Originally posted by dotaro:Can this activity be done in another way?
Can actually treat it as a gathering. Instead of go chalet, can go help old folks.
1.Those who want to join this volunteering, buy a standard sticker label and write your name and "code-name" to let other members identify and old folks home admin identify.
2. Ask everyone to bring one pail, 2 rags, one pair of plastic gloves. If not, get one person to buy the nessesary, and spilt the bill with a receipt.
3. Ask some of them to bring makan, e,g, fried beehoon, if somebody can volunteer, can add in one luncheon meat or fried chicken wing.
4. Make sure have a list who is confirm coming, at specific time, if 80% confirm coming one has arrived, just go to old folks home, no need to wait.
Of course there are other matters which need some coordination and pre-work.
Those not happy with this arrangement, can no need to volunteer for this outing.
If in the end, only one or two cats turn up, and feel paiseh, never mind, try to organise volunteering outing 2 weeks later, no problem.
Don't worry, no need to pay $20, all base on your own free will. This is just an outing niah.
i guess every charity has its own way of doing things.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:
you just make me feel disgusted here. We are talking about volunteering, not money! The emphasize is on helping the old folks, not talking about why should we pay for all the thing and all sorts of ur rubbish arguments, which in turns pointing back to the government!You think too much about money, and the orgainser has said already, 20 bucks is for ur lunch, water, t-shirt and probably all the detergents and things u need to clean up. i believe the charity itself has to bear some of the expenses inccurred too! Why do u think that by paying 20 bucks, it means the government wont supply and pay for all these?
... ok, money is not the issue here, then do away with that $20.00, period.
... a rich and World Class country like SG, needs so much Charity?
... speaks much of the government we have...
... believe me, I'm more disgusted than you are with me...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... just look at the stupid arguments here...
... government has so much accumulated wealth, collected so much from the people, and people who volunteers to do such work need pay $20 for T-shirts and cleaning detergents???
... doesn't sound all that graceous either...
... we're not talking millions of pooer elderlies, just a small cluster and government won't even supply these and leave it all up to charity orgs???
... stinks to high heavens... !!!
Not easy to approach the pap for any $$$. If they invite people to do so, gotta go thru red tape and wait wait long long. Like bay kum guan help people.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... ok, money is not the issue here, then do away with that $20.00, period.... a rich and World Class country like SG, needs so much Charity?
dun worry, i am more digusted with u, dats my point.
as i said, the 20 bucks is for the purchase of the items dat are essential and required to get things done.
as wad eagle has said, no one denies that the government has no responsibility. Having a rich government doesnt mean you dun need to do charity, right? The US government is also very rich, but the Americans still donate money and lend a helping hand to the needy and poor right?
Originally posted by qlqq9:Not easy to approach the pap for any $$$. If they invite people to do so, gotta go thru red tape and wait wait long long. Like bay kum guan help people.
... the FAP's way of helping people, is the same as telling people to help themselves...
... look at the farking WIS, Annuity Scam, and waht crap they dished out over the years...
... it all boils down to protecting themselves, and avoid paying out people's money to the people whom they forced to safe for old age and so call health care...
... all they care about is their own financial health... the people are left to rot away they don't farking care...!
dun worry, i am more digusted with u, dats my point.as i said, the 20 bucks is for the purchase of the items dat are essential and required to get things done.
as wad eagle has said, no one denies that the government has no responsibility. Having a rich government doesnt mean you dun need to do charity, right? The US government is also very rich, but the Americans still donate money and lend a helping hand to the needy and poor right?
... well, my point is that the government should high time show their bloody worth in Taxes and supply the $20 worth of whatever that's required instead of ALWAY depending on Charity and public donatoins....
... the FAP's way of helping people, is the same as telling people to help themselves...... look at the farking WIS, Annuity Scam, and waht crap they dished out over the years...
... it all boils down to protecting themselves, and avoid paying out people's money to the people whom they forced to safe for old age and so call health care...
... all they care about is their own financial health... the people are left to rot away they don't farking care...!
YOu are right. Most of the time, they are not genuine in helping. As for the case of buying annuity, it is protecting themselves, protecting their asses, they are kiasu, kiasi that the ageing population here have no savings and in time to come gahmen will have to waste money to help them. They are never genuine. Even for the recent giveaway, it is just giving us sweets to please us so that they can take with no limit out of us.
Please vote PAP out.
... recall the MRT suicide case that happened some years ago at Lakeside?
... after the incident was ppublished in the papers, with details of why he killed himself, the public donated hundreds of thousands to deceased wife...
... and guess what? The government has the CHEEK to step in offering to "keep" the large sum of money for her!
... when they were crawling and begging for help, government help was hard get, but when a large sum of money was given to her, the government suddenly is so proactive in helping her "keep" the money for her...
... well, my point is that the government should high time show their bloody worth in Taxes and supply the $20 worth of whatever that's required instead of ALWAY depending on Charity and public donatoins....
i believe that the event was set up by people who truly had to heart and willing to do charity for the needy.
You just cant expect the government to come in everytime right?
i believe also, the government has pumped in money to various charity organisation every year, in terms of billion of dollars. Take note, the Singapore has a lot of charity organisation, not just a handful.
PAP really knows no shame. Why harbour motive to keep this sort of money when the lady needs it most. It is to our shame that we have such low class gahmen pap.
i believe that the event was set up by people who truly had to heart and willing to do charity for the needy.You just cant expect the government to come in everytime right?
i believe also, the government has pumped in money to various charity organisation every year, in terms of billion of dollars. Take note, the Singapore has a lot of charity organisation, not just a handful.
... yah, like NKF (National Kidding Foundation)...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... recall the MRT suicide case that happened some years ago at Lakeside?
