Originally posted by maurizio13:
It's precisely behaviour like this that weakens the quality of oppositions. The regime has a history of suppressing oppositions, therefore very very little good candidates engage in politics. If you do not encourage the growth of opposition, wherefore will the good quality candidates come in.
It's only when this regime loses it's death grip, therefore less suppression, that new quality candidates will step in.
... they have effectively converted the political arena into a Minefield...
... so, naturally not many are willing to lose an arm and a leg getting involved, and those who do, have what it takes to be the next government of SG... real guts in the face of such odds, and no fear of losing - unlike the FAP, who is Kiasi and Kiasu of everything - motsly afraid of losing money helping the very people they lord over...
It's precisely behaviour like this that weakens the quality of oppositions. The regime has a history of suppressing oppositions, therefore very very little good candidates engage in politics. If you do not encourage the growth of opposition, wherefore will the good quality candidates come in.
It's only when this regime loses it's death grip, therefore less suppression, that new quality candidates will step in.
As long as LKY is still around, no one dares to criticize his kind of dirty politics. Only when Singaporeans say no to dirty politics will good candidates step out. That would only happen in post LKY era.
... I mean, already no face yet insist on having lost it...
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Poh Ah Pak: You are blardy childish.
well done. Now You can call others childish.
It wasnt long when you are shivering in fear when some forumners threatened to report you to the authorites regarding your disparaging thread about nosiy Malay wedding.
LKY is someone who has contributed a lot to the nation. Despite all of his mistakes and flaws, he still deserved our respect.
mr perfect, flawlesss lky has no sins or whatsoever. He will go to the extent to get at people who don't agree with him. He is giving impression that he hates the people of Singapore and sounds like making us his enemies. So ungrateful is this perfect sinless old lky, he bites the hands that feed him.
He called us ungrateful, but we all know who is truly ungrateful, it is definitely not us.
Originally posted by Pwins9:Mau, looking at the rate PAP is going, there is never going to be any chance that the leegime is going to lose its grip.
They will go to every possible extent to get at the opposition. Remember, democracy and human rights are questionable in Singapore.
It's a monarchy here, not democracy. ![]()
God save the dictator! ![]()
Many a good oppositions have lost their right to live in Singapore, Francis Seow (former Solicitor General of Singapore, President of the Law Society, currently a Law Professor at Harvard University) and Tang Liang Hong (senior lawyer).
It's a monarchy here, not democracy.
God save the dictator!
Many a good oppositions have lost their right to live in Singapore, Francis Seow (former Solicitor General of Singapore, President of the Law Society, currently a Law Professor at Harvard University) and Tang Liang Hong (senior lawyer).
Can't remember where I surfed that I come across this LAW stands for Lee Always Wins. Ha ha ha.
God can't save the despot if he refuses to be saved.
Is it true LKY has set a very high standard?
What did he do during the last two deep recessions. We did not see any success in restructuring the economy to value-adding technology-driven economy talked about for 20 over years by all his million-dollar ministers.
All major projects aimed at restructuring the economy so far still have not taken off or achieved major breakthrough from micro-electronic to wafer fab to precision engineering or biomedical which was even criticised by her own daughter for lack of vision, practicality or breakthrough like a shotgun approach.
All the million-dollar still have not implemented the value-adding technology-driven knowledge-based economic restructuring. There was very little mention of the failed economic restructuring other than occasional lip service.
Such lack of talents in economic restructuring has been the main factor for our last two deep recessions. Go and read the old newspaper cuttings on ministers constantly putting the blame on people for failures in restructuring their skill instead of ministers for lack of ability in master-planning and executing as previously Dr. Goh Keng Swee would have done. Perhaps after Dr. Goh Keng Swee has left there was no heavy weight minister including LKY himself who are equally able and capable to create whole new technology start-ups or new industries to create value-adding jobs for our new graduates or citizens. Up to now LHL who was supposed to oversee the entire economic restructuring exercise during the last two recessions have yet to produce the desired final results.
LKY probably is only relying on property and location play to get by with the help of world recovery to say he was successful without any real solid success to sustain the frail economy.
However at the first sign of world recovery of which Singapore was
among the last of the Asian dragons to recover from about 2004 once the property began to move due to economic cycle the
ministers and MM Lee quickly claimed for credit talking about
leadership and many theories like all foreigners will create jobs for citizens when actually the real intention was to suppress
wages of citizens to be competitive. It looks like other than cutting CPF and citizens' wages and open the door to cheap foreign labor on the excuse of talent there is no other solutions to restructuring.
Intrinsically our own domestic sector of the economy is still very
frail and weak thriving mainly on some retailing and services and we
have not created in-depth strategic manufacturing facilities as smaller
countries like Finland or Switzerland have done.
During any recessions these foreign companies would be more attracted
to lower-cost countries as seen during past recessions leaving us very
much in a lurch.
Through years of one-tracked cutting of citizens' wages and promoting foreign investments at the expense of own SMEs and domestic sector and strategic skill training
and technology-start-ups, the whole economy has been downgraded to third world falling behind Korea, Taiwan and even Hong Kong in terms of creating major world-beating computer, or manufacturing world-needed products or services.
The ministers are only keen in throwing monies at foreign investors but not create more incentives for our own domestic businesses which have to struggle against all kinds of taxes and rising business costs in utility and transportation etc.
Surely if our ministers have the talents they would not have neglected promoting our own local businesses first before promoting the foreigners. There has been a total lack of understanding of the need to promote hands-on practical knowledge applications and incentivise manufacturing of our own technology and
knowledge-based products.
