Best example of Singapore's so called FT policy:
Import FT athletes still cannot capture high ranking tournaments in badminton and table tennis. Unlike Malaysian LOCAL born squash queen WORLD no 1 (2006-2007, 2007-current) Nicol David and badminton queen Wong Mei Chew who beat ALL OF THE CHINA's A TEAM Top Three IN CHINA 2007. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wong_Mew_Choo).
Why dont lure these TRULY Top Talents from up North and offer them the super salaries the Ministers command instead. They can be considered as WORLD-Class.
Wong Mei Chew must be FT too according to some people's warped idea of citizenship. (UMNO and PAP. {because our ancestors came from other countries too wat.})
Better still one of the FT Table Tennis Balek Kampung back to China.
Because doing that will simply worsen the bilateral ties? If we have never carried China's balls to such extent, we couldn't dream of getting their second-rate players even.
its a free world... we are not north koreans...
we welcome those who want to be with us... even if they were born on the moon.
we do not welcome those who betray us.. even if they are born locally with a long lineage of local ancestry.
holding the pink IC dont make you singaporeans... even if you are born on our soil.
only you and your heart knows if you are singaporean.
"we do not welcome those who betray us.."
Like the PAP ministers with their high pays and dogs. I agree.
Too bad the WORLD class atheltes DONT want to be with Singapore. Why leh? Also the FT table Tennis Balek Kampung was welcome too with open arms. Did the government ban said FT from entering Singapore again to show their displeasure? Of course not.
"we couldn't dream of getting their second-rate players even."
Actually would be THIRD or Fourth Team. But you dont import a whole lot of them for them NOT to win. Otherwise why bother? Can stick with the local team which I would be happy to support even if they dont win.
The logical thing that should be done instead was to woo the FT top Coaches instead...but what to do?
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:"we do not welcome those who betray us.."
Like the PAP ministers with their high pays and dogs. I agree.
Too bad the WORLD class atheltes DONT want to be with Singapore. Why leh? Also the FT table Tennis Balek Kampung was welcome too with open arms. Did the government ban said FT from entering Singapore again to show their displeasure? Of course not.
how does high pay equal betrayal?
you need to have your warp brain checked... by your definition.. every leaders is a traitor... every rich man a criminal.. only you the most holy... dont make me puke.
Not if they dont do their jobs, shirk their responbilities, and bring in a bunch of foreigners masquerading as "Singaporeans" who are even MORE disloyal but pays lip service to these "leaders".
You love putting words into peoples mouths dont you dog?
Can't help it...
This is Singapore's International Team
punt intended
remember...it's ok to steal or cheat a few millions provided u earned a few more billions....that's loyalty to your country *look at sky* ![]()
Problem is THEY didnt "earned a few more billions" and in some cases lose money. It was the foreign thinktanks/CEOS etc that did that for them.
exactly mah.....heads roll....FT heads that is
so still got gd & bad
No problem with the FT (SIA Malaysian CEO) that made such contribution - but are they paid as handsomely as the jokers?
I would like to know what is the current SIA CEO etc Singapore FT CEOs are being paid...In fact if THEY (the FEW FT, out of the many, who made the billions) want to replace the jokers I have no problem either. At the very least, you have a track record in the (semi)private sector.
I am still fundamentally opposed to state capitalism though and majority of PAP's FT policy is as above-mentioned athletes...
Like I said I would rather offer at least the Minister of Sport's salary to Nicol Davids and Wong Mew Choo to be Singapore FT...
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Not if they dont do their jobs, shirk their responbilities, and bring in a bunch of foreigners masquerading as "Singaporeans" who are even MORE disloyal but pays lip service to these "leaders".
You love putting words into peoples mouths dont you dog?
dont be silly potato head...
you are just grumpy that you not among them... if you are... you would be no better then them... so stop riding on your moral high horse ass and get back down on earth and realise you are no more or less human as they are.
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:remember...it's ok to steal or cheat a few millions provided u earned a few more billions....that's loyalty to your country *look at sky*
i really having a hard time understanding your ang mo... what do you mean its ok to steal as long as you make more in return?
its their salary.. if you dont like the billions they make.. you can kick them out and save your million dollar.... that would be equal to throwing out the baby with its bath water... aint that smart !
