According to this Straits Times forum letter (Wed edition) written by a Peng Jiarong, we are facing a serious threat to national security.
Quote:
"In Britain, the authorities recently warned that security agencies are monitoring about 30 active terrorist cells. I am sure Singapore is nowhere near that situation."
How true! We are definitely nowhere near that situation! While the security agencies in Britain are doing their jobs, what are our ISD and SPF doing?
Busy bullying peaceful protesters and opposition politicians, that's what!
You know what this means fellows? We could have like 30 terrorist cells here and the authorities are not monitoring them because they have 'important' stuff to do, such as bullying peaceful protesters to make sure the PAP stay in power.
Crew
sorly,
i dun buy new paper much.
first of all, we know wong cant sing. Now we know wong cant find too.
how did a former teacher and HR manager rise to become head of MHA?
that man who headhunted wong must have his head examined.
WKS -
We Kant Scrutinize.
Originally posted by Singa Crew:According to this Straits Times forum letter (Wed edition) written by a Peng Jiarong, we are facing a serious threat to national security.
Quote:
"In Britain, the authorities recently warned that security agencies are monitoring about 30 active terrorist cells. I am sure Singapore is nowhere near that situation."
How true! We are definitely nowhere near that situation! While the security agencies in Britain are doing their jobs, what are our ISD and SPF doing?
Busy bullying peaceful protesters and opposition politicians, that's what!
You know what this means fellows? We could have like 30 terrorist cells here and the authorities are not monitoring them because they have 'important' stuff to do, such as bullying peaceful protesters to make sure the PAP stay in power.
Crew
you should have expected this when someone accidentally revealed that he had to "fix the opposition".
He better start fixing himself and his dogs.
His old man will not be around to do the bullying for him.
Without his old man, we shall see whether he is in control or he will turn puppets to his own poodles.
This bunch of poodles are just sleeping and talking rot for millions.
WKS must have stashed a suitcase nuke of PAP nefarious activities somewhere ...
If old man goes, wong can sing must go also. He came in by back door and go out by back door also
Originally posted by googoomuck:first of all, we know wong cant sing. Now we know wong cant find too.
how did a former teacher and HR manager rise to become head of MHA?
that man who headhunted wong must have his head examined.
can lah... as long as u got the correct connection and u know how to say YES SIR!!!
In Britain where basic human rights exists, the authorities can only monitor the terrorist cells until the terrorists decide to do something illegal.
In Singapore, there is no need to monitor the terrorists cells as the ISD can just detain anybody for indefinite amounts of time without any charges.
SO SINGAPOREANS CAN RESTS EASY until if should ISD decide to detain you.
Originally posted by ChiBet:In Britain where basic human rights exists, the authorities can only monitor the terrorist cells until the terrorists decide to do something illegal.
In Singapore, there is no need to monitor the terrorists cells as the ISD can just detain anybody for indefinite amounts of time without any charges.
SO SINGAPOREANS CAN RESTS EASY until if should ISD decide to detain you.
Actually Britain has been using the ISD on Irish terrorists before Singapore was born. Whilst the security agencies in Britain could not prevent and indeed had no hint of the July 7 attacks, Singapore has arrested the JI operatives before they could do any harm. The escape of Mas is due to complacency of the guards and pandering to western ideas of human rights. If Mas had been kept naked and chained by his wrists and ankles, he could not have escaped.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Actually Britain has been using the ISD on Irish terrorists before Singapore was born. Whilst the security agencies in Britain could not prevent and indeed had no hint of the July 7 attacks, Singapore has arrested the JI operatives before they could do any harm. The escape of Mas is due to complacency of the guards and pandering to western ideas of human rights. If Mas had been kept naked and chained by his wrists and ankles, he could not have escaped.
Err cough cough cough he was indeed kept naked and chained by his wrists and ankles when he escaped.
Where's that bloody damn mind reader???? which the regime so fond of using?
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Actually Britain has been using the ISD on Irish terrorists before Singapore was born. Whilst the security agencies in Britain could not prevent and indeed had no hint of the July 7 attacks, Singapore has arrested the JI operatives before they could do any harm. The escape of Mas is due to complacency of the guards and pandering to western ideas of human rights. If Mas had been kept naked and chained by his wrists and ankles, he could not have escaped.
That is exactly the point. ISD in Britain are used againts terrorists but the ISD in Singapore are used againts political opponents. Most of Singapore's ISD detainees(victims) are intellectuals who spoke againts the ruling party's political views. They did not plan to kill or bomb others.
Mas was killed while being tortured. The escape story is just a cover up. If you read the IOC report on his escape, you will realise most of the findings make no sense.
1 - Urinal cubicles with doors? how many urinals you've ever use comes with doors?
2 - Mas took off his pants to use a urinal? do you ever take your pants off completely to use a urinal?
3 - 11 minutes to piss? seriously, would the guards not be suspicious after 2-3 minutes?
4 - urinal cubicle stocked with toilet paper? do you wipe your dick after using a urinal?
