Originally posted by eagle:yawns... I see a hypocrite
You just continue to believe in your CPF 2.5% hor. Best you put all your money voluntarily into it.Somehow you don't understand English. Goes with implies a correlation. Property can hedge against inflation because there's a correlation between them. No idea why you would continuously put words into my mouth. Probably you are autistic.
It is already obvious you are Gazelle.
Autistic is too good for him, mentally challenged more appropriate.
Not boring meh? He keep repeating the same stuff over and over again like some damaged record player, without any external sources of proof to his claims. Then start shoving words down our throats.
You just continue to believe in your CPF 2.5% hor. Best you put all your money voluntarily into it.
Somehow you don't understand English. Goes with implies a correlation. Property can hedge against inflation because there's a correlation between them. No idea why you would continuously put words into my mouth. Probably you are down syndrome.
After giving us all that BS about property following inflation, suntec city bond, and rental market, now he wants to introduce something even more complex, Correlation of inflation and property price.
May I ask you Mr. Wanker No.1, what exactly do you know about what you are saying (ie. correlationship of property price and inflation) and can you show us, the correlation of Singapore property price and inflation for the past 20 years.
Obviously he CANT and he is going to come out with more NEW bull shit to cover the older ones,
Typical wanker!!
Originally posted by Chinkara:After giving us all that BS about property following inflation, suntec city bond, and rental market, now he wants to introduce something even more complex, Correlation of inflation and property price.
May I ask you Mr. Wanker No.1, what exactly do you know about what you are saying (ie. correlationship of property price and inflation) and can you show us, the correlation of Singapore property price and inflation for the past 20 years.
Obviously he CANT and he is going to come out with more NEW bull shit to cover the older ones,
Typical wanker!!
Ahem~!![]()
See the similarities
By Gazelle
You are very typical of what an armchair critics would usually do
what is the point of calling others idiot and making up story here? Another wanker in the making?
By this new nick
Lets read what wanker No.1 wrote earlier.
This is classic example of how armchair critics will react when kenna questioned...
Dunno why Gazelle buay sian one ![]()
Originally posted by Chinkara:After giving us all that BS about property following inflation, suntec city bond, and rental market, now he wants to introduce something even more complex, Correlation of inflation and property price.
Typical wanker!!
See, you are talking without even having read the report by the NUS professor which documented from 1997 to 2007 ![]()
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Um......snapping up HDB flats now may seem like a smart move. But it could very well lead to a unsustainable property bubble. It is hardly a smart move unless of course YOU are smart and know when to stop.
Inflation and bubbles are two entirely different issues. Don't get confused with the two.
You just continue to believe in your CPF 2.5% hor. Best you put all your money voluntarily into it.Somehow you don't understand English. Goes with implies a correlation. Property can hedge against inflation because there's a correlation between them. No idea why you would continuously put words into my mouth. Probably you are autistic.
That's the usual reasons lazy bums give. They only rely on others to spoonfeed them, and if no spoonfeeding was given, they blame others. Yeah, pls continue to show us this trait of yours.
It is already obvious you are Gazelle.
why do you need to edit this post so many times? Nothing to say right? have to think of new ideas to cover up your stupidity right?
Hahahaha......are you having some Gazellephobia or are you thinking that you can discredit your opponent by calling him Gazelle? So what if I am? You not happy? want to complain to your moderator MAMA to ban me? :D
You are so damn sissy you know? If you want to challenge me, please do it like a man and not some bloody pussy wearing skirts.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Inflation and bubbles are two entirely different issues. Don't get confused with the two.
But, snapping up property because of inflation will lead to a bubble. The day mass panic sets in you get wet with the bubble.![]()
Originally posted by eagle:See, you are talking without even having read the report by the NUS professor which documented from 1997 to 2007
Eagle, I am not sure why you always like to use university, professor, Warren Buffet etc etc to support your case. Do you think that by doing that it will give your stupid theory about property prices following inflation a new meaning?
Please cut the chase and tell us the CORRELATIONSHIP instead of trying to use professor and NUS to cover up your bullshit.
Originally posted by Chinkara:why do you need to edit this post so many times? Nothing to say right? have to think of new ideas to cover up your stupidity right?
Hahahaha......are you having some Gazellephobia or are you thinking that you can discredit your opponent by calling him Gazelle? So what if I am? You not happy? want to complain to your moderator MAMA to ban me? :D
You are so damn sissy you know? If you want to challenge me, please do it like a man and not some bloody pussy wearing skirts.
Pls continue. ![]()
Only Gazelle calls other forumers wankers. Everyone knows. ![]()
Only losers call others names when they have nothing else to say ![]()
Originally posted by Chinkara:Eagle, I am not sure why you always like to use university, professor, Warren Buffet etc etc to support your case. Do you think that by doing that it will give your stupid theory about property prices following inflation a new meaning?
Please cut the chase and tell us the CORRELATIONSHIP instead of trying to use professor and NUS to cover up your bullshit.
