My few thoughts of Singapore's Future. (My opinions are not racists or insults, JUST PURELY for concerns)
Singapore's despite its small size has 1 of the most efficient government in the world, its 1 of the richest country in the world also in the Top 10 for having great bank reserves. World class Transport, Airport, Shipping.
Nowadays Singapore is getting smaller cos of more immigrants, Costs are rising in all areas, Salary Higher for those in the High Professionals, Singapore is getting more interesting cos of Integrated Resorts and more events coming. It is also going to have excellent IT infrastructure.
Why Some like SIngapore cos of its safety, easy access of transportation, friendly environment, Dun have to travel far to reach a destination, after all its a small Island.
Concerns:
1)Singapore's REAL SINGAPOREAN Population (not those PRs,WORK PERMITS)is declining and the situation is like Japan where Birthrates are running low and elderly population will exceed the younger generation that worries the Government. Ageing population means shrinking workforces.
In order to be competitive, the only choice: immigration.
SIngapore has became a BIG recipient of temporary immigrants from China, Philipinos, Malaysians, Indonesians and elsewhere western countries. Especially thousands of Malaysians who cross over the causeway to work and go back daily. All these causes Housing renst and prices to skyrock and it won't slow, it will keep rising of course IR and investors also play a part.
Poorer people will have more babies while weathier people will have less.
Jobs are bountiful, yes they are. But mostly in the Service and I.T sector and high end positions with foreigners increasing at a alarming rate. You go coffeeshops and foodcourts, how many china workers are working?? Its more like every 10 stalls, 8 are manned by CHina workers?? So where are the locals, aunties, mums, uncles??Mcdonalds and Bks? Did they earn alot in the past and save alot or have better offers elsewhere??
Even in the I.t Sector, I'm seeing an alarming rate of philipinos coming in?
No offense to Foreigners working here, I really appreciate them coming here and work. You get to know different cultures and make more friends as well. More different types of food are being served, they worked hard.
But most are coming here to work and then save money and send back to their home for parents and investment. Maybe some will consider PR here which is great.
I really envy our neighbouring countries such as Malaysians, China, phippinos, indonesians where they can come Singapore and earn much more and still be able to save more and buy cars and houses back in their homes.
But Singaporeans dun have much choices unless going to faraway countries like China for high end jobs,middle east, UK,Japan or US.
Do they really spend alot here besides renting rooms and houses?
I understand Singaporean can be choosy at times but judging by the situation. If you are single, 1.5k -2k is enough and barely. With families you work for life and this is what happen where you can see elderly still working?
And some companies have so many foreigners at a alarming rate?
Lowerpaid and demanding jobs such as irregular hours for SIngaporeans will equal less babies and lower spending power in the economy.
Why elderly western foreigners are able to travel around the world?
China and India are exploding, both of them make up about 20% of the world population and its just the beginning where the world will face shortage of food and resources.
And Singapore especially on weekends you will see tons of students or volunteers asking for donations?? Why they cannot approach the appropiate organizations or government to ask for donations??
I know donating 10 cents to 50 cents is no big deal every weekend, but if you look at your payslip, deductions are already donated every month, what happend to those? No idea?
Train and buses are bigger cos less seats, some have poor ventilations where you can struggle to breathe, I have experienced Japan's trains and we are heading there soon, squeezing like sardines.
The rise in costs in Singapore is just the beginning....
MY ABOVE ARTICLES are just my opinions.
Minister said rising wage will not help, I was wondering then what other ways help?
Rising GST 7% on everything and giving tiny money back do they help? It helps to pay bills which in turn back to the govenment.
There are bigger issues and forces that are destroying Singapore that PAP regime doesn't want to discuss.
That is why I want them to go.
In order to be competitive, the only choice: immigration
how can u be more competitive here in singapore if you migrate?
Originally posted by redDUST:In order to be competitive, the only choice: immigration
how can u be more competitive here in singapore if you migrate?
immigration - intransitive verb
: to enter and usually become established; especially : to come into a country of which one is not a native for permanent residence
emigration - intransitive verb
: to leave one's place of residence or country to live elsewhere
TS is trying to say because of
1 - Singapore citizen emigration (caused by sucky government policies)
2 - Low birth rate (caused by 2 child per couple campaign/educating baby making machines aka women to the point that they become uninterested in making babies/uninterested in local men or more commonly known as Snobbish Bitch Syndrome)
3 - Increasing number of old people (caused by live healthily to live longer campaign)
singapore currently have a shrinking workforce to support all those old useless singaporeans so singapore government have to come up with another new stupid policy to cover the sucky effects of the previous/older stupid policies made in the past
Their new stupid policy is the immigration of FTs to shoreup singapore's shrinking workforce
We must end PAP rule in Singapore.
Their policies are destroying Singapore society.
They must be rid of.
at a city-state, singapore wouldn't survive for long
maybe another few decades or a hundred yrs?
city-states dun survive long, u know?
I always wonder why we do not attract ppl from the same provinces like canton and fujian
In the 70s, the stop at 2 policy is what created the current problem of underpopulation for Singaporeans.
Fast forward to now, the reverse in policy by increasing the population indiscriminately will lead to over population in the near future.
