but i wouldnt say that that ALL the policies that they introduced are useless. The attraction of MNCs to tuas is a masterstroke. In this little island without any resources, that would be a good way to ensure employment and generate income,
but with some of the other policies, i reserve my comments, like the 'hub policy' of trying to establish s'pore as a hub, i don't think that it will work.....
Originally posted by snowfoxx:the economy is consist of the workforce, i can't see how they are different... like what i said above, they have a subset r/s......
back to the main question, i can't see how singapore's pursuit of foreign talent (one of our main 'economic policy' now could benefit the local people, i think it benefits the regime in terms of the money generated, i can't say it benefits the country, because the distribution of the money 'rarely' goes back to the people.........., so this way its at the expense of the local people. Other countries like japan even through after the economic slowdown after 1980s and aging population, refuse to import 'talent', they are still doing very well, as one of the most developed country in the world.
Singapore is run like a company, with profits over the employee's welfare i think.... singapore in itself is a migrant society, many of our forefathers are not born and bred here. sad but true. thus, i believe it will continue this way......
Regarding the FT part, I would agree to a certain degree it's bull-shit.
Still remember? FT is good! Create more jobs by stimulating economy!
And guess where the job goes?
But it's a fallacy with a grain of truth, sad to say. It is a rat race. We face a chronic labour shortage here and some jobs will definitely have to go to FTs if any company wishes to stay here or any of our companies can survive. Working at a SME last time, I can recall at least 5 foreign colleagues. The other locals kept contemplating changing jobs.
As for Japan, they've only just stemmed their deflation, now starting to get a little steam back.
Increasing the population will only generate more taxable people in this country, i think thats the main aim of the policy, which is similar to the ERP theory of controlling traffic, mainly to generate income, i can't see how, diverting problems solves problems.... it just creates more problems
with more problems, maybe increasing the gst will be 'the solution' to this problem, and this becomes a vicious cycle....
gst: 3% to 5% to 7% to ???%
howhow?
Originally posted by snowfoxx:with more problems, maybe increasing the gst will be 'the solution' to this problem, and this becomes a vicious cycle....
gst: 3% to 5% to 7% to ???%
A 7% GST is high. Limbeh also buey tahan.
If the govt was trying to give the excuse of trying to cool a overheating economy, then it's bullshit.
Cos look at the inflation now!
Wasn't the GST meant to ward that off? No! It simply contributed to the inflation!
ok, i seriously think that the next jump will be to 10%..... are you ready????
i cannot keep up.... dying... help.... but i no medisave....how? savvvvve me my cpf also all deducted finish by EZ link reader and erp gantry........ i think i deserve to die
Originally posted by robertteh:Snowxx,
It is a very complex topic. It is not easy to go into historical aspect as well of our economic management. There had been so many policies in terms of restructuring the education system, phasing out of this or that industry in order to reach a value-adding economic strategic model based on creating technology start-ups.
We made many “U” turns on many industries including the ship repairing or electronic and wafer fab but our leaders are not well versed in these areas being lawyers and generalists not passionate in creating innovations within certain new technologies.
So they have failed to make much headway in any of these restructuring except may be in getting into ship repairing and rig building which actually were not started by the government but the result of GLCs taking over some original private sector’s industries.
You had summed it up well. We are over-relying on foreigners and foreign investments so heavily as we are not likely to be in the right direction down as seen in dropping of wages of citizens and taking over of many jobs by foreigners and draining out of our own talents sidelined by government due to such widespread mistakes in treating practical knowledge applications and innovations.
My short answer is we are not likely to create a sustainable economic competitiveness to keep up or be equal to the first world like the smaller Swiss or Finland or even Korea which did not selfishly selling out their own citizens in any economic downturn with all the hypocrisy and twist and turn to press down the citizens.
So for a small window of opportunity open to us due to rise of China and India and general world recovery we hear our leaders claiming success one more round to make it look like they are the one who have restructured the economy …
Is what our leaders are doing a sound and sustainable development capable of moving upwards over time to reach the first world or is our economy merely taking a ride and temporary ride and our leaders are claming credit again like before forgetting we need to achieve much more in terms of practical knowledge application as a culture of the of the people in order to say they are truly successful.
Economy, work force, education, skill training and strategic practical knowledge application in every field are all issues of nation building which are so intertwined that we cannot over-simplify them in GDP growth for a few years or rising incomes of the upper 20% of population to claim success.
yes, very well said. life is hard.
i like your line "which did not selfishly selling out their own citizens" best. very concise and sharp.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:Woah.....TS is blissfully ignorant.
Restructuring workforce, is not the same as restructuring economy.
Which the govt did for both. And it is not LKY who does the recomendations. There are other bodies that are not directly under the government that does the recommendation, like the NWC, MAS etc etc.
And......there were many changes. Please read up.
I think that you are the ignorant one here.
NWC and MAS not under government?
You can find MAS listed as a statutory board.
http://www.gov.sg/govtlist_Statu.htm
NWC is a part of the Ministry of Manpower.
The Secretary
National Wages Council Secretariat
c/o Labour Relations Department
Level 4 Ministry of Manpower
18 Havelock Road
Singapore 059764
Fax No: 6535 4811
E-mail: [email protected]
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
The President as well.