... after the incident was ppublished in the papers, with details of why he killed himself, the public donated hundreds of thousands to deceased wife...
... and guess what? The government has the CHEEK to step in offering to "keep" the large sum of money for her!
... when they were crawling and begging for help, government help was hard get, but when a large sum of money was given to her, the government suddenly is so proactive in helping her "keep" the money for her...
The government has to ensure that money are properly given out to those who really needs it. It is not easy to manage so many applications at once, for all u know some pple sure will exploit the system if not carefully managed. I also noe it is not easy to apply for financial assistance, as i myself hav tried to apply, some were successful, some were not because of the different criteria set by different organisation.
As you said, the "government" (I dun think u should use the word government) stepped in and offered, but the she wasnt forced to. That was wad you think, hav the CHEEK, but to me, i think it is nothing much. Not that i am rich, or those "elite"who doesnt care. yup.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... recall the MRT suicide case that happened some years ago at Lakeside?
that is a separate issue. I have to say although your point is correct in a certain manner.. as in govt should do something about all these charities, see what they need, blah blah. but the point is, some people want more money spend on amenities, roads, parks, lifts whatever. Some people don't want a huge percent of of taxes to go into charities. many people want to see progress packages.
how to justify all the budget?
... yah, like NKF (National Kidding Foundation)...
Singapore not only have NKF right? LOL.
Originally posted by qlqq9:PAP really knows no shame. Why harbour motive to keep this sort of money when the lady needs it most. It is to our shame that we have such low class gahmen pap.
Proof?
Proof?
Please ask hyperfocal for it. Trouble?
... ok, money is not the issue here, then do away with that $20.00, period.... a rich and World Class country like SG, needs so much Charity?
Talk so much about the government. Ask yourself, how much have you done for charity, if any at all?
In addition, you are now blaming the government without even securing enough information. It is not like this organisation even went to the government or any GLCs to ask for funds, and got rejected, thus needing to ask for donations from the people.
There are many things you can blame the government for, agreed. But in the case of Charity, every country has people who needs it. It is because of a rich country like SG that the people can afford charity to these poor old folks.
Sheesh, other people want to volunteer their money and services for these old folks, you can also link to the government.
Originally posted by qlqq9:Please ask hyperfocal for it. Trouble?
trouble?
I still think we should not overgeneralise.
I have read many of his post, i dun deny some stuff may be true, but then, nothing is ever certain.
Originally posted by cuddles:that is a separate issue. I have to say although your point is correct in a certain manner.. as in govt should do something about all these charities, see what they need, blah blah. but the point is, some people want more money spend on amenities, roads, parks, lifts whatever. Some people don't want a huge percent of of taxes to go into charities. many people want to see progress packages.
how to justify all the budget?
... their sudden forced implementation of this so called Life Savings scheme, shows their lack of foresight...
... how can a government not forsee a trend of growing aged populace???
... and Singapore is such a small country, why should all that you mentioned about seeing to peoples different requirements and needs be such a daunting tasks? Aren't they the stuff they claim they are made up of?
...budget? What budget? In my opinion, there is NO budget... the budget is for themselves... not us..
Originally posted by eagle:Talk so much about the government. Ask yourself, how much have you done for charity, if any at all?
In addition, you are now blaming the government without even securing enough information. It is not like this organisation even went to the government or any GLCs to ask for funds, and got rejected, thus needing to ask for donations from the people.
There are many things you can blame the government for, agreed. But in the case of Charity, every country has people who needs it. It is because of a rich country like SG that the people can afford charity to these poor old folks.
Sheesh, other people want to volunteer their money and services for these old folks, you can also link to the government.
... I wasn't voted, so I need be concerned about this..
... besides, whether I have or not, I am not obliged to provide proof...
... their sudden forced implementation of this so called Life Savings scheme, shows their lack of foresight...... how can a government not forsee a trend of growing aged populace???
... and Singapore is such a small country, why should all that you mentioned about seeing to peoples different requirements and needs be such a daunting tasks? Aren't they the stuff they claim they are made up of?
...budget? What budget? In my opinion, there is NO budget... the budget is for themselves... not us..
Singapore has way too many people for such a small piece of land. The pursuit of a better life has left the last generation of singaporeans abandon many virtues, filial piety, kindness, and care for society. People work hard and defer marriages, thus the differences between aging and young gets wider.
to add on, with those influx of FTs, competition between locals, drives any young lad or lady to strive harder and neglect love, relationships, friends even more.
Because earth spins and time doesn't stop. Every minute they think of a solution for a problem, it already deviates from the main and branch new problems. Have you not encountered one issue not settled another problem sets in that kind of situation in life?
It's just like any job in life, can never finish solving. Work keeps coming in, what you can do is make do with the choices you can make.
Everyone wants to see a budget for them. Nobody will reject money. The fact is we live here and we have to live with it. Not happy with the system, you can always have the choice to lead an opp party or simply just migrate.
... I wasn't voted, so I need be concerned about this..... besides, whether I have or not, I am not obliged to provide proof...
Wasn't even asking you to provide proof if you have done charity. This shows a lot.
cb lah, kaobei lah.
who's the one volunteerin?
cm lah, the $20 i gib u pay lah!
the tee u can kip, no nit rtrn me.
trouble?I still think we should not overgeneralise.
I have read many of his post, i dun deny some stuff may be true, but then, nothing is ever certain.
OK, you sound reasonable.
aiyah, volunteer work needs resource oso ma.
which is why they only ask for $20 on food n stuff. im sure the organisation subsidise abit too.
volunteer work means to help others as much as possible. im sure u wont want all ur food n resource to come from the organisation, then wad for ask u to help when they got to waste more funds.
want to help then help la, dun want then dun want la..
why doubt here n question there?
and how much can they make from ur mere $20???
-_____-"