The one who shall not be named follows blindly the majority. ![]()
His counter to many of the arguments is, the majority voted for it, therefore it must be the way to go. Very convenient leh... And brainless at the same time... ![]()
Originally posted by Point_blank:
Sigh.....
maurizio 13, you lend credence to my analysis of you, a definitive post that you are truly and incorrigibly stupid. I hope you only show your trait here and not in the real world, otherwise you have my deepest sympathy.
You cannot even differentiate between arguments based on critical analysis and arguments based on pure ego.
Do stop or come out with better discussive points based on rational thoughts. Otherwise,clamp up and no one else will recognise you for the fool you truly are.
Please don't make me teach you again. You waste others' time.
I like your post on page 1 best. It describes the kind of person you are. ![]()
I didn't know these days, insults and profanities qualify as crtical analysis.
You cannot even differentiate between arguments based on critical analysis and arguments based on pure ego.
Do stop or come out with better discussive points based on rational thoughts. Otherwise,clamp up and no one else will recognise you for the fool you truly are.
Please don't make me teach you again. You waste others' time.
yup, eagle. I am sad man. And have a case against the ineffective oppostion. But if you want a constructive comment from me, i can only offer - There's always the next election.
If you were referring to the discussion between you and me and not link to others, then let me the first to apologise for that was the first discussion i had with you and you did not insult me before.
The opposition is not totally ineffective; they are being marginalised by the PAP.
But you are right, there's always the next election...
Originally posted by eagle:The one who shall not be named follows blindly the majority.
His counter to many of the arguments is, the majority voted for it, therefore it must be the way to go. Very convenient leh... And brainless at the same time...
10 cats on a boat, 1 jumped.
How many cats are left?
Ans: zero.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I like your post on page 1 best. It describes the kind of person you are.
I didn't know these days, insults and profanities qualify as crtical analysis.
Well done. Do the keep the score. And following what maurizio 13 had reminded me again, Eagle, i guess I need not respond to your irresponsible attempt to tear our social fabric and lack of respect to the majority post
"His counter to many of the arguments is, the majority voted for it, therefore it must be the way to go. Very convenient leh... And brainless at the same time..."
there are many reasons why majority voted for a party.. maybe because it's genuinely good, maybe because they have no other parties to choose from becoz of the lack of exposure.. maybe because facts were hidden from the majority..
majority vote doesn't mean majority right..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:there are many reasons why majority voted for a party.. maybe because it's genuinely good, maybe because they have no other parties to choose from becoz of the lack of exposure.. maybe because facts were hidden from the majority..
majority vote doesn't mean majority right..
What is right and what is wrong ?
Originally posted by kramnave:What is right and what is wrong ?
good question.
good govt, and bad govt.. one that hides facts from the ppl, and one thats genuinely transparent..
it is only right that people are allowed to make informed choices..
if u want to go and tell ppl u are not going to disclose how u spend the ppl's money... something is wrong..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:good govt, and bad govt.. one that hides facts from the ppl, and one thats genuinely transparent..
if u want to go and tell ppl u are not going to disclose how u spend the ppl's money... something is wrong..
I agree. No transparency equals no accountability. In any country, it is of utmost importance and is necessary for govt to be as transparent as possible. If there is nothing fishy, there is no need to hide away from being transparent.
Originally posted by purpledragon84:good govt, and bad govt.. one that hides facts from the ppl, and one thats genuinely transparent..
Yes this is one possible way to gauge whether or not a government is "good" or "bad".
