I've been side-eyeing their situation over the week, and could not help wondering why their stupid Junta is being so paranoid when the people they ruled over are dying from a calamity???
=================================
Myanmar junta has seized all aid material
Fri, May 09, 2008
AFP
BANGKOK - A UN official says Myanmar's junta has seized all the food and equipment that the World Food Program had flown into the country for cyclone victims.
WFP spokesman Paul Risley said on Friday that all 'the food aid and equipment that we managed to get in has been confiscated'.
The shipment included 38 tonnes of high-energy biscuits.
Mr Risley said it is not clear why the material was seized. It was also not clear if the shipment seized was the one that was flown in Thursday or another one.
The UN's World Food Programme said on Friday it was suspending aid flights into cyclone-hit Myanmar because of 'unacceptable' restrictions imposed by the country's military rulers.
'Yes, WFP is suspending the flights,' its Myanmar country director Chris Kaye said. 'The restrictions on us are unacceptable.'
'Two flights landed this morning with food, which has not been taken out yet,' he said, without specifying why the supplies had not been unloaded.
'We have made a request to the Social Welfare Ministry,' Mr Kaye said. 'We have to find a way to resolve the problem as soon as possible.'
Earlier on Friday, Myanmar said it was not ready to let in foreign aid workers, rejecting international pressure to allow experts into the isolated nation where disease and starvation are stalking cyclone survivors.
One week after the devastating storm killed tens of thousands, Myanmar's ruling generals - deeply suspicious of the outside world - said the country needed outside aid for those still alive, but would deliver it themselves.
The foreign ministry announcement came as a top UN official warned time was running out to move in disaster experts and supplies to prevent diseases that could claim even more victims.
Instead, the ministry said some relief workers who arrived on an aid flight from Qatar on Wednesday had been deported.
'Currently Myanmar has prioritised receiving emergency relief provisions and is making strenuous efforts to transport those provisions without delay by its own labours to the affected areas,' it said.
'As such, Myanmar is not ready to receive search and rescue teams as well as media teams from foreign countries.'
The military regime that rules this impoverished country, once known as Burma, has long been wary of any influences that could threaten the iron grip on power it has maintained for almost half a century.
Even with the country battered by tragedy, the generals insist they will hold a constitutional referendum on Saturday, brushing off criticism they are ignoring the plight of the homeless while devoting resources to the vote.
Opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi's National League for Democracy said the junta should delay the vote on a document her party says will merely enshrine military rule.
'With this situation, it is not the appropriate time to hold the referendum,' NLD spokesman Nyan Win said.
The extent of the catastrophe unleashed by Cyclone Nargis has also put the regime under intense international pressure to postpone the vote and open up the country, where only a handful of outside aid groups are allowed to operate under strict controls.
The United Nations estimates more than one million people have been left homeless by the disaster and, as each hour passes without clean water and food, they are at ever greater risk of starvation and disease.
'The situation is getting critical and there is only a small window of opportunity if we are to avert the spread of diseases that could multiply the already tragic number of casualties,' said Noeleen Heyzer, the top UN official for the Asia-Pacific.
Rotting bodies of people and animals are piled up in many places across the remote southern Irrawaddy delta, where the storm's high winds and waves washed entire villages away.
In many places, the stench of death is overwhelming. Houses have been demolished, roads and bridges are damaged and huge swathes of land are still underwater a week after the disaster hit.
The United States has said the death toll could be around 100,000, but the regime on Thursday increased its official death toll by 17. It gave figures of 22,997 dead, 1,430 injured and 42,119 missing.
Compounding the disaster, the worst-hit area was the major rice-growing region, wiping out the main local food source until the government is able to deliver supplies.
'Now I do not have money to buy essential food items,' said 75-year-old Thant Aung, who said his whole village in the Kyaklate delta district was destroyed.
'We have less food to eat. I am borrowing money from my friends to keep my family going.'
