Originally posted by zaxis:what kind of T shirt cost S$10.00?
those of youth challenge logo?
youth challenge charge very expensive for their logo T-shirt, which can get cheap double arrow @ S$2.00 each.
lunch S$4.00?
why not they eat those daily free lunch delivered by "Thai hwa kwang"
taste how the elderly needy suffer or enjoy daily!
S$6.00 for cleaning material, admin, overhead.
this part not transparent enough.
smell profit making
they print small quantity lo.. 50 plus pcs only.. could be around 8 bucks liao. seriously, I think surely got buy lunch for the elderly too.. if not they look at you volunteers hungrily eating in their flat and had to cook huh?
like all the arguments before, Cleaning agents, and all the stuff required. I think even if they left over with 1 dollar from your 20 bucks, it's only 50 bucks out of the 50 people. Can just treat the committee members a meal for their organising effort? $6.00 for those cleaning equipment, and etc, why not you try buying a pail lo.. I think easy easy 3 bucks. and are you going to just use one kind of agent to clean everything in the house?
Come on. Profit making, You plan a BBQ with 20 people easily hit 10 bucks already lo. Not to mention 50 people.
so those elderly needy home all do not have any pail?
do volunteer must buy new pail?
I already say there is free lunch provider? why pay more?
S$6.00 is S$300.00 profit,
and T-shirt is H4H logo is that why cost S$10.00,
better buy sarong, elderly needy require them more
Originally posted by zaxis:so those elderly needy home all do not have any pail?
some elderly separate cleaning pails from washing pails. the new pail can be a gift for them? who knows their pail could be leaking and damaged? Free Lunch is calculated inside the $20. just like how can mcdonalds sell you a burger at that price? they also can say free chilli sauce, but the cost are all included lo..
I never seen the t shirt nor the size of the logo, but they charge by colours too. if your logo got a bit of fading/blending/shading, they charge as non standard solid colour kind, so higher price. like I've said, it's only 50pcs. small quantity.
T-shirt, lunch and water will also be provided.
I will be willing to pay then... since these things are offered.
but if NOTHING is offered and they expect 20$, no thanks.
Originally posted by zaxis:so those elderly needy home all do not have any pail?
The solution is simple. You can simply write a letter directly to the organisation to ask for a breakdown of the costs instead of whining here.
so 看�开4 wat.
got balance so wat.
juz treat it as a donation lah.
all organisations nit reserve $ de wat.
Operation Homeworks
PROJECT OBJECTIVES
Operation Homeworks intends to achieve the following aims:
1. Improve SAFETY of the home
For example: provide trunking of electrical wires so that home accidents are reduced due to the improved home conditions.
2. Improve SANITATION of the home
For example: see to the repair of toilet systems and the changing of beds infested with bed-bugs so that the health of the elderly and living conditions can improve as a result of a better and cleaner home environment.
| Examples of Types of Work | |
|
|
![]() Storage |
![]() Removal of Bed Bugs |
![]() Painting |
Originally posted by eagle:Operation Homeworks
PROJECT OBJECTIVES
For example: provide trunking of electrical wires so that home accidents are reduced due to the improved home conditions.
2. Improve SANITATION of the homeFor example: see to the repair of toilet systems and the changing of beds infested with bed-bugs so that the health of the elderly and living conditions can improve as a result of a better and cleaner home environment.
Examples of Types of Work
Cleaning
Storage
Removal of Bed Bugs
Painting
look at that amount of work to be done! man, and I thought it would be some basic cleaning.. like that 20 bucks still buy paint, food, water. Don't need to explain liao right?
Originally posted by cuddles:Right. You increase the amount to attract more people to sign on. how do you justify if the money used in this all Regular force? NSFs are actually a pair of eyes for the general public to deter corruption too.
You sure you can break even? if one NSF pay one month is 500, means that the govt have to tax everyone each month 1k because the 500 didn't include all the logistic, food etc.. Yes. They tax that absurb amount to increase their advertising to attract regulars. Now CPF 20% already you sianz half, next time they take another 20% for National Defence, You like that?
Reservist to you it's like going prison, to some others it could be a breakaway from the mundane working life and catch up with his buddies.
NS training isn't about having a rifle in your closet. Now everyone is trained, they just have to issue you one rifle and you'll be good to go when the time arise.
WAR is not funny. I don't wish to see any conflict or war. All these NS is necessary. without a doubt. I do agree time is wasted, but it is for a noble cause.
"to some others it could be a breakaway from the mundane working life and catch up with his buddies."
Thats you what. Your buddies are the same jailmates from before. Of course if you are a mindless PAP drone, working life IS mundane.