However, is it still a good government if it's truly transparent but it fails the nation in terms of not bringing peace and prosperity for example. Further, how can we tell if a government is genuinely transparent. Forgive me but when politicians speak, half of what they say is puffery.
i dunid the govt to be truly transparent in order for me to trust them.. i only need a govt to TRY to be as transparent as possible..(of coz 'try' here doesn't mean wayang wayang kind of 'try' la..) no govt can guarantee u 100% transparency.. but no govt should be HIDING things from u mah..
if a govt fails the nation by not bringing peace and prosperity, u oso cant judge it as good or bad govt, maybe bad becoz it failed, but maybe good because it tried..
i think if the govt is trying, the ppl should be able to see it la.. but if the govt is misleading the ppl with false info or hiding info, and actually be blatant about it.. den something's not right..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i dunid the govt to be truly transparent in order for me to trust them.. i only need a govt to TRY to be as transparent as possible..(of coz 'try' here doesn't mean wayang wayang kind of 'try' la..) no govt can guarantee u 100% transparency.. but no govt should be HIDING things from u mah..
if a govt fails the nation by not bringing peace and prosperity, u oso cant judge it as good or bad govt, maybe bad becoz it failed, but maybe good because it tried..
i think if the govt is trying, the ppl should be able to see it la.. but if the govt is misleading the ppl with false info or hiding info, and actually be blatant about it.. den something's not right..
What do you mean by try to be as transparent as possible ?! or you don't need the govt to be truly transparent ?! Even by your own standards you are being vague, what more an entire nation of different people casting their votes (if at all) dues to different reasons/standards.
A government "may be good because ti tried". What is the government there for ?
There are many contradictory people in Spore. They voice out that they are not happy with the gahmen and wish things can be better, they wish the ruling party can get lost and so on. On election day, many of these cast their votes to the ruling party.
Sigh, I give up on these people.
u said it urself mah.. we oso wun noe if the govt is truly transparent.. dats y my requirements oso not high..
ok maybe i phrased it wrongly.. i only need the govt to not lie and hide facts from me.. that's my definition of 'try'..
and like u said too.. ppl have different reasons/standards, therefore majority win doesn't mean majority right..
Originally posted by qlqq9:There are many contradictory people in Spore. They voice out that they are not happy with the gahmen and wish things can be better, they wish the ruling party can get lost and so on. On election day, many of these cast their votes to the ruling party.
Sigh, I give up on these people.
some don't get to vote.. at all..
draw draw draw link link link.. all the ppl who want to vote cannot vote liao.. u shud noe what i mean..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:
some don't get to vote.. at all..draw draw draw link link link.. all the ppl who want to vote cannot vote liao.. u shud noe what i mean..
GRC. By introducing GRC, they can be assured to stay in power. By introducing GRC is a cheat.
Hate to break up and interrupt the GRC dead issue, guys...
But do consider:-
There are more pressing issues facing the nation now. Inflation, oil, rice, FTs, etc. More critical is the impact of rise in prices that impacts most.
My purpose of this thread is to hope to hear something concrete, some credible solutions from the opposition parties, but what i have heard are only polemics from its supporters. Looks like there is no hope we will get any help from that quarter. Absolutely no reason to fight for their chance to get into power.
Some say the govt are paid highly to look for solutions. Then are we going to sit, go hungry or bankrupt and wait till the next election to vote them out when they cannot solve them?
I refuse to believe sporeans are a kiasu and apathetic lot. In these bad times, we can show our heart to our neighbours by skimping meals to donate that dollar to them. I refuse to believe that all intelligent sporeans are already in the civil service.
We can bitch, moan, cry, fight and insult each other here, comment on who is right, who is wrong, allege wrongs without a shred of evidence, claim who was right and who was wrong, and it would not help our fellow citizens one bit.
But is there anyone who have a credible idea or solution to help our fellow citizens get thru these times? Or continue to mock one another here for another 100 pages?
You are really a troll. Don't want to debate than don't post lah.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
You are really a troll. Don't want to debate than don't post lah.
Poh, i notice that from the beginning.
Atobe, I had offered a reconciliatory handout and this was again your polemic responses. Fine.
Were you not supposed to be away for ''a while'' or has your ego been addicted to posting in this Speakers' Corner that you simply cannot walk away for a ''little while longer'' ?
For one who is suppose to show conciliatory signs, your signature mark seems to be one that challenged others for a reply more then conciliation - is this your way of being ''Point_blank'' in your conciliatory action ?
''Blank in the conciliatory points'' that you intend to make ?
"You seem to be hasty and incomplete in the things that you do, and jump to conclusions too quickly. You should learn to be more circumspect in so quickly expressing your thoughts.