The World Food Programme said another plane laden with energy biscuits, emergency medical tents and other gear landed on Friday in Myanmar's main city Yangon, which is several hours' drive from the worst-hit areas.
In its statement, issued before the latest plane, the foreign ministry said 11 aid flights had landed so far and the world could help by sending cash and emergency supplies, rather than aid workers.
'The donors and the international community can be assured that Myanmar is doing its best,' it added.
Other nations are divided on whether they have the right to force Myanmar, whose most powerful ally is China, to open up to humanitarian intervention. -- AFP
in before the upcoming racist comments.
They dnt care.
tsk tsk tsk... so fcker sia..
Actually we should try to be more neutral and see from Myanmar's perspective.
Myanmar's government is worried to let in foreigners because they can have hidden agendas and can sabotage its politics.
The situation is, for the last few years, there is a strong pressure from western government on its government, and they did not mask their desire to see them overthrown or replaced. And in the present period, Myanmar is having a very important referendum, one which the westerners are critisizing again.
So naturally they are wary to let foreigners in. They can have many hidden agendas and not simply there for humanitarian reasons.
Please bear in mind, in similar situations, in USA, there was a disaster, hurricane Katrina.
At that time, USA government also similarly rejected outside help. I heard after some time they accepted the offer of help, but not from Cuba and Iran.
Many reasons were given, that they didnt want it to be a PR stunt for Cuba and Iran, that they didnt agree with Iran because they 'sponsor terrorism' or Cuba because it is 'repressive' etc.
Well, what is the difference in this case? Myanmar also doesnt have a cheery relations with USA right now.
So you can understand to a certain extent, why they respond in this manner.
Actually if USA is sincere in humanitarian reasons, it is very easy, they can quietly channel the donations to third countries or other international organizations which are more acceptable to Myanmar, and then they are the ones who will go in and step into Myanmar.
Did Cuba or Iran make press conferences to exhort and scold the USA government when its offer of help was rejected in Katrina..?
But this is what USA and its media is doing now....unending critism towards Myanmar's government.
Actually this is the time for ASEAN to step in. The Myanmar's government will be more accepting towards Thais and other regional countries. Singapore also can play a part.
Depens on what they decide. If they really insist on accepting only materials, but want to distribute it themselves, ok, then its also ok, just send all the materials fast.
But I have a instinct if the ASEAN countries talk to them, they will allow the aid workers from ASEAN to step inside Myanmar. They just dont trust the westerners.
So I hope ASEAN can be more active, and in a way, also protect Myanmar from being bullied by westerners again. Step in fast.
Meat Pao.
personally. let usa wage war with myanmar la. lousy govt should be taken down
USA occupy Myanmar more chaos like in Iraq.
Many nations offer material aid to hurricane victims; Bush refuses to accept
'Lousy government' in what sense first?
What will u do if u were Myanmar government? If u were in their shoes?
Just take a look at the news article above, from AFP.
It is critisizing the junta again, and make a link/ suggestion that referendum should be delayed.
So isnt that a politicization of a 'humanitarian' issue?
It is not a 'humanitarian' issue purely anymore, is it?
So I would say their worry is well-justified. If they let in the foreign aid and foreign media, they will make a negative spin again and interfere the Myanmar's politics.
I doubt the military there dont care about their people sufferings in this big disaster.
What I hope is, ASEAN is more active and can help Myanmar more, and also deflect some of the Western critism. I think Myanmar will be more accepting towards help from ASEAN, whether material or labour.
Meat Pao.
Criticism of USA's criticism of Myanmar:
Bush administration moves to exploit Burma cyclone disaster
http://www.globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=8938
Why the propaganda campaign for international intervention in Burma?
http://www.wsws.org/articles/2008/may2008/burm-m10.shtml
Originally posted by Meat Pao:Actually we should try to be more neutral and see from Myanmar's perspective.
Myanmar's government is worried to let in foreigners because they can have hidden agendas and can sabotage its politics.