This will lead to even more serious problems than what was experienced in the 70s.
But apparently some people don't think about the consequences.
Just their annual million dollar paychecks. ![]()
Originally posted by noob321:at a city-state, singapore wouldn't survive for long
In the long run, this is probably true.... As it is for civilisations, sumerians and mayans, dynasties... all gone. with great rise comes great fall...
But now, Is the Govnt doing the right thing with enough foresight that could help Singapore in the future, or are they just digging a hole to mend another hole...
This is the question. I cant answer it, I am not wise enough.
Originally posted by noob321:at a city-state, singapore wouldn't survive for long
it depends on many things, 1 of which might be whether existing leadership is capable of doing all their jobs by themselves without the help in anyway from the world record ruler (in terms of many things, one of which is the duration of ruling).
For my personal salvation, you know, i must say, of course they are totally capable. Right now, they can operate on their own without any help. just use your eyes and observe lor.
But I not sure I am corrects or nots. I no no so i asking de lor.
yibah yeebah! Untooneh Untoonehneh!
Time will not spare anyone any more time when the time is up. It has to go.
4 minutes to live.
can I highlight... no offence to foreign workers but its true that the foreigner workers are extremely hard working - they can afford to spend more time on work here in Singapore, because they are here solely on one mission - to earn money. While Singaporeans are hard working, there is a limit as to how hard working we can be because we have a family to attend to - we need time with our family. Its really not fair for PM to sweep off the local waitresses lamentation on the arrival of the young, pretty foreigners threatening their jobs.
urgh!
I agree with you.Local's have a tough life.
Poh Ah Pak is right.
with govt that treat its people as 2nd class citizens, maybe a few more years when elections come, we might see the fall of the Lee dynasty.
Totally agree with TS that asians easily can get a job here and have a choice to be either PR or citizen whereas poreans cannot find any asian country to work in where the currency exchange is as favorable and lifestyle and food and culture also much the same, ie. asian culture.
poreans can only go to Australia, NZ, Canada and europe or usa.
I think all s.e. asian parents will know what to tell their kids when they grow up - work in the pore , easy access, earn money, currency exchange bring back home retire shiok shiok, easy.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Totally agree with TS that asians easily can get a job here and have a choice to be either PR or citizen whereas poreans cannot find any asian country to work in where the currency exchange is as favorable and lifestyle and food and culture also much the same, ie. asian culture.
poreans can only go to Australia, NZ, Canada and europe or usa.
I think all s.e. asian parents will know what to tell their kids when they grow up - work in the pore , easy access, earn money, currency exchange bring back home retire shiok shiok, easy.
Arn't we already doing the same, just that spore parents ask their child to go ang moh countries where the currency is mcuh stronger.
That explains why tiny singapore has a colony of 50,000 sporeans in Australia alone.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:with govt that treat its people as 2nd class citizens, maybe a few more years when elections come, we might see the fall of the Lee dynasty.
i can't see that happening, most singaporean are afraid of this and that, can complain but once come to the real thing all suck thrumb and vote the 'usual'
we really need some ones that can lead the way, but the thing is most bankrupted...jailed etcetc
Thats the problem. Even my friends who were married just wana have 1 kid or may not even wana have. If you want higher pay you have to work longer, and when you work longer, do you have much time or energy to have baby. Its not an excuse, life here in singapore works in this way.
Most finished studied overseas, tried not to come back, prefer to work overseas. Life is much better if you have friends outside.
When we wana make a choice to spend more time and enjoy abit of life here, some of us wana switch to a not so tedious job but most employers here prefer you to work hard and late to show that you work hard not work smart. And when you choose this way, foreigners will have the upper hand cos they can work much more and longer cos their motives are juts here to earn money and convert to bring back home to enjoy life.
Having immigrants coming in are not a bad thing but there must be a limit and must control. A lot of companies are making loophoes around by employing too many foreigners.
In fact I'm starting to think like a Malaysian, work as hard here and earn as much, use the money to invest in Malaysia properties and buy cars there and live since my wife is a Malaysian, eventually I may opt for Auzzie PR or elsewhere.
I expect Transportation Fare costs for Buses and MRT and taxi fares to rise again end of year or early 2009 again.
Look at the world right now, its getting a bit chaotics. Earthquakes, flood, terriosts,crimes on the rise and eratic weather , inflation , what else can we ask for. Just work hard and earn as much and enjoy.
allow me...
the pore's future to me shall be unpredictable due to:
1. constant substantial Outflow and Exit of talents who bring along their life savings and CPF overseas. Just for 1 such talent, the loss is staggeringly substantial. As reported, annually, there are at least 1 0 0 0 . 0 0 0 0 0 0 who EXITed.
Exit is not for anyone , as I always remind the naives. It takes more than Education, Market Demand, Money and Qualification and skills to migrate. To be able to even migrate, one has to have the EQ and Adaptability Quotient to migrate. These are rare breeds of humans. Exceptionally great.
2. The huge and never seen before number of Influx will change the Pore. Even though it is young and its democracy is young, its getting even younger by the day.
Above 2 scenarios alone makes the pore future unpredictable.