A Workers' Party CEC member, Yaw Shin Leong, bragged in his blog that he voted for PAP's Teo Ho Pin in the last election. Now we know why the PAP cannot lose because even opposition members in WP is voting for them ![]()
http://yawshinleong.blogspot.com/2008/05/vote-for-other-side.html
Last Sunday, during WP's walkabout at Nee Soon East SMC & Ang Mo
Kio GRC. A party member shared with me about rumblings in a local
Internet forum (Sammy Boy) that some forum participants were unable to
reconcile with the fact that I voted for Teo Ho Pin in GE2006.
This party member subsequently sent me the forum link here.
I
am of the view that it is a trait for humans to operate within the
paradigms of subjectivity and objectivity. Personally, I do not believe
in opposition for opposition's sake. In this regard, there is nothing
inherently wrong for me to vote for an MP, regardless of his/ her
partisan background, whom in my opinion is the better man who can
better serve the interests of Singapore and my community (Bukit Panjang
SMC).
Consciously in so doing, I have raised my understanding
on a required 'standard for parliamentary entry'. In another words,
being a forefront partisan activist, myself am of the view that a
particular candidate from the ruling regime deserves my vote rather
than another from the opposition, this invariably reminded me that, the
WP has to 'strive so much harder', 'offer so much more' and 'convince
so much more' in order 'to get there'.
Actually during GE06
itself, there were also some in WP who raised their eye brows when I
shared with them that I will be voting for Teo Ho Pin. On polling day,
one urged me that since the incumbent will win anyway I should perhaps
'spoil my vote' instead. However as a citizen of our constitutional
state, I take my voting duty very seriously and will never waste my
precious vote, unless the political circumstances really warrant it.
The
interesting question perhaps would be, if a WP candidate is to offer
himself/ herself for election in the constituency I reside, will I vote
for this WP candidate? Partisan considerations will certainly weigh
heavily in my considerations. Having said that, ultimately this WP
candidate has to convince me that he/ she has what it take to better
serve the interests of our country and the constituents to win my vote.
Shocking!
How to get rid of PAP like that?
PAP Teo Ho Pin vs SDP Ling How Doong
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bukit_Panjang_Single_Member_Constituency
Opposition must unite together against PAP, like Malaysia opposition.
Not fight among themselves.
Only PAP benefits.
WP vote PAP against SDP is not right.
Turncoat ![]()
Yaw Shin Leong is certainly knows how to grease his political career, voted for the PAP and telling the whole world about it in his blog. Is he trying to get invited to PAP's tea session?
Originally posted by RainForest88:Yaw Shin Leong is certainly knows how to grease his political career, voted for the PAP and telling the whole world about it in his blog. Is he trying to get invited to PAP's tea session?
nope, he will be slaughtered by the PAP. they will distance themselves from him. YSL is a nincompoop, to put it mildly.
WP has lowered themselves in my eyes.
Here, the people despise the PAP so much, now WP member reveals himself as PAP voter.
Is this being politically astute?
No.
Can i say its commonsense to say that having more new opposition parties and they not synergising together will guarantee the incumbents a sure win every time?
I could not understand the rationale for not synergising.
So , why are they doing like that? puzzling!
Could be WP despise SDP more than PAP.
This will play into the hands of PAP.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Could be WP despise SDP more than PAP.
This will play into the hands of PAP.
i think they long-term mentality required.
fang-chang-xian-diao-da-yu dio boh?
ren yi shi feng ping lang jing, tui yi bu hai kuo tian kong.
liu der ching shan zai, nah'er pah mei cai shao.
1 step at a time.
can take turn.
to protect myself, i must say this does not mean i support which party.
I am afraid that PAP will sow discord among opposition parties so they cannot form an alliance like Malaysia opposition against ruling regime.
*&$# lah!!
it's Ling How Doong!
knn, the "you all don't talk cock" guy... almost as bad as that piece of crap who runs SDP...
frankly, i don't blame the WP for hating SDP more than the MIW.. i hate them both but i hate SDP and especially that piece of crap CSJ infinitely more.. he basically destroyed the credibility of ALL the opposition with his deceit and backstabbing...
so.. what the WP fella did, is basically putting the better guy in power..
which is what people should do anyway.. voting with their conscience..
