Originally posted by purpledragon84:y not? of coz i think it may be.. just remember what PM say abt GIC's disclosure level.. and like i said, PAP or not, all sux..
but that oso means oppo-supporters should shut up abt how bad pap is, until they have proven how good their own parties are, and stop labeling pap supporters as dogs.. how uncouth... u dun see obama supporters screaming clinton supporters dogs and lackeys.. and vice versa, except a few losers..
But opposition is still an unknown, whereas the other is a confirmed variable.
You can't just chop off all the trees with one single blow. If person A is a thief, it does not mean person B is a thief.
again.. u all take words too literally..when i say shut up.. i dun mean let them trample..
u look at speakers corner threads.. which one dun have "despots", "dogs", "LKY MUST DIE"? all this will let ppl have a better understanding of our political scene now?
u want to let ppl understand what the hell is wrong with singapore now, u post the facts that they delibrately miss out, and let ppl do the judging.. adding ur own comments to it will only serve to let ppl tink that u are a biased and inaccurate source.. surely even YOU should know that..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:again.. u all take words too literally..when i say shut up.. i dun mean let them trample..
u look at speakers corner threads.. which one dun have "despots", "dogs", "LKY MUST DIE"? all this will let ppl have a better understanding of our political scene now?
u want to let ppl understand what the hell is wrong with singapore now, u post the facts that they delibrately miss out, and let ppl do the judging.. adding ur own comments to it will only serve to let ppl tink that u are a biased and inaccurate source.. surely even YOU should know that..
84, so you are 24, now I understand why you say what you said.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
But opposition is still an unknown, whereas the other is a confirmed variable.You can't just chop off all the trees with one single blow. If person A is a thief, it does not mean person B is a thief.
but the problem with some ppl in this forum is that they try to make it sound like person B is NOT a thief just because A is..
if u find what i said weird, take a look at SC again..
Originally posted by qlqq9:
84, so you are 24, now I understand why you say what you said.
haha.. by ur concept, u are 9 this year..
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:to piont_blankie,
before you go off.
should a contractor who is paid world rec, tasked to solve a problem
ask the hand that feeds its mouth
"hey, you have a problem that u engaged me (at extreme high price) to solve,
but I no no. You know the solution or not?"
now f off!
to unbalanced_complacencies
Show me where the specific contractor who is paid as you claimed asked for a solution
Who the hell are you to tell me to f off. you fake democratic asswipe. But i wont descend to your level, you balanced_piece_of_shit. Do stay and show your hypocrisy.
Originally posted by eagle:Ask the incumbent to release the results of any gerrymandering way before an election is due. Mega-GRCs are already an unfair practice.
Why support PAP yet nothing to comment on this unfair practice de ![]()
Hmmm...
Originally posted by eagle:TS has nothing to say about this unfair practice?
Eagle, did i propose such measures? Wasn't it put to the citizens and through a vote, such measures were accepted by the majority? Before the elections, did the opposition did anything constructive successfully to change the citizen's mind? Can you accept the decision by the majority?
So who to blame? The majority or the ineffective whinning opposition parties, and their supporters such as Atobe and Mariozio13, whom seemed to talk big and alot, but no positive actions.
You think my silence to your question is fear? Think again, eagle. I only kept quiet because i thought you had a brain between the ears and could figure it out yourself, but i guess i was wrong. Thus my reply. May it satisfy your cerebral tissues, if there are any
Double post.
Originally posted by Point_blank:
Eagle, did i propose such measures? Wasn't it put to the citizens and through a vote, such measures were accepted by the majority? Before the elections, did the opposition did anything constructive successfully to change the citizen's mind? Can you accept the decision by the majority?So who to blame? The majority or the ineffective whinning opposition parties, and their supporters such as Atobe and Mariozio13, whom seemed to talk big and alot, but no positive actions.
Fact: Since the introduction of mega-GRCs, the opposition have never won a GRC.
Fact: The incumbent has only 66.6% of the votes, yet have 82/84 seats. Majority indeed.
There was no vote on the implementation of mega-GRCs (5~6 persons). Voting for a government is different from voting for the implementation of the mega-GRC. Just the previous election, we see MM Lee in his mega 6 person GRCs leading 5 greenhorns who would most likely not stand a chance against a number of the opposition candidates. The same for GCT.