5 - in the process of installing security cameras? the detention center has been in operation since the 1980s, so what happen? no security cameras all these time? no guards patroling the premise?
6 - lets look at the timing of his escape, a few hours before his family members are suppose to visit him?
its obviously that they cannot show his dead lifeless body to his family so they cook up this story of his escape.
oxford mushroom, you are not thinking rationally.
When it comes to Tibet, you can argue rationally, but come to PAP regime, all sorts of nonsense and drivel come out from you.
What's with the deal man?
What's this crap about PAP regime?
Originally posted by ChiBet:That is exactly the point. ISD in Britain are used againts terrorists but the ISD in Singapore are used againts political opponents. Most of Singapore's ISD detainees(victims) are intellectuals who spoke againts the ruling party's political views. They did not plan to kill or bomb others.
Mas was killed while being tortured. The escape story is just a cover up. If you read the IOC report on his escape, you will realise most of the findings make no sense.
1 - Urinal cubicles with doors? how many urinals you've ever use comes with doors?
2 - Mas took off his pants to use a urinal? do you ever take your pants off completely to use a urinal?
3 - 11 minutes to piss? seriously, would the guards not be suspicious after 2-3 minutes?
4 - urinal cubicle stocked with toilet paper? do you wipe your dick after using a urinal?
5 - in the process of installing security cameras? the detention center has been in operation since the 1980s, so what happen? no security cameras all these time? no guards patroling the premise?
6 - lets look at the timing of his escape, a few hours before his family members are suppose to visit him?
its obviously that they cannot show his dead lifeless body to his family so they cook up this story of his escape.
Come on! This is Singapore. It is much easier to cover up the story of how a prisoner got killed than it is to cook up a lie of how a disabled prisoner escaped a squad of Gukha guards through window in the toilet within a secure facility. If Mas was killed, just say he tried to attack the guards and he was killed in the struggle. Singaporeans would not have shed a tear and it would have been forgotten the next day.
Originally posted by Singa Crew:Hello Oxford Mushroom,
Just to clear up some misunderstandings in your post.
Singapore authorities did NOT arrest Mas Selamat. He was arrested in Indonesia and handed over to Singapore.
If you are talking about the terrorist threat to blow up one of our MRT stations, that plot was not foiled by our security agencies. The tip-off was given to them by American intelligence.
Pandering to western ideas of human rights? LOL
Yeah right. The ISD are liberals who respect human rights. That’s a good one. You have what it takes to be a comedian (that’s a compliment!). Have you thought about sending this in to www.talkingcock.com?
Don’t give me that ‘due to complacency of the guards’ crap. What are you? A spokeperson for the Ministry? What about the ‘complacency of the Director of ISD’, ‘complacency of the Minister for Home Affairs’ or ‘complacency of the Commissioner of Police’?
Then they released some cock and bull story of a ‘toilet escape’. As ChiBet has pointed out above, the whole COI report is full of holes. Why not just tell us Mas Selamat was abducted by aliens? Singapore has a X-Files fan community, so at least some people would believe their story.
Crew
Still don't know what's your point despite your verbal diarrhoea. First of all, the detention facility is not under the control of the police, it is run by the ISD. That is a far more significant point than your nonsensical nitpicking about whether Mas was arrested at our borders after he was first picked up by the Indonesians. I did not say the Director of ISD is without fault...he is cmplacent as the guards were. They should have kept all prisoners chained to an iron ball.
Originally posted by pearlie27:
Wow, you really send a chill down my spine! Do 1st world nations, which our leaders always claim that we are one, do such thing to their prisoners?
Never heard of Guantanamo Bay? Never heard about how Palestinians are tortured by Mossad? Keeping dangerous prisoners out of circulation is necessary to ensure our economic success as a first world nation.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:oxford mushroom, you are not thinking rationally.
When it comes to Tibet, you can argue rationally, but come to PAP regime, all sorts of nonsense and drivel come out from you.
What's with the deal man?
What's this crap about PAP regime?
Is that all you can say? What's your point? Oops...I guess you have none.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:.... If Mas had been kept naked and chained by his wrists and ankles, he could not have escaped.
you are not thinking logically my fren.
he could still have escaped even in this situation you painted.
here's how.
1. the chain was removed as over time, the guards have trusted mas.
2. he asks to go and pee and says he needs to use his hands.
3. over time, he gained the trust of guards and they let him use his hands and pee and let him close the door.
4. mas is given an open window in the urinal cubicle.
5. mas escapes to the outside of the toilet.
6. mas realised from visitors telling him there is no video surveilance. he runs from toilet to fence or wall or dc perimeter.
7. somehow he knows that no guards will stop him and he climbs out of the wall and is free. also, there are no dogs on patrol or guarding.
perfect scenario for him to escape.
so, what you said sadly, unfortunately, regretably, does not make sense and is unconvincing.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Come on! This is Singapore. It is much easier to cover up the story of how a prisoner got killed than it is to cook up a lie of how a disabled prisoner escaped a squad of Gukha guards through window in the toilet within a secure facility. If Mas was killed, just say he tried to attack the guards and he was killed in the struggle. Singaporeans would not have shed a tear and it would have been forgotten the next day.