Lazy bum then say la. No need to give more excuses
Wrong. When the money supply goes up, in the short-term, you will have hot money inflow into the economy. It will lead to an appreciation in the short-run.Whether these short-term capital will stay on will depend on external environment and the conditions inside, whether they will be favourable or not.
What form of appreciation are you talking about? Stronger US dollar; or shifts in the LM curve (IS-LM curve) which leads to temporary expansion of GDP.
A stronger USD.
But, snapping up property because of inflation will lead to a bubble. The day mass panic sets in you get wet with the bubble.
A bubble bursts eventually ![]()
But, snapping up property because of inflation will lead to a bubble. The day mass panic sets in you get wet with the bubble.
Speculative bubble occurs only when fundamentals don't support the price level. If the price levels of everyday has inflated to high levels, food, drinks, transport, clothing, it means resource owners will require more payment for their assets. If food has increased from $2 to $3 (say), surely you don't expect the landlords to maintain his initial rental of $1500.
A stronger USD.
You need to re-read your AD again.
Dornbusch finds that an unanticipated monetary expansion immediately depreciates the exchange rate, creating excess demand for domestic goods.
A stronger USD.

wow, you go to the far end of the world (my kiwi friends will acknowledge that it's NZ tt i am referring to) to state your point. kudos to you.
i personally couldn't be bothered. if i cannot type onto the screen thru' what's left of my brain , i'll just stop at that.
too much effort.
Originally posted by redDUST:
wow, you go to the far end of the world (my kiwi friends will acknowledge that it's NZ tt i am referring to) to state your point. kudos to you.i personally couldn't be bothered. if i cannot type onto the screen thru' what's left of my brain , i'll just stop at that.
too much effort.
It's alright, I have the book. All that was needed was to extract the book and upload it.
Always remember from auditing, external source of supporting evidence is stronger than self generated evidence.
Cheers. ![]()
real estate as a hedge for inflation?
seasoned investors will ask you this question: when do you buy the real estate to hedge for inflation, before inflation (ie in 2003/2004) or after you have realised there is inflation like now?
lesson 1: all of us know there is inflation today, it is reported all over the newspaper. So to hedge this inflation, we go long real estate (assumed mass market) which jumped by 40% in 2007? Are you sure?
guys, you can only leverage up on property today if you believe that inflation rate is going to be higher than current level going forward. You lose money if inflation rate collapses into the future and the worst case is deflation.
all the talk of buying property to hedge for inflation is rubbish. It should be rephrased, buying property to hedge for future inflation which is expected to be higher than current level. Who knows the future?
The is an article in today's BT talking about some analyst predicting Singapore property prices falling 30% by year 2010.
If anyone here thinks there is any logic to what these 2 wankers are saying (ie. property prices will follow and mirror inflation rate) by all means, empty your "pathatic" 2.5% CPF and start investing in property.
Plus, Eagle and his property agent friend will gurantee you a $5,000 monthly rental incomg for any terrace in any location.
seasoned investors will ask you this question: when do you buy the real estate to hedge for inflation, before inflation (ie in 2003/2004) or after you have realised there is inflation like now?
There are analysts who claimed there's a property bubble now. There are also analysts who claimed that there isn't. As you said, who knows the future.
But even at the recent peak, housing prices are actually still cheaper than Hong Kong's. Their population is near 7 mil, and their usable land area is maybe just slightly more than Singapore since a lot are mountains.
We can expect when Singapore gradually reach the 5.5 mil or 6.5 mil or whatever population mark, housing prices will rise accordingly to perhaps near Hong Kong's level.
But of course, to maximise earnings, it would be better to wait for a downturn before buying.
Originally posted by Chinkara:The is an article in today's BT talking about some analyst predicting Singapore property prices falling 30% by year 2010.
If anyone here thinks there is any logic to what these 2 wankers are saying (ie. property prices will follow and mirror inflation rate) by all means, empty your "pathatic" 2.5% CPF and start investing in property.
Plus, Eagle and his property agent friend will gurantee you a $5,000 monthly rental incomg for any terrace in any location.
Are you dumb or? The news is talking about market correction, not inflation. Seems like you don't understand the difference.
Originally posted by eagle:Are you dumb or? The news is talking about market correction, not inflation. Seems like you don't understand the difference.
Mr. Wanker No.1, you mean you cant see the CORRELATIONSHIP of the BT article to what you have said earlier in this thread? And you are asking if I am dumb?
Hahahahaha....you are unreal dude!!
Originally posted by eagle:Property goes up in price with inflation. You forgot about that.
Originally posted by maurizio13:The second element is inflation, the property you bought for $1,400,000 with an inflation of 6.7% a year, would have been priced at $1,493,800 at the end of 1 year.
eagle: HK is very different from Singapore in the sense of private property.
In Singapore, 85% of the population live in HDB ie government flats. Opposite is true for HK. Generally, couples in HK got to work and save till mid-life in order to afford the ownership of a roof over their heads. Thats how precious a private property in HK compared to Singapore. That explains much of the price differential between HK's and Sing's private properties. Having said that, it is much easier to control mass market condo prices in Singapore than in HK.