Should all Singapore students be made to study at least one foreign language?
just looking at the proficiency of English, it would seem like it is some kind of foreign language to a huge percentage of Singaporeans..
p.s. what language does the TS think is relevant?
Originally posted by the Bear:just looking at the proficiency of English, it would seem like it is some kind of foreign language to a huge percentage of Singaporeans..
p.s. what language does the TS think is relevant?
Even if they are proficient in English , they flounder at their mother tongue
actually, i think Singaporeans are very very proficient in FOUL language ![]()
suggest for singaporeans to take up tibetian since they are 'afraid' that the tibetian culture/language might disappear
Originally posted by ChiBet:suggest for singaporeans to take up tibetian since they are 'afraid' that the tibetian culture/language might disappear
it will eventually...
too many PRCs infesting the world, too many belligerent pro-PRC people who cannot see that PRC will eventually destroy the world with their short-sighted and idiotic policies..
so.. the pragmatic thing would be to learn Mandarin?
but screw that..
Tibetan culture isn't the first which the communists destroyed.. and it won't be the last...
Mother tongue also cannot speak properly, corrupted by angmoh language, still want to corrupt somemore.
If u really want to learn, it is never too late to learn
Make it compulsory, in the end maybe even harder to be proficient in even one...
There's always lots of time wasted that we can use for learning, i.e. during train rides or while waiting for buses or trains. If during each of these time periods you learn 2 phrases/vocab, you would have picked up lots.
the subjects i did well in are not forced upon me.
English, mother tongue also cannot speak properly liao. Still want to learn a foreign language meh ![]()
Originally posted by Mimmy:English, mother tongue also cannot speak properly liao. Still want to learn a foreign language meh
want ![]()
Aiming to learn Malay one day too ![]()
oredi have liao mah -- english
some ppl dun even speak own mother tongue well.... still want to go learn other ppl's language... buey paiseh ah.
Should all Singapore students be made to study at least one foreign language?
Angmoh english language oredi mah.
Ask Harry Lee Kuan Yew lor.
He is the one who set the bullshit policy.
Corrupt our mother tongue, that bastard.
Originally posted by cubsarecute:Should all Singapore students be made to study at least one foreign language?
No. I think that we should be proud of our OWN language and use it instead of using other country's languages. Making people study foreign language is like suicide. Anyway, it's not such an important subject right?
My view is to get rid of PAP and go for education reform.
heehee i am cleber boi
English cannot make it, Mother tongue also cannot make it, want to add one more?
That is the doing of the PAP moronic education language policy.
Learn two languages at one shot you get rojak.
In Germany, it is compulsory for students to learn 2 foreign languages (from a list they can choose) in addition to German.
Strange policy.
Originally posted by eagle:want
Aiming to learn Malay one day too
i know malay. butoh and chantik. ![]()
As lots of people here have said, the proficiency of English and Mother Tongue isn't really much cause for celebration.
I'd far rather have the focus be on the refinement of the teaching of the national languages than go on a hare-brained scheme to force all students to learn a third language.
I think learning a foreign language should be an option, especially for those linguistically inclined.
Instead of the current elitist policy of letting of a small selected SAP schools take foreign language, those with flair and command of language, regardless of school, should be encouraged to take one.
As for learning English, I think writing courses should be made compulsory at the undergraduate level. Many universities teach writing in first year, but in Singapore, it is reserved for a small group of elite scholars programme.
Early at O levels, students should be encouraged to write on subjects that interest them.
If you compare the UK and Singapore GCE "O" level English, UK has an emphasis on writing skills. The British do not do long comprehesion passages like Singapore.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english/
Reading non-fiction texts
(Paper 1, Section A)
Writing to argue, persuade and advise
(Paper 1, Section B)
Poems from different cultures
(Paper 2, Section A)
For Pre-1914 and Post-1914 English poetry, see GCSE Bitesize English Literature
Writing to inform, explain and describe
Comparing our syllabus with the British, a cynic may just think the govt deliberately cripple the writing skills of the masses to make them focus on acquiring technical skills. Writing,a skill which can influence the masses, should be a skill reserved for a small group of elite to control the masses.
a cynic may just think the govt deliberately cripple the writing skills of the masses to make them focus on acquiring technical skills.
I believe that to be true.
Another thing is the total lack of training of critical and analytical skills at the 'O' level or 'A' level.
If that is their goal, produce people who are docile and easily brainwashed and controlled, they have totally failed with me.
Their propaganda in the mainstream media have no influence whatsoever with me.
Nil.
None.
You have failed PAP.
You cannot fool all of us.
I think they can fool 70%.
30% will not be fooled.
It is this 30% that will bring PAP rule to an end in Singapore.
I don't think the people will forever be apathetic, ignorant, docile, be brainwashed by state propaganda in the mainsteam media and vote for PAP.
The people won't stomach PAP's bullshit policies forever.
Their rule won't last for long.
The trigger will be the death of Lee Kuan Yew.
I hope he dies soon.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:the subjects i did well in are not forced upon me.