some ppl lag, some ppl dun lag.. some ppl dun lag doesn't mean all ppl dun lag.. some ppl lag doesn't mean all lag.. its ok to lag, its ok to dun lag.. u want to lag, u lag, u dun wan to lag, u dun lag..
Originally posted by eagle:I got attached during army. Anything more?
It is obvious you do not understand what is meant by the term goal by a certain age.
Lastly, you contradicted yourself by saying
If you have met your target by your targetted time, there's no delay.
Definition of delay
1) to put off to a later time; defer; postpone
2) to impede the process or progress of; retard; hinder
3) to put off action; linger; loiter
4) the act of delaying; procrastination; loitering
5) an instance of being delayed
6) the period or amount of time during which something is delayed
1st let me say NS is not without good.
In terms of time, NS undoubtedly takes up 2 - 2.5 years.
Compared to foreigners who mostly no compulsor NS, this is the lead time they have against NS folks. During this 2- 2.5 years, they could have finished 1 diploma or 75% of a degree ahead of us or earned easily something like 70K more already.
How can anyone deny this basic mathematical commonsense?
As I said, there is good thing about NS - I have grown physically.
Originally posted by hisoka:
hey just because you did doesn't mean ns makes it easier. AS i said I'm not sure but logically you meet less females during that period all things being constant. use your brains? Understand by meeting a target by a certain age? It is obvious you are the one not understanding about how targets will vary with circumstances. Actually I didn't contradict myself, there are other things to be delayed besides target meeting. but since you are on that topic, lets analyse what you posted inthe definition.sounds like 2, 3,4, 5, 6 all apply. note that none of these indicate targets being met later. for exmple definition 2 merely states to impede the progress, not that the time for accomplishment is later.
for exmple definition 2 merely states to impede the progress, not that the time for accomplishment is later.
Again, how can the progress be considered impeded if you do not allow it so? I certainly didn't allow it to.
note that none of these indicate targets being met later.
Yeah, they mean the targets not being met on time. Duh
Ya, you can say anything. Even though someone did it, you would still say it is difficult to do and blame it on external events. Nobody ever said reaching targetted goals (other than unrealistically easy ones) were ever easy.
Even if some other people can still do a lot of things during NS, you would still say it is difficult.
My point is, if someone can do it, so can I. And if I can do it, so can you. Everyone has an equally smart brain; it is just how you want to use it to achieve things.
Originally posted by cuddles:it was 3 yrs in the first place.. people complain, they review, become 2 half, then now become 2yrs. some people suggesting abolish the whole thing.
I think 2 yrs is just nice. for whatever to learn in order to protect.
seriously, its 2 yrs or 3 yrs is also beyond control. they set we follow. they reduce we benefit.
the idea still stands, if you can make it, the 2 or 3 yrs doesn't make much difference given guys are all doing it. females justify the idea of maternity that can occur anytime during their careers if they are not careful.
its the same as if you are so good with convincing people of those ideals you spkers corner people have, you probably would have done it effortlessly and within a few valid posts. no need spend the entire time saying " LKY go go go" "die die die" etc..
The Swiss do 6 months national service , enough for them.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_of_Switzerland
But Singaporean males are not so smart.. so I think 1 year is just nice.
Originally posted by jojobeach:The Swiss do 6 months national service , enough for them.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_of_Switzerland
But Singaporean males are not so smart.. so I think 1 year is just nice.
switzerland is a `neutral' country. so, logic dictates that they do not need such a long time serving NS. Plus they are not kiasu/kiasi like Singapore. Switzeland also not surrounded by perceived threats like cynical singapore feels.
in germany, i think they serve 1 year. when i was there backpacking some years ago, i met a bunch of ORD germans. they were all piss drunk, celebrating their `release'. one funny thing is that they have marker pens with them and they ask anyone and everyone to `autograph' or pen best wishes on the cotton track suit that they were wearing. i was `honored' to be asked by that drunken bunch to sign on their tracksuits. i felt like lupe fiasco.
Originally posted by redDUST:switzerland is a `neutral' country. so, logic dictates that they do not need such a long time serving NS. Plus they are not kiasu/kiasi like Singapore. Switzeland also not surrounded by perceived threats like cynical singapore feels.
in germany, i think they serve 1 year. when i was there backpacking some years ago, i met a bunch of ORD germans. they were all piss drunk, celebrating their `release'. one funny thing is that they have marker pens with them and they ask anyone and everyone to `autograph' or pen best wishes on the cotton track suit that they were wearing. i was `honored' to be asked by that drunken bunch to sign on their tracksuits. i felt like lupe fiasco.
