singapore armed forces, i hv no idea how strong la.. but all i know is. singapore can only play defensive. cuz of limited resources and people. we can only play hit and run tactics. thus the air forces comes in very important. in any case of war, the air forces will try to strike down key areas. its not so easy to take over malaysia lor. cuz of limited ppl in the army. u tink war is just rolling 5 dices see how many ppl u lose. tts why singapore more or less always try to tolerate and be diplomatic. we cannot afford a war.Originally posted by Quad:Agree. But to add. Tripwire is the best. he can order PM to attack until kedah and have a cup of cuppa.
I think if given a choise, we should not talk WAR so emotionally (Not refer to you, lah),. As if we can do forum, so can anyone across the causeway, read our forum.
Probably, Utusan newspaper will read and think. Ah...I think tomorrow topic will be cut water supply, let blow it a bit out of context. It will be a sell-out.
Valid?
none taken. i fancy this nick. cuz in cs we always keep screaming follow the dumbdumb! sounds funny. so i adopt it.Originally posted by awestruck:In contrast to his nickname. he shows a remarkable amout of sense...No offence intended at all...
Honestly Tripwire....mighty though the armed forces of Singapore maybe...do you honestly believe it can take over the whole of Malaysia?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:Agree. You make my day.
[b]tts why singapore more or less always try to tolerate and be diplomatic. we cannot afford a war.[/b]
Originally posted by Quad:Ok,
Pass my test first. PM me and we will meet outside. Let me see if you are brave enough to handle me. I think I can spare 3 mins for you.dont bother to give me 3 minute your highness... cos i wont even give you 3 seconds cos you are too stupid and dumb to even challenge my post on the net..... so wat if you got abit of muscle... its damn obvious that when facing a stronger foe.. your highness would simply high butt yourself off as fast as your 2 piggy leg can carry you...
your multiple post clearly showed you fear a bigger opponent, showed your desire to preserve yourself over others... wat more can anyone says?? coward is a coward lah... cannot tong the fact, feel hot under the neck?? loose face har?? feels a need to show the netters you got ball by issueing challenging to a fight when lost the argument?? will this prove that you are smarter or simply idiotic beyond measure?? obvious lah.....
i am so so so so sorry if i hurt your pride.... i didnt think you had one...
If you can't PM me, then I'm sure that you are a kid, who is still asking for allowance, who like to be a nameless net hero while enjoing wet dreams and calling mama at the same time. I will forgive you for that. Otherwise, I will still be waiting.blah blah blaha blahablahaba lahh..... dont you have any words of real intelligience???
forgive me?? sorry old chap... but... eh.... i didnt ask for your royal forgivness, so dont try to act magnamonious... in fact... i think you need to rethink your self preserving characteristic....
I can't stand kids who blurt things w/o going thru their brain on the consequence. These people cannot be leader in life as they will lead people to their death. Talking about coward, have you assailants like I do? Coward, eh?
Originally posted by Quad:Hi tripwire,
If you want to have a good discussion. Lets ahve a good one, personnel attack to be excluded. We can always do it on a separate arrangement, physicall. I'll bring a cane along, the one that Ah Mah used on me 20 years ago.face it chap.... you aint got the level of intelligience, IQ, wisdom, experience and foresight to give a good discussion... though you may try... but i think you got to grow more white hair, fall down a few more times before you are there.... no offense... but your ah mah's cane is hardly a prove of your capability nor your capacity in thought exercise... try cooking that cane into a soup... drink it at night before you sleep... it should boost your brain power a bit....
Otherwise, please restrain yourself from unnecessary personnel insult or religious insult. It is absolutely unnecessary and not appropriate.oh.... dont moral high horsies with me... i have seen too many a time... netters who could not face the argument point by point and switch talk about insult or watever... in fact.. i think you never read my post in full and simply pre-empt your thoughts... perhaps it would be in your interest to fully read my post, digest it... before you rush to reply... dont worry... i will be around...
Please consider thes clearly for a healty forum.
Otherwise, I have challenge you and is waiting with a trusty old cane.
obviously my dear friend.... this is wat i worry about....Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm. WE compromise to their whims, or goto war. but war not the solution. how hypocritical is that?![]()
lets put it clear and sharp to the point...Originally posted by Quad:The Malaysian minister are only fanning the fire to garner votes for their upand coming election. They need to have a common target to wack like "Singapore". Being the closet neighbour with historical ties, more reason to do so.