Did you find the solutions finally after reading and extracting one paragraph from my posts ?
For a little while you confirmed my suspicion that you are blind, and choose to see only what you wish to see"
Yes. I was blinded for i wish to see a reconciliation, that the opposition are indeed working for solutions to solve the everyday issues of the citizens. But by your admittance that it is not, I had been BLINDED by the OPPOSITION once again.
Did my brilliance blinded you, or were you blinded by your own brilliant ignorance and self-deceiving nature - in which your effort at false conciliation fell through your inability to hold the bottom of your own points made in the previous post ?
How has your reading ability resulted in seeing me admitting to anything in my previous post, or have you again make some false presumptions that deceived yourself into a wrong conclusion ?
It does not take too much brilliance for any fool to come to wrong conclusions, especially when one is so hopeless in understanding the meaning of clearly intended sentences.
Why will you maligned the Alternative Parties, when it is my own views and ideas that has no association with any Political Parties - either from the MIW or its challengers ?
This clearly shows your vain obssession in believing that you are single handedly battling the entire Oppositon Force.
Good luck to the MIW Team with defenders like you reinforcing their points with blanks like you. .
"Are you certain that petrol prices will ever become cheaper ?
Consumption can be curbed not by indiscriminately increasing the prices on a blanket basis that hurts the essential services that need petrol or industrial oil, which in turn affect the overall Cost of Living.
Electronic Road Pricing can be fine tuned to discourage the intensive use of saloon cars, and solve your concerns of petrol consumption for leisure - while commercial goods vehicles can be priced lower that do not affect transportation cost normally passed to consumer through product pricing.
The selective use of Road Pricing is to be differntiated with the arbitrary and indiscriminate pricing currently implemented, which result in the ERP system being a Revenue Generating Mechanism for the Government.
With or without local consumer demand, World Petroleum Prices will continue to spiral upwards, as the supply of petrol is finite, and is a depleting resource - which is manipulated as a speculative commodity by Oil Companies.
Why should Governments continue to use an inflexible tax system to moderate consumption, when there are more effective means that focus on specifics without producing negative effects generally to the Cost of Living ?.
How would you even know if any solution are well thought out proposals, if you do not make any effort to even understand the structure of the proposal ?"
You don't seem to read anyone's else words, except your own. Re-read my post. Did i say i challenge your assumptions on such issues? You, as an OPPOSITION PARTY SUPPORTER, FAILED to listen to others yet again.
Did you not give a comment that by reducing petrol taxes it will result in cheaper fuel prices, which will lead to more fuel consumption ?
Did you relate my reply - that you have dutifully extracted - with the comments thatt you had initially posted ?
Are you not the person who ''do not seem to read anyone else's words, except your own'' ?
It seems that it is YOU who should re-read your post again and relate to what has been given in my reply that you are now objecting.
For one who make a statement that differs from your own original position, it is amazing that you believe that you have not challenge my assumptions.
Are you deluded ?
Should we give any further credence to your effort in deriding the Alternative Parties at each turn of your desparate position ?
It is quite obvious that in your delusion you have seen the Alternative Political Parties as not listening to the views of Singaporeans, when it has always been the MIW Team that always dismissed the Singaporean views by pushing their own MIW Agenda.
"It is always easy to opt out and allow the academics and / or professionals to exercise thinking - what happened to your own intellectual faculties ?"
Good lord! Is this how the opposition party thinking policy is run? Without professionals and/ or academics? Running a country is not the same as running a hawker stall! "what happened to your own intellectual faculties" - would you trust an engineer to perform accounting roles without trainning for it? or a teacher to run the Defence Department?
Good grief !!! By this time, anyone who has followed this thread will know that you are psycholtic, mixing the position of an ordinary Singaporean to be that of the Alternative Political Party - will you be specific as to which Opposition Party is set in your mind ?
If we were to extend your argument that a teacher cannot run a Ministry of Defense, what was Rear-Admiral Liu doing as the Acting Minister of Education after being discharged from the Navy ?
