Malaysia to ban border fuel sales to foreigners
Posted: 27 May 2008 1252 hrs
![]() |
||||||
Motorists fill their cars up at a petrol station in Malaysia. |
||||||
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia will ban petrol stations on its borders
with Thailand and Singapore from selling fuel to foreigners, in an attempt to contain the spiralling cost of subsidies, reports said on
Tuesday.
"It's the question of principle because you are talking about
taxpayers' money, and taxpayers' money being used to subsidise petrol
for those not entitled to receive the subsidy," said Deputy Prime
Minister Najib Razak.
"Our level of subsidy is very high," he told a press conference
================================================
The reason why malaysia dun wanna sell to Singapore:

They don't want to feed the cheapskate monkeys any more.......

For years the bodoh malaysian taxpayer had been subsidizing the filthy rich of singapore. Finally they woke up. No more banana for you, nice monkey!
Was it a mistake that you called yourself - a Malaysian - stupid ?
Actually, the stupidity continues, as those Malaysians owning cars with Singapore License Plates - {and commuting daily to earn Singapore Dollars, and paying also Malaysian Taxes} - also cannot purchase petrol at all petrol stations within a 50 km radius from any border crossing.
It will be interesting how the stupidity will be resolved to help those Malaysians who are bringing in the high valued Singapore Dollars into Malaysia, which has been fuelling the rapid development of Johor compared to all the other states except Selangor.
Will it not be less stupid for the Malaysian Government to bite the bullet - like the Indonesian President Bambang Yudhoyono - and simply increase fuel prices to international levels, and hand back the profits annually in the same manner as the MIW Government in Singapore ?
Has this policy been thought through clearly, or was it a knee jerk response to pacify the growing perception of Malaysian disgust at losing Pedra Branca to Singapore ?
By not allowing petrol to be sold to cars with Singapore Number Plates - how is the Badawi Government planning to encourage Singaporeans investors to help the Iskandar Project to take off ?
Driving into the Iskandar Project and not being able to return to Singapore, and exposing one's stalled cars to robbers - that will be a smart prospect to be promoted for Singapore investors to transfer money to help with the project.
Idwar - are the Malaysians generally stupid, or are you simply stupid in not pushing your government to stop subsidising the fuel prices to such an extent, but to adopt more progressive methods in helping Malaysia to develop ?
The whole affair need not have developed into this sorry mess that has affected the Malaysians more then the Singaporeans.
Malaysia should consider herself lucky that if a Singapore car should fill up a full tank, he would have travelled a fair distance, and would have spent MORE then what is given in the subsidy for the full tank.
Afterall, how many Singaporean cars can top a full tank, when the gas tanks are three-quarter full before leaving Singapore ?
Dont worry. In few months time. Policy towards subsidising petrol of diesel and octane 97++ will cease. Only u92 below will be subsidised. Subsidy diesel to fishermen will still stay on the 1 dollar a litre mark . And the continuous use of 0.30cent subsidy cards on diesel will still continue. This the inside news i got last week.
Soon , all prices will be same liaw.SG can pump in MY regardless.. cause prices will be same. Unless u drive a real old and sh|t car that uses regular.
Actually i think MY should continue subsidy and scrap useless mega projects to sustain the rising costs and try to find solution to slowly easy back on subsidy. ACA should start to do its job in retrieving billions of ringgit for corruption.
i drive old and shit car but i pump vpower!!!
mai ku.. u got v12 inside that piece of sh|t chasis ar..
but seriusly hor i think vpower actually more economical leh. tried and tested lor. it actually saves abit more money it terms of price/km travelled. more mileage lor i think. correct anot?
I agree.
These 'cheap skate monkeys' had it coming, it hits them where it matters most, their pockets. Hopefully these cheap skate monkeys will wake their ideas and take their money somewhere else, for starters, stop being cheap skate and spend more of their money in their economy.
cos after this singaporeans will pump here and contribute to the economy here instead of giving their money to thos across the straits. and garmen can also collect more gst
Sounds like somebody called "Idwar" is smarting with pain after some ICJ decision...
Somebody can't handle the decision handed down by ICJ. ![]()
m'sia purposely give problem to singapore la.
wat a sore loser.
lol. so now am i suppose to beat up on my malaysian friends who came over here to receive a better education? pls la. sigh, let's be peaceful
I think the subsidise cost more money than those singaporean spend on Malaysia. U all want cheap fuel therefore say Malaysian stupid, don't know how to do business. They spend US $14 billion on fuel subsidise. If I am Malaysia minsister, I will also do that. Singaporean got spend so much inside Malaysia meh??? Don't forget , they subsidise rice, cooking oil too and we last time go in buy buy buy.. Add another few billion.. No wonder Malaysian Gov not as rich as Spore gov.