I do heard from my associate who is in a step-board. He mentioned that the intention is to win in election thru supports from voters and not war with us. I think it is credible as it stir up emotions of the voters to vote them. This was also reported a couple of days ago that "PAS had cry foul on UMNO method of getting votes. Sorry I can't manage to attach the source. The new was only early this week.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:admirable bravery... but simply put lor... we dun hv enuff ppl in the army to take over johor. example is hitler, he so nearly took over the european countries. but in the end fail. why? cuz not enuff soldiers to maintain the countries he took over. think of the board game risk. same thing.please lah.... you think we need to have an SAF soldier every 5 foot from the next to ensure complete cover over malaysia?? occupation depends not on whether you can saturate another nation with troops... but depends on your ability to assume command over the structure of governace of the previous authority... to move its people and resources to work once more under a new leadership towards an alternative objectives...
there will be rebels and criminals... plus some arnachy in certain part of the country... when their police and military has been decimated... thus the need to re-establish security, law and order would be the utmost priority... harsh marshall laws, curfews and even rationings can be imposed to ensure a certain level of compliance... then other measures will be taken... over time.....
but ultimatly la. the desision still lies with the government. we can post our views here. but in the end? the gov makes the call. ya?![]()
it is said... it matters little how many troops you have... BUT it MATTERs on how you use your troops... if you dont know how to use your forces..... give you a million men... and you will only end up with rebellions..Originally posted by awestruck:In contrast to his nickname. he shows a remarkable amout of sense...No offence intended at all...
Honestly Tripwire....mighty though the armed forces of Singapore maybe...do you honestly believe it can take over the whole of Malaysia?
that is old topic liow... potong potong potong.... right??Originally posted by Quad:Agree. But to add. Tripwire is the best. he can order PM to attack until kedah and have a cup of cuppa.
I think if given a choise, we should not talk WAR so emotionally (Not refer to you, lah),. As if we can do forum, so can anyone across the causeway, read our forum.
Probably, Utusan newspaper will read and think. Ah...I think tomorrow topic will be cut water supply, let blow it a bit out of context. It will be a sell-out.
Valid?
singapore is tolerant not because we are weak or simply unable to defend our interest...BUT becos we understand the destruction of war... furthermore.. war is not considered the BEST option on resolution of disagreement...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:singapore armed forces, i hv no idea how strong la.. but all i know is. singapore can only play defensive. cuz of limited resources and people. we can only play hit and run tactics. thus the air forces comes in very important. in any case of war, the air forces will try to strike down key areas. its not so easy to take over malaysia lor. cuz of limited ppl in the army. u tink war is just rolling 5 dices see how many ppl u lose. tts why singapore more or less always try to tolerate and be diplomatic. we cannot afford a war.![]()
trading is singapore's main economic function... likewise... its the same for many many nations... questions become... will singapore just sit there without doing nothing if threatened??Originally posted by dumbdumb!:*really enjoying himself*
plus... just shut out the trading, singapore game over liaoz.
they will use brain, not brawn. maybe outwit the other party lor, but the gov wun go into war until its the last option, or it's under attack. why do you think there was the paper war a few years back? singapore dun dare goto war, so only can whack with words.Originally posted by tripwire:trading is singapore's main economic function... likewise... its the same for many many nations... questions become... will singapore just sit there without doing nothing if threatened??
that is the greatest misconception i can assure you... back in 1989... the same PB incident have SAF on a hair's breath away from all out assault into peninsula malaysia...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:they will use brain, not brawn. maybe outwit the other party lor, but the gov wun go into war until its the last option, or it's under attack. why do you think there was the paper war a few years back? singapore dun dare goto war, so only can whack with words.![]()
Originally posted by tripwire:it is said... it matters little how many troops you have... BUT it MATTERs on how you use your troops... if you dont know how to use your forces..... give you a million men... and you will only end up with rebellions..
and honestly... yes... we can take over the entire malaysia minus the east malaysia part with ease....
alternatively... if we cannot take over the entire malaysia... then we are a paper lion... cos then... the malaysian authority would think that they are sure to win in a war with singapore becos we cant take over them totally...
Thus... its not a question of whether we can ... but that we MUST in order to maintain our deterence...
Originally posted by awestruck:Haiyah.. you're just another pai kia quoting CIA facts. Has anyone told you that the total population of a country is no indication of its actual military strength? A larger population does not equate a stronger army. Not every idiot who takes up arms is a competent soldier. He usually is as much a danger to himself and his comrades as he is to the enemy.
