Originally posted by QX179R:Reuters - 1 hour 49 minutes ago
Singapore opposition leader fined for public speech
Chee has also been found guilty of defamation in cases filed by former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew and his son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong. Singapore's high court has yet to rule on the amount of damages. (Reporting by Melanie Lee; Editing by Jan Dahinten and Sanjeev Miglani) - SINGAPORE, May 30 - A bankrupt Singapore opposition party leader was sentenced to five weeks in prison or pay a S$5,000 fine for speaking in public without a permit.
Chee Soon Juan, leader of the Singapore Democratic Party, was on Friday found guilty of the offence committed on April 8, 2006. He has six outstanding charges of speaking in public without a license between November 2005 and April 2006.
Singapore has tough laws on public gatherings, and protests are rare. An assembly of five or more people requires a police permit and offences under the Public Entertainments and Meetings Act could lead to fines as high as S$10,000 .
Chee, who pleaded not guilty on the grounds of his constitutional right to free speech, was made a bankrupt in February 2006 when he failed to pay libel damages of S$500,000 to former prime ministers Lee Kuan Yew and Goh Chok Tong.
"I continue to maintain that what I have done is well within the law and my constitutional rights," Chee told the court. Chee's lawyer M. Ravi said he will be appealing the conviction.
The state prosecutor had asked for a "substantial fine" to act as a deterrent for other "like-minded" individuals.
The Southeast Asian city defends its strict laws on public assembly citing the need for public order and safety.
The Singapore Democratic Party is one of the more vocal opposition parties in Singapore. It did not get into parliament in the last election in 2006 and 82 of the 84 elected parliamentary seats are held by the ruling People's Action Party which has been in power since Singapore's independence in 1965.
Chee has also been found guilty of defamation in cases filed by former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew and his son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong. Singapore's high court has yet to rule on the amount of damages.
expected.
hai. sad sia.
lionnoisy seem real busy with this thread lately.. dun forget to submit your overtime shifts to your paymasters..
Originally posted by 4getmenot:lionnoisy seem real busy with this thread lately.. dun forget to submit your overtime shifts to your paymasters..
lol
Originally posted by Aelop:Atobe, do you think CSJ has any facts to support what he said about NKF and government?
If he cant, dont you think it will be very stupid and naive for anybody to listen and read what he said.
I guess for you and some of your liars kaki here, this must be very inspirational huh?
Maybe you should follow CSJ footstep and do some public speaking, I am sure you will be an overnight success at speakers corner.
Dear Aelop, you should try “Aesop’s Fables” and learn from the many wisdom from dear old Aesop, whose name sounds more genuine than your imitating efforts.
Do you know the difference between "stupid and naive" ?
Being "naive" can be seen now in your simple minded views towards recent events, and too stupid not to discern the full implication of what has transpired.
The truth has been said not only by one voice as you can find the many voices in the sticky NKF lines in this Speakers' Corner, can you muzzle everyone ?
It is doubtful that you can appreciate this - when you are hell bent imitating the efforts of the Elitist Talents protecting their own political interests.
Learn from Aesop's wisdom - that dates back centuries - and you may live to enjoy what little is left for yourself:
Channel NewsAsia - Saturday, May 31
SINGAPORE: Chee Siok Chin, the sister of Singapore Democratic Party’s (SDP) secretary—general, Chee Soon Juan, has been held in contempt of court, while the case against Mr Chee has been adjourned to Monday.
Justice Belinda Ang had asked the Chees to explain on Friday why they should not be found in contempt of court for their behaviour during a three—day hearing at the High Court.
The hearing was to determine the defamation damages to be awarded to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew by the SDP and the Chees.
Justice Ang cited 15 incidences which she said had scandalised the court and impugned its dignity and authority.
In response, Mr Chee asked for his hearing to be adjourned because his newly appointed lawyer, opposition politician JB Jeyeratnam, was still in Johor. However, Ms Chee’s case was heard in court on Friday.
Her lawyer, M. Ravi, argued that the court had the power to warn parties during proceedings if they were in contempt, and that a cooling—off period could also have been given.
He said that nothing was done till the end of the hearing, likening it to a "football referee issuing a player with a red card after the game has ended".
"It is like playing a football match when the red card is given after the game is over. It does not have the effect — that was the parallel I was trying to draw to the court.
"Therefore, the court ought to have considered that very carefully and ought to give a reasonable judgement in order to go to the next step of sentencing," Mr Ravi said.
Ms Chee will be sentenced in court on Monday, before her brother’s hearing.— CNA/so
Originally posted by Atobe:Dear Aelop, you should try “Aesop’s Fables” and learn from the many wisdom from dear old Aesop, whose name sounds more genuine than your imitating efforts.