Did Minister Tharman peform badly as the previous Minister of Education, when he had graduated in Economics only ? Should we entrust him with the Ministry of Finance when he is purely an economist by training ?
From your assumptions made in your reply - are Singaporeans not being taken as suckers by LKY's MIW Team in paying Million Dollar wages for these untrained and miss-matched talents to run ministries on a trial and error basis, and at great risks that another few generations have to bear the consequences of their decisions ?
What is Minister Khaw doing in the Health Ministry when he is not a Doctor ?
If we were to take your argument further - it probably explains for the stupidity of LKY and his recruited talents comprising of the best lawyers, engineers, accountants having to decide on the feasibility of an MRT system for Singapore in the 70's.
It seems all the talents recruited by LKY were hopelessly lost and were not in any position to accept the vision of the late President Ong Teng Cheong,- who was an Urban Planning Architect and had recommended the necessity of a modern subway system to serve an extensive urban city with a high concentration of people.
It explains the action of LKY's cabinet in deciding to employ three groups of experts at being transportation consultants to advise if Singapore should have the MRT
The first team concluded that the existing bus system can be further improved, while the second team gave a recommendation that the MRT line should be built throughout the island; and the third gave a brilliant report that both the bus system should be further developed in conjunction with the implementation of the MRT System.
This exercise in idiocy took over three years and cost Singapore a sum of US$22,000,000 {??} - with more unknown sums paid for several extensive study trips made by different teams of ministers, ministers-of-state, permanent secretaries, LTA officials travelling to all the major cities on different continents and island nations - adding further millions of dollars to the cost of the MRT Project.
Was it not obvious to the MIW Team that every major city that aspire to be a modern and efficient megapolis will need a modern transportation system to serve a growing concentration of an urban population, and that the surface road-bound vehicular traffic cannot be sustained ?
Returning to our own discussion, why will you need the assistance of professional and academics to be in any position to have a simple debate on the mechanics of government tax manipulation affecting the supply and demand in affecting the Cost of Living ?
For this current topic on petroleum charges - if you simply do not have any further points to make, at least have the decency of making a ''Point_blank'' honest admisiion to the fact.
Enough of engaging with a complete idiot that you are, i say! A waste of my time and my efforts!
Go and fool others. I would like to see how many will be taken in by your crap.
I would rather hear what others say on this thread.
Should we be amaze that you have arrived at this agitated state of mind by now ?
It clearly shows your inability to hold your own position, when you have nothing to stand on except for your ''Point_blank'' opinions.
If at all, you seem to be the one that has been proven repeatedly to be a fool defending an indefensible positon.
With you sinking into a tirade of personal name calling, it clearly show the pent up frustrattions arising from your agitated situation.
It is best that you take more then a while before you return, as it will not help your situtaion any more in your present state of mind.
Originally posted by Point_blank:Hate to break up and interrupt the GRC dead issue, guys...
There are more pressing issues facing the nation now. Inflation, oil, rice, FTs, etc. More critical is the impact of rise in prices that impacts most.
My purpose of this thread is to hope to hear something concrete, some credible solutions from the opposition parties, but what i have heard are only polemics from its supporters. Looks like there is no hope we will get any help from that quarter. Absolutely no reason to fight for their chance to get into power.
Some say the govt are paid highly to look for solutions. Then are we going to sit, go hungry or bankrupt and wait till the next election to vote them out when they cannot solve them?
I refuse to believe sporeans are a kiasu and apathetic lot. In these bad times, we can show our heart to our neighbours by skimping meals to donate that dollar to them. I refuse to believe that all intelligent sporeans are already in the civil service.
We can bitch, moan, cry, fight and insult each other here, comment on who is right, who is wrong, allege wrongs without a shred of evidence, claim who was right and who was wrong, and it would not help our fellow citizens one bit.
LKY said something to an Indian national who asked him :" If he wanted to do Politics to help his country what should he do?"
LKY asked him: "Did you belong to any party?"
Indian man: "No"
LKY:"Laughs"
You may want to , in your lifetime to "Do something for your country" but if you do not get voted into power, your political career will be delayed by another 4 - 5 years?
