Open Letter to Dr Chee Soon Juan
www.newsintercom.org – June 1st , 2008
By Andrew PK Yap
During the recent trial that involved you, LKY suggested that you “play by their rules” and like JBJ get yourself out of bankruptcy by paying up the money. Well, personally I hope that you do not fall into the trap. You cannot play by rules that one party in a contest makes and hope to win. Like at the casino. Gambling is a contest between the casino and the gambler. The casino makes the rules. The gamblers lose.
The casino will never make rules that give the advantage to the gamblers. That is a given. The casino is also not honorable enough to come up with fair rules. The casino comes up with rules to their advantage. Take the game blackjack, for example. LKY said that his father was at one time a sucker for blackjack. When you play blackjack with your friends, and if you bust and the “house” bust, it is a draw. At the casino, they change the rules to, you "hit" first and if you bust, you lose even if the casino subsequently busts when it is their turn to hit; an unfair rule that gives them the advantage. Unfair rules give them the advantage, in addition to the commissions that they take. The rules they make ensure that the casino industry as a whole makes tens of billions of US dollars a year in both USA and Macau.
Like you said to LKY, “One way that I can campaign is through the media; you control it. One way that I can campaign is to get down to the street and talk to voters; you arrest me. One way that I can campaign is through my party’s newspapers; you sue me.”
You see, they are adamant that you play by their rules that are disadvantageous to you and bias towards themselves. If you do that, play by their rules, it makes them look good. What you are doing now makes them look horribly dishonorable. They are not honorable enough to implement rules that by international standards are just and fair to all comers. They behave like the casino operators in spirit but unlike the casino, they are like you and me, no more and no less than every other Singaporean with rights guaranteed by the constitution.
The call Singapore a democracy and puts it down in the pledge, “to build a democratic society” but the reality is that the rules they made are anything but conducive for building “a democratic society”. They trample on people like yourself using the rules that they have come up with for their advantage.
They come up with rules ostensibly to “modify” democracy for the better, but the rules they come up with, give them the advantage in the contests and allow them to legally persecute you using state organs. I am not interested in the contests but you are, at great cost to yourself. You are truly a martyr, and although we have never met and never spoken, I thank you for being our martyr and exposing the dishonorable behavior of those people.
Is it any wonder that they are for the casino? They know firsthand what is making the rules for their own advantage instead of honorably coming up with just and fair rules. All the best to you Dr Chee Soon Juan. We all die one day and take comfort in the fact that dishonorable people will die too, one day, and take comfort in that while they persecute you.
(The author is founder of www.casinogamblingprevention.com)
edited this line:
At the casino, they change the rules to, if you bust first, you lose even if the casino subsequently busts. Unfair rules that gives them the advantage.
to:
When you play blackjack
with your friends, and if you bust and the “house” bust, it is a draw. At the casino, they change the rules to, you "hit" first and if you bust, you lose even if the casino subsequently busts when it is their turn to hit; an unfair rule that gives them the advantage. Unfair rules give them the advantage. in addition to the commissions that they take.
like he will see ur stupid letter cause he will be serving his jail term!
Originally posted by playboy_1985:like he will see ur stupid letter cause he will be serving his jail term!
but jail got a new set of rule leh..i thinks he will be busy lecturing his jailmates
Originally posted by angel7030:
but jail got a new set of rule leh..i thinks he will be busy lecturing his jailmates
I think his jailmates will say, "Ah Juan, deng lai liao ah? Wu hun gi bor?"
Originally posted by Hogzilla:I think his jailmates will say, "Ah Juan, deng lai liao ah? Wu hun gi bor?"
i think his jail mates all respect him. he has the guts to go against the god of singapore.
Dr Chee is fighting for the people. But he did it in a harsh way. But still, i support you, Dr Chee!
I disagree he did it in a harsh way. Ask yourself, what exactly did he do to deserve all that jail time?
i give him credits for his guts and the never die spirit
CSJ can go hell la write rubbish in SDP website
i wonder y PAP nv take away his citizenship and kick him out of Singapore
Originally posted by Lin Yu:i give him credits for his guts and the never die spirit
i agree..
Originally posted by Hogzilla:I think his jailmates will say, "Ah Juan, deng lai liao ah? Wu hun gi bor?"
HAHAHA... that was funny lol..
might as well say, "waiting for u leh! so long den come back, we 三缺一leh! gin gin sit down!"