Being "naive" can be seen now in your simple minded views towards recent events, and too stupid not to discern the full implication of what has transpired.
The truth has been said not only by one voice as you can find the many voices in the sticky NKF lines in this Speakers' Corner, can you muzzle everyone ?
It is doubtful that you can appreciate this - when you are hell bent imitating the efforts of the Elitist Talents protecting their own political interests.
Learn from Aesop's wisdom - that dates back centuries - and you may live to enjoy what little is left for yourself:
Atobe, there is no point learing about any wisdom if you cant stop lying.
Good try, you and chee are alike, talk big talk cock but have zero substance to back what you said. And trust me, no matter how hard you try you will never be able to make it in politics in the real world because you are a big fat liar!!
And my advice to you Mr. Atobe, is just be careful of what you are posting in the forum. Stop lying.
Originally posted by Aelop:
Atobe, there is no point learing about any wisdom if you cant stop lying.Good try, you and chee are alike, talk big talk cock but have zero substance to back what you said. And trust me, no matter how hard you try you will never be able to make it in politics in the real world because you are a big fat liar!!
And my advice to you Mr. Atobe, is just be careful of what you are posting in the forum. Stop lying.
There are liars?! Who is it?! Faster admit.
Originally posted by Atobe:Dear Aelop, you should try “Aesop’s Fables” and learn from the many wisdom from dear old Aesop, whose name sounds more genuine than your imitating efforts.
That's Gazelle for you
He has turned into an internet troll now.
His other accounts, cannot be used anymore, are
Love Supreme, TCH05, Chinkara, Gutturosa, Mammalia ![]()
He's a pathetic lifeform I would say.
Getting high everytime someone gives him the attention he craves for. ![]()
Originally posted by Crimsonlknight:There are liars?! Who is it?! Faster admit.
Forget it. No need to ask him one. That's an internet troll who merely calls everyone liars when his ignorance has been exposed.
An Internet troll, or simply troll in Internet slang, is someone who posts controversial and usually irrelevant or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum or chat room, with the intention of baiting other users into an emotional response or to generally disrupt normal on-topic discussion.
He's merely baiting forumers into giving an emotional response.
Atobe, there is no point learing about any wisdom if you cant stop lying.Good try, you and chee are alike, talk big talk cock but have zero substance to back what you said. And trust me, no matter how hard you try you will never be able to make it in politics in the real world because you are a big fat liar!!
For one who pretend to be grown even by pretending to be wise Aesop, you surely close the gap in being stupidly naive.
Is this the best you can do with your ability to debate - simply "talk big talk cock" ?
Can you handle substance with the standards of intellect that you have displayed up till now - which practically is nothing substantial except for plagiarising the remarks from those who are far more Elitist than what you are capable of producting ?
Try to be less pompous and depedn less on naked threats and insults that merely exposes the emptiness of your thought process - and you dare ask for anyone to give substance.
You should try digesting the substance produced in the thread - “Honesty? When losing billions in Shin Corp call it long-term” - started by robertteh, unless of course you wish to admit that you are too stupidly naive to be able to absorb anything of substance ?
i hope oxford mushroom and lionnoisy can just drop dead together with their families.
pwned. =(
AFP - 30 minutes ago
SINGAPORE, June 2, 2008 (AFP) - A Singapore opposition leader who is among a rare few to publicly challenge the country's rulers was sentenced Monday to 12 days' jail for contempt, in the latest legal ruling against him.
A judge ruled Chee Soon Juan, 45, secretary general of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), had been in contempt because he said justice had been "raped" and "kicked" during a defamation case filed by Singapore's leaders against him.
He remains free but Supreme Court Justice Belinda Ang Saw Ean ruled that Chee will be jailed if he does not file an appeal by late Wednesday.
Ang also sentenced Chee's sister, SDP member Chee Siok Chin, to 10 days in jail for contempt. She, too, is free pending appeal.
Monday's hearing briefly brought Chee and the city-state's other outspoken opposition figure, J.B. Jeyaretnam, 82, together in a rare public joining of forces by the country's tiny opposition.
Jeyaretnam appeared in court as Chee's lawyer but later withdrew at Chee's request when Ang declined his application for more time to prepare his case. The lawyer said he had only received relevant transcripts the previous morning.
Jeyaretnam last month filed papers to register the new opposition Reform Party. He made political history in 1981 when he became the first opposition politician elected to parliament, which has been dominated by the People's Action Party (PAP) since 1959.
Ang rejected Jeyaretnam's argument that she withdraw from the contempt case. He said that since the contempt allegations arose from an earlier hearing before her, there could be a public perception of bias.