----My view?----
What is GRC ? A bunch of people who wants to think they are actually involved. They pay their own way to show appreciation to helping themselves.(People having self -gratification)
Everything has a price, Nation building have a price, have you paid yours? For many who had paid the price have gotten nothing in return but their lives of poverty.
Originally posted by Atobe:Were you not supposed to be away for ''a while'' or has your ego been addicted to posting in this Speakers' Corner that you simply cannot walk away for a ''little while longer'' ?
For one who is suppose to show conciliatory signs, your signature mark seems to be one that challenged others for a reply more then conciliation - is this your way of being ''Point_blank'' in your action ?
''Blanks in the points'' that you intend to make ?
Did my brilliance blinded you, or were you blinded by your own presumptious ignorance and self-deceiving nature - in which your effort at false conciliation fell through your inability to hold the bottom of your own points made in the previous post ?
How has your reading ability resulted in seeing me admitting to anything in my previous post, or have you again make some false presumptions that deceived yourself into a wrong conclusion ?
It does not take too much brilliance for any fool to come to wrong conclusions, especially when one is so hopeless understanding the meaning of clearly intended sentences.
Why will you maligned the Alternative Parties, when it is my own views and ideas that has no association with any Political Parties - either from the MIW or its challengers ?
This clearly shows your vain obssession in believe that you are single handedly battling with the entire Oppositon Force.
Good luck to the MIW Team with defenders like you reinforcing their points with blanks like you. .
Did you not give a comment that by reducing petrol taxes it will result in cheaper fuel prices, which will lead to more fuel consumption ?
Did you relate my reply - that you have dutifully extracted - with the comments thatt you had initially posted ?
Are you not the person who ''do not seem to read anyone else's words, except your own'' ?
It seems that it is YOU who should re-read your post again and relate to what has been given in my reply that you are now objecting.
For one who make a statement that differs from my position, it is amazing that you believe that you have not challenge my assumptions. Are you deluded ?
Should we give any further credence to your effort in deriding the Alternative Parties at each turn of your desparate position ?
It is quite obvious that in your delusion you have seen the Alternative Political Parties as not listening to the views of Singaporeans, when it has always been the MIW Team that has listened but prefer to dismiss the Singaporean views by pushing their own MIW Agenda.
Good grief !!! By this time, anyone who has followed this thread will know that you are psycholtic, mixing the position of an ordinary Singaporean to be that of the Alternative Political Party - will you be specific as to which Opposition Party is set in your mind ?
If we were to extend your argument that a teacher cannot run a Ministry of Defense, what was Rear-Admiral Liu doing as the Acting Minister of Education are being discharged from the Navy ?
Did Minister Tharman peform badly as the previous Minister of Education, when he had graduated in Economics only ? Should we entrust him with the Ministry of Finance when he is purely an economist by training ?
From your assumptions made in your reply - are Singaporeans not being taken as suckers by LKY's MIW Team in paying Million Dollar wages for these untrained and miss-matched talents to run ministries on a trial and error basis, and at great risks that another few generations have to bear the consequences of their decisions ?
What is Minister Khaw doing in the Health Ministry when he is not a Doctor ?
If we were to take your argument further - it probably explains for the stupidity of LKY and his recruited talents comprising of the best lawyers, engineers, accountants having to decide on the feasibility of an MRT system for Singapore.
It seems all the talents recruited by LKY were hopelessly lost and were not in any position to accept the vision of the late President Ong Teng Cheong,- who was an Urban Planning Architect and had recommended the necessity of a modern subway system to serve an extensive urban city with a high concentration of people.
It explains the action of LKY's cabinet in deciding to employ three groups of professionals transportation consultants to advise if Singapore should have the MRT
The first team concluded that the existing bus system can be further improved, while the second team gave a recommendation that the MRT line should be built in several stages throughout the island; and the third gave a brilliant report that both the bus system should be further developed in conjunction with the implementation of the MRT System.