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
I disagree he did it in a harsh way. Ask yourself, what exactly did he do to deserve all that jail time?
Ok, he was framed. But seems like he's not smart enough for that old fart. Or rather, the old fart is too crafty for him.
Hi Dr Chee,
What is wrong with u?
U always post whatever articles mentioned your name in SDP site.
But u forget post your Letter to Editor of STimes
and PUBLISHED by STimes on 30.05.2008!!
Today 05 jun 2008 STimes,a reader questioned why u sent letter
to ST when u claimed there is no freedom of speech in SG.
i am sad to know u blacken STime name once again.
STimes is controlled by LKY,as u said many times.
Yet u write to it!!
2.CSJ letter to ST and PUBLISHED by ST on 30.05.2008:
http://www.sgpolitics.net/
By Dr Chee Soon Juan
Published in Straits Times forum page (Print edition), 30 May 08.
By Dr Chee Soon Juan
Published in Straits Times forum page (Print edition), 30 May 08.IF TUNKU Abdul Aziz is concerned about the integrity of Transparency International-Malaysia (TIM), then he must be careful who he gives his awards to (’Ex-KL Transparency Int’l head rejects Chee’s claim’, yesterday).
TIM’s website says that it depends on, among other things, transparency, accountability, democracy, and respect for human rights to ‘guide its work’.
Then it gives the award to Mr Lee Kuan Yew who has imprisoned opposition leaders without trial, closed down newspapers and amalgamated them under Singapore Press Holdings, introduced unfair election rules, and continues to disallow speaking in public areas and peaceful protests.
Mr Lee, when confronted with these facts, does not refute them. Rather, he skirts the issue and says that without him and his style of governance, Singapore would not have $300 billion in its reserves, that the court would not have modern facilities, and I would not be living in an HDB flat. The presumptuousness and disingenuousness aside, it is clear that Mr Lee doesn’t deny that he is no practitioner of democracy.
Reporters Without Borders ranks Singapore around 140th out of about 167 countries in world press freedom.
Washington-based Freedom House rates Singapore’s press as ‘not free’ and states in its annual report that ‘Singapore citizens cannot democratically change their government’.
When I broached this matter with Tunku Aziz in a conference in Sao Paulo, Brazil, he qualified that he didn’t give the award to Mr Lee for his human rights record. This contradicts what is stated in TIM’s website.
How Mr Lee can be given an award for transparency and accountability while ignoring his human- rights record, which includes crushing a free press, is incomprehensible. When I approached Dr Peter Eigen of the Berlin-based Transparency International (TI) at the same conference, he said: ‘We had nothing to do with that (referring to Mr Lee’s award). It was our Malaysia chapter that gave the award. We had nothing to do with it.’
When I pointed out that TI in Berlin had endorsed it, Dr Eigen replied: ‘Everyone knows that Lee is no democrat. Talk to Tunku Abdul Aziz about that. He leads the chapter in Malaysia. They are autonomous as far as setting their own agenda.’
The point I raised in court on this subject was that the process of vetting the nominee is not made clear. The TIM website, despite its name, does not make the award process transparent. How much Tunku Aziz admires Mr Lee is not quite the point.
The episode confirms my view that it is sad that Mr Lee will cite an award whose process is not transparent and carries little weight in the eyes of the international community.
Chee Soon Juan
Secretary-General
Singapore Democratic Party
...you give dishonorable people power, that's what you get, he uses his power to victimize others the way apes in the jungle victimise the weaker members of their group.... crafty is what low class people are, these type of people are most unworthy to lead the nation...
...anyway he should be at the intensive care ward looking at his own future rather than going to Moscow trying to teach others how to be foul...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
...anyway he should be at the intensive care ward looking at his own future rather than going to Moscow trying to teach others how to be foul...
Yah, this keeps me wondering.... Is nation more important than his wife? Since he's got some "capable" ministers under him, can't he just ask any of the "capable" ministers to take over him at Moscow?
Maybe on his mind, he's thinking.... "Since she's going to gone case liao... no point staying with her... face is more important and i need to hide from this saga for the moment.... anyway, i'm still alive and kicking...."
lol....
'insanity doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results" ~ Albert Einstein.
"One definition of insanity is to do the same thing, day-after-day, expecting different results" ~ Mark Sibler.
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results" ~ Benjamin Franklin.