"I would urge your honour to consider very seriously whether you should hear this case," Jeyaretnam said.
"There is no option," the judge responded.
Chee, his sister, and their party have already been found guilty of libelling Singapore's founding father Lee Kuan Yew and his son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
The contempt proceedings stemmed from comments they made during a three-day hearing before Ang last week to determine libel damages in that case.
Chee told the judge he did not intend to be in contempt and anything said came in "the heat of the battle" with his political opponents.
"Mr Lee had said a few things. I had countered them," Chee said.
In 2006 he was jailed for a then-unprecedented eight days for contempt after questioning the integrity of the judicial system in a statement he read during his bankruptcy hearing earlier that year.
He was declared bankrupt after failing to pay 500,000 Singapore dollars (366,837 US) in libel damages to Lee Kuan Yew and another former prime minister over remarks made in 2001.
Last Friday a judge fined Chee for speaking in public without a permit ahead of a general election in 2006. He will be jailed for five weeks if he does not pay the 5,000-dollar fine, the judge ruled.
Chee has served previous jail terms for convictions on similar charges.
His latest sentence came as a California-based blogger who allegedly accused Ang of "prostituting herself" appeared in another Singapore courtroom.
According to a court document, Gopalan Nair is charged with insulting Ang by sending an email which said she "was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings, by being nothing more than an employee of Mr Lee Kuan Yew and his son and carrying out their orders".
Nair's lawyer Chia Ti Lik told AFP the comments essentially repeated those Nair made in a recent blog about the defamation case.
A US embassy spokesman said it is "monitoring the case closely."
Nair, a former Singapore lawyer who is now a US citizen, was remanded in custody for another week.
The Lees have already won hundreds of thousands of dollars in damages from past lawsuits against members of the country's opposition and say they need to protect their reputations from unfounded attacks.
Can Singaporeans expect any other outcome ?
Should we be surprise that MM LKY bodyguards were not charged with contempt of court - when they barged into the Court room, and startled the Judge and everyone during the middle of the cross-examination of PM LHL ?
Was the bodyguard reprimanded - let alone being charged - for walking straight up to the Judge's bench without asking for leave to do so - even after the first contempt of 'crashing' into the court-room ?
Was MM LKY reprimanded for allowing his bodyguards to behave in such disgraceful and disrespectful manner to the Judge, and to the sanctity of the Singapore Courts - considering that MM LKY has received legal training, and should be clear about court ettiquete ?
Chees stated tell u only the facts beneficial to him.His postings in SDP always
misleading and not contending the full picture.
Take the transcript issue as example,mentioned in court on the
day Chees were sentenced on 02 jun 2008.
http://www32.a2hosting.com/~yoursdp/index.php/component/content/article/1-singapore/495-sdp-leaders-convicted-and-jailed-for-contempt-of-court
At the beginning of the hearing this morning counsel for Ms Chee, Mr M Ravi, argued that the transcript Judge Ang used for citing instances of contemptuous conduct came from Merrill Legal Solutions, a company contracted to record and transcribe proceedings.
The Lees' lawyers of Drew & Napier had paid for Merrill's services. A copy of the transcript was then extended to Judge Ang.
Mr Ravi pointed out that documents that were relied on by the court had to be made available to all parties. The defendants were not provided copies of the full transcript.
When Dr Chee approached Merrill earlier, he was informed that because Drew & Napier had applied for the transcription servicess, a copy could not be given to him. The defendant was told he would have to contact the Lees' lawyers.
Judge Ang ordered Mr Ravi to proceed to make submissions on Ms Chee's punishment. When counsel finished, the Judge sentenced Ms Chee to ten days imprisonment.
But CSJ hided the fact from you. Singh explained to court
that it is SG legal profession practice for transcript company
gave a copy of transcript to Judge .(All experienced lawyers know.)
Singh blasted Ravi accusations as baseless,among other things.
In my views,Singh's law firm paid the transcript.Why did they
need give a copy to Chees?
I think public think Ravi need to keep himself more familiar with court
procedures.
stenographers
Court also equipped with video recordings.
Originally posted by Atobe:Can Singaporeans expect any other outcome ?
NO, because CSJ offer no facts to support what he said about NKF and the government and that is the reason why he is in Court.
Please dont try to smoke around here lah. You are simply trying to corrupt the mind of Sheep with LIES and more LIES.
NO, because CSJ offer no facts to support what he said about NKF and the government and that is the reason why he is in Court.Please dont try to smoke around here lah. You are simply trying to corrupt the mind of Sheep with LIES and more LIES.