This exercise in idiocy took over three years and cost Singapore a sum of US$22,000,000 - with more unknown sums paid for several separate extensive study trips made by different teams of ministers, minister-of-state, permanent secretaries, LTA officials travelling to all the major cities on different continents and island nations - adding further millions of dollars to the cost of construction.
Was it not obvious to the MIW Team that every major city that aspire to be a modern and efficient megapolis will need a modern transportation system to serve a growing concentration of an urban population ?
Returning to our own discussion, why will you need the assistance of professional and academics to be in any position to have a simple debate on the mechanics of government tax manipulation affecting the supply and demand in affecting the Cost of Living ?
For this current topic on petroleum charges - if you simply do not have any further points to make, at least have the decency of making a ''Point_blank'' honest admisiion to the fact.
Should we be amaze that you have arrived at this agitated state of mind by now ?
It clearly shows your inability to hold your own position, when you have nothing to stand on except for your ''Point_blank'' opinions.
If at all, you seem to be the one that has been proven repeatedly to be a fool defending an indefensible positon.
With you sinking into a tirade of personal name calling, it clearly show the pent up frustrattions arising from your agitated situation.
It is best that you take a more then a while before you return, as it will not help your situtaion any more in your present state of mind.
Oh cut the bullshit and word twisting opposition sided crapologies. My patience runs out with vile forked-tongue idiots like you. Where are your solutions? Any? or are we all to be subjected to more crap from your foul deceving opposition sided lips which is your only brillance?
Originally posted by Point_blank:First off, political opposition figures have my deepest respects that they have the desire to serve the People and do have the People's interest at heart, at a time when many citizens would rather aspire for financial wealth than have their name banded about in public view.
But they must also have the quality to lead the People, to give them a better life, for desire alone is not enough. Only the best should aspire towards the highest honour of our state - Leader.
Therefore, do take stock of oneself first before even making that attempt to lead others. People can understand that there is no perfection, but at least there must be less mistakes.
To perform based on lesser mistakes would be to gain experience. Visit other parts of the world and learn as much as possible, gain as much as possible, on effective solutions to help our People.
Politics is a dirty game and no party who had ruled will just simply handover power to the next without a fight to the bitter end. 'Know the enemy, know yourself, a thousand battles fought, a thousand won'. - Sun Tzi.
Therefore, don't go banging your head against the wall anymore and get sued for libel. Work on viable solutions that can solve the everyday dilemas faced by citizens. Other parties will copy and do the same.
The thing is, with the current financial turmoil and rise in daily costs, where some blame are unjustly thrown on our current leaders, there is a window for the opposition to get elected - not by 'civil disobedience', but cool calculated intelligent reasoning with the masses. What the ruling party can do, the opposition can do too, with at least a chance for 'check and balance' within parliament.
Do not oppose for the sake of opposition, but work only and solely for the good of the People and gain respect even with the ruling party.
But if the opposition parties continues to whine and harp on 'unfair treatment', protest marches and freedom of speech - these isn't going to get my vote and others as well. We want solutions to daily issues and issues pertaining to the safety of our next generations!
If opposition can't come up with solutions, let alone form a team for government, then they better disband and vote for the ruling party instead, and let Singapore be a one party state.
Originally posted by Point_blank:Hate to break up and interrupt the GRC dead issue, guys...
Are you capable of handling any opinions from anyone of the participants in this Speakers' Corner, or do you need some specialists and academics to verfiy the solutions offered to solve your ''assumed' inflation, oil, rice, FT, etc" ?
Will you be wasting everybody's effort in asking anyone here to look at your presume crisis ''in the rise of prices that impacts most'' ?
Surely, it is best for you to consult your academics and specialist, who you will surely respect their more discerning opinions than posing your assumed problems to the general participants whose qualifiications are unknown to you ?
Why will you risk being agitated when you cannot accept any logical views that are offered ?
One can only see you as either a masochist looking for a painful time at being agitated by others, who will surely insult your silly positions that have constantly been seen to be nothing but simply ''Point_blank''; or worst still, to be labelled a troll in an open forum.
Which ever way it is, your schizo-pyschotic personna has been exposed.