Yaw is a double head snake, don't trust him, he damaged WP 's reputation. Oppositions in spore still inmature, not like that in msia. opposition in spore kill each other, pap benefits only
wtf sia? opposition should try to get rid of PAP from power
Yaw Shin Leong was my senior in secondary school, he was quite active in sporting activities.
But I disagree with him now in his voting for PAP.
I see his face also tu lan, can't cooperate among opposition , you expect ppl to vote for you ?
'Opposition for opposition's sake' like 'art for art's sake' are overused terms and just like classical opera - Everybody knows it means something but nobody knows what exactly!
When Mr Yaw said he did not believe in 'opposition for opposition's sake', it would have been helpful if he explained his reasons for joining the opposition in the first place. Was it because he believed in the WP's manifesto or for other reasons? I sure as heck don't get it! If he believed PAP MPs to be 'better', why did he contest in the last election? Opposition for opposition's sake? And why did he join the Workers Party in the first place if he believed the PAP to be 'better'?
Mr Yaw also said: 'ultimately this WP candidate has to convince me that he/she has what it take to better serve the interests of our country and the constituents to win my vote.'
This statement reveals alot. His fellow WP candidates have to work at 'convincing' him before he can decide if he wants to vote for them! In other words, Mr Yaw is unsure of WP's policies and candidates! Why on earth is he still in the Workers Party then? Go join the PAP lah!
Now back to his 'opposition for opposition's sake' remark… When Mr Low spoke up against the obscene increase in ministerial pay, was he just 'opposing for opposition's sake'? Mr Yaw, can you explain to us what that term means to you? Are there certain PAP's policies opposition politicians shouldn't oppose? Are there certain PAP's policies (or all of them) opposition politicians should endorse? I guess what I am trying to say is: To be a 'responsible' and 'moderate' opposition politician, and avoid accusations of 'opposition for opposition's sake', does he have to oppose none of the PAP's policies and endorse all of them?
does he have to oppose none of the PAP's policies and endorse all of them?
That is not opposition member, that is PAP running dog.
Bingo. Democracy isn't about denying the ruling party, its about being free to vote for who you think will help you more.
If we are always trying to vote opposition regardless of circumstances, we will run into a very destructive cycle of "pseudo-democracy." In essence, to say that one can only vote for oppositions for the sake of ridding the ruling party is against the very nature of democracy.
Some of the forumers here have a very warped view of democracy. They think that democracy is simply "ridding" PAP. They can be free to vote against PAP just for the sake of it, but I hope the rest of the people got more wisdom than that.
I think he got it right.
I think this gives WP more credibility instead of making them lose some.
At least we know they dont support blindly and know what is good for singapore.
As if we all don't know, Crackhead CSJ is a national joke. Even Kiasu must stand one side.
Democracy isn't about denying the ruling party, its about being free to vote for who you think will help you more.
So who are you going to vote?
The one who first says that they will get Temasek and GIC to be more transparent, and cut this bs with the CPF.
Originally posted by Shotgun:Bingo. Democracy isn't about denying the ruling party, its about being free to vote for who you think will help you more.
If we are always trying to vote opposition regardless of circumstances, we will run into a very destructive cycle of "pseudo-democracy." In essence, to say that one can only vote for oppositions for the sake of ridding the ruling party is against the very nature of democracy.
Some of the forumers here have a very warped view of democracy. They think that democracy is simply "ridding" PAP. They can be free to vote against PAP just for the sake of it, but I hope the rest of the people got more wisdom than that.
Ridiculous. If I am going to use that stupid logic of yours, the superbly fucked up Republikan party filled to the brim with bigots and racists would be in power for decades and send America to ruin. The whole point of democracy is to get rid of an incompetent government, and many forumers regard the ruling party as a bunch of bumbling incompetents who are better off nursing babies (if they even know how to nurse babies), than running a country.
The one who first says that they will get Temasek and GIC to be more transparent, and cut this bs with the CPF.
If PAP in power, the above how on earth to be reality?
You must get rid of them.
There is no other way.
This is quite clear.
You still harbour illusions about PAP and USA.
When a candidate for the Opposition Party himself votes for the ruling party candidate, it goes to show how little confidence people can have in the Opposition Party. If WP comes into power, we will have senior party officials like Ling How Doong running our ministries, when even his own comrades do not believe in his competence.