Hello Gazelle, was CSJ allowed to present his facts - when half of his affidavit of evidence were blocked from being presented before the trial even started ?
With the lawyer for plaintiffs - SC Singh - so diligent in constantly objecting to CSJ's further questions that was pushed through despite the Judge allowing the objections - why were these questions not publicised in the papers except for the reporting that CSJ had placed the court in contempt for pushing ahead with his questions ?
It does not take much of a genius to guess the die hard sniffers from continuing with the propaganda that CSJ had no facts to offer to back up his case.
Did you run out of panties when your friends avoided you as the Gazelle, and now you are returning with a new pseudo-name ?
No matter which name you take up, your true sniffing character and smell will surely surface through the pages of this SC.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Hello Gazelle, was CSJ allowed to present his facts - when half of his affidavit of evidence were blocked from being presented before the trial even started ?With the lawyer for plaintiffs - SC Singh - so diligent in constantly objecting to CSJ's further questions that was pushed through despite the Judge allowing the objections - why were these questions not publicised in the papers except for the reporting that CSJ had placed the court in contempt for pushing ahead with his questions ?
It does not take much of a genius to guess the die hard sniffers from continuing with the propaganda that CSJ had no facts to offer to back up his case.
Did you run out of panties when your friends avoided you as the Gazelle, and now you are returning with a new pseudo-name ?
No matter which name you take up, your true sniffing character and smell will surely surface through the pages of this SC.
I find this extremely amusing.
In a normal court of law, the plaintiff is suppose to show cause and provide evidence to sustain his claim. The burden of proof is on the plaintiff.
It's all different here, all the time I see CSJ the defendant providing evidence to prove his innocence. But all the time his questions was "skillfully" objected and upheld by the judge.
If he can even ask any questions to provide evidence for calling LKY what he did. What form of impartial system is this?
It seems like what they say is true, you are guilty of a crime until proven innocent. ![]()
Travesty of Justice.
Hello Gazelle, was CSJ allowed to present his facts - when half of his affidavit of evidence were blocked from being presented before the trial even started ?With the lawyer for plaintiffs - SC Singh - so diligent in constantly objecting to CSJ's further questions that was pushed through despite the Judge allowing the objections - why were these questions not publicised in the papers except for the reporting that CSJ had placed the court in contempt for pushing ahead with his questions ?
Yes Dr. Chee was give the opportunity and time to present facts to defend himself against what he said about NKF and Singapore government. Instead he use this opportunity to question MM and PM Lee about issues which are totally not related to the charges.
Please stop making up self pity stories to corrupt the mind of the sheep in this forum. Do you know that by doing so, you are making Chee look more like a Pussy?
Spare us your crap again, Asswipe Atobe! You spend more efforts to smear Aleop than to deal with facts you again twist into further lies and half truths. You are worse than a common whore. At least the common whore just quietly do her job but you just yak and yak with nothing worthwhile, and would only piss off your clients.
Now, you claimed - when half of his affidavit of evidence were blocked from being presented before the trial even started. Were they evidence RELATED TO THE NKF case? If so, would you like to show it?
You asked - why were these questions not publicised in the papers. Do newspapers, even international media ones less the cheesy tabloids, see fit to print irrelevant questions asked in the whole?
Originally posted by Aelop:Yes Dr. Chee was give the opportunity and time to present facts to defend himself against what he said about NKF and Singapore government. Instead he use this opportunity to question MM and PM Lee about issues which are totally not related to the charges.
Please stop making up self pity stories to corrupt the mind of the sheep in this forum. Do you know that by doing so, you are making Chee look more like a Pussy?
If Chee is made to look like a Pussy, you have been exposed as Gazelle the panty sniffing conman - out again to roam the Speakers' Corner with a new nick.
Does anyone with a right thinking mind need any persuasion to see the obvious truth in the manner that T.T. Durai manages his empire by threats and deceit when anyone question him and his operations ?
Based on his perception of the slightest hint of perjury to his honesty - he will resort to the Courts to defend his precious position, in case the truth does spill out.
Unfortunately, he forgot that he is only the God Father at NKF, and not Singapore - the shoes did not fit his feet, but surely fitted his pompous head.
Are you believing yourself to be able to think for your God Father and that his shoes fit you too ? Unfortunately, the shoes are still to big to fit your head and your feet.
If Chee is made to look like a Pussy, you have been exposed as Gazelle the panty sniffing conman - out again to roam the Speakers' Corner with a new nick.Does anyone with a right thinking mind need any persuasion to see the obvious truth in the manner that T.T. Durai manages his empire by threats and deceit when anyone question him and his operations ?
