cancell their status
Habitat for Humanity Singapore(HFHSg)
Effective Date : 21/08/2006 to 20/08/2008
stop their IPC staus
Date of Establishment : 01/03/2002
account statement ????
man(boy) inside well
Singapore buddhist lodge has been transfering their excess dry ration donation to other VWO & NPO.
e.g. monthly transfer to one old folk home @ simpang bedok, should be beside bedok south sec school.
even Joo Eng home also share their fresh vegatable with their negibour half way house @ Jalan Kayu
maybe your this lost sheep VWO / NPO is left out, or your org is too rich to always buy new fresh item.
get your VWO/NPO you present serving share your excess good will donation. except $
Originally posted by zaxis:man(boy) inside well
Singapore buddhist lodge has been transfering their excess dry ration donation to other VWO & NPO.
e.g. monthly transfer to one old folk home @ simpang bedok, should be beside bedok south sec school.
even Joo Eng home also share their fresh vegatable with their negibour half way house @ Jalan Kayu
maybe your this lost sheep VWO / NPO is left out, or your org is too rich to always buy new fresh item.
get your VWO/NPO you present serving share your excess good will donation. except $
You have listed 3 examples, but none are ration donations to volunteers. You have in this post compared volunteers with those needy ones.
And you still don't get the point right? The money for food still need to come from somewhere. Just because SBL gives free rations to the needy doesn't mean you should make use of them to get free rations for volunteers. It is also a duh fact that the money used to obtain these free rations come from voluntary donations too. So what, you think it is logical to use money from one volunteer (of money) just to sponsor another volunteer when this volunteer has the means to easily pay for a meal? Do you mean to say you will expect a free meal in return if you volunteer your services?
In short, you are still adamant in transferring monetary responsibilities from one charity organisation to another.
I really wonder about you...
If you do not support paying 'voluntary' organisers with money from donations, then why are you having no qualms at all about 'paying' the volunteers with free rations coming from donated money?
You can't it have both ways.
... this format of paying to do volunteer work is the first time I have ever heard, and neither have those I have consulted over lunch have ever heard of either...
... it is like out of the norm...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... this format of paying to do volunteer work is the first time I have ever heard, and neither have those I have consulted over lunch have ever heard of either...
... it is like out of the norm...
It is a norm in churches you know? They pay for their own transport and trip to overseas just to do charity work. At least that's what I heard from a friend who is christian.
And, HFH is a christian organisation.
Even for sch CCAs, the sum also usually comes from the CCA funds, which are contributed by the CCA members and managed by the treasurer. So this system is already there even for young kids in schools.
Originally posted by eagle:It is a norm in churches you know? They pay for their own transport and trip to overseas just to do charity work. At least that's what I heard from a friend who is christian.
Even for sch CCAs, the sum also usually comes from the CCA funds, which are contributed by the CCA members and managed by the treasurer. So this system is already there even for young kids in schools.
... I don't even want to broach the issue of Religion in this topic...
... but since you mentioned; my aunt does missionary work for a Catholic Church (and I'm Catholic by faith as well) and so far, her travels to places like India and Africa are all self-funded...
... don't ask me my opinion about Christian orgs, I won't be able to provide a favorable reply... I wish to hold my tongue on this...
... I don't even want to broach the issue of Religion in this topic...... but since you mentioned; my aunt does missionary work for a Catholic Church (and I'm Catholic by faith as well) and so far, her travels to places like India and Africa are all self-funded...
... don't ask me my opinion about Christian orgs, I won't be able to give a nice reply... I wish to hold my tongue on this...
no la, not asking for your opinion... just think we can see in their standpoint since their base is christian... and that such types of volunteering are actually around...
anyway, these types of charity work is not targetted at people like you or TS (or poor people like me
)... It is simple mah... Happy and got money then do, not happy or no money then dun do lor... It is not something that we are forced to do; that is why it is called charity or volunteering...
Volunteers should never be asked to contribute monetary sums further for their physical effort. All these cost should be borne by the charity and be made claimable from the government.
Originally posted by eagle:no la, not asking for your opinion... just think we can see in their standpoint since their base is christian... and that such types of volunteering are actually around...
anyway, these types of charity work is not targetted at people like you or TS (or poor people like me
)... It is simple mah... Happy and got money then do, not happy or no money then dun do lor... It is not something that we are forced to do; that is why it is called charity or volunteering...
