Originally posted by eagle:Relatives who earn $600 a month already qualify.
So you are saying that poor families do not have integrity? Mind you, a uni grad will earn enough nowadays to support a 'poor' family easily.
600/mth cannot..
2k..
and u can say that u factor in this factor in that with NS in mind therefore u wun be delaying ur life.. but when u factor this and dat, NS is already thwarting ur original plans which doesn't look at NS.. and thats what the topic is abt..
Originally posted by jojobeach:Actually, Sg has a very rigid system.
In other countries, when a child shows potential or surpasses the other classmates in academic and intellectual performances, the child is allowed to skip grades and grow according to his ability. Imagine a 15yo with a degree. A teenage maths genius taking his MBA. Can it happen in SG ?
Unlike SG, even if you are smarter and learn faster, you are dumbed down and not allowed to fast forward.
Goal is one thing. That is the final destination. The question is .. can you achieve it faster/sooner so you may yield more from it in your lifetime ?
Wake up! Children have been skipping grades since I was in school. Read the papers: a 9-year old boy has just entered poly.
dats why, i always pray dat i will strike my 50 cent toto soon~
no money no talk. LOL.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Wake up! Children have been skipping grades since I was in school. Read the papers: a 9-year old boy has just entered poly.
Really !!
Where ? I cannot find it online leh. Scan a copy of the news and upload here lor.
That boy is Singaporean or foreign talent ?
Originally posted by purpledragon84:600/mth cannot..
2k..
and u can say that u factor in this factor in that with NS in mind therefore u wun be delaying ur life.. but when u factor this and dat, NS is already thwarting ur original plans which doesn't look at NS.. and thats what the topic is abt..
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/publication/educatn.asp#q10
Yes, a guarantor is required and he must:
Or for bank loan
http://www.ntu.edu.sg/admissions/financialassistance/tuitionfee/tuition+fee+loan.htm
One guarantor above 21 years but below 60 years is required.
· There is no income qualification.
· Singaporean students to provide Singaporean guarantors.
· Non-Singaporean guarantors are acceptable for SPR and foreign students
Originally posted by jojobeach:Really !!
Where ? I cannot find it online leh. Scan a copy of the news and upload here lor.
That boy is Singaporean or foreign talent ?
i scan thru' the papers this morning. it is true. i just browse thru' about the article about how at home he was handling test tubes with older poly students in his class. i think he is not-singaporean.
i could be wrong.
Originally posted by eagle:
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/publication/educatn.asp#q10
Yes, a guarantor is required and he must:
- be a Singapore citizen or permanent resident;
- be gainfully employed with a monthly income of at least $500;
- be between 21 and 60 years old; and
- not be an undischarged bankrupt
Or for bank loan
http://www.ntu.edu.sg/admissions/financialassistance/tuitionfee/tuition+fee+loan.htm
One guarantor above 21 years but below 60 years is required.
· There is no income qualification.
· Singaporean students to provide Singaporean guarantors.
· Non-Singaporean guarantors are acceptable for SPR and foreign students
try not going to nus/ntu/smu..
aiyah, they shld allow capable male sporeans to complete pri sch in 5 yrs n sec sch in 3 yrs.
think dat 10 yrs u spend in pri n sec sch is excessive. can complete in 8yrs for most peeps
Originally posted by purpledragon84:try not going to nus/ntu/smu..
isn't it a duh that you should go to the one that you can best afford?
kay kiang go overseas uni for what if cannot afford?
just run to other country and study.. wad can they do.... when u get ur cert then get ur ass back to the country and serve....
i mean sim, psb academy and etc..
and u can easily see that sometimes u cant go to the one u can best afford.. there are ppl who can afford the 3 unis becoz they have cpf, but they cant get in, and they dun have money..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i mean sim, psb academy and etc..
and u can easily see that sometimes u cant go to the one u can best afford.. there are ppl who can afford the 3 unis becoz they have cpf, but they cant get in, and they dun have money..
Again, whose fault is it if they can't get in? There are things in life which once missed, cannot be repeated.
And if my friend who went ITE (where most pple think they are doomed), can progress to poly and finally end up at NUS, why not others? The best part of the story which he told me was, when he was at Dover ITE, he told his classmates that he will be a student in the school opposite (NUS). They all laughed at him. See where he is now.
sometimes ah.. not say fault fault fault one la.. some ppl can study, some ppl cannot study.. but cant study, oso want to study, but cant get good grades, u think they nvr try hard enuf?
and there's those, not say they slack and play and eng eng cheng cheng den fail to get in.. they study, learn, do swee swee, get nice results, but too many students, too little slots, surely u know 3 universities oso cannot contain all good students.. some with decent grades oso kena byebye..
I have tuition students who no matter how they studied, they couldn't score. But after I tuitioned them, they can improve to ranging from B3s to A1s for Os within half a year. These improvements are then considered tried hard enough. It is all about studying methods; one can easily pick this up from the better students. Isn't that how one is supposed to improve? You emulate the best.
Then how about my ex-ITE friend? You think he got good grades last time? He seriously worked hard for what he has today.
Even if you quit uni... I have one friend who did badly for year 1 engineering, and quitted => in 2004/2005 year. Last I heard about half a year ago, he had written a computer software which has the capability of tagging videos, then sold it first to one company where he continued to develop it, then to another company, making him a millionaire (without a degree). He has sinced married and moved to Australia to stay.
Fact is, when there's a will, there's definitely a way for realistic goals. Doing sufficiently well isn't about talent at all. It's about consistency and hard work with the right mindset and strategies.
Fact is, outside the 3 unis, finances become a problem for poor families planning to support a child's uni education..
and u should know the drill by now.. not everybody who works hard gets to the end.. some do, some don't.. those that do, good, they can be the examples.. those who cant, die trying..
Originally posted by jojobeach:The Swiss do 6 months national service , enough for them.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_of_Switzerland
But Singaporean males are not so smart.. so I think 1 year is just nice.
Why the Swiss do 6 months and the PORE do 2 years and last timers do 2.5 years?
Any Gazelle types like to reply?
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
Why the Swiss do 6 months and the PORE do 2 years and last timers do 2.5 years?Any Gazelle types like to reply?
because different countries?
Originally posted by purpledragon84:Fact is, outside the 3 unis, finances become a problem for poor families planning to support a child's uni education..
and u should know the drill by now.. not everybody who works hard gets to the end.. some do, some don't.. those that do, good, they can be the examples.. those who cant, die trying..
not everybody who works hard gets to the end.. some do, some don't
Doing sufficiently well isn't about talent at all. It's about consistency and hard work with the right mindset and strategies.
Working hard with the wrong tools will never get you far. Eg, you run away from a hungry lion using your hands instead of using your legs.
hmm.. i say liao.. some ppl can do until damn good one.. but wun get far one.. u can run from the lion in a car, one day the lion will still reach u..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:hmm.. i say liao.. some ppl can do until damn good one.. but wun get far one.. u can run from the lion in a car, one day the lion will still reach u..
like that say, might as well right from the start don't do -.-"
talking about hungry lion, I feel hungry now :(
Originally posted by eagle:like that say, might as well right from the start don't do -.-"
now is sleeping time. eat now very hard 2 sleep later.
Originally posted by eagle:like that say, might as well right from the start don't do -.-"
aiyah.. young that time the parents will tell the child he/she is not going to make it big meh? but ltr in life they find out themselves not everyone can drive a bmw.. a scania will be their lifelong transport, at best is toyota crown or mercedes..
and im tired.. continue tmr.. lol..