Originally posted by CannyOng:I think the subsidise cost more money than those singaporean spend on Malaysia. U all want cheap fuel therefore say Malaysian stupid, don't know how to do business. They spend US $14 billion on fuel subsidise. If I am Malaysia minsister, I will also do that. Singaporean got spend so much inside Malaysia meh??? Don't forget , they subsidise rice, cooking oil too and we last time go in buy buy buy.. Add another few billion.. No wonder Malaysian Gov not as rich as Spore gov.
malaysia govt is richer then singapore gov !!! they have oil and palm oil ..... just where the money goes !!!
hello they spend US$14 billion - US$14 billion - is including - fuel for ships, planes, trains, factory , powerstation . What portion is that 14 billion use by cars ? foregin cars - thailand also contribute to foreign cars. So Singapore cars is a small number !!!! You cannot use the whole country fuel comsuming figure and blame it to foreign cars.
How many Singaporean go up north ? Singapore again provided the majority of tourists to its northern neighbour, with 6.16mn arrivals over the first seven months. If full year - mean 12.2 mn singaporean visit
http://www.businessmonitor.com/tourism/malaysia.html
The tourism ministry has estimated that the campaign brought in 20.7 million tourists, bringing the total receipt to US$13.7 billion.
http://www.eturbonews.com/706/malaysian-tourism-targeting-big-spenders-next
If singapore say contribute to 1/2 of the total tourist :)
I will tell you where the fuel subsidies went !!! It got burn up - yep think of how much they burn to send their man into space :) yep burn up already.
Originally posted by storywolf:malaysia govt is richer then singapore gov !!! they have oil and palm oil ..... just where the money goes !!!
hello they spend US$14 million - hello i would frankly assumpting 3/4 is use by local. 1/4 is share between thai and singaporean . So US$1.75 is more the real figure the Singaporean enjoy.
How many Singaporean go up north ? Singapore again provided the majority of tourists to its northern neighbour, with 6.16mn arrivals over the first seven months. If full year - mean 12.2 mn singaporean visit
http://www.businessmonitor.com/tourism/malaysia.html
Yep if you take the totally number of 12.2 mn ... if average out the spending - think the local business can make profit of SGD$30 each visit - take that and 12.2 x 30 - SGD $336mn - think that can cover more then what little subsidies we may happen to enjoy.
If u say it this way, how many singapore tourist go Johor one? I can assume most go KL one or northern Malaysia are going by coach. So even with the fuel ban, they will only affect singapore tourist going in by car. Most singaporean still happy happy go tour in Malaysia by coach. It will not affect their tourist targeting sporean much.
Btw, its US $14 billion not 14 million... And Spore gov is richer than Malaysia one cos they are not stingy like our gov. Do u know how much is spore reserve compare to malaysia one?
my entire church going to malaysia for church camp. =(
Originally posted by CannyOng:
If u say it this way, how many singapore tourist go Johor one? I can assume most go KL one or northern Malaysia are going by coach. So even with the fuel ban, they will only affect singapore tourist going in by car. Most singaporean still happy happy go tour in Malaysia by coach. It will not affect their tourist targeting sporean much.Btw, its US $14 billion not 14 million... And Spore gov is richer than Malaysia one cos they are not stingy like our gov. Do u know how much is spore reserve compare to malaysia one?
How rich malaysia is you never know - You must ask about the private reserves !!! That is where the money went :) !!!
peace....
so much for market competition, offering competitive prices...
without cheap malaysian oil, the oil companies in singapore will drive the oil price higher.
Well, Malaysian oil or no Malaysian oil, oil prices will just keep on going up.
I for one cannot afford the rising costs, so I just decided to keep the car at home and use transit instead. Although it is certainly a lot less glamorous, we do not feel hurt at our pockets at the end of the day.
Originally posted by Quincey:Well, Malaysian oil or no Malaysian oil, oil prices will just keep on going up.
I for one cannot afford the rising costs, so I just decided to keep the car at home and use transit instead. Although it is certainly a lot less glamorous, we do not feel hurt at our pockets at the end of the day.
then y u keep the car? sell it lah. still have to pay insurance, road tax, coe, maintenence, parking... but not using it.
Might want to edit the title