete name (given name & surname):
Dialect spoken (if any):
T-shirt size:
Dietary requirement (if any):
You will receive a confirmation email with more details if your application is received.
Thank you and blessings.
Habitat for Humanity Singapore
Give them the benifit of the doubt? The organisation need money to operate too... well but ... 2% increase ahem.....
hmmm its just $20 leh
I work in a VWO
a lot of very kind people often not only contribute $$ but also volunteer their time
it is more important to find out exactly what the $20 is for - then determine if it is worthwhile or not than to think that just becos u volunteer its other people's business to come up with the money to cover the costs.
becos a lot of meaningful projects are not able to proceed - not becos not enough volunteers - but becos of not enough money.
Originally posted by cyberr1981:Work for free still have to dao tie?? :O
if you treat volunteering as work, you're not taking it the right way liao.
H4H
they so call build 4 oversea project.
HDB must allow them to build for lower income in Singapore
they charge participating companies & volunteers money in S$
they will collect back foreign country money in their foreign currency.
but they will collect S$ donation,
buy foreign building material in foreign currency, collect back from home owner in foreign currency.
lunch water provided...got t shirt some more...u think these overheads will be borned by them alone meh?
NCSS or IPC directives
donation or fund raising
80/20
20% can be use to off-set admin charges, or cover overhead
80% need to go into benificiary.
what more H4H collecting back foreign money from house builded, where these money?
where exchange gain? collected donation in S$!
buying building material IDR indonesia money? or
buying building material in Thai baht?
cleaning up also involves detergent and other stuff mah... Probably they couldn't find any sponsors...
Come on lah..... consider the $20 as a donation to them.... they need to cover overheads, okay? They give you food, water and a T-shirt.... all that costs money, okay? And we haven't talked about things like transportation and logistics.
After all, don't volunteers for overseas projects have to pay a few hundred dollars for their volunteerism? So how? They should go for free?
If you don't like the idea of paying money to volunteer, then don't volunteer lah! Sheesh!
Redhill area is so call "well taken care off"
they have many senior activity centres, SAC
they have many others "real" volunteer. one of them is so well org, they even did not register themself. yet their operation funds is more them enough.
most needy elderly @ Redhill aware of their present.
and further more
these area has many other program which other area of Singapore did not enjoy.
sheesh... help old folks also so jin jin ji jiao
hmmm... I just realised we can coin up a new abbreviation JJJJ... Hanyu Pinyin got wrong a not ah?
Originally posted by eagle:sheesh... help old folks also so jin jin ji jiao
hmmm... I just realised we can coin up a new abbreviation JJJJ... Hanyu Pinyin got wrong a not ah?
no wrong no wrong.. totally agreed with you. some people.. don't know what's the point of them posting here at all..
donation to them,
better remember to claim IRAS tax return.
donation S$20.00 can claim S$40.00 income tax .
they are using "un-know" or "not aware of people" money.
these money can actually be return to student volunteer
no transport cost involve,
volunteer not = cheap labour
win -win management of volunteer is more importance.
let volunteer later know someone profit making
how will u feel?
Originally posted by zaxis:donation to them,
better remember to claim IRAS tax return.
donation S$20.00 can claim S$40.00 income tax .
they are using "un-know" or "not aware of people" money.
these money can actually be return to student volunteer
no transport cost involve,
volunteer not = cheap labour
win -win management of volunteer is more importance.
let volunteer later know someone profit making
how will u feel?
so you mean that since the people benefiting from the clean homes are the old jobless elderly, they should pay you for rendering your services right?
it's just your own effort that you do for the elderly and not some cheap labour. nobody is forcing you to clean the house like renovating or what. For all you know it could be just simple cleaning. Somemore you won't be asked to one man clean whole house lo.
although there have been shady charities before, but in this instance, you clearly don't understand what does volunteering means at all.
like other forumites said, if you so JJJJ, don't be a volunteer.
not as if ppl force u one.
if dis $20 means so much to u den dun volunteer.
if u leali sincere in volunteering de hua, u wun make a fuss ober dis $20 le.
Originally posted by hisoka:i thinkt he main problem is why got T-shirt one. go volunteer work need T-shirt arh? so if no T-shirt means that the 20 dollars should be down to 15 dollars?
Could be security issue. If not suka suka someone walk into old folks house take things away, you also cannot identify.
Originally posted by cuddles:so you mean that since the people benefiting from the clean homes are the old jobless elderly, they should pay you for rendering your services right?
it's just your own effort that you do for the elderly and not some cheap labour. nobody is forcing you to clean the house like renovating or what. For all you know it could be just simple cleaning. Somemore you won't be asked to one man clean whole house lo.
although there have been shady charities before, but in this instance, you clearly don't understand what does volunteering means at all.
like other forumites said, if you so JJJJ, don't be a volunteer.
yay, a new term, JJJJ, has been coined!
... 'Volunteer', I understand this word...
... pay $20.00 I don't understand this requirement...
... I mean, just announce that a certain number of volunteers are needed and let these volunteers provide for their own refreshments and or meals... why is there a need for $20 to do voluntary work?
... to me it's just an excuse to make money in the guise of helping the poor elderlies...
... when will this kind of crap stop?
Originally posted by eagle:yay, a new term, JJJJ, has been coined!
yeap.. thanks to you!
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... 'Volunteer', I understand this word...
... I mean, just announce that a certain number of volunteers are needed and let these volunteers provide for their own refreshments and or meals... why is there a need for $20 to do voluntary work?
... to me it's just an excuse to make money in the guise of helping the poor elderlies...
firstly, the elderly will probably need to recognise the t shirt to know they're volunteers from the event.
secondly, some people prefer to have food delivered to them while they are doing the cleaning and obviously tired after it, many people wouldn't want to search for food.
it's true they might earn some profit from your 20 dollars. but for all you know, the money could be funds for the next event or even pocket money for some of the elderly.
not forgetting the pails or cleaning agents, are you going to bring that yourself?
Do volunteer as a group/team means the volunteers are well taken care of while they r volunteering to take care of the needy. All those "taken care of" needs $$ wat. It's not like they r forcin u to join to pay the 20 bucks...And they surely did not make any gimmicks to tag on ur heartstrings, thus make u feel more compassionate.
Dun like, then f***off, do ur own volunteering. They are many others who think it's justified & go for it, afterall, it's abt charity. Win-win situations, dun u think?
If not, then u shld try settin up ur own volunteering grp & we shall see how u r goin to do it w/o any financial assistance.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... 'Volunteer', I understand this word...
If they don't provide refreshments, people will complain that the volunteers are not being taken care of.
If they don't provide T-shirts, the volunteers won't have proper identification. You want them to carry cards instead? Oh sure.... printing cards cost money as well. And surely it wouldn't kill to give them something to commemorate their volunteerism.
Like I said..... just take that $20 to be a donation! Even without refreshments and T-shirts, the organization still needs to cover the costs of organizing the event, okay? Transport, logistics, and publicity are all not free! And even if they do have some money left over, what the hell is so wrong with them keeping it for future events, as long as they meet the general guidelines for charities?
Surely the volunteers themselves would bear all that in mind when they give the $20?
I've said it before, and I'll say it again: If you don't like it, then don't volunteer at this organization lah! Sheesh!
this is actually a simple matter: if HfH can account for the $20 legitimately and in a transparent manner, and that it doesn't go to the director's pocket, why are we even having this discussion?