Based on his perception of the slightest hint of perjury to his honesty - he will resort to the Courts to defend his precious position, in case the truth does spill out.
Unfortunately, he forgot that he is only the God Father at NKF, and not Singapore - the shoes did not fit his feet, but surely fitted his pompous head.
Are you believing yourself to be able to think for your God Father and that his shoes fit you too ? Unfortunately, the shoes are still to big to fit your head and your feet.
Stop talking crap, Asswipe Atobe! Enough of your allegations! When are you going to provide evidence to back up your statements?!
Originally posted by Point_blank:
Spare us your crap again, Asswipe Atobe! You spend more efforts to smear Aleop than to deal with facts you again twist into further lies and half truths. You are worse than a common whore. At least the common whore just quietly do her job but you just yak and yak with nothing worthwhile, and would only piss off your clients.
Now, you claimed - when half of his affidavit of evidence were blocked from being presented before the trial even started. Were they evidence RELATED TO THE NKF case? If so, would you like to show it?
You asked - why were these questions not publicised in the papers. Do newspapers, even international media ones less the cheesy tabloids, see fit to print irrelevant questions asked in the whole?
Tantrum, tantrum, tantrum.. if the juvenile had not returned with more vulgarities, one will not even know he has existed in his 'Point_blank' world.
How would you know if those evidence that were striked out from CSJ's affidavit were not related when none had been published by the Press or allowed to be mentioned by the Court ?
Your question is amusing in asking if ''Were they evidence RELATED TO THE NKF case ?'' - when the line of question by CSJ was that the NKF manner of being managed is a copy of the way the Elite Politicians manage the Government Reserves in total secrecy, and will use the litigations to silence any embarrassing questions that only they will interprete in self-inflicting ways to have damaged their own reputations.
T.T. Durai had great role models to learn from.
Can you hope to even light your puny candle to help your God Father to read those words that CSJ had attempted to use to question him ?
Surely, the lawyer for the Plaintiffs - SC Singh - must have good reasons to prevent those evidence that CSJ presented from being used in an open court ?
It is surprsing that you do not even attempt to place any further evidence of your own to counter all that I have placed on this page to expose what you have claimed to be lies and half-truths ?
Is it due to your fear of again being proven to be 'Point_blank' for all the 'points' that you offer that continuously been exposed to be nothing more but 'blanks' ?
Bitterness make you grow old, vulgar, and enter into a repeated juvenile phase.
If words can prick your pride even when you are in an anonymous 'Point_blank' state in this Speakers' Corner, you have alot to learn to grow up and face reality - if you want to enter public office and have public debate - Little Jjuvenile.
Originally posted by Point_blank:
Stop talking crap, Asswipe Atobe! Enough of your allegations! When are you going to provide evidence to back up your statements?!
nah, you dont need facts when dealing with sheep. I am sure Atobe knows that very well and thats why he is using that to his advantage. I really pity those sheep that have been corrupted by Atobe...
Originally posted by Atobe:Tantrum, tantrum, tantrum.. if the juvenile had not returned with more vulgarities, one will not even know he has existed in his 'Point_blank' world.
How would you know if those evidence that were striked out from CSJ's affidavit were not related when none had been published by the Press or allowed to be mentioned by the Court ?
Your question is amusing in asking if ''Were they evidence RELATED TO THE NKF case ?'' - when the line of question by CSJ was that the NKF manner of being managed is a copy of the way the Elite Politicians manage the Government Reserves in total secrecy, and will use the litigations to silence any embarrassing questions that only they will interprete in self-inflicting ways to have damaged their own reputations.
T.T. Durai had great role models to learn from.
Can you hope to even light your puny candle to help your God Father to read those words that CSJ had attempted to use to question him ?
Surely, the lawyer for the Plaintiffs - SC Singh - must have good reasons to prevent those evidence that CSJ presented from being used in an open court ?
It is surprsing that you do not even attempt to place any further evidence of your own to counter all that I have placed on this page to expose what you have claimed to be lies and half-truths ?
Is it due to your fear of again being proven to be 'Point_blank' for all the 'points' that you offer that continuously been exposed to be nothing more but 'blanks' ?
Bitterness make you grow old, vulgar, and enter into a repeated juvenile phase.
If words can prick your pride even when you are in an anonymous 'Point_blank' state in this Speakers' Corner, you have alot to learn to grow up and face reality - if you want to enter public office and have public debate - Little Jjuvenile.
Lol! Asswipe Atobe, you piece of worthless shit! That's all you can come out with to back your allegations - with more crap instead of evidences? You give nothing and offer nothing except strife and disharmony. Let's see how many can you fool. I am sure there will be fools who support you.