The other example that they did was 'voting' to join Malaysia. In none of the choices was there one that allows the population to vote no. The opposition wanted a 'NO' and they weren't given a choice. A blank vote was stated in the clause to be a 'yes'. They did raised reasons why it wasn't good, but even if their arguments were accepted by the majority, the majority weren't given a chance at all to vote for 'no' at all. What happened eventually? Singapore still broke away from Malaysia.
You think my silence to your question is fear? Think again, eagle. I only kept quiet because i thought you had a brain between the ears and could figure it out yourself, but i guess i was wrong. Thus my reply. May it satisfy your cerebral tissues, if there are any
Seems like you have to be the first person to start insulting others. What sort of behaviour is this, I wonder. I trust that I have posted nothing offensive to provoke an insult.
Hmm... to edit a post merely to add an insult... Wow...
Originally posted by Point_blank:
Eagle, did i propose such measures? Wasn't it put to the citizens and through a vote, such measures were accepted by the majority? Before the elections, did the opposition did anything constructive successfully to change the citizen's mind? Can you accept the decision by the majority?So who to blame? The majority or the ineffective whinning opposition parties, and their supporters such as Atobe and Mariozio13, whom seemed to talk big and alot, but no positive actions.
Seems like you are the only genius ranting in here. ![]()
We are only highlighting the policies which we feel are subservient to the Leegime, in the hope that should one day the opposition takes over the helm, they would find solutions to these policies.
You can't accept the diverse views in the world and this forum? What form of democracy are you promoting here? The Lee form of democracy? ![]()
Like I said before, solutions will not be available to the opposition till they have full control of the helm. But I do hope that parliamentary powers will be distributed equally amongst the different parties, so that no single party can DICTATE the rule.
I remember the opposition (cannot remember Steve Chia or Slyvia Lim) claiming that the solutions they proposed in the parliament were shot down very fast. Then after a few years or so, some minister will miraculously come out with a solution very very very similar to their proposed one.
Originally posted by eagle:Fact: Since the introduction of mega-GRCs, the opposition have never won a GRC.
Fact: The incumbent has only 66.6% of the votes, yet have 82/84 seats. Majority indeed.There was no vote on the implementation of mega-GRCs (5~6 persons). Voting for a government is different from voting for the implementation of the mega-GRC. Just the previous election, we see MM Lee in his mega 6 person GRCs leading 5 greenhorns who would most likely not stand a chance against a number of the opposition candidates. The same for GCT.
The other example that they did was 'voting' to join Malaysia. In none of the choices was there a one that allows the population to vote no. The opposition wanted a 'NO' and they weren't giving a choice. A blank vote was stated in the clause to be a 'yes'. They did raised reasons why it wasn't good, but even if their arguments were accepted by the majority, the majority weren't given a chance at all to vote for 'no' at all. What happened eventually? Singapore still broke away from Malaysia.
You know something.
I feel that the GRC system is a acknowledgement by the ruling party that their decades of nation building, promoting a one united people regardless of race, language and religion has failed.
Originally posted by Atobe:You seem to be hasty and incomplete in the things that you do, and jump to conclusions too quickly. You should learn to be more circumspect in so quickly expressing your thoughts.
Did you find the solutions finally after reading and extracting one paragraph from my posts ?
For a little while you confirmed my suspicion that you are blind, and choose to see only what you wish to see.
Are you certain that petrol prices will ever become cheaper ?
Consumption can be curbed not by indiscriminately increasing the prices on a blanket basis that hurts the essential services that need petrol or industrial oil, which in turn affect the overall Cost of Living.
Electronic Road Pricing can be fine tuned to discourage the intensive use of saloon cars, and solve your concerns of petrol consumption for leisure - while commercial goods vehicles can be priced lower that do not affect transportation cost normally passed to consumer through product pricing.
The selective use of Road Pricing is to be differntiated with the arbitrary and indiscriminate pricing currently implemented, which result in the ERP system being a Revenue Generating Mechanism for the Government.
With or without local consumer demand, World Petroleum Prices will continue to spiral upwards, as the supply of petrol is finite, and is a depleting resource - which is manipulated as a speculative commodity by Oil Companies.
Why should Governments continue to use an inflexible tax system to moderate consumption, when there are more effective means that focus on specifics without producing negative effects generally to the Cost of Living ?.