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Problem is THEY didnt "earned a few more billions" and in some cases lose money. It was the foreign thinktanks/CEOS etc that did that for them.
there are NO sure win formulae and sure make money method in this world...
any donkey brain who believe there is... must be brain dead.....
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:No problem with the FT (SIA Malaysian CEO) that made such contribution - but are they paid as handsomely as the jokers?
I would like to know what is the current SIA CEO etc Singapore FT CEOs are being paid...In fact if THEY (the FEW FT, out of the many, who made the billions) want to replace the jokers I have no problem either. At the very least, you have a track record in the (semi)private sector.
I am still fundamentally opposed to state capitalism though and majority of PAP's FT policy is as above-mentioned athletes...
Like I said I would rather offer at least the Minister of Sport's salary to Nicol Davids and Wong Mew Choo to be Singapore FT...
they are no buddha.... and dont even for one moment think that they would be just as capable in a different environment or line of work.
SIA success aint just because of him alone... but the thoudsands of dedicated workers serving under him...
a general/leader is only as good as the troops that serves him.....
very simple, just "buy" all the champions to represent Singapore and we will definitely win.
To be on the safe side, "buy" the runner-up and 2nd runner-up too.
Hey Wong Mew Choo beat all China's top 3 IN China ok, so buy top 3 does mean will sure win. If thats not overcoming the odds, I dont know what is.
Then buy ALL the athletes, so the other countries can only get "new bird" to compete. Like that, sure win. ![]()
Originally posted by Uncle Ver SG:Hey Wong Mew Choo beat all China's top 3 IN China ok, so buy top 3 does mean will sure win. If thats not overcoming the odds, I dont know what is.
Mew Choo is not all conquering. She lacked consistency at the world level. The Chinese are still too strong for her.
However, being born and groomed in Malaysia, I think she's pretty darn good.
FT sportsmen is not all that bad. Malaysia also took in some China athletes, but because the money is not as attractive, they are not as good or prominant. Countries like US, France, etc. also have foreigner representing their countries like badminton and table tennis. However, they are not showered with monetary incentives. Singapore's must ranked as one of the very best in terms of rewarding its elite athletes.
Outside of sailing and bowling, Singapore is over-represented by these so-called FTs. In football, at least half of the 1st 11 is not Singaporean. It is no wonder I don't even watch the national team play on telly, let alone troop down to the stadium. Just like everything else, Singapore tries to buy success, even in sports when LKY effectively killed the Singapore sports soul in the 70's by overemphasizing the `sports for all' culture instead of `sports excellence'. Is it any wonder that Singapore is now trying to catch up of lost grounds since there is economic benefits to be gained?
You just have to looked at the athletes who left after they have either proven to be successful or otherwise. The much louded brazilian, egmar gonzales, ripped up his singapore passport after his used by dates nears. he realized he cannot milk anymore monies in singapore after his playing days. he's now happily settled back home. for the rest who are less successful, like the much publicised discuss thrower fiasco, those left after they are proven to be dud. the jury is still out there for people like li jiawei. i won't bet against her returning to china with her $millions when she retires. there's nothing in it for her. shanghai is a better shopping paradize to suit her insatiable habit to shop.
the singapore methods of using money to buy success in sports overwhelmingly cast long shadows over whether these foreign sportsmen do it for the country or for their own pockets.
"Singapore's must ranked as one of the very best in terms of rewarding its elite athletes."
Non commercial you mean. "Elite athletes" lol. More importantly other countries dont import as MANY as Singapore.
"Mew Choo is not all conquering. She lacked consistency at the world level. The Chinese are still too strong for her."
True but what she had done is truly amazing in 2007. Can you imagine going to China (home crowd advantage) and beating ALL three of their best players (which also be the worlds' top 3)?
To me, it would be like Singapore Football Team go to England and beat Chelsea, Man U and Arsenal. Unprecedented and nearly impossible. But SHE did it. Its a WORLD class great accomplishment even if it is for 1 tournament.
Nicol David is more consistent - shes been WORLD number one for some time now (with a break in between).
I am sorry if I am not politically correct, but I dont consider bowling and snooker "sports". (Something that requires cardiovascular effort is my defintion of a sport)