You need an open mind my dear fren.
HP has a saying where anything is possiber.
You must think without closing your mind lest your thinking becomes skewed to one direction or ignoring some other possibilities. That may lead you to have biased thinking.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Come on! This is Singapore. It is much easier to cover up the story of how a prisoner got killed than it is to cook up a lie of how a disabled prisoner escaped a squad of Gukha guards through window in the toilet within a secure facility. If Mas was killed, just say he tried to attack the guards and he was killed in the struggle. Singaporeans would not have shed a tear and it would have been forgotten the next day.
Again I agree with you, it would be very easy for Singapore's propaganda media to make up that story but I believe that there still would be repercussions.
the fact remains if the government acknowledge that an unconvicted detainee got killed under ISD care, ISD need to answer to it
Just as the Gestapo is the secret police of the Nazi regime, ISD is the secret police of the PAP regime. torturing detainees is one thing, killing detainees is at a whole new level. Furthermore with ISD's track record, there definately would be people demanding for answers.
You need to know that ISD is mainly used to oppress local political oppositions. let the public know that someone died under ISD detaintion, the public may demand to have the department dissolve. the PAP would lose their secret police. It would be better to cook up the escape story as
1 - convince the public ISD is needed as terrorists are very resourceful. even though ISD made a blunder, it is further proof that PAP need to 'control' Singapore more for its own protection. ISD is as important as ever if not more.
2 - ISD is just trying to rehabilitate 'confused' detainees, they do not threaten/torture/brainwash people
3 - nobody would die under ISD care, people just seem to agree with PAP policies after a stint in ISD detaintion center.
oxford mushroom,
What do you mean by my 'nonsensical nitpicking about whether Mas was arrested at our borders'? You do not think it is important whether our security agencies do their job or let their foreign counterparts do it for them?
As for why I mentioned the Commissioner of Police... Let me quote from an article on the SDP website:
"Likewise, the effective and fail-safe operation of the CCTV system is beyond the control of officers charged with the day-to-day guarding of the detainees.
Similarly, the guards cannot be responsible for
the "cement ledge" that enabled Mr Selamat to climb out of the toilet
or for the positioning of the so-called "weak perimeter fence."
Such
physical structures can only be put in place by planners and
administrators of the Centre. Who in the Singapore Police Force is
responsible for the installation, design or construction of the WRDC's
features?
The Director of the Internal Security Department and his superior the Commissioner of Police, of course."
http://www.yoursdp.org/media-release/30-media-release/411-mr-wong-kan-seng-resign
Someone mentioned on the comments page the Director of ISD do not report to anyone in the Police Force. Be that as it may, let me ask you who is ultimately responsible for police operations to find and capture Mas Selamat after his escape? If not the Commissioner, then who else?
By the way, I don't agree with the 'complacency' bull crap. I say we have a CULTURE OF MISPLACED PRIORITY instead of culture of complacency. Let me show you a classic example:
http://www.yoursdp.org/component/content/article/1-singapore/241-abuse-incompetence-and-arrogance-personified
And who can forget the times when they deployed dozen odd officers against 4 silent protesters in front of the CPF building and several riot vans against Ultraman action figures - yeah those death rays can be deadly. And several dozen officers against Chee Soon Juan and his sister at Speakers Corner. At one point, I counted at least 5 officers surrounding one Chee Siok Chin. The police officers were anything but complacent then.
Oh yeah, on the day of the first Tak Boleh Tahan protest, the police sprung into action just minutes after the protest started. Complacent? No way!
No, it is not a culture of complacency but one of misplaced priority. And that is because public resources are hijacked by the ruling elite for their personal agenda.
There are some questions we should also be asking.
On the day of Mas Selamat's escape and during the ongoing search for him, how many ISD or police officers were deployed to follow members of the SDP around Singapore? And until the order came through to look out for Mas Selamat at the borders, were the custom officers actively looking out for threats to national security or Chee Soon Juan (to see if he tries to leave Singapore for some democracy forums)?
Crew
Originally posted by ChiBet:That is exactly the point. ISD in Britain are used againts terrorists but the ISD in Singapore are used againts political opponents. Most of Singapore's ISD detainees(victims) are intellectuals who spoke againts the ruling party's political views. They did not plan to kill or bomb others.
Wah... Sounds familiar... sounds like a fictional story I wrote on another forum elsewhere. Maybe I should sue someone for using my idea for a novel.
That is nothing but pure conjecture. The probability of this being a scam to cover up MSK's death is even lower than the complacency "theory".
If the ISD wants to cover his death, they can simply say he's locked up and refuse all visitations. Why go through all this BS? You think it doesn't hurt Singapore when Tuas and Woodlands checkpoint gets jammed?
Its not like deploying manpower to search for this guy doesn't have attached costs.