How would you even know if any solution are well thought out proposals, if you do not make any effort to even understand the structure of the proposal ?
It is always easy to opt out and allow the academics and / or professionals to exercise thinking - what happened to your own intellectual faculties ?
How will you know if Ah Meng is not more intelligent then your 'Point_blank' approach that have time and again led your points being exposed as blanks ?
At this stage, I am no longer surprise by your very presumptious and condescending remarks towards participants in this Speakers' Corner.
If you are not willing to engage but prefer to indulge in polemics - why do you even bother to be here ?
If you believe that accountability is zero, continue with your Point_blank approach in your debating style, and see how far you get in this forum.
You got to make up your mind which is more important - your ''responsibility to society'' or to personal vanity.
Why should you even care if your good solution is plagiarised by any thick skinned shameless academics - if it benefits society at large ?
Has this not been the position of CSJ in publicising his thoughts and solutions that he believe are good alternatives in his book ''Dare to Change'' ?
The MIW dismissed his writings as ''western liberal thinking'' when it was released to the public in the 1990s; yet some of the policy changes in the Year 2002 were parallel ideas resembling CSJ's solutions published ten years earlier.
During the preceding ten years that CSJ's proposal was dismissed, at least one generation of Singaporeans have to endure the selfish insanity of the MIW Government in office between 1992 and 2002.
With your expertise in insulting yourself so far, why do you need any extra help from me ? Are you sure that you care for only answers from anyone, or only the answers that you want to see or hear ?
You can take as much time as you want to cop out from this debate, as no one will miss your absence.
Atobe, I had offered a reconciliatory handout and this was again your polemic responses. Fine.
"You seem to be hasty and incomplete in the things that you do, and jump to conclusions too quickly. You should learn to be more circumspect in so quickly expressing your thoughts.
Did you find the solutions finally after reading and extracting one paragraph from my posts ?
For a little while you confirmed my suspicion that you are blind, and choose to see only what you wish to see"
Yes. I was blinded for i wish to see a reconciliation, that the opposition are indeed working for solutions to solve the everyday issues of the citizens. But by your admittance that it is not, I had been BLINDED by the OPPOSITION once again.
"Are you certain that petrol prices will ever become cheaper ?
Consumption can be curbed not by indiscriminately increasing the prices on a blanket basis that hurts the essential services that need petrol or industrial oil, which in turn affect the overall Cost of Living.
Electronic Road Pricing can be fine tuned to discourage the intensive use of saloon cars, and solve your concerns of petrol consumption for leisure - while commercial goods vehicles can be priced lower that do not affect transportation cost normally passed to consumer through product pricing.
The selective use of Road Pricing is to be differntiated with the arbitrary and indiscriminate pricing currently implemented, which result in the ERP system being a Revenue Generating Mechanism for the Government.
With or without local consumer demand, World Petroleum Prices will continue to spiral upwards, as the supply of petrol is finite, and is a depleting resource - which is manipulated as a speculative commodity by Oil Companies.
Why should Governments continue to use an inflexible tax system to moderate consumption, when there are more effective means that focus on specifics without producing negative effects generally to the Cost of Living ?.
How would you even know if any solution are well thought out proposals, if you do not make any effort to even understand the structure of the proposal ?"
You don't seem to read anyone's else words, except your own. Re-read my post. Did i say i challenge your assumptions on such issues? You, as an OPPOSITION PARTY SUPPORTER, FAILED to listen to others yet again.
"It is always easy to opt out and allow the academics and / or professionals to exercise thinking - what happened to your own intellectual faculties ?"
Good lord! Is this how the opposition party thinking policy is run? Without professionals and/ or academics? Running a country is not the same as running a hawker stall! "what happened to your own intellectual faculties" - would you trust an engineer to perform accounting roles without trainning for it? or a teacher to run the Defence Department?
Enough of engaging with a complete idiot that you are, i say! A waste of my time and my efforts!
Go and fool others. I would like to see how many will be taken in by your crap.
I would rather hear what others say on this thread.
You know something.I feel that the GRC system is a acknowledgement by the ruling party that their decades of nation building, promoting a one united people regardless of race, language and religion has failed.
Not only that, the jailing of bloggers for racist comments, HDB quotas etc all points to their failure. I don't blame them actually, Singapore is really full of fucked up people.