"NS training isn't about having a rifle in your closet. Now everyone is trained, they just have to issue you one rifle and you'll be good to go when the time arise."
Good for you. 1 rifle is enough already. Man I would hate to go to war with this kind of nua fool.
"You sure you can break even? if one NSF pay one month is 500, means that the govt have to tax everyone each month 1k because the 500 didn't include all the logistic, food etc.. Yes."
You fucking idiot. Can you read or not? You are already paying for the training, feeding and paying hundred thousands of NSF for two years + reservist training + overseas - where does the money come from? Singapore is ALREADY paying for the army that it has - the amateur army. Why should there be AN increase in tax if the money used in the NSF army is diverted to a smaller professional fighting force?
"And how do you justify all the parades? NDP, SAF day? rehearsals plus training, means more weekends will be burnt. True, maybe can make it for 1 and half year, but maybe cannot go home on weekends, more confinements. And the facilities are limited too, all the units are queuing to use live range, or those training grounds. Not only NSF using, the NSmen and Regulars also queue for it.
In addition, AHM? Are you expecting soldiers to just run 21km without progressive training?"
Hello when was the last time your unit RUN 21km. I doubt that cuddles was in an active unit because there was a LOT of time wasted. Its not as if during the 2 years you are training all the time. Most of the time you are doing cleaning of some kind. The army is not efficient because it is run by a couple of 20 year old know nothing commissioned NSMen officers. Pray tell what is the use of wayang parades. To instill fear into the hearts of terrorists like MSK.
Originally posted by eagle:Operation Homeworks
PROJECT OBJECTIVES
2. Improve SANITATION of the homeFor example: see to the repair of toilet systems and the changing of beds infested with bed-bugs so that the health of the elderly and living conditions can improve as a result of a better and cleaner home environment.
Examples of Types of Work
Cleaning
Storage
Removal of Bed Bugs
Painting
... the Objectives listed sounds reasonable, and thoughtful...
... but a few questions;
>> WHO does the apartment ultimately belong to?
>> WHO is supposed to ensure structural safety as well as maitenance of electrical networks?
>> WHY are these 'objectives' thrusted onto public and or needy/poor/elderly occupants?
how many unit are ready for new painting?
many of needy elderly do not like the smell of the new paint. in the past experience, most of them prefer other unit of their block unit to be paint.
these elderly needy may be poor, but their self exteem still very high, let other enjoy first.
so far had seen some unit half wall painted. left behind by some "un helpfull enough" volunteer.
new bed, this has been arrange by central singapore community development council, together with sponsor.
I still think lunch can be source from Free provider, such as Singapore Buddhist Lodge,
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"to some others it could be a breakaway from the mundane working life and catch up with his buddies."
Thats you what. Your buddies are the same jailmates from before. Of course if you are a mindless PAP drone, working life IS mundane.
"NS training isn't about having a rifle in your closet. Now everyone is trained, they just have to issue you one rifle and you'll be good to go when the time arise."
Good for you. 1 rifle is enough already. Man I would hate to go to war with this kind of nua fool.
"You sure you can break even? if one NSF pay one month is 500, means that the govt have to tax everyone each month 1k because the 500 didn't include all the logistic, food etc.. Yes."
You fucking idiot. Can you read or not? You are already paying for the training, feeding and paying hundred thousands of NSF for two years + reservist training + overseas - where does the money come from? Singapore is ALREADY paying for the army that it has - the amateur army. Why should there be AN increase in tax if the money used in the NSF army is diverted to a smaller professional fighting force?
"And how do you justify all the parades? NDP, SAF day? rehearsals plus training, means more weekends will be burnt. True, maybe can make it for 1 and half year, but maybe cannot go home on weekends, more confinements. And the facilities are limited too, all the units are queuing to use live range, or those training grounds. Not only NSF using, the NSmen and Regulars also queue for it.
In addition, AHM? Are you expecting soldiers to just run 21km without progressive training?"
Hello when was the last time your unit RUN 21km. I doubt that cuddles was in an active unit because there was a LOT of time wasted. Its not as if during the 2 years you are training all the time. Most of the time you are doing cleaning of some kind. The army is not efficient because it is run by a couple of 20 year old know nothing commissioned NSMen officers. Pray tell what is the use of wayang parades. To instill fear into the hearts of terrorists like MSK.
Mindless PAP drone? I have told you in the first few entry that I'm trying to be objective here. I work for myself, not for the PAP. even if you work in other countries, you also have to pay taxes and etc, doesn't that make you any better? oh yeah that's right, I do have buddies in my same jail. Some friends I made for life. Surely you do have good buddies from the NS days right?
1 rifle and you call people nua fool? how many hands do you have? 10? you can only handle one at a time anyway! all you need are rounds, ammo.
