JC in general is a more tightly controlled and regulated institution.
Poly is less so.
If you are someone who is highly motivated to achieve an educational goal, then Poly life is no problem.
But if you lack discipline and is not motivated, than JC is better as the tight rules and pressure created in this institution will force you to achieve(for most of us).
cos if you don't do well in jc, you are stuck in no where...
you do well in poly, you still can advance to u. you don't, you still get a cert that job worthy...
For poly grad with GPA of 3.3 the chances is slim to get a place in NUS, unless you have exceptional performance in your CCA (e.g. President of Student Union or Singapore Sport Representative and etc). Speaking from the point of been there (NUS) and done it with my poly background, I would honestly advice the currently poly undergrad to read up more and more as the competition has defintely intensified due to high influx of scholar from ASEAN countries.
As I am from engineering dept, I could only have speak for those who are intending to take up engineering course in NUS after graduating from poly. For chemical eng, during my intake, theres only ONE student selected from all four polys to secure a place for himself in NUS chem eng.
The competition is tough for all Eng course as we the poly student, lacks the fundamental theories of maths and physics. Those taught in poly were insufficient as they were meant not to intrigue concept and application thinking. As soon as you face up to this fact, the sooner you can plan out what you ought to do to prevent pitfall. I have seen top poly grad (In dean's list) dropping out from NUS after the 2nd semester. The reasons as far as I know was because he had failed two core modules and his CAP is below 2.0 (CAP below 2.0 will receive a warning from the registar office of undergrad).
Take care and plan ahead.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:cos if you don't do well in jc, you are stuck in no where...
you do well in poly, you still can advance to u. you don't, you still get a cert that job worthy...
Not true. If you don't do well in JC, you can go to Poly. ![]()
Thats what one of my course mates did. From JC (Crap results) to Poly (good results) to Uni.
Originally posted by Shotgun:
Not true. If you don't do well in JC, you can go to Poly.Thats what one of my course mates did. From JC (Crap results) to Poly (good results) to Uni.
are you implying JC crap teaching method resulting in crap results, Poly good teaching methods resulting in good results?
Looking at the variables, teaching method is the only difference. If your course mate is crap, he would be crap no matter where he is.
His must be a case of good/average student faced with crappy teaching method at JC and normal/good teaching methods at a Poly.
Just wondering, is he a JC or Poly course mate to you?
It is my opinion that JCs are robots factories for Singapore's work industry.
If this is a school project, I would suggest
1 - school project for a JC student - find good points for JC and be a JC proponent
2 - school project for a Poly student - find good points for Poly and be a Poly proponent
3 - school project for a Uni student - both JC and Poly sucks - find good points for Uni and be a Uni proponent + make comments like people should go Uni after 'O' levels to bypass sucky JC and Poly
As if you are in a JC but argue that Poly is better, your friends would surely kick your ass + your JC teachers would not like the comment that JC have crappy teaching methods
One qns... Then if GPA 2.0 and win goal medal at the olympics also can get into NUS is it?
squeezing just one more student in because damn zai in sports is not a big matter at all to NUS, unless the student wants to go into medicine or law or business...
then again, get gold medal already get damn lots of money... can easily afford an overseas uni education
Originally posted by eagle:squeezing just one more student in because damn zai in sports is not a big matter at all to NUS, unless the student wants to go into medicine or law or business...
then again, get gold medal already get damn lots of money... can easily afford an overseas uni education
win gold for olympics get so much money meh? I thought at most 20K... How to study overseas?
Originally posted by White_SoulReaper:win gold for olympics get so much money meh? I thought at most 20K... How to study overseas?
A Singaporean can actually become an instant millionaire by winning an Olympic gold medal (SEA Games: S$10,000).
http://www.littlespeck.com/content/sport/CTrendsSports-080106.htm
Originally posted by eagle:A Singaporean can actually become an instant millionaire by winning an Olympic gold medal (SEA Games: S$10,000).
who will be paying for these rewards? tax payers money?
thanks for the article... I read it up...
Originally posted by eagle:A Singaporean can actually become an instant millionaire by winning an Olympic gold medal (SEA Games: S$10,000).
-edit: double posts-
gahmen pay lor
can attract 'world class' athletes to take up citizenship mah
Originally posted by ChiBet:
are you implying JC crap teaching method resulting in crap results, Poly good teaching methods resulting in good results?Looking at the variables, teaching method is the only difference. If your course mate is crap, he would be crap no matter where he is.
His must be a case of good/average student faced with crappy teaching method at JC and normal/good teaching methods at a Poly.
your ability to infer is incredible..