A first-world country is one which should excel in terms of practical
knowledge applications, innovation and abilities to produce
world-needed products by being able to motivate our own citizens and just keep throwing money incentives at foreign companies or engaging in property play IR or being at the mercy of world economy.
This kind of wage-cutting pro-foreigner government could only be good in putting up showy look-good projects like various world-class hubbing or biotech or biomedcal which have yet to make any major breakthrough.
In any world slow down or recession we will again see the true color of this type of look-good pretentious talent-talk boasting. It will be another repeat of the last two recessions with no particular areas of excellence. People will once again lose their jobs by thousands and foreigners will again be leaving us to go elsewhere to cream another golden pots and take us for fools.
So judge for yourself : Is LKY that world-best as he has claimed?
two questions :
question 1: would you, either individually or collectively, have done better?
question 2: Mr Lee KY did not sell out Singapore. What about the opposition like CSJ who sold out Singapore even before he is elected into the paliament?
fact : if the economic restructuring as mentioned by roberteh was successful, then Singapore's "kitty" would be more than USD 1 trillions instead of now USD 300 billions.
If someone else or other party were in power, i think high chance we are all eating sand now. see this URL http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/ver/251.7/popup/index.php?cl=6152237
an important and very important fact concerning Singapore's future is that Singapore's coffers stays in Singapore and Singaporeans are working to beef it up by taking investment risks and business links around the world. This is an important "legacy" left behind by Mr Lee KY's team.
Mr Lee has set very high standards for anyone who aspire to contribute to Singapore, anyone.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:Mr Lee Kuan Yew, 85 years old (2008), did not and does not look forward to retirement though money isn't a consideration. His passion for Singapore is evident for all to see. At this age, his energy can match a mid forty. A very high standard for any Singaporean to emulate.
Who is Lee Kuan Yew?You mean that stinking old man that is going to die at any time?Gosh,i can imagine his dieing body smell.....
Originally posted by drawer:Who is Lee Kuan Yew?You mean that stinking old man that is going to die at any time?Gosh,i can imagine his dieing body smell.....
Wah the man how started a thread asking when LKY is going to die, is still alive? This must be a miracle. :D
So drawer, is your parents still alive or are they kicking the bucket soon?
btw, if are you looking for a good deal for casket, I can give you member's discount.
Poh is going to order one for his dad soon. Maybe by this sunday.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:an important and very important fact concerning Singapore's future is that Singapore's coffers stays in Singapore and Singaporeans are working to beef it up by taking investment risks and business links around the world. This is an important "legacy" left behind by Mr Lee KY's team.
Mr Lee has set very high standards for anyone who aspire to contribute to Singapore, anyone.
I think he is also very good at building and managing good people around him.
oh yeah, lee old man kuan yew ah very perfect. he most perfect politician in the world ah, very excellent dictator ah. He is perfect without sin ah so you people why don't like him. Cannot say anything bad about him ah, if not he will sue u till you go bankrupt and that is the way of a perfect sinless man.
kuan yew lee, u love singapore? kuan yew, you know well your days are numbered so please be kind to all. YOur high standard may have flaws.
Originally posted by Pwins9:oh yeah, lee old man kuan yew ah very perfect. he most perfect politician in the world ah, very excellent dictator ah. He is perfect without sin ah so you people why don't like him. Cannot say anything bad about him ah, if not he will sue u till you go bankrupt and that is the way of a perfect sinless man.
kuan yew lee, u love singapore? kuan yew, you know well your days are numbered so please be kind to all. YOur high standard may have flaws.
Did anyone ever tell you that you are pyscho?
Originally posted by zenden9:Aelop and Daddy are both dog of LKY.
Nice doggy! Go and lick his balls.. U are not fit to be human.
tsk tsk..
LKY has track record to answer to his critics. What do you have? one BIG, filty mouth filled with dog poo?
Originally posted by Aelop:Did anyone ever tell you that you are pyscho?
wow, you are here purely to find fault and do evil. I said good things about your fucking lao peh LKY you not happy, people talk negatively about him you also not happy. So you are psycho. YOu are so full of hatred and evil that you can't even spelt the word psycho correctly, pathetic running dog of LKY.
Shoo, shoo, go away to your daddy lky and cry cry cry.
Originally posted by Aelop:LKY has track record to answer to his critics. What do you have? one BIG, filty mouth filled with dog poo?
fucktard you are no better than any evil and scumbag so you in no good position to tell anyone here any thing.
Originally posted by Pwins9:fucktard you are no better than any evil and scumbag so you in no good position to tell anyone here any thing.
don't talk to trolls la
this is the type of reaction he likes
Originally posted by eagle:don't talk to trolls la
this is the type of reaction he likes
Trolls are like his masters so ill mannered, ba dao, evil, unkind, vicious, obnoxious, no conscience.
The pap gahmen needs to learn humility from the KMT government in Taiwan.
Originally posted by Pwins9:Trolls are like his masters so ill mannered, ba dao, evil, unkind, vicious, obnoxious, no conscience.
The pap gahmen needs to learn humility from the KMT government in Taiwan.
PAP gahmen still ok la... acceptable even though there are bads and flaws here and there...
But not trolls.... Trolls are just pathetic creatures.... Totally no contribution to society at all
Originally posted by eagle:PAP gahmen still ok la... acceptable even though there are bads and flaws here and there...
But not trolls.... Trolls are just pathetic creatures.... Totally no contribution to society at all
These trolls here contribute effectively to PAP. PAP gahmen will be better if they change their ways by focusing on serving the nation with their hearts as their top priority.