the ironic thing is who's the approving body. why apply? might as well just announce. if can abolish the approving body, we don't need, i rather have the money saved and take it as the hike for all i care.
the PTC..
or something like that...
last time they can rubber stamp coz inside that bloody council got SMRT and SBST people.. then kena kowpeh that where got like that one?
so they got their asses kicked off the council.. but the rest of the council.. also the same type of people one...
i mean, these are all "elite" do don't even know what the inside of a bus or train looks like...
jus ask who bought or own shares of SMRT
Originally posted by eagle:I should consider buying a bicycle and cycle to work
Only about 5 MRT stops
cycling is best, weather aside.
i contemplated cycling to work once a week earlier this year but abandoned it after studying the traffic condition of the route. the distance from my home to office is not exactly near, 30km(i reckon i can do it within 70-75mins) but my better half has violent objections.
if i were you, if it is 5 mrt stops, it is a no brainer....i'd buy myself a great looking hybrid ($1-2k) and cycle on...
Originally posted by the Bear:the PTC..
or something like that...
last time they can rubber stamp coz inside that bloody council got SMRT and SBST people.. then kena kowpeh that where got like that one?
so they got their asses kicked off the council.. but the rest of the council.. also the same type of people one...
i mean, these are all "elite" do don't even know what the inside of a bus or train looks like...
The chief of SMRT once said about driving her Mercedes (and I quote):
'If I can't drive what I like, why do I bother to work so hard?'
Source: The Straits Times
If she ever rode on an SMRT bus to work.... dollars to donuts say that she'd be shocked at the musty atmosphere, dust-laden seats, and battered seat backs.
Originally posted by fudgester:The chief of SMRT once said about driving her Mercedes (and I quote):
'If I can't drive what I like, why do I bother to work so hard?'
Source: The Straits Times
If she ever rode on an SMRT bus to work.... dollars to donuts say that she'd be shocked at the musty atmosphere, dust-laden seats, and battered seat backs.
this quote from her, when i read, i damn `too lan'.
but then again, what do you expect from a 50+ year old butch who got no life? the mercedes g-tronic 5litre beast is her passport to net the girls.
Originally posted by redDUST:cycling is best, weather aside.
i contemplated cycling to work once a week earlier this year but abandoned it after studying the traffic condition of the route. the distance from my home to office is not exactly near, 30km(i reckon i can do it within 70-75mins) but my better half has violent objections.
if i were you, if it is 5 mrt stops, it is a no brainer....i'd buy myself a great looking hybrid ($1-2k) and cycle on...
Yep, but my parents would violently forbid it :(
I rather the great workout every morning actually... Sigh...
Originally posted by eagle:Yep, but my parents would violently forbid it :(
I rather the great workout every morning actually... Sigh...
what if anything happen to u then how?
Originally posted by bryanw:
what if anything happen to u then how?
how can it ever be more dangerous to cycle than to walk on the same pavement for pedestrians?
Originally posted by eagle:how can it ever be more dangerous to cycle than to walk on the same pavement for pedestrians?
its sometimes difficult to cycle on the pavement so your parents most likely will assume u cycling on the road and when that happens its a worry. furthermore just imagine if u cycle on the pavement then must navigate your way thru c ppl walk slowly or block yr way must ring bell. then they dont want 2 siam, u cut onto the grass. worse got dog shit on the grass yr tyre smelly. or worse the ppl hear yr bell c u coming they panic scared u knock them down they move onto the grass then step on dog shit sure take the shoe throw at u.
I been cycling to work for 1-2 years. If you keep to the extreme left of the road and observe traffic rules, it is actually quite safe to cycle.
Sometimes I feel like challenging the notion of "going" to work. Here we have a work force that has so much access to IT, and a state of the art telecommunications backbone, but people are still unable to work from home.
Of course, this doesn't apply across the board. But imagine if all those who didn't need to be physically at work in order work, just stop doing so, how much savings they'd have in terms of transport costs.
Sigh. IT Hub... yeah.
Originally posted by 333225520:I been cycling to work for 1-2 years. If you keep to the extreme left of the road and observe traffic rules, it is actually quite safe to cycle.
for me even if i keep to the extreme left of the road, i dont feel safe cos my back is facing the traffic. oh yes it was reported in the papers a cyclist was cycling on the pavement and he knocked a woman carrying her baby or something. the poor baby had bruises. what made it worse the cyclist didnt stop to render assistance. ppl started to question shld cyclists b cycling on the pavement.