Threat or no threat, I don't think it takes more than 1 year for a person with average intelligence to learn basic military knowhow.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Threat or no threat, I don't think it takes more than 1 year for a person with average intelligence to learn basic military knowhow.
basic military knowhow only took 3 months
It is the courses after that. That can take long. For me, all the courses add up to around 13 months (including the BMT) if there were no break in between. Then following on is application practice of these things, through local and overseas missions. But maybe it is because of my vocation. Of course, for a person posted to be a clerk or RP or storeman, etc... Nothing much new to learn...
Overall, useful learning period is about slightly longer than 1.5 years.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Threat or no threat, I don't think it takes more than 1 year for a person with average intelligence to learn basic military knowhow.
it depends on what depth level of military knowledge/skills you want to acquire.
one could also argue the holiday camps in malaysia also NS altho one would be clutching on straws trying to defend it.
Originally posted by eagle:basic military knowhow only took 3 months
It is the courses after that. That can take long. For me, all the courses add up to around 13 months (including the BMT) if there were no break in between. Then following on is application practice of these things, through local and overseas missions. But maybe it is because of my vocation. Of course, for a person posted to be a clerk or RP or storeman, etc... Nothing much new to learn...
Overall, useful learning period is about slightly longer than 1.5 years.
So you think Sg males are betta prepared than Swiss/Germans in times of war ?
Originally posted by redDUST:let's get real. in your living years, you have more than enough time and opportunity to make a difference. Age and opportunity cost of time has nothing to do with it. nelson mandela is a case in point, you make the most of your time in a meaningful way you deem fit.
i am sure your life is not so one dimensional even if you want to be a scientist. there will be other life skills you pick up. i feel sorry for you when you say that you get into a vacuum just because you are in ns. ideally, you make the best use of your time in whatever situation. i would also argue that ns is character building in its own cynical ways.
In camp are u allowed to do things u want to do, do you have the time?
Bear in mind that your mind and physical capabilities degrades as you get older, this is the same for all of us, you cannot escape aging, there is no SKII.
You might argue NS teaches you somethings you do not learn elsewhere, but are these skills worth the postponement of ur goals by 2 years? And most of the skills can be acquired in society anyway, ns is not some special training school, we are normal folks serving our time too.
No, my life in ns was not a vacuum, I had lots of fun in my 2 years. But that cannot be said to all people serving ns, due to your your postings and your character. Not every one is cut out to be in army you know, some of these people might be better off in their own field, contributing their skills, for these people, the 2 years are agonizing and fruitless years, ie wasted.
Yes make your best out of every situation, NS might be good, but it certainly does impede your path towards goal.
Originally posted by jojobeach:So you think Sg males are betta prepared than Swiss/Germans in times of war ?
Not only skills, state of mind is very important too, your hunger to protect your country. You will not win if you are fighting for sake of complying with orders.
Originally posted by cuddles:
Definitely, everyone can use the 2 good years doing something better. But NS is a responsibility! Some things can't be justify with just economics or selfish thinking of doing productive things for yourself.National Service is like someone said before, is like doing cleaning in your house. even though it's a chore, but it is necessary.
You save this 2 yrs, if you die early and young, what's the difference? If you spent that 2 yrs and die early and young, maybe we should say sad for you? Please, as long as someone dear to us dies young or old, we'll be equally sad.
It's not eternal life that we seek, but the meaning of life that matters.
2 years, how wise you spend it, its still 2 years of your life.
Protecting your family and countrymen is responsibility. So is the auntie cleaning your table after your meal.
Originally posted by eagle:My point is, if someone can do it, so can I. And if I can do it, so can you. Everyone has an equally smart brain; it is just how you want to use it to achieve things.
Its great you have such a mentality, but bro, not alot of people have such mentality as you do. 一�米养百�人。 We humans are jus nt created equally.
Originally posted by whiskers:In camp are u allowed to do things u want to do, do you have the time?
Bear in mind that your mind and physical capabilities degrades as you get older, this is the same for all of us, you cannot escape aging, there is no SKII.