[b]
Can (meaning ablity to me) and must (which is importance) seem to be 2 extremely different things...
Pop. of Sing. - 4,452,732 (July 2002 est.)
Pop. of Peninsular Msia - 18,129,892 (July 2002 est.)
Land mass of Sing. - 637.5 sq km
Land mass of Peninsular Msia - 131,600 sq kmI mean the figures speak for themselves...350,000 men for 131,600 square kilometers...
Lets say then, theoretically, we call up every single Singaporean who can point and shoot...
Sing. absolute military manpower availability:
males age 15-49: 1,354,857 (2002 est.)
Msian absolute military manpower availability:
males age 15-49: 5,933,296 (2002 est.)
Originally posted by Typhoon:Haiyah.. you're just another pai kia quoting CIA facts. Has anyone told you that the total population of a country is no indication of its actual military strength? A larger population does not equate a stronger army. Not every idiot who takes up arms is a competent soldier. He usually is as much a danger to himself and his comrades as he is to the enemy.
Military manpower is determined by the number of TRAINED personnel the country can draw on in times of war... and that happens to be 350 000 for Singapore and 150 000 for Malaysia. See? I can also quote numbers like you.And don't forget, smaller than Malaysia though we may be, we possess much MORE in terms of armanents.
Wars today are not won just by the number of men you have, but by their level of training and the sophistication of their equippment. During the Gulf War, America's 250 000 men humiliated an Iraqi force four times its size.
If we used your logic.... Canada with 7,139,068 men fit for military service outnumbers Israel's 1,262,973, no?Yet Israel is still militarily superior to Canada, and they have a larger standing army. How do you explain that?
As for the tripwire hunting, I had great trouble stalking him from thread to thread. He started personnel attack first and I launch mine. As I had mentioned before, who threw the first punch. In law, the first attacker is always guilty until proven right. Unless you are in State, innocent until proven guilty. Really, I would like to meet up with him and U too. Who knows we can become friends, I may even offer you a job.Originally posted by CX:Seriously old man Quad,
u get personal with little 'ol me in another topic, u get into another intense discussion here with Tripwire where u disagree with EVERYTHING he said...The point is it is a forum discussion, personnel attack is unwarrant and totally unnecessary. I listern to you view and how you present it. It should be done without the intent of malice to injury and hurt to the receiver. That should be the way. By adding sacarstic personally on others, doesn't make you or me any good.
i keep saying this: Open Mind... don't u think we've read all the newspapers and journals and heard all the coffeeshop talk available on the market?
don't think that u're the only one who has read the news and come up with moderate, logical conclusions to them...
don't think that everone who disagrees with u is a primary school kid who doesn't know what they're talking about...Based on the earlier situation, the forum will be disussed out of proportion, deviating from the main point. As I had wrote earlier, other people will be laughing at our ignorance cus of internal arguement & silliness.
if u're only interested in listening to a certain type of views, then maybe this isn't the best place for u to be.On the point of agreement, I disagree and I state my point, You disagree and you state your point. No words like "cowards" is required. When the time for you to lay your live for the country, it is because you are afraid that you will be killed first, so you would probably shoot first to kill. May not be true and entirely accurate. There is no coward anymore, it survival.
So to anyone who want to be trigger happy and start shooting off with personnel sacarsm, is it necessary? It doen't proof a point to be a faceless net hero. Analytical critism on the issue will surfice.
Do you agree?
don't get on your moral highhorse and try to whip everyone into compliance with your views. we all believe in different things and there's JACK u can do about it.
So you do have any pride when you were accuse wrongly. Did i whip anyone into compliance? Please quote me. It's more like I state my point of view.
Depends on how the battle for JB turns out. If the main core of the MAF is seriously distrupted and destroyed in the JB battle instead of running rear to guard the rest of the states, the SAF should have little trouble, if they wanted, to move in into the rest of the country. However, there is little to be gained in such a manuver, taking JB would in a sense be holding a knife at point at KL's throat, and you dun have to drive it all the way in the prove that you're serious and are more then ready when push came to shove.Originally posted by awestruck:If you'll be so kind as to just read a few of the posts you'll see that I was just questioning Tripwire's faith in taking the area between JB and Kedah. I never mentioned anything about the relative strengths of any armies...