Originally posted by bryanw:
for me even if i keep to the extreme left of the road, i dont feel safe cos my back is facing the traffic. oh yes it was reported in the papers a cyclist was cycling on the pavement and he knocked a woman carrying her baby or something. the poor baby had bruises. what made it worse the cyclist didnt stop to render assistance. ppl started to question shld cyclists b cycling on the pavement.
no choice... gahmen raise erp, companies raise transport fares...
cycling become cheapest... Now I considering whether to cycle to the nearest MRT also... since I already planning to walk there in the morning... Got stands to lock the bicycles there....
Originally posted by eagle:no choice... gahmen raise erp, companies raise transport fares...
cycling become cheapest... Now I considering whether to cycle to the nearest MRT also... since I already planning to walk there in the morning... Got stands to lock the bicycles there....
last time in my camp got this plump officer cycle every morning frm his hse in AMK to camp in CCK. very impressive. he said good workout traffic early morning 5am plus rather light. got paper report about this guy also cycle to somewhere then he lock his bicycle, have a bath then catch the train to work at Raffles Pl. forgot where that place is.
... mudder farkers...
... nuf said...!
we got euro IV bus ok? they need money to pay for the euro IV diesel buses leh! (knn all rubbish)
This is the reason why government agencies should not be privatise. a public transport provider's main aim should be providing affordable transport for the masses and encourage reductions to private transports to manage the nation's traffic conditions. They should not only be looking at the profit margin.
a recent check shows that the cost of taking public transport is comparable to buying a car albeit a cheap model.
Singapore is the only country where the public transport is making money instead of getting financial assistance from the state.
I am sure all of you are so proud to have a world class public transport system that is milking its users dry.
No surprise lah. Everything right after the sicko lhl gives away "sweets" there comes fares hike and many other hikes from the greedy insatiable for money PAP. So what's so great about lhl giving away the "sweets", for this I guess he is doing so to shut people's mouth.
Vote the PAP out, people.
Originally posted by ChiBet:This is the reason why government agencies should not be privatise. a public transport provider's main aim should be providing affordable transport for the masses and encourage reductions to private transports to manage the nation's traffic conditions. They should not only be looking at the profit margin.
a recent check shows that the cost of taking public transport is comparable to buying a car albeit a cheap model.
Singapore is the only country where the public transport is making money instead of getting financial assistance from the state.
I am sure all of you are so proud to have a world class public transport system that is milking its users dry.
its not even world class.
Originally posted by ChiBet:This is the reason why government agencies should not be privatise. a public transport provider's main aim should be providing affordable transport for the masses and encourage reductions to private transports to manage the nation's traffic conditions. They should not only be looking at the profit margin.
the claim they have to be accountable to the shareholders. as such, we know gahmen run the public transport companies as business. As long as PAP rules, there is not going to be any positive change that will benefit the commuters.
Not surprising, this is singapore standard, everything must up and up, what thing can come down , govt just don't bother, just push to so called private companies. They will sure mention, cost of fuel increase, operating cost increase, blah blah blah
It is time for PAP rule over Singapore to come to an end.
If PAP continues to rule, the entire state might become demoralised and people will emigrate.
PAP, it is time to go.
That will happen when Lee Kuan Yew dies.
I agree with Nepal's maoists:
But Prachanda stressed that the Maoists did not believe in a one-party state.
He said they had concluded that "multi-partyism is a must, even in socialism" and that without competition, a vibrant society could not be created.
The Maoists have said time and again that such pluralism is necessary.
Another senior Maoist leader, CP Gajurel, recently told the BBC that communism had failed in other countries precisely because it did not allow competition, adding that it would be normal for the party to lose some elections, then come back to win others.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7382830.stm
PAP's rule must end in 2011.
Singaporeans have wasted enough time with them already.
They have to go.
There is no other way.
cant stand it anymore
everywhere hike
and the best excuse--inflation la, gas hike la, oil hike la
fcuk u la PAP everyday hike things
GST from 3% become 7%
PAP muz end
No more one party state in singapore
No more one party state in Singapore.
PAP go now.