You guys are awesome. Im wondering though how this topic changed to olympics "gratitude to the person". So what are some other factors which affect our decisions when we were secondary students to choose poly over jc? Anything which comes into your minds. Leave the dirty stuff out though. And yes, chio bu has been said many times so hope it won't appear yet again. Thanks for the effort.
Originally posted by purpledragon84:your ability to infer is incredible..
thank you
JC doesnt have crap teaching techniques. With an average ratio of 20 students to 1 teacher, the students have a great amount of opportunities to interact with the teachers and the teachers get to know the students' ability very well. In fact, in JC, spoon-feeding is still quite rampant and if you really do work hard, think hard (working hard alone is not enough if you dont think hard), you will probably do well for your exams.
In contrast, poly and uni's lecturers usually leave a student to "die". If you want to study, go ahead. If you dont, its okay. You might still pass anyway since poly and unis dont really dare to fail students in singapore.
A student who did well at tertiary level is usually one who has cleared out his thoughts and decided to be serious with his studies and his life.
thank you
Originally posted by weewee:JC doesnt have crap teaching techniques. With an average ratio of 20 students to 1 teacher, the students have a great amount of opportunities to interact with the teachers and the teachers get to know the students' ability very well. In fact, in JC, spoon-feeding is still quite rampant and if you really do work hard, think hard (working hard alone is not enough if you dont think hard), you will probably do well for your exams.
In contrast, poly and uni's lecturers usually leave a student to "die". If you want to study, go ahead. If you dont, its okay. You might still pass anyway since poly and unis dont really dare to fail students in singapore.
A student who did well at tertiary level is usually one who has cleared out his thoughts and decided to be serious with his studies and his life.
not true... the polys does track students attendance record from wat I've heard simply because of student's age
Originally posted by Jet81:For poly grad with GPA of 3.3 the chances is slim to get a place in NUS, unless you have exceptional performance in your CCA (e.g. President of Student Union or Singapore Sport Representative and etc). Speaking from the point of been there (NUS) and done it with my poly background, I would honestly advice the currently poly undergrad to read up more and more as the competition has defintely intensified due to high influx of scholar from ASEAN countries.
As I am from engineering dept, I could only have speak for those who are intending to take up engineering course in NUS after graduating from poly. For chemical eng, during my intake, theres only ONE student selected from all four polys to secure a place for himself in NUS chem eng.
The competition is tough for all Eng course as we the poly student, lacks the fundamental theories of maths and physics. Those taught in poly were insufficient as they were meant not to intrigue concept and application thinking. As soon as you face up to this fact, the sooner you can plan out what you ought to do to prevent pitfall. I have seen top poly grad (In dean's list) dropping out from NUS after the 2nd semester. The reasons as far as I know was because he had failed two core modules and his CAP is below 2.0 (CAP below 2.0 will receive a warning from the registar office of undergrad).
Take care and plan ahead.
not true it all depends on popularity
in fact NTU is more oversubscribed by poly grads than NUS
Originally posted by gorby107:I am now currently studying in Ngee Ann Poly taking the course of International Supply Chain Management. Before that in my secondary school days, I have the interest of joining Aviation Management (Temasek Poly) as I like the working environment over at Changi Airport(but don't know for the inside)lol , interested in aviation etc... But this course was hot and the cut off point was low. This made me to search for other courses that I may have interest in by going for open house and consultation from the lecturers, seniors, relatives, family members and also looking at the course modules. From there, managed to find out a few that interest me.
During the PAE period, I decided to give JC a try and chose Innova JC. I found out that it does not suit me as it will be rushing for me and unable to cope well. At the later part saw my friends blog(those who are in JC) ranting on their life in JC being hectic and tiring...
Now in Poly, there are two scenarios that I can be, I can be either the slack one or be those hardworking one. If I am the slack one, I may not score well for my GPA as thus waiting my parents money and effort as they might need to send me to overseas if I want to continue to pursue in my studies. If I am the hardworking one, I can score well get into a local university or maybe get scholarships. But seriously, I am not ambitious now. lol
In Poly, I also able to mix around with students of different ages(some of the age gap may be huge) and also different races and nationalities to understand more of them. This will help me to get ready when I am out in the society or even when studying in University in the future.
To those who are deciding which path to go to, perhaps hunt for a poly course that you are interested in by going for the poly open houses and ask for consultation not only from them but others also(like family, relatives etc...) If the PAE still exists and one is able to meet the criteria, no harm going for a few weeks to try out the JC system. From there make a gauge for yourself and see where do u want to go next?
From what I think, JC is more conservative while Poly is more liberal and open that is why there will be a difference in behaviour when the two groups study in University(like what some forumers have mentioned earlier on)
I'm another person that has transfered from JC to poly. My JC is too far for me to keep up with the school work, but if I have the chance to do ok in JC, I would have remained there.
