http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/files/130/14480.pdf
Did you beat the official Singapore media in breaking the news ?
What will we do without the internet ?
Yay Sg/Malaysia got possession of a useless resourceless piece of rock.
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Yay Sg/Malaysia got possession of a useless resourceless piece of rock.
Malaysia is just worried that Singapore might reclaim the land around it and start building HDB falts>
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Yay Sg/Malaysia got possession of a useless resourceless piece of rock.
You never see before of course you call it useless. Whoever gains control of this rock will gain control over the shipping lines there, and extend area of control over the sea.
"Whoever gains control of this rock will gain control over the shipping lines there"
Really when ships go into Malaysian/Sg waters have to pay tax? Area of control in what sense - military, political or commercial?
Malaysia’s southern neighbour should not try to lay claim to our fish head curry.
OVER A CUPPA by HOO BAN KHEE
The other night I was watching the Asian Food Channel on Astro, which featured fish head curry in Singapore. Surprise, surprise! Those Singaporeans claimed that they were the ones who came up with the delicacy. What cheek!
My first impulse was to quickly alert owners of my regular Indian and Chinese restaurants that specialise in fish head curry to immediately patent the dish lest they be charged with infringing copyright.
I must say that Malaysians started eating fish head curry long before Singaporeans did. Only we were enjoying it quietly under big banyan trees by the roadside.
It was, of course, a nondescript dish until commercialisation stepped in and some clever cook turned it into something special, which, just like banana leaf curry rice, became very popular with Malaysians of all races.
I hope the delicacy will not end up like Pedra Branca or Pulau Batu Puteh, an island which has become the subject of overlapping claims between Malaysia and Singapore. The case is now being fought in the International Court of Justice in The Hague.
Fish head curry is usually one of the most missed Malaysian dishes whenever we are overseas.
It must be said that it is a genuine Malaysian dish that is not available in India, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan or even Indonesia. Of course, the Singaporeans are good at it also. But as usual, they are just copying and quick at claiming ownership..."
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"Whoever gains control of this rock will gain control over the shipping lines there"
Really when ships go into Malaysian/Sg waters have to pay tax? Area of control in what sense - military, political or commercial?
There's equipments there to monitor the ships.
If it wasnt important to both countries then they wouldnt have brought it up to International court.
I have a a bad feeling that Pedra Branca is going to become Batu Puteh on that day.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Did you beat the official Singapore media in breaking the news ?
What will we do without the internet ?
I thought it was out in yesterday's home page straits times?
anyway get or dun get....will the price of roti or rice go down??......we better worry abt our own stomach 1st...let those paid wif million dollars do their jobs ![]()
There is strategic value actually.
Hope Singapore wins! *Go Singapore,Go Singapore,Go Singapore*
Ha,i dont see any reason to let Malaysian Monkeys have the right over the island ![]()
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:anyway get or dun get....will the price of roti or rice go down??......we better worry abt our own stomach 1st...let those paid wif million dollars do their jobs
if we loose the island... the price of your roti and rice wont go down... it will go up.
Originally posted by ceecookie:Ha,i dont see any reason to let Malaysian Monkeys have the right over the island
i am sure they feel the same way... lets hope it will be settle peacefully... but i will keep my fingers cross...
when it comes to malaysia... when they win... they will accept and take our congratulations... but when they loose... dont be so sure they would be so gracious...
i will be keeping a close eye on them...
Monkeys oso know how to go to court that shows how confident they are after watching several re-runs of 'The Planet of the Apes'
win or lose Singapore would still operate the lighthouse right?
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2008/4/2/lifeliving/20802379&sec=lifeliving
"Dish of acclaim
Malaysia’s southern neighbour should not try to lay claim to our fish head curry.
OVER A CUPPA by HOO BAN KHEE
The other night I was watching the Asian Food Channel on Astro, which featured fish head curry in Singapore. Surprise, surprise! Those Singaporeans claimed that they were the ones who came up with the delicacy. What cheek!
My first impulse was to quickly alert owners of my regular Indian and Chinese restaurants that specialise in fish head curry to immediately patent the dish lest they be charged with infringing copyright.
I must say that Malaysians started eating fish head curry long before Singaporeans did. Only we were enjoying it quietly under big banyan trees by the roadside.
It was, of course, a nondescript dish until commercialisation stepped in and some clever cook turned it into something special, which, just like banana leaf curry rice, became very popular with Malaysians of all races.
I hope the delicacy will not end up like Pedra Branca or Pulau Batu Puteh, an island which has become the subject of overlapping claims between Malaysia and Singapore. The case is now being fought in the International Court of Justice in The Hague.
Fish head curry is usually one of the most missed Malaysian dishes whenever we are overseas.
It must be said that it is a genuine Malaysian dish that is not available in India, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan or even Indonesia. Of course, the Singaporeans are good at it also. But as usual, they are just copying and quick at claiming ownership..."
and wat is the name of the creator of this famous dish? tunku fish brain? tan sri fish maw? datuk fish tail or encik fish bone?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:win or lose Singapore would still operate the lighthouse right?
i believe i read somewhere that....
1... if we dont own the island... we wont operate the lighthouse.
2... if we loose the island... we must be prepared to loose every island including singapore to our neighbours...(this part i dont really understand...).
Originally posted by tripwire:i believe i read somewhere that....
1... if we dont own the island... we wont operate the lighthouse.
2... if we loose the island... we must be prepared to loose every island including singapore to our neighbours...(this part i dont really understand...).
Who said those poetic words? But I tell you Singapore would really be Tulan if they cant win the case
If S'pore were to get Pedra Branca from ICJ this May..... PM Badawi is in for a tough fight..... Dr M will surely point this out as a sign that PM Badawi is unable to protect Malaysia's Sovereignty.
Originally posted by hloc:If S'pore were to get Pedra Branca from ICJ this May..... PM Badawi is in for a tough fight..... Dr M will surely point this out as a sign that PM Badawi is unable to protect Malaysia's Sovereignty.
it doesnt matter... election is already over...