Originally posted by storywolf:How rich malaysia is you never know - You must ask about the private reserves !!! That is where the money went :) !!!
yeah.. private reserves to dunno who's private offshore account. hahaha
Originally posted by red_amoeba:I thought this is protectionism which is not allowed under Free Trade Agreement?
Why isn’t Singapore raising this in protest to WTA?
It's simple.
In the long run, fewer and fewer Singaporeans would want to drive up to Johor. As the pump station owners in JB have complained... this harebrained ruling will very negatively affect their business.
Heck, pump stations are just the tip of the iceberg. Now how many Singaporeans would want to drive to Johor for their weekly shopping if they have to drive all the way to Kota Tinggi just to refuel? Their economy is gonna go down.
So in the grand scheme of things.... the Malaysian government is seriously screwing itself in its backside with this stupid ruling. They can simply just impose a small extra charge on Singapore-registered cars who want to refuel, but no....... they just have to come up with this stupid idea. ![]()
Why protest to WTO when we can sit back and enjoy watching them screw themselves?
Originally posted by fudgester:It's simple.
In the long run, fewer and fewer Singaporeans would want to drive up to Johor. As the pump station owners in JB have complained... this harebrained ruling will very negatively affect their business.
Heck, pump stations are just the tip of the iceberg. Now how many Singaporeans would want to drive to Johor for their weekly shopping if they have to drive all the way to Kota Tinggi just to refuel? Their economy is gonna go down.
So in the grand scheme of things.... the Malaysian government is seriously screwing itself in its backside with this stupid ruling. They can simply just impose a small extra charge on Singapore-registered cars who want to refuel, but no....... they just have to come up with this stupid idea.
Why protest to WTO when we can sit back and enjoy watching them screw themselves?
Thursday May 29, 2008
Foreigners to pay full price for fuel, says Pak Lah
By ELIZABETH LOOI
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said an announcement on how this would be done would be made when the time was right.
“Foreigners will definitely have to pay the full price when we make the announcement and (when we) enforce it immediately,” he told a press conference in Parliament here yesterday.
Abdullah said some people had taken advantage of the country’s cheaper fuel prices by smuggling it into other countries for a profit.
He also said the Government would decide on the use of the MyKad for petrol purchases soon.
Just so you haven't read the latest news. :)
lol. good news is. can bribe the petrol kiosk and police lor. =x
Originally posted by newcomer:
Thursday May 29, 2008
Foreigners to pay full price for fuel, says Pak Lah
By ELIZABETH LOOI
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said an announcement on how this would be done would be made when the time was right.
“Foreigners will definitely have to pay the full price when we make the announcement and (when we) enforce it immediately,” he told a press conference in Parliament here yesterday.
Abdullah said some people had taken advantage of the country’s cheaper fuel prices by smuggling it into other countries for a profit.
He also said the Government would decide on the use of the MyKad for petrol purchases soon.Just so you haven't read the latest news. :)
Hmm.... okay. ![]()
I just wonder when will the time ever be 'right'.
Because until that time comes, JB's economy is gonna take a hit by this harebrained scheme of theirs.
mYKad my ass. lol. Until today myKad with all that high tech chip.. never even use before. haha..
Smuggling of of petrol i doubt ever happened in sg. lol.
it happens up north border to Thai , East coast , Borneo islands Sabah n Sarawak. Especially Diesel. Hardly Unldeaded petrol.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol. good news is. can bribe the petrol kiosk and police lor. =x
can christians do that?
the answer to that is. can, because there is a means to, and a motive, and an opportunity.
but i think the question should be rephrased as: will we do that?
then it depends on individual and their own conviction and moral standing. my family won't.
as for me ah. i don't know. no car, no licence. =)
anyway, my point is, if there's a big hoo ha about malaysia being difficult, we can always fall back on their corrupted system.
well u get what i'm saying. no need for the lingo mumbo jumbo.
Originally posted by newcomer:well u get what i'm saying. no need for the lingo mumbo jumbo.
lol, actually i didn't. but the answer i gave was a fair one right?
and speaking of getting what each other are saying. what i meant earlier was that for every law, there is a loophole, and as long as their system is corrupted, they can't enforce anything lor. =x
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol, actually i didn't. but the answer i gave was a fair one right?
and speaking of getting what each other are saying. what i meant earlier was that for every law, there is a loophole, and as long as their system is corrupted, they can't enforce anything lor. =x
it's a politically correct answer. :thumb:
thank you, thank you. =)
is that an emoticon? cannot see?
Originally posted by Atobe:Was it a mistake that you called yourself - a Malaysian - stupid ?
Actually, the stupidity continues, as those Malaysians owning cars with Singapore License Plates - {and commuting daily to earn Singapore Dollars, and paying also Malaysian Taxes} - also cannot purchase petrol at all petrol stations within a 50 km radius from any border crossing.
Afterall, how many Singaporean cars can top a full tank, when the gas tanks are three-quarter full before leaving Singapore ?