... well that's their way of doing things charitable..
... but Catholics does it differently... donations and voluntary contributions, are clearly separated... not lumped into one singular event or activity...
Originally posted by shade343:Volunteers should never be asked to contribute monetary sums further for their physical effort. All these cost should be borne by the charity and be made claimable from the government.
... this is exactly my stand point...
Originally posted by eagle:It is a norm in churches you know? They pay for their own transport and trip to overseas just to do charity work. At least that's what I heard from a friend who is christian.
Could you let me know which church is your friend in? =D
Originally posted by shade343:
Could you let me know which church is your friend in? =D
need to ask... she switched church recently, so not very sure now... the event I mentioned was after the switch
... well that's their way of doing things charitable..... but Catholics does it differently... donations and voluntary contributions, are clearly separated... not lumped into one singular event or activity...
I thought you mentioned self funded trips?
Isn't this thread also about self-funding for shirt, food, and accessories?
Originally posted by eagle:I thought you mentioned self funded trips?
Isn't this thread also about self-funding for shirt, food, and accessories?
... as a charity org., it should provide these facilities & refreshments to volunteers...
... as an individual, volunteering to do missionary work, my aunt funded her own travel...
... but this HFH is requiring or asking (whichever it is now I don't know), volunteers to pay an amount in cold cash...
... see the diff?
... as a charity org., it should provide these facilities & refreshments to volunteers...... as an individual, volunteering to do missionary work, my aunt funded her own travel...
... but this HFH is requiring or asking (whichever it is now I don't know), volunteers to pay an amount in cold cash...
... see the diff?
I see your viewpoint, but to me, I still see this as being an individual volunteering to help the old folks, and funding your own clothes, food and accessories. The charity org is merely there to take care of logistics, transportation and ordering of food, and management of the crowd of 50, in addition to making sure that no one is taking advantage of the situation to injure or take away things of the old folks for god knows what reason.
Originally posted by eagle:I see your viewpoint, but to me, I still see this as being an individual volunteering to help the old folks, and funding your own clothes, food and accessories. The charity org is merely there to take care of logistics, transportation and ordering of food, and management of the crowd of 50, in addition to making sure that no one is taking advantage of the situation to injure or take away things of the old folks for god knows what reason.
... I see yours too, and I know I have no right to alter how you percieve the way HFH does things, as much as you could not alter what I deem as norm...
doesn't matter... both of us not going to volunteer for them anyway ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:doesn't matter... both of us not going to volunteer for them anyway
... duh, and we argued with each other for so long over this... ![]()
... duh, and we argued with each other for so long over this...
difference in viewpoints mah...
I hv to say I have learned lots from SC debates here about Singapore and about presenting points. Think it helped when I successfully defended my thesis during Q&A session...
The final test of whether it has helped me will be this coming Tuesday, which will be essay questions on engineering professionalism... a lot of logical answers till there's no right or wrong... as long as you raise points to defend your points... In short, must write rubbish in a logical manner.
Originally posted by eagle:difference in viewpoints mah...
I hv to say I have learned lots from SC debates here about Singapore and about presenting points. Think it helped when I successfully defended my thesis during Q&A session...
The final test of whether it has helped me will be this coming Tuesday, which will be essay questions on engineering professionalism... a lot of logical answers till there's no right or wrong... as long as you raise points to defend your points... In short, must write rubbish in a logical manner.
..LOL..
... this bloody reminds me of FAP - rubbish spoken in logical manner...!!
... here's one all time favorite: "This shouldn't have happened... "
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... here's one all time favorite: "This shouldn't have happened... "
haha best... but dun think I can use that...
Originally posted by eagle:haha best... but dun think I can use that...
... if you want an example to help you argue your way out, go check out the MSK Fiasco COI report..
... WKS can argue till a dead fish comes alive...
... if you want an example to help you argue your way out, go check out the MSK Fiasco COI report..... WKS can argue till a dead fish comes alive...
ya hor... you are damn right... can use his methods although not fully related to the module... Set... I have already downloaded the report... will go reanalyse it