A fe w years ago, Singapore started to buy gas from Indonesia to feed our power stations. A gas pipe was laid from the gasfields to Singapore. But to help Indonesia, the gaspipe was diverted to Batam so that they can also get the gas.
With the price increase in fuel, Singapore pays 3 times more what Batam pays, and consequently, the gas company gave Singapore first priority. Batam had to endure a few hours of power cuts daily.
Batam is now threatening to disrupt gas supply to Singapore to force the gas company to give more priority to themselves. They had forgotten that without Singapore, they would not have had got the gas-pipe in the first place.
KPPU has stepped in again ( the bastards that said Temesek held a monopoly in their mobile phone companies and is forcing an enforce sale of Temasek held assets.....)
I had been accused of Indon bashing. Now see for yourself what they are doing to us. Be prepared for Batam cutting our gas supply.............bloody ungrateful Indons......uncivilised barbarians......
You still respect these jungle people?
read the details here : http://sgenergycrisis.blogspot.com/2008/05/possible-blackout-in-singapore-alert.html
if singapore was supplying someone for 3x the price while neglecting our own citizens, the citizenry will also be up in arms
A contract is binding.......they got the gaspipe because Singapore agreed to divert it to help Batam. We should have had laid the pipeline straight and let Batam survive on charcoal.
If they are not happy, then don't sell to Singapore.....we will buy from elsewhere.
Instead, they sign a 20 year contract and then they screw us up.
this is not the first time and certainly wont be the last.
they are also not the first one to treat us that way.
Singapore is building a 3mtpa LNG terminal in Jurong Island, and it will be ready in 2012. Once this is ready, we will be able to import LLNG from far aways sources such as Australia and Qatar.
Batam want more gas, they pay more lor. They can also use their methane for gas.
Originally posted by jayh272416:Batam want more gas, they pay more lor. They can also use their methane for gas.
When you are too use to enjoying subsidies from government, it will become like an entitlement, not a previledge.
Hey Dr Who,
Firstly, I do not share your views on the Indons and name calling. The blog you quoted (mine) is to give warning to all who live in Singapore including all races and religion
It's time to prepare for the blackout instead of blaming anyone...if the declining of natural gas fields is more severe, not only Batam will continue to have black out but Singapore will black out regardless of the amount of money we pay.
Another thing is try not be against any race or religion as it will degenerate Singapore into a more chaotic state with violence that is unseen previously.
Enjoy while you can as the future is quite bleak.
Regardless...do invest in solar panels for lights quick!
Regards,
Simon Tay
http://sgenergycrisis.blogspot.com
Originally posted by Simontay78:Hey Dr Who,
Firstly, I do not share your views on the Indons and name calling. The blog you quoted (mine) is to give warning to all who live in Singapore including all races and religion
It's time to prepare for the blackout instead of blaming anyone...if the declining of natural gas fields is more severe, not only Batam will continue to have black out but Singapore will black out regardless of the amount of money we pay.
Another thing is try not be against any race or religion as it will degenerate Singapore into a more chaotic state with violence that is unseen previously.
Enjoy while you can as the future is quite bleak.
Regardless...do invest in solar panels for lights quick!
Regards,
Simon Tay
http://sgenergycrisis.blogspot.com
Mr Who, see the difference? ppl talk about the problem, u just want to point fingers..
throw ur own face..
Originally posted by Simontay78:Hey Dr Who,
Wise. Don't be provoked.
Yeah stereotyping the indonesians: not fair. I have many Indonesian friends and they are nothing like that. The Indonesian friends I have are fun-loving yet hardworking people, and to this day I have not seen a hint of any one of them trying to stab me in the back.

This woman is the Indonesian Trade Minister. She was educated in Singapore in St Margarets School. Instead of saying "thank you", she banned the sale of sand to Singapore. She ate our food, drank out water, and learned wisdom from our teachers. Yet she put sand in our rice bowl.
If this is not back stabbing, then what is it?
CHEY! kena gan by the blogger now u want to siam topic.. buay pai seh sia..