Originally posted by jojobeach:Saying someone "prostituting" his/her morals VS saying someone is a "prostitute"...
IS A BIG DIFFERENCE , ok ?
And from the way the court case acted out. I would also think Belinda is "working for the Lees".
Let's face it, you really think Belinda has no fear for the Lees , at ALL ?
There's already an obvious conflict of interest in the whole setup already.
Unless the court is a 3rd/neutral party court , else there can be no fair judgement.
In this case, we can say that Nair is prostituting himself to the lees to make a point....
Good thing there are still people like him willing to stand up against the despots.... and exposing to the rest of the world what dishonorable people they are...
he has the courage to challenge justice which in singapore, is not clear.
you are the man!!
prostiuting is legal in singapore!
Go-lampa-palan Nair =still kena fine $$$
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Go-lampa-palan Nair =still kena fine $$$
did he pay up?
dono about that but once kena fine better pay up or else cannot visit Singapore anymore cuz i dont think they can just ban him from being a tourist over a small thing like this.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:dono about that but once kena fine better pay up or else cannot visit Singapore anymore cuz i dont think they can just ban him from being a tourist over a small thing like this.
can they do that?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:dono about that but once kena fine better pay up or else cannot visit Singapore anymore cuz i dont think they can just ban him from being a tourist over a small thing like this.
Yah lah.. that's why we call our gahmen Pay And Pay mah.
Want to speak out, have to pay lor.
Want to defame also pay lor.
If don't pay, fark off lor.
If they can let a dangerous terrorist escape....they can do just about anything outrageous!>hahaha
Scali they copy Israeli tactics!
http://www.democracynow.org/2008/5/29/israel_bars_one_of_its_most
Originally posted by whiskers:In this case, we can say that Nair is prostituting himself to the lees to make a point....
What talking you ?
Nair is prostituting himself
Why Nair prostitute himself?
Geylang already overcrowded.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Scali they copy Israeli tactics!
Israel Bars One of its Most Prominent Critics, Norman Finkelstein, for Ten Years
http://www.democracynow.org/2008/5/29/israel_bars_one_of_its_most
They kopi+extra sugar and cream which mean you better get used to Selamat Datang Malaysia if you want to meet your relatives from Singapore.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Its almost a sure case of being arrested when he declared the challenge and came to the pore and announced his address.
The puzzle to you smart aleks is , Why is he doing this?
Its like there is no reason he could get away with it. instead of perfect crime, its perfect pawn.
David vs Goliath.
source: http://aussgworldpolitics.wordpress.com/2008/06/01/did-goplan-nair-threaten-belinda-ang/
Did Goplan Nair threaten Belinda Ang?
Posted by Charles on June 1, 2008
According to Channel News Asia, the Singapore police has recently arrested a former Singaporean for sending ‘insulting statements to a public servant’ to the Attorney General and the Solicitor General. The allegedly offensive statement has also been posted on his blog (Channel News Asia, 2008).
A quick search online in Singapore Statutes throw up one possible offense that the police might prosecute him under - The Penal Code, Chapter 10 - Contempts of the Lawful Authority of Public Servants - Section 189, ‘Threat of injury to a public servant’ which states that:
Whoever holds out any threat of injury to any public servant, or to any person in whom he believes that public servant to be interested, for the purpose of inducing that public servant to do any act, or to forbear or delay to do any act, connected with the exercise of the public functions of such public servant, shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 2 years, or with fine, or with both (Singapore Statutes, n.d.).
In his latest post, ‘Singapore. Judge Belinda Ang’s Kangaroo Court’, Nair claims that the court has been misappropriated for political means (Nair 2008). However, any references to the judge, Belinda Ang, cannot be deemed as threatening to the public servant. For the purpose of a closer examination, we have reproduced any references to Belinda Ang which was found in his blog posting:
1. ‘your stooge of a judge, Belinda Ang’;
2. ‘The judge Belinda Ang was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings, by being nothing more than an employee of Mr. Lee Kuan Yew and his son and carrying out their orders’;
3. ‘right out of the pages of Alice in Wonderland with Belinda Ang playing the role of the Queen of Hearts before the trial of the Mouse who stole the Tarts very well indeed’;
4. numerous references to her as the ‘kangaroo judge’;
5. ‘and the judge obediently sustained the objection’;
6. ‘ Of course the judge permitted these insults, since after all Lee Kuan Yew and his son owned the courts and the judge as well’;
While it is true that in his posting, he accuses the court and the judge of political persecution, sometimes using language that might be deemed as offensive, there was no hint or openly declared threat to cause any injury to the public servant. This is a clear distinction that one should keep in mind.
While it is true that he had openly declared his address, name and laid down a challenge for the Senior Minister to serve him with a writ of summons, there are still no plausible grounds for the arrests.
Given that the Singapore law society has recently announced its intentions to lobby for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights to be incorporated into the law books, it should seek to represent Mr Nair if the police decides to press ahead with charges. There is no time to be lost given the authorities have said they will put him on trial by Monday.
The word stooge don't sound insulting leh, can interpret it as "any underling, assistant, or accomplice".
Prostituting can also mean, "a person who willingly uses his or her talent or ability in a base and unworthy way, usually for money".
Originally posted by maurizio13:
The word stooge don't sound insulting leh, can interpret it as "any underling, assistant, or accomplice".
Prostituting can also mean, "a person who willingly uses his or her talent or ability in a base and unworthy way, usually for money".