The situation is, for the last few years, there is a strong pressure from western government on its government, and they did not mask their desire to see them overthrown or replaced. And in the present period, Myanmar is having a very important referendum, one which the westerners are critisizing again.
So naturally they are wary to let foreigners in. They can have many hidden agendas and not simply there for humanitarian reasons.
Please bear in mind, in similar situations, in USA, there was a disaster, hurricane Katrina.
At that time, USA government also similarly rejected outside help. I heard after some time they accepted the offer of help, but not from Cuba and Iran.
Many reasons were given, that they didnt want it to be a PR stunt for Cuba and Iran, that they didnt agree with Iran because they 'sponsor terrorism' or Cuba because it is 'repressive' etc.
Well, what is the difference in this case? Myanmar also doesnt have a cheery relations with USA right now.
So you can understand to a certain extent, why they respond in this manner.
Actually if USA is sincere in humanitarian reasons, it is very easy, they can quietly channel the donations to third countries or other international organizations which are more acceptable to Myanmar, and then they are the ones who will go in and step into Myanmar.
Did Cuba or Iran make press conferences to exhort and scold the USA government when its offer of help was rejected in Katrina..?
But this is what USA and its media is doing now....unending critism towards Myanmar's government.
Actually this is the time for ASEAN to step in. The Myanmar's government will be more accepting towards Thais and other regional countries. Singapore also can play a part.
Depens on what they decide. If they really insist on accepting only materials, but want to distribute it themselves, ok, then its also ok, just send all the materials fast.
But I have a instinct if the ASEAN countries talk to them, they will allow the aid workers from ASEAN to step inside Myanmar. They just dont trust the westerners.
So I hope ASEAN can be more active, and in a way, also protect Myanmar from being bullied by westerners again. Step in fast.
Meat Pao.
you should stick your head in the sand....to politizes a humanitarian disaster to serve China influence in the region.
The military Junta is fully responsible for its people If it fail to perform the basic necessity to its people it morally fail as a "Leader" it fail to as a "Protector" It Fail as a "Governor" to its people. It has no reason to sit in that role other than an authoritarian regime sitting sibe by side with North Korean.
2nd China continue to support the mililtary Junta will not escape the responsiblities by blocking the issue at the United Nation Level. Politising the humanitarian disaster to its own interest will have world repercusion. (Now you know why the world is politisizing the Olympic)
Asean as an regional organization fail the People of Myanmar the fact that we had a Talk shop organization and fail to open up Myanmar to accept changes and open its country over the years. As a result its people continue to suffer by such dump General.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:you should stick your head in the sand....to politizes a humanitarian disaster to serve China influence in the region.
The military Junta is fully responsible for its people If it fail to perform the basic necessity to its people it morally fail as a "Leader" it fail to as a "Protector" It Fail as a "Governor" to its people. It has no reason to sit in that role other than an authoritarian regime sitting sibe by side with North Korean.
2nd China continue to support the mililtary Junta will not escape the responsiblities by blocking the issue at the United Nation Level. Politising the humanitarian disaster to its own interest will have world repercusion. (Now you know why the world is politisizing the Olympic)
Asean as an regional organization fail the People of Myanmar the fact that we had a Talk shop organization and fail to open up Myanmar to accept changes and open its country over the years. As a result its people continue to suffer by such dump General.
What...?
What do u mean..?
What is the connection and relevance to China...?
And when u refer to 'politicization', I dont understand what is the connection to this humanitarian issue to a politicization to benefit China.
The politicization which I see is coming from the west. I did say, take a look at the AFP article above.
Why are they helpfully hinting that the referendum should be delayed?
Referendum is a political process or not?
Where is the politicization by China? I dont understand what you are saying.
China has been quiet about this and didnt make any suggestions or hints about the referendum or any other political things in relation to this disaster.
What is happening is that Myanmar government is wary, and they openly have spoken so themselves. They say they 'are not ready' to accept foreign aid workers into the countries, only materials.
What is the meaning? They dont trust outsiders.