Msian working in Singapore do not have to pay Malaysia Taxes.
Have you seen the clip of that driver humping his Honda Civic?
Badawi is really shooting his own foot loh. Yes, short term, he will gain popularity by playing the "Singapore is the whipping boy" card. Longterm, when Johor's biz start dying, he has another renegade state to contend with.
UMNO is so screwed.
All thx to Dr M for screwing everybody up in the North. Woohoo.. Longevity to him sia..
singaporeans' spending in johor is not the only income of malaysia... so, they dun care whether u go there or not...
And, if we singaporean dun go there, the noodles will dropped from RM5 dolar to RM2.50 liaw... cheap cheap ...
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Dont worry. In few months time. Policy towards subsidising petrol of diesel and octane 97++ will cease. Only u92 below will be subsidised. Subsidy diesel to fishermen will still stay on the 1 dollar a litre mark . And the continuous use of 0.30cent subsidy cards on diesel will still continue. This the inside news i got last week.
Soon , all prices will be same liaw.SG can pump in MY regardless.. cause prices will be same. Unless u drive a real old and sh|t car that uses regular.
Actually i think MY should continue subsidy and scrap useless mega projects to sustain the rising costs and try to find solution to slowly easy back on subsidy. ACA should start to do its job in retrieving billions of ringgit for corruption.
woa bro you were right on.
damn got anymore inside tips to exploit on anot?
Originally posted by Gackt247:Badawi is really shooting his own foot loh. Yes, short term, he will gain popularity by playing the "Singapore is the whipping boy" card. Longterm, when Johor's biz start dying, he has another renegade state to contend with.
UMNO is so screwed.
All thx to Dr M for screwing everybody up in the North. Woohoo.. Longevity to him sia..
what did Dr M do?
Originally posted by Atobe:
Driving into the Iskandar Project and not being able to return to Singapore, and exposing one's stalled cars to robbers - that will be a smart prospect to be promoted for Singapore investors to transfer money to help with the project.
....Singaporean cars can top a full tank, when the gas tanks are three-quarter full before leaving Singapore ?
aren't you playing by fear and contradicting yourself here?
as a driver, i can't see how one can end up with an empty tank within a 50km radius on 3Q tank full of petrol.
plus, we are human beings, not monkey. i think we can think and plan based on what's left in the tank accordingly.
Originally posted by redDUST:aren't you playing by fear and contradicting yourself here?
as a driver, i can't see how one can end up with an empty tank within a 50km radius on 3Q tank full of petrol.
plus, we are human beings, not monkey. i think we can think and plan based on what's left in the tank accordingly.
Well if you ever drive a nissan Sunny !!! then you will worry about the 50km radius - driving here and there.
Originally posted by storywolf:
Well if you ever drive a nissan Sunny !!! then you will worry about the 50km radius - driving here and there.
seriously on a 3Q tank? what is a mileage per litre on a sunny? basic calculation, at a conservative 10km/l mileage, on a 3qtr tank full in a sunny, say 30litres in the tank, you can travel almost to seremban, no problem. you got a lemon!
and in any case, singapore cars CAN fill up in JB, even within the 50km radius. there is no restriction per se. you just pay the rm2.80 per litre like all malaysian. my JB friend just confirmed that with me a while ago.
Originally posted by redDUST:seriously on a 3Q tank? what is a mileage per litre on a sunny? basic calculation, at a conservative 10km/l mileage, on a 3qtr tank full in a sunny, say 30litres in the tank, you can travel almost to seremban, no problem. you got a lemon!
and in any case, singapore cars CAN fill up in JB, even within the 50km radius. there is no restriction per se. you just pay the rm2.80 per litre like all malaysian. my JB friend just confirmed that with me a while ago.
the sg ban is on next monday. The RM2.80 started this morning at 0:00.
Originally posted by yongyong:the sg ban is on next monday. The RM2.80 started this morning at 0:00.
thanks for the clarification. that was what i thought but he insists that singapore cars can still fill in regardless.
i guess come monday, it will be all quiet on the other side.
The malaysia gov shouldn't impose a ban, instead it should charge the Singaporean cars the full price (without the subsidize). Make more sense this way.
Originally posted by CannyOng:I think the subsidise cost more money than those singaporean spend on Malaysia. U all want cheap fuel therefore say Malaysian stupid, don't know how to do business. They spend US $14 billion on fuel subsidise. If I am Malaysia minsister, I will also do that. Singaporean got spend so much inside Malaysia meh??? Don't forget , they subsidise rice, cooking oil too and we last time go in buy buy buy.. Add another few billion.. No wonder Malaysian Gov not as rich as Spore gov.
the us$14 billion subsidise is for all the fuel sold in msia and not for the fuel sold to sg cars only.
i think for the fuel subsidise we received we spend more in return. we contribute quite a fair bit to the economy of johore. just look at the many eating outlets and shops that have popped up to cater to sg tourists.