... this shows how proficient they are in English, & and how many microns their facial skin is...
... I suspect this may not turn well for the Lees...
... this fish is too bony to be easily swallowed...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Why Nair prostitute himself?
Geylang already overcrowded.
In his blog "The judge Belinda Ang was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings"
I do not agree that this is any insulting. Because apparently some people thought this is the equivalent of labelling someone a prostitute, it isnt.
Saying someone is prostituting himself does not mean i am threatening, abusing or insulting a person mah... If I meant to insult someone, I will say "she is a prostitute"
In this case I say Nair is prostituting himself because he is using himself as "sacrificial lamb" to the lees. The point I am driving is, do not see a bad word and assume it is bad, pls look at the context which it is used. Mr Nair is not calling belinda a prostitute.
I do not see any threats from Nair's blog.... A little satire yes... no threats at all..
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
source: http://aussgworldpolitics.wordpress.com/2008/06/01/did-goplan-nair-threaten-belinda-ang/
Did Goplan Nair threaten Belinda Ang?
Posted by Charles on June 1, 2008
According to Channel News Asia, the Singapore police has recently arrested a former Singaporean for sending ‘insulting statements to a public servant’ to the Attorney General and the Solicitor General. The allegedly offensive statement has also been posted on his blog (Channel News Asia, 2008).
A quick search online in Singapore Statutes throw up one possible offense that the police might prosecute him under - The Penal Code, Chapter 10 - Contempts of the Lawful Authority of Public Servants - Section 189, ‘Threat of injury to a public servant’ which states that:
Whoever holds out any threat of injury to any public servant, or to any person in whom he believes that public servant to be interested, for the purpose of inducing that public servant to do any act, or to forbear or delay to do any act, connected with the exercise of the public functions of such public servant, shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 2 years, or with fine, or with both (Singapore Statutes, n.d.).
In his latest post, ‘Singapore. Judge Belinda Ang’s Kangaroo Court’, Nair claims that the court has been misappropriated for political means (Nair 2008). However, any references to the judge, Belinda Ang, cannot be deemed as threatening to the public servant. For the purpose of a closer examination, we have reproduced any references to Belinda Ang which was found in his blog posting:
1. ‘your stooge of a judge, Belinda Ang’;
2. ‘The judge Belinda Ang was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings, by being nothing more than an employee of Mr. Lee Kuan Yew and his son and carrying out their orders’;
3. ‘right out of the pages of Alice in Wonderland with Belinda Ang playing the role of the Queen of Hearts before the trial of the Mouse who stole the Tarts very well indeed’;
4. numerous references to her as the ‘kangaroo judge’;
5. ‘and the judge obediently sustained the objection’;
6. ‘ Of course the judge permitted these insults, since after all Lee Kuan Yew and his son owned the courts and the judge as well’;While it is true that in his posting, he accuses the court and the judge of political persecution, sometimes using language that might be deemed as offensive, there was no hint or openly declared threat to cause any injury to the public servant. This is a clear distinction that one should keep in mind.
While it is true that he had openly declared his address, name and laid down a challenge for the Senior Minister to serve him with a writ of summons, there are still no plausible grounds for the arrests.
Given that the Singapore law society has recently announced its intentions to lobby for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights to be incorporated into the law books, it should seek to represent Mr Nair if the police decides to press ahead with charges. There is no time to be lost given the authorities have said they will put him on trial by Monday.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Saying someone "prostituting" his/her morals VS saying someone is a "prostitute"...
IS A BIG DIFFERENCE , ok ?
And from the way the court case acted out. I would also think Belinda is "working for the Lees".
Let's face it, you really think Belinda has no fear for the Lees , at ALL ?
There's already an obvious conflict of interest in the whole setup already.
Unless the court is a 3rd/neutral party court , else there can be no fair judgement.
Yeah and either way its still an insult and not speaking out. Still can't get that in your head ?
Goh Chok Tong should have appointed Tony Tan as his successor for we feel he is a better candidate than Lee Hsien Loong - Speaking out.
Goh Chok Tong is a LKY Dog and seat warmer for he appointed Lee Hsien Loong out of fear of LKY - Insult
Originally posted by whiskers:In his blog "The judge Belinda Ang was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings"
I do not agree that this is any insulting. Because apparently some people thought this is the equivalent of labelling someone a prostitute, it isnt.
Saying someone is prostituting himself does not mean i am threatening, abusing or insulting a person mah... If I meant to insult someone, I will say "she is a prostitute"
In this case I say Nair is prostituting himself because he is using himself as "sacrificial lamb" to the lees. The point I am driving is, do not see a bad word and assume it is bad, pls look at the context which it is used. Mr Nair is not calling belinda a prostitute.
I do not see any threats from Nair's blog.... A little satire yes... no threats at all..
... precisely.
... Only people who are INSECURE or who possesses LOW SELF ESTEEM would see Insult and Threat... one fine example would be the Juntas of Myanmar... who are outright paranoids...
Originally posted by whiskers:In his blog "The judge Belinda Ang was throughout prostituting herself during the entire proceedings"
not everyone has the ability to interpret correct the words used by Gopalan Nair.
I admire him for his guts. At least, we know he means what he said and not a hypocrite. What he said of PAP are facts which many in Singapore are too timid to voice out. We should be thankful to him for he takes risk to voice out rather than to look at him negatively.