You might argue NS teaches you somethings you do not learn elsewhere, but are these skills worth the postponement of ur goals by 2 years? And most of the skills can be acquired in society anyway, ns is not some special training school, we are normal folks serving our time too.
No, my life in ns was not a vacuum, I had lots of fun in my 2 years. But that cannot be said to all people serving ns, due to your your postings and your character. Not every one is cut out to be in army you know, some of these people might be better off in their own field, contributing their skills, for these people, the 2 years are agonizing and fruitless years, ie wasted.
Yes make your best out of every situation, NS might be good, but it certainly does impede your path towards goal.
all your points are going nowhere. it is mandatory you do ns as a singaporean. judging by your rationale, why bother sleeping since it is such a `waste of time'? or sleep less. why don't you walk at a faster pace, so you don't lag?
what i am trying to say is it is your own quality of life that determine if you have it good here on planet earth, not the time spent. you can live to a hundred and while your time away, it's still bollocks. you can live to be 20, but if you make a difference in your surrounding, then it is defintely life not wasted.
NS impede on your growth? how about you impeding on your own gorwth?
Originally posted by jojobeach:So you think Sg males are betta prepared than Swiss/Germans in times of war ?
You want to compare a force largely made of forced conscription for 2 years vs a force of full-time soldiers? ![]()
Originally posted by whiskers:Its great you have such a mentality, but bro, not alot of people have such mentality as you do. 一�米养百�人。 We humans are jus nt created equally.
Thanks.
But a question... if one does not want to adopt the such a mentality, whose fault is it?
Originally posted by eagle:You want to compare a force largely made of forced conscription for 2 years vs a force of full-time soldiers?
Harlow ? You think SG is the ONLY country with conscription for male citizens ?
Wake up dude.
Swiss and Germany also has ok ? ![]()
Originally posted by redDUST:all your points are going nowhere. it is mandatory you do ns as a singaporean. judging by your rationale, why bother sleeping since it is such a `waste of time'? or sleep less. why don't you walk at a faster pace, so you don't lag?
what i am trying to say is it is your own quality of life that determine if you have it good here on planet earth, not the time spent. you can live to a hundred and while your time away, it's still bollocks. you can live to be 20, but if you make a difference in your surrounding, then it is defintely life not wasted.
Yah yah.. true lor.
Why not extend the NS to 5 years ? Good right ?
I sarrport !!!!
Originally posted by redDUST:all your points are going nowhere. it is mandatory you do ns as a singaporean. judging by your rationale, why bother sleeping since it is such a `waste of time'? or sleep less. why don't you walk at a faster pace, so you don't lag?
What i am saying is, if ns is shorten, we could have our freedom of time to pursue our own goals. I did not say impede growth, but Goal. whether the end result is good or bad after the 2 years, its still 2 years. Grow one certainty must, if not one is as good as dead.
Sleeping is a necessity of life, but NS is not. If your body can take jus 4 hours of sleep, why waste 12 hrs sleeping? Unless ofcourse u enjoy it.... But nt everyone enjoy sleeping
Well. You have made your points and i have made mine, I dun really like arguing, so I shall stop now... You have your opnion and I have mine... Peace
Originally posted by jojobeach:Harlow ? You think SG is the ONLY country with conscription for male citizens ?
Wake up dude.
Swiss and Germany also has ok ?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conscription_in_Germany
Men are obliged to serve nine months either in the military, which they can refuse, and do alternative civilian service, or 100 hours each year for six years in a civil protection organisation.
Although the conscription is of a military nature, nowadays twice as many draftees refuse military service and serve in alternative services.
Compared to Singapore, all have to be conscripted; sg males have no choice.
If it was forced conscription in Germany, they wouldn't have merely an armed force of a small percentage of their population. Numbers here.
Originally posted by whiskers:What i am saying is, if ns is shorten, we could have our freedom of time to pursue our own goals. I did not say impede growth, but Goal. whether the end result is good or bad after the 2 years, its still 2 years. Grow one certainty must, if not one is as good as dead.
i am not convinced. why 6 years of compulsory primary education then? why not 5?
there are so many direct/indirect variables/influences in your life that could scupper your goal. how is ns any different?
Originally posted by whiskers:Well. You have made your points and i have made mine, I dun really like arguing, so I shall stop now... You have your opnion and I have mine... Peace
peace