Can you be sure a smaller Professional army can deter threat? If crisis arise, are you just going to be running away with your family? and since you are making it into a smaller professional force, why would I choose to sign on then? you have to increase the perks or whatever benefits will definitely require much more Money. I won't sign on for 500 bucks or 1k lo. and I'm not going to do much calculations either. You live in this country you have to do whatever responsibility as a citizen, go everywhere also the same. If you don't contribute enough to their economy, you think others want you?
FYI, I did ran the 21km during NSF days. I'm not an officer, but from a combat unit. no doubt not all people are required to run that distance as an NSF but many ran at least 10km. You can't deny that shrinking to 1 and half can't justify those combat units who has intensive trainings. I don't know about what unit you're from neither do I want to guess. I don't look down on service/support units because I know everyone suffers no matter in what vocation. It's insensitive of you to say the officers or bash others just because you have never been through what they been through.
seriously, NS is every Man's responsibility. you have served and I respect you for that no matter what vocation you were from. You can take the training in there to cultivate your own mind or you can hate the days in it. which I think you hated it.
I've seen you three people's threads and posts are always against the govt. Why don't you be more objective? Criticise anything and provide justifiable solutions? Not just say, Shrink 1 and half period. Nor, Govt should help period. If you don't mind, why not post the alternate solutions to those that the govt passed down? Like how to solve the Taxi problems, Control the Traffic conjestions.. etc.. It'd be more useful as you will directly benefit from the suggestion.
Like I mentioned, the govt are also human, you can't control what mistakes they will make. Given if it was you, somehow you'll get criticise too. The greatest ability of man is Neng Qu Neng Sheng. Life is never easy, it's what you make do with it. You have 5 bucks you eat 5 bucks, you have 10 bucks you eat 5 bucks you save 5 bucks. You choose whatever you want in your life. That's the only thing you can control.
Originally posted by cuddles:
Mindless PAP drone? I have told you in the first few entry that I'm trying to be objective here. I work for myself, not for the PAP. even if you work in other countries, you also have to pay taxes and etc, doesn't that make you any better? oh yeah that's right, I do have buddies in my same jail. Some friends I made for life. Surely you do have good buddies from the NS days right?1 rifle and you call people nua fool? how many hands do you have? 10? you can only handle one at a time anyway! all you need are rounds, ammo.
Can you be sure a smaller Professional army can deter threat? If crisis arise, are you just going to be running away with your family? and since you are making it into a smaller professional force, why would I choose to sign on then? you have to increase the perks or whatever benefits will definitely require much more Money. I won't sign on for 500 bucks or 1k lo. and I'm not going to do much calculations either. You live in this country you have to do whatever responsibility as a citizen, go everywhere also the same. If you don't contribute enough to their economy, you think others want you?
FYI, I did ran the 21km during NSF days. I'm not an officer, but from a combat unit. no doubt not all people are required to run that distance as an NSF but many ran at least 10km. You can't deny that shrinking to 1 and half can't justify those combat units who has intensive trainings. I don't know about what unit you're from neither do I want to guess. I don't look down on service/support units because I know everyone suffers no matter in what vocation. It's insensitive of you to say the officers or bash others just because you have never been through what they been through.
seriously, NS is every Man's responsibility. you have served and I respect you for that no matter what vocation you were from. You can take the training in there to cultivate your own mind or you can hate the days in it. which I think you hated it.
I've seen you three people's threads and posts are always against the govt. Why don't you be more objective? Criticise anything and provide justifiable solutions? Not just say, Shrink 1 and half period. Nor, Govt should help period. If you don't mind, why not post the alternate solutions to those that the govt passed down? Like how to solve the Taxi problems, Control the Traffic conjestions.. etc.. It'd be more useful as you will directly benefit from the suggestion.
Like I mentioned, the govt are also human, you can't control what mistakes they will make. Given if it was you, somehow you'll get criticise too. The greatest ability of man is Neng Qu Neng Sheng. Life is never easy, it's what you make do with it. You have 5 bucks you eat 5 bucks, you have 10 bucks you eat 5 bucks you save 5 bucks. You choose whatever you want in your life. That's the only thing you can control.
just reading your post, make me think how much do you know the pAp. you think it is so easy like fairy tale huh, when people make good suggestions the bloody pap will listen and do it.
Originally posted by cuddles:
Mindless PAP drone? I have told you in the first few entry that I'm trying to be objective here. I work for myself, not for the PAP. even if you work in other countries, you also have to pay taxes and etc, doesn't that make you any better? oh yeah that's right, I do have buddies in my same jail. Some friends I made for life. Surely you do have good buddies from the NS days right?1 rifle and you call people nua fool? how many hands do you have? 10? you can only handle one at a time anyway! all you need are rounds, ammo.