There is a broker which can solve this problem, ASEAN. Asean should try to ask Myanmar to let ASEAN labour into Myanmar. This is apart from materials, which anybody can send.
This way it can assuage the government concerns and at the same time helping the people of Myanmar, who are in dire conditions and need help.
Meat Pao.
to politizes a humanitarian disaster to serve China influence in the region.
???
Why so surprised or shocked? The Burmese military junta emphasizes the military over all other aspects of state and society, just like the government of the Democratic People's Republic Of Korea.![]()
they dun accept help and let the ppl die and u can be neutral abt it..? if that happens to singapore and the PAP refuse to accept help from other countries i think the response will be different..
The Americans have never denied they want regime change in
Myanmar.....and they want to send their naval vessels to render aid. Do you think the Myanmese generals are stupid?
why the American havent invaded Myanmar in the name of helping those poor ppl?? why no one bother?? .... cos no one wan to be part of this shit lah.. except standing on the other stand of the river and see see look look lor...
just think... they hated the their current government so much.. why dun take this chance to remove them once and for all?? ....cos... dun have so much black oil there what...
Bush rules out significant federal aid to hurricane victims
http://www.wsws.org/articles/2005/sep2005/hurr-s01.shtml
Castro: U.S. hasn't responded to Katrina offer
http://www.cnn.com/2005/WORLD/americas/09/05/katrina.cuba/
the wfp shld just airdrop the supplies direct to the disaster sites lar.....
Originally posted by Meat Pao:'Lousy government' in what sense first?
It is critisizing the junta again, and make a link/ suggestion that referendum should be delayed.
So I would say their worry is well-justified. If they let in the foreign aid and foreign media, they will make a negative spin again and interfere the Myanmar's politics.
I doubt the military there dont care about their people sufferings in this big disaster.
What I hope is, ASEAN is more active and can help Myanmar more, and also deflect some of the Western critism. I think Myanmar will be more accepting towards help from ASEAN, whether material or labour.
Meat Pao.
Your arguments are patently absurd.
It is not politicization to say that the referendum should be postponed. It is commonsense.
You've got thousands dead, many more dying, and many more in need of food and medical supplies. But hey, let's have a referendum. Yes, we will be diverting resources to hold the referendum but so what? Who cares?
You have clearly let your bias agaisnt the US cloud your view on this. Of course, the Government should be wary of its regime being undermined - and that government certainly has reasons to be afraid, not least because of its unsavoury practices. However, the problem with the government is it fails to show that it cares about this problem at all.
It has no capability of delivering aid to its people. I am not talking about government corruption here. I am talking about logistics capabilities. It just simply doesn't have the equipment to carry out such a wide-scale operation. Even when unloading from 1 or 2 planes, they had to resort to forming human chains to do so. One wonders how they are going to distriibute the aid once they manage to get those goods onto lorries.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:'Lousy government' in what sense first?
Meat Pao.
That is precisely the problem with the military government. Its repression and oppression has reached an extent that they cannot allow any foreign journalist to see what is actually happening there, their incompetence in dealing with this disaster.
This government has no concern whatsoever for its people. Its willing to export ALL the oil it produces and leave its citizens to cope with rising fuel prices. No, the money from the exports do not flow down.
I think this incident pretty much demonstrates to the world where this government's priority is not.
I just saw a clip from associated press that Junta Military paste the General name on the foreign aids and delivered to devasted area.
Unfortnately at the end of the day we would not know how many people perish from this incident.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The Americans have never denied they want regime change in
Myanmar.....and they want to send their naval vessels to render aid. Do you think the Myanmese generals are stupid?
that is why is never a good idea to have a military gov. Because it wants to get comfortable and remain in power.
any civilian govt would be subjected to election scrutiny by its own people.
"any civilian govt would be subjected to election scrutiny by its own people"
Except Singapore of course. But got a lot of Brigadier General ministers including LHL so can Sg be considered as a civilian government?
Meat Pao, your analysis is very thorough. BIG APPLAUSE to you!