Originally posted by freedom4ever:time to get a bicycle. if work place is near, cycle to work. and also avoid unnecessary travelling.
Better ride all you want now.
Soon, they will be asking people to have licenses (only $15 excluding 7% GST) before they can ride a bicycle.
Or maybe start paying ERP charges.
Their philosophy: If it moves, it can be taxed.
Adults who cannot afford the fare might start using concession cards illegally and in the end, SMRT will lose even more money.
Originally posted by charlize:
Better ride all you want now.
Soon, they will be asking people to have licenses (only $15 excluding 7% GST) before they can ride a bicycle.
Or maybe start paying ERP charges.
Their philosophy: If it moves, it can be taxed.
nonsense!
coz even if it doesn't move, it can be taxed... and they will when they figure out a way to do so
Originally posted by bryanw:oh last time in sec school forgot to buy bus stamp for the mth so use child transitlink card i always punch the min. 60 cents i think. then hope wont get caught. quite thrilling.
Haha. Miss those days of transitlink card with the red machine.
Working from home would be easier. Save money on transport! Damn, bus fares used to be 60 cents in coins years back!
Why more trains during lunch time? Isn't it more important to have more trains during the morning and evening peak hour?! So bleedy dumb lah. Morning peak hour wait from Tampines to Pasir Ris can go up to 10 minutes! From Tampines to Boon Lay, wait 4-6 minutes already very good. Train arrives from Pasir Ris already no seats left. Before they announced more trains, there were at least available seats at Tampines!
Also I wonder what kind of counting system they use! The counter can flash that the train is coming in 1 min but 2 mins later, no train and the sign still says 1 min! This is professional world class transport system? Not to mention, more breakdowns or delays recently. I have encountered 3 incidents recently.
All this talk about more trains and shorter waiting time is just their bleedy ploy to increase the fare. And lower their bleedy standard.
Someone please bring in the HOT Small Car from India please, so that all of us can own one...cost a few thousands in india....dream on...
SMRT Train fare calculations left me puzzled
http://hongjun.blogspot.com/2008/05/smrt-train-fair-structure-leaves-me.html
http://hongjun.blogspot.com/2008/06/smrt-finally-replied-after-6-days.html
Cheers
hongjun
Originally posted by adetet:
Also I wonder what kind of counting system they use! The counter can flash that the train is coming in 1 min but 2 mins later, no train and the sign still says 1 min! This is professional world class transport system? Not to mention, more breakdowns or delays recently. I have encountered 3 incidents recently.
for me is opposite leh..
i outside the station, they put 4min..
i walk take one escalator down the underground and up again to the control there, they say 2 min..
i take the escalator up to the platform, the train go off liao..
and i counted it.. it was only 2 min from when i saw the 4min sign..
wah liao everything increase. pay no increase.
today eat bak chor mee already cost me 3.50. nb
Originally posted by hon chun:SMRT Train fare calculations left me puzzled
http://hongjun.blogspot.com/2008/05/smrt-train-fair-structure-leaves-me.html
http://hongjun.blogspot.com/2008/06/smrt-finally-replied-after-6-days.html
Cheers
hongjun
... Singapore Power's 'calculations' LAGI puzzling ah...!
... there should also be an organization for the public to Apply to Stay SMRT's Fares based on service standards & efficiency ...
... then we can read artciles like 'Public Applies to Stay SMRT's Fares for One Year Citing Frequent Delays & Cramped Peak Hour Conditions'...
Originally posted by the Bear:nonsense!
coz even if it doesn't move, it can be taxed... and they will when they figure out a way to do so
My bad.
Just like TV licenses, you might not have a TV but you still need to pay for the license.
My bad.
The "honorable" PM will not give you money for no reason.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:The "honorable" PM will not give you money for no reason.
Indeed.
Btw Thailand government is reducing the Public Transport by 25% to encourage more people to use public transport.
Our dear government may go the other way. Increase the fare!!! wat e hack are these elites thinking?
Originally posted by Spartans:
Indeed.Btw Thailand government is reducing the Public Transport by 25% to encourage more people to use public transport.
Our dear government may go the other way. Increase the fare!!! wat e hack are these elites thinking?
OUr beloved PAP keeps encouraging people to take the public transport. And their wish is granted. These days almost every hour every minute you see more people than before taking MRT. One reason why there is an increase is because many don't want take taxi unnecessary because of the high fare.
If there is increase in business in MRT it is not justifiable the PAP increase fares.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Haha. Miss those days of transitlink card with the red machine.
i think most ppl just punch in the min amt.
Hike, hike, hike.
this is what we will get when we allow puublic transport system to get listed!!
efficiency, transparency,? well.. you be my judge now.
Originally posted by Spartans:
Indeed.Btw Thailand government is reducing the Public Transport by 25% to encourage more people to use public transport.
our dear govt also increase the price of ERP which i think this is to encourage people to take public transports. but then at the same time they also increase the fare of public transports. so you have to choose which one is cheaper of the two. Even if the fare cost $3 a ride you also lan lan have to take cost it is still better and cheaper than owning a car with the forever increasing number and price of ERP or even taking a cab.
oh ya, the 66.6% doesn't seem to mind the increase also.
Originally posted by pearlie27:Our ministers always say that welfare will not work. i would like to tell them that people won’t need welfare if the prices of necessity don’t keep increasing.
sometimes i wonder how come they cannot reduce their salaries by 50% to help reduce the inflation rate. dun tell me they cant survive when the TV say that singaporean can survive with 1k a month salaries. or is that a lie?
Originally posted by freedom4ever:sometimes i wonder how come they cannot reduce their salaries by 50% to help reduce the inflation rate. dun tell me they cant survive when the TV say that singaporean can survive with 1k a month salaries. or is that a lie?
I don't understand,
I remembered reading the Straits Times mentioning that on SMRT increasing their no of train rides. SMRT mentioned that they will not pass on the extra cost to the commuters.(few weeks or months back)
So what is going on?
The media is cooking up a story?
Or SMRT is confusing us?
Originally posted by gorby107:I don't understand,
I remembered reading the Straits Times mentioning that on SMRT increasing their no of train rides. SMRT mentioned that they will not pass on the extra cost to the commuters.(few weeks or months back)
So what is going on?
The media is cooking up a story?
Or SMRT is confusing us?
but they never tell you they wont pass the increasing price of crude oil to you.