Explanation of the politics in Singapore.
Video Part 1:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Tafv4ft4bQM&feature=related
Francis Seow (former Solicitor General of the Singapore Judiciary, former President of the Law Society of Singapore, currently a Professor at Harvard Law in the USA), gives his account of LKY and his poodles.
Video Part 2:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=2xqYINCiD5c&feature=related
What does freedom of speech, freedom of press and freedom of assembly means to you?
Video Part 3:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=NXTV-iqR-_0&feature=related
Video Part 4:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=MqSxcMRWy2k&feature=related
Interviews with various people of society.
Video Part 5:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZvsUFO38GkM&feature=related
Originally posted by maurizio13:
What does freedom of speech, freedom of press and freedom of assembly means to you?
http://youtube.com/watch?v=NXTV-iqR-_0&feature=related
Untie me, remove the gag from my mouth and give me a pen and writing paper then I wil tell you.Hahahaha
Screening being interrupted by the censor board. The Indian lady from the censor board even laughed with the mention of the world "Justice".
Our wedding videos would have to be submitted to censor board before being screened during wedding banquets. ![]()
Screening Part 1:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=6by3jJwoTrQ&feature=related
The police arrive almost instantly.
I think all stand by behind the pillar. The whole group of them really embarassed the MDA folks.
All clapping hands and cheering. I think if I was the MDA, I would feel embarassed too.
Screening Part 2:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=e6V7M6nXxKk&feature=related
Having observed and analysed the many political or pore people-related issues and the outcomes, I have learnt what the pore is. The core of the system.
Is it not clear?
Tell me a person still cannot see this aspect?
Unker-F 4 for 3.
Abang toilet break 4 coming.
Mdm Wong completely untouched.
Kang-eh-aroo in the tennis court.
Dragon under the sea completely untouched.
Total transparency is what i call it - I can see it clearly now the rain is gone.
I can see the pore totally as clearly as a piece of transparency.
poreans are really smart. so smart I can cry....tears of joy. they have a future.
u no belif me? ;)
Screening being interrupted by the censor board. The Indian lady from the censor board even laughed with the mention of the world "Justice".
Our wedding videos would have to be submitted to censor board before being screened during wedding banquets.
Part 1:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=6by3jJwoTrQ&feature=related
The police arrive almost instantly.
I think all stand by behind the pillar. The whole group of them really embarassed the MDA folks.
All clapping hands and cheering. I think if I was the MDA, I would feel embarassed too.
Part 2:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=e6V7M6nXxKk&feature=related
i am totally impressed by the umpai's bombastic vocabulary.
M13, beware of the attacks of the clones. aka our notorious Gazelle.
Seems somebody ever posted this here before. Saw these and it is so true, speaks of facts that nobody can deny. It is sad to have a ruler like that in Singapore. People must be united and be bold to get them out then we will see changes.
Hi Maurizio13
It looks like someone pulled the plug on the second YouTube video.
Looks like the dark hand has been able to jam that tube, as my PC could not log back into this thread after that, and I had to reboot to get back into SgFourms.
Originally posted by Atobe:Hi Maurizio13
It looks like someone pulled the plug on the second YouTube video.
Looks like the dark hand has been able to jam that tube, as my PC could not log back into this thread after that, and I had to reboot to get back into SgFourms.
u think too much la haha.. i can watch la lol..
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Seems somebody ever posted this here before. Saw these and it is so true, speaks of facts that nobody can deny. It is sad to have a ruler like that in Singapore. People must be united and be bold to get them out then we will see changes.
Like what Francis Seow said "that's sad for Singapore", that we have to have an authoritarian like him to dictate everything, even all the Ministers being paid millions are not worth anything. All lack brains and testicular function. Does the intelligence of one surpass the intelligence of many? 三个è‡çš®åŒ 胜过一个诸葛亮
When I was young I read about he Marxist plot, but it seems like there is more than meets the eye; because we are so often affected by what we read in the newspapers, we often succumb to it's propaganda perpetuated by the ruling regime.
A person with lose morals with integrity lacking will often relent to the vagaries of power once acquired.
