Who changed the title?!?!
Can I call u a parlimentary teaser? LOL
Parliament is a wayang farce (Re: white elephant thread.) In fact these people dont really need to turn up as decisions etc. are not really made there. Show up take your money, shut up and go with the flow
With WKS also the Parliamentary Whip for the Ruling Political Party - and also the Home Minister in the spotlight - it should be obvious to everyone that it is better for these PAP MPs to snooze while they can.
They may already have received an internal paper that will brief them of the report that WKS was making, and had probably speed read the text instead of listening to the aloof WKS reporting as an uninvolved party to this disastrous public relations embarrassment.
LKY coming in late into Parliament was probably after his required afternoon nap - in any case, he need not listen to the ad verbatim report from WKS since LKY would have received the first print of WKS notes and planned speech to be presented in Parliament.
LKY's presence was probably to gauge the intensity of the debate to cruxify WKS and seeing the lame performance of the MPs - comparing to what he would have done in the 1950s if he were in these young MP positions - he left in disgust.
Surely LKY deserves what he had sown, as the system was created by him, those whom he believe were the creme de la creme had been chosen from a tight crop that is seived again and again - all in his image.
The results that he is getting, is from the in-breeding of his own ideas.
Its LKY pulling all the levers so why should any MP do any thinking at all. Its not his ideas that are stale; its his unchecked power that stifles debate.
ok thats just quite sad .
What like tat also can sleep. Pay justify or not.....
Like MM Lee mentioned to the Parliament that this is a classic case of complacency.
He is not far from telling the truth. It refers to those people under him too.
This is singapore parliament okay? You can afford to go to sleep and still remain in your job no matter how many singaporeans protest.
Hello all,
Interesting observation about parliament sessions.
Question is -m why would MPs want to stay awake in parliament when they know all things and matters are mostly predetermined and decided even before parliament meet?
:)
is that blog belong to andrewyap?
its the art of listening... when listening, u close your eyes so there are lesser distractions...
then u start to z..z..Z..
LHL gonna get fined?
Originally posted by wonderamazement:LHL gonna get fined?
... LHL is not gonna get fined, he is always fine in whatever situation...
... quite literally being paid to sleep at work.. really..
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... LHL is not gonna get fined, he is always fine in whatever situation...
ya lor, even if one day lhl become ah qua he will also be fine.
Pls hor, wad iron rice bowl ? the ministers are under contract term of 5 years renewable by the people of singapore. If u ppl dont want to renew oso can, up to u, u decide, we dont force u.
... aiyoo, if you ask me I feel like ending their 'contract' prematurely! ...nnb
ending contract must pay ppl what, wait NTUC protest hor, NTUC fight for workers rights, dont play play
wow liao, in taiwan hor, got 1 minister sleep during P. Meeting and kana jialat jialat....
here how harr
Here nothing.
Here opposition parties are weak, only two MPs in Parliament.
Mainstream media controlled by state, don't have power to criticise ruling PAP.
Taiwan, two strong parties competing for power.
Mainstream media is independent, they have power to criticise state.
Taiwan citizens are politicised due to agitations from mainstream media.
Here, all sleeping, mainstream media spread pro-PAP propaganda.
is our media independent from govt? to what extent. talk in forum no use. the blogger may be bias in the first place....
want to talk , ask the media to do the probing....... its more fair....
anyway, govt must imposed a system of competitiveness and anti complancey system just like a major private company.
Sleeping in parliament, if it is true in the first place, is a no - brainer bad behavior. However, I shall give my benefit of doubt to the PAP first that these sleeping issues are being played out by oppositions.
Originally posted by FireIce:last time i go parliament for attachment i oso see......
alotta interesting things.....
actually when u all bery free u all oso can go see lah...
for the fun or it....
just go lobby exchange IC for pass can go in liao....
oso went before - once. The many, many mata lined up left and right along the corridor leading to the viewing chamber. All staring n one senior mata kaypoh asked for IC n question like "where u from" "what u doing here" "what your purpose here"
It can be a scarry experience with so many mata lining the corridor, all in full combat gear n they were so close because the corridor was long n narrow n all looking or staring at u.
lol~ they can't help it and you shouldnt blame them. have you not seen what goes on in such sessions? SUPER DUPER BORING!!
"anyway, govt must imposed a system of competitiveness and anti complancey system just like a major private company."
Government is NOT a private company, nor is it supposed to be a private company. Board of directors can send proxies you know...