If the President knew about it, President Ong Teng Cheong wouldn't have requested an audit.
It's just a matter of time before it;s over
somehow during the discussion, 16/f/lonely seems to have changed sides from abit pro pap to the people. cross over children, cross over into the light.
GST was never a solution to any problem. thats why its called govt stupid tax.its just to copy what other countries had already done. sg so far has only copy what other countries had done and nothing much is original. GST was increased time and again to help the poor....like how??
ERP was also set up to further drain $$ from every single one of the drivers.the only "good" i see is that cars are more expensive to maintain,hence the probability of car owners might drop. but singaporeans being singaporeans will try all means to have a car.so they pay and pay.
restructuring economy and workforce??does forcing old people who already contributed to this shithole their whole life to work as cleaners just to pay GST a way to thank them?look at every food court and such,most are either PRCs or old folks.
the GDP might have grow over the past few years,but spending power decreased.end users actually owned less stuff,most of the "growth" actually are just GST.
so time for a revolution
robertteh,
SG is exploring new biz and industries to earn few bucks.
To educate citizens and SPR,like u, therefore they can write good English
to critize PAP BASELESSLY.
2.Every decade,new industries come up to catch world economy wave.
From chips to finance to water to technology.
Your mention of bio tech show u dunt read enough.
Now George Lucas come lah,do u know??
3.GKS was good.But his successors also not bad.
Without so many new jobs created EVERY YEAR for so many years,
u or me may have to go overseas work as manual labour,
like many of our SEA neighbours.
4.My English is bad.
But u seem have closed your mind for long time.....
Originally posted by lionnoisy:robertteh,
SG is exploring new biz and industries to earn few bucks.
To educate citizens and SPR,like u, therefore they can write good English
to critize PAP BASELESSLY.
2.Every decade,new industries come up to catch world economy wave.
From chips to finance to water to technology.
Your mention of bio tech show u dunt read enough.
Now George Lucas come lah,do u know??
3.GKS was good.But his successors also not bad.
Without so many new jobs created EVERY YEAR for so many years,
u or me may have to go overseas work as manual labour,
like many of our SEA neighbours.
4.My English is bad.
But u seem have closed your mind for long time.....
Singapore's inflation hits 25-year high of 6.6%
PWNED
Originally posted by snowfoxx:Singapore's inflation hits 25-year high of 6.6%
PWNED
if this goes on, i think your lion feed also very hard to get le. LOL
Originally posted by snowfoxx:i can't see how singapore's pursuit of foreign talent (one of our main 'economic policy' now could benefit the local people, i think it benefits the regime in terms of the money generated, i can't say it benefits the country, because the distribution of the money 'rarely' goes back to the people.........., so this way its at the expense of the local people.
It benefits the country bro in the long run..... they employ top (and expensive talent) to make critical decisions and run the ship.
They then recruit "cheaper" labour (also foreign) to make the "business" efficient.
Here comes the sad part. As Singaporeans.... you have to fit into either of those categories. Make it into the "expensive talent" category and you should do well.
The rest will have to fit into the "cheaper" labour category. Thus some of you might be feeling "competiton" and "spoiling of market" by foreign talent.
I don't travel alot.... but I do know 1 country avgly well.... in that country they rather not be as efficient to protect its citizens.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I think that you are the ignorant one here.
NWC and MAS not under government?
You can find MAS listed as a statutory board.
http://www.gov.sg/govtlist_Statu.htm
NWC is a part of the Ministry of Manpower.
The Secretary
National Wages Council Secretariat
c/o Labour Relations Department
Level 4 Ministry of Manpower
18 Havelock Road
Singapore 059764
Fax No: 6535 4811
E-mail: [email protected]
Stupid book.
Printed in 1994.![]()
*chucks the book back to NLB.![]()
Oh, but I didn't say MAS was not statutory......NWC was the one I mentioned. But obviously it has been absorbed into the govt. Cos the book proudly proclaimed NWC as not listed under the stautory board.
I stand corrected once again.![]()
Originally posted by domonkassyu:somehow during the discussion, 16/f/lonely seems to have changed sides from abit pro pap to the people. cross over children, cross over into the light.
GST was never a solution to any problem. thats why its called govt stupid tax.its just to copy what other countries had already done. sg so far has only copy what other countries had done and nothing much is original. GST was increased time and again to help the poor....like how??
ERP was also set up to further drain $$ from every single one of the drivers.the only "good" i see is that cars are more expensive to maintain,hence the probability of car owners might drop. but singaporeans being singaporeans will try all means to have a car.so they pay and pay.
restructuring economy and workforce??does forcing old people who already contributed to this shithole their whole life to work as cleaners just to pay GST a way to thank them?look at every food court and such,most are either PRCs or old folks.
the GDP might have grow over the past few years,but spending power decreased.end users actually owned less stuff,most of the "growth" actually are just GST.
so time for a revolution
I didn't really change sides.....I spoke my piece, listened to whatever you all had to say, then agree here and disagree there mah.![]()
The sg economy looks like it's moving backwards these days.
Seems more labour intensive jobs (cheap labour) than high tech ones being created.![]()
Has TS forgot about the effects of corruption lasting through several decades?
Originally posted by ceecookie:Has TS forgot about the effects of corruption lasting through several decades?