... Taxes may be HIGHER in other countries, but you WILL get what you pay for...
... here in SG, they now tell us work beyond 85 and save (pay them money) till we die...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... the Objectives listed sounds reasonable, and thoughtful...... but a few questions;
>> WHO is supposed to ensure structural safety as well as maitenance of electrical networks?
>> WHY are these 'objectives' thrusted onto public and or needy/poor/elderly occupants?
You own the house. what do you think? if you repaid your housing loan and someone chase you out because they claim it's theirs, then you come here tell us again.
Structural and Safety Maintanence is subjective, anything that's inside your house, not hidden in the floor or ceiling is your responsibility.
If the govt does everything, what's left for the public to volunteer? If you don't see volunteering as a kind act, just forget it.
Originally posted by zaxis:how many unit are ready for new painting?
many of needy elderly do not like the smell of the new paint. in the past experience, most of them prefer other unit of their block unit to be paint.
these elderly needy may be poor, but their self exteem still very high, let other enjoy first.
so far had seen some unit half wall painted. left behind by some "un helpfull enough" volunteer.
new bed, this has been arrange by central singapore community development council, together with sponsor.
I still think lunch can be source from Free provider, such as Singapore Buddhist Lodge,
Numbers for the needy requiring painting I don't have. IF you have to do spring cleaning and painting in a day, I doubt anybody can finish in a day within a specific time frame.
it's just a couple of needy, do you need to coordinate with another charitable organisation?
Originally posted by qlqq9:just reading your post, make me think how much do you know the pAp. you think it is so easy like fairy tale huh, when people make good suggestions the bloody pap will listen and do it.
I already say, I don't support them neither do I bash them. I just want to see more valid arguments and suggestions than just saying, govt should do this or do that without any justification.
they might listen and they might not. You never know the power of the internet especially sgforums. Good arguments will be supported by the people.
... Taxes may be HIGHER in other countries, but you WILL get what you pay for...... here in SG, they now tell us work beyond 85 and save (pay them money) till we die...
it's true. nobody force you to stay here. IF you not happy with the country, you can always migrate! did anybody chain you down? or are you trying to tell people you're incapable of it?
If you can, go! if you can't, Suck thumb stay and make do!
qlqq is a typical sg whiner who is never satisfied
maybe we can just tell her to migrate
nobody needs a prick like her in sg's society
... the Objectives listed sounds reasonable, and thoughtful...... but a few questions;
Again, by asking these questions, are you to say you will just wait for the government to do it since it doesn't concern you at all?
Again, I will have to remind you that this is a thread on volunteering, nothing on the government at all.
Since you are so bothered having the answers to these questions, let me direct you to this contact.
Mr Tan Chin Siong, Sam – Radin Mas
MP for Tanjong Pagar GRC (Radin Mas)
Address
Blk 70A Redhill Close
#07-01 S(151070)
Day/Time
2nd/4th Friday, 8.00 pm
Telephone
6479 4281
Address
Blk 21 Telok Blangah Crescent #01-52 S(090021)
Day/Time
1st/3rd/5th Friday, 8.00 pm
Telephone
6270 5346
Don't be lazy, go call up and ask. Then post to us what was answered.
Originally posted by zaxis:how many unit are ready for new painting?
Again, you would do better to email HFH and question them instead of just whining here.
But seeing that you have posted here for so long without even bothering, I doubt you have the courage to do so. Thus, I have sent out an email to them on this thread on the $20 required to be paid. Let's wait and see if they will reply my email on the breakdown of the charges.
Originally posted by eagle:Again, you would do better to email HFH and question them instead of just whining here.
But seeing that you have posted here for so long without even bothering, I doubt you have the courage you. Thus, I have sent out an email to them on this thread on the $20 required to be paid. Let's wait and see if they will reply my email on the breakdown of the charges.
wow.. cool man. Do hope they reply.
Extra information on recent goverment intervention
Radin Mas launches Project SWITCH to help needy cope with inflation
why ask them?
strait time or wan bao will be asking them on m behalf。
many other VWO / NPO are shock when they knew about asking money from volunteer.
let them be another NPO with IPC status get check by authority.
or should their IPC status be suspended.
they should be able to be self sustain, with their collection from house build and sold.
Originally posted by zaxis:why ask them?
strait time or wan bao will be asking them on m behalf。
many other VWO / NPO are shock when they knew about asking money from volunteer.
let them be another NPO with IPC status get check by authority.
or should their IPC status be suspended.
they should be able to be self sustain, with their collection from house build and sold.
Perfect example of "waiting for others to do" mentality.