Originally posted by eagle:Fact: Since the introduction of mega-GRCs, the opposition have never won a GRC.
Fact: The incumbent has only 66.6% of the votes, yet have 82/84 seats. Majority indeed.There was no vote on the implementation of mega-GRCs (5~6 persons). Voting for a government is different from voting for the implementation of the mega-GRC. Just the previous election, we see MM Lee in his mega 6 person GRCs leading 5 greenhorns who would most likely not stand a chance against a number of the opposition candidates. The same for GCT.
The other example that they did was 'voting' to join Malaysia. In none of the choices was there one that allows the population to vote no. The opposition wanted a 'NO' and they weren't given a choice. A blank vote was stated in the clause to be a 'yes'. They did raised reasons why it wasn't good, but even if their arguments were accepted by the majority, the majority weren't given a chance at all to vote for 'no' at all. What happened eventually? Singapore still broke away from Malaysia.
Eagle, simple. Despite all you claimed, Did a majority voted for the ruling party, OR NOT?
Enough said
Edit: Sorry, i didn't realized you were blind, because you thought i was the first to insult others here.
Seems like you are the only genius ranting in here.
We are only highlighting the policies which we feel are subservient to the Leegime, in the hope that should one day the opposition takes over the helm, they would find solutions to these policies.
You can't accept the diverse views in the world and this forum? What form of democracy are you promoting here? The Lee form of democracy?
Like I said before, solutions will not be available to the opposition till they have full control of the helm. But I do hope that parliamentary powers will be distributed equally amongst the different parties, so that no single party can DICTATE the rule.
"We are only highlighting the policies"..."in the hope that should one day the opposition takes over the helm"
Will wonders never cease. Do you flip flop your confrontational attitude on a regular basis or this is only your latest mood change?
Originally posted by Point_blank:Eagle, simple. Despite all you claimed, Did a majority voted for the ruling party, OR NOT?
Enough said
Edit: Sorry, i didn't realized you were blind, because you thought i was the first to insult others here.
ya la ya la... If everyone says so (votes so), then it must be correct right?
I can see you have nothing else to comment, and have to resort to merely insults (a 2nd time) to justify yourself. I'm talking about the discussion between you and me. No idea why you would link me to others.
You are seriously a sad case man
Originally posted by kramnave:Not only that, the jailing of bloggers for racist comments, HDB quotas etc all points to their failure. I don't blame them actually, Singapore is really full of fucked up people.
Here we have a P4P die hard supporter (whose name I shall not reveal
), calling others with diverse views from his, idiot, blind and stupid. I wonder what kind of democracy P4P promotes.
Originally posted by Point_blank:"We are only highlighting the policies"..."in the hope that should one day the opposition takes over the helm"
Will wonders never cease. Do you flip flop your confrontational attitude on a regular basis or this is only your latest mood change?
I always try my best to be nice to cats, dogs and other animals. ![]()
They are also god's creation, deserve to be treated with kindness and respect.
Here we have a P4P die hard supporter (whose name I shall not reveal), calling others with diverse views from his, idiot, blind and stupid. I wonder what kind of democracy P4P promotes.
There are a lot of people here who are like that and i have experienced many of them, whose nameS i shall not reveal
. I wonder what kind of democracy are they fighting for.
I always try my best to be nice to cats, dogs and other animals.They are also god's creation, deserve to be treated with kindness and respect.
I guess you didn't try that hard for the different species of Gazelle like the Mongolian Gazelle, Gutturosa, and the South Asian Gazelle, Chinkara ![]()
I always try my best to be nice to cats, dogs and other animals.They are also god's creation, deserve to be treated with kindness and respect.
Okay okay. Good advice. forthwith i will try to be nice to cats, dogs and eagles as well.
Originally posted by eagle:ya la ya la... If everyone says so (votes so), then it must be correct right?
I can see you have nothing else to comment, and have to resort to merely insults (a 2nd time) to justify yourself. I'm talking about the discussion between you and me. No idea why you would link me to others.
You are seriously a sad case man
yup, eagle. I am sad man. And have a case against the ineffective oppostion. But if you want a constructive comment from me, i can only offer - There's always the next election.
If you were referring to the discussion between you and me and not link to others, then let me the first to apologise for that was the first discussion i had with you and you did not insult me before.