JC students are conservative in WHAT ways exactly? Almost half of the people I've met in poly don't give a damn about politics and etc. Hell, if you are studying in things like engineering and etc in poly, you don't even have a chance to touch on any sort of politics and etc. How often do you see anyone in poly reading newspapers and be interested in political news?
I also depends on the JC you are in, some JC can be VERY VERY dead (depends on how many muggers you have in school that will hardly join the class for any activities and etc), while other JC can be very much alive and etc. JC is those schools where it is tough for a shorter time period, but after that, you can really sort of take a rest and etc. My experience in JC has been a rather fun one at times, much more fun that JC because you can really have the chance to know almost EVERYONE in JC. And please, other than knowing your class and your CCA group, do you even have the chance to really meet people from other schools and courses?
Poly don't really give you the chance to do so.
And while JC is rather hectic, it's also in a good way as compared to poly at times. Poly in my opinion, is WAAY too easy. This sort of makes poly boring.
I fall asleep in JC because it's too tiring at times, while I fall asleep during poly because it's too boring( school work) .
Add in the fact that more and more people are going into poly with the intention of going to uni...those with diploma holders only are going to have a harder time finding jobs...if government is interested in hiring more foreign talents ( and please, stop complaining about singapore having so many foreign talent when we don't even have enough talent to compete with them so to speak. ) Moreover, stop thinking that stopping globalisation is even going to work...
Sure, ensure no foreign talents is coming here just because we need to keep all the jobs to singaporeans. and thus causing us to lose our competitive spirit. Then economies starts to falter, and those that complain about FT still can't get any job.
You know, I doubt those people who complain about foreign talent taking thier jobs can match the talents of the foreigners so to speak.
No matter how early or late it is, it's always better to get a degree. Some people on the forum should stop being conservative...if people are saying diploma is all that is needed....then have you realised that last time, people can easily find jobs with a 'O' Level cert?
Now, the same type of jobs requires a degree!
No matter where you go, it's still going to be the same, people are required to have a higher degree just to get the job. US for example is also like singapore, where every parents wants their child to go to a university. Fate isn't kind to everyone, so those who can study better all the way can usually get a better job than someone with a lower cert.
Same as those with high IQ having a high EQ as well.
Well, basically, singapore's poly cultures needs to change. We need to ensure that our poly can match head on with other countries universities. Make poly harder so to speak.
Take germany for example, their diploma cert is baiscally singpaore's Master degree level in educations. That is how the ensure they can easily be better than singapore.
Make poly more like JC, while making JC more like poly.
A balance so to speak.
are you implying JC crap teaching method resulting in crap results, Poly good teaching methods resulting in good results?Looking at the variables, teaching method is the only difference. If your course mate is crap, he would be crap no matter where he is.
I did not comment on teaching techniques of JC n Poly. Hence, I was NOT drawing a corelation between the results and the teaching techniques.
All I simply meant was, she got crap results in JC, and went on to Poly and did well.
The objective of that was to illustrate that JC students CAN go to Poly and do well despite having performed poorly in JC. So the notion that JC is a dead end road if one does not do well, does not stand.
Inference is best made after thorough reading.
Originally posted by Shotgun:I did not comment on teaching techniques of JC n Poly. Hence, I was NOT drawing a corelation between the results and the teaching techniques.
All I simply meant was, she got crap results in JC, and went on to Poly and did well.
The objective of that was to illustrate that JC students CAN go to Poly and do well despite having performed poorly in JC. So the notion that JC is a dead end road if one does not do well, does not stand.
Inference is best made after thorough reading.
ok noted. anyways i just enjoy twisting people's words
i also do not believe in dead end roads, even if a person were to do very badly academically, they could still be a success as artists / musicians or even just a farmer.
alot of people talk about thinking outside the box but it is my opinion that the more highly educated a person is, the more he confine himself into a box as he is conditioned to response to certain situations a certain way instead of thinking up solutions by himself
To say higher education caps creativity itself is thought thats confined in a box. Confined response are fine. Why re-invent the wheel? If a solution is readily available and feasible, why not?
An analogy was told of NASA's requirement of a pen that could write on paper surfaces in zero gravity where normal ball point pens fail. Many prototype designs were proposed. The simplest answer came from one that reccommended the Pencil.
I figured "Pencil" was a creative response. It didn't re-invent the wheel, but it was out of the box thinking IMO.
Just as beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, creativity is recognized by those in the box.
I'm another person that has transfered from JC to poly. My JC is too far for me to keep up with the school work, but if I have the chance to do ok in JC, I would have remained there.
That is just an excuse
I took between 1.5 hrs to 2 hrs to travel to JC last time.