Like what Francis Seow said "that's sad for Singapore", that we have to have an authoritarian like him to dictate everything, even all the Ministers being paid millions are not worth anything. All lack brains and testicular function. Does the intelligence of one surpass the intelligence of many? 三个è‡çš®åŒ 胜过一个诸葛亮When I was young I read about he Marxist plot, but it seems like there is more than meets the eye; because we are so often affected by what we read in the newspapers, we often succumb to it's propaganda perpetuated by the ruling regime.
A person with lose morals with integrity lacking will often relent to the vagaries of power once acquired.
It is unfortunate for people of singapore to have such a ruler. Zhen shi guo men de bu xing. Lee ky never thinks he is ever in the wrong. All in pap are under control, anyone who truly cares to serve the nation will not want to join PAP.
Like what Francis Seow said "that's sad for Singapore", that we have to have an authoritarian like him to dictate everything, even all the Ministers being paid millions are not worth anything. All lack brains and testicular function. Does the intelligence of one surpass the intelligence of many? 三个è‡çš®åŒ 胜过一个诸葛亮When I was young I read about he Marxist plot, but it seems like there is more than meets the eye; because we are so often affected by what we read in the newspapers, we often succumb to it's propaganda perpetuated by the ruling regime.
One more point to add. He sounds more like a street bully than a politician who cares for his people in the country he rules.
...: Like what Francis Seow said "that's sad for Singapore", that we have to have an authoritarian like him to dictate...power once acquired. It is unfortunate for people of singapore to have such a ruler. Zhen shi guo...
Please, we can never know what singapore will be like if the PAP never gain any power...singapore can be in a worse state for all we know.
And even if people considered the PAP to be too authoritarian, even liberal westerners are not denying the fact that several of the PAP policies is a intelligent one...a 'dictatorship' that understand what needs to be done for the country.
Also, even the liberal minded french have a authoritarian leader who shaped the modern day france.
Charles de Gaulle, known as the 'just king' by many members of the french public, and is very well loved.
Being authoritarian itself isn't a bad thing, it is being authoritarian when you don't NEED to be authorian that is considered a bad thing.
After all, the direct opposite of authoritarian in Anarchism.
And by the way, the state of singapore's democractic culture is a very bad one. Almost all of the voters don't even fully understand why are they voting for a party other than I don't like the other one.
You got opposition supporters who support the opposition just because they think that anything bad = PAP, and don't even understand about the policy of the party they are voting for. Also, none of the supporters bother to think about how will a government under the opposition party be like...
Then you got the PAP supporters who thinks that everything good= PAP, who don't bother to understand if the PAP can do a much better job.
Singapore's democractic culture is sucks on both sides of the camp.
Originally posted by ray245:Please, we can never know what singapore will be like if the PAP never gain any power...singapore can be in a worse state for all we know.
And even if people considered the PAP to be too authoritarian, even liberal westerners are not denying the fact that several of the PAP policies is a intelligent one...a 'dictatorship' that understand what needs to be done for the country.
Also, even the liberal minded french have a authoritarian leader who shaped the modern day france.
Charles de Gaulle, known as the 'just king' by many members of the french public, and is very well loved.
Being authoritarian itself isn't a bad thing, it is being authoritarian when you don't NEED to be authorian that is considered a bad thing.
After all, the direct opposite of authoritarian in Anarchism.
And by the way, the state of singapore's democractic culture is a very bad one. Almost all of the voters don't even fully understand why are they voting for a party other than I don't like the other one.
You got opposition supporters who support the opposition just because they think that anything bad = PAP, and don't even understand about the policy of the party they are voting for. Also, none of the supporters bother to think about how will a government under the opposition party be like...
Then you got the PAP supporters who thinks that everything good= PAP, who don't bother to understand if the PAP can do a much better job.
Singapore's democractic culture is sucks on both sides of the camp.
I think the majority of Singaporean don't really want a sudden change of gov, but the gradual increase of oppoistion in the parliment. This is important as a single voice in parliment is not a good thing since policy are passed without full debate on both side.
However, what PAP is doing now is suppressing the opposition, several opposition members have been sued time and time again to bankruptcy. Many potential candiate will most probably think twice in joining the opposition.
Originally posted by 333225520:I think the majority of Singaporean don't really want a sudden change of gov, but the gradual increase of oppoistion in the parliment. This is important as a single voice in parliment is not a good thing since policy are passed without full debate on both side.
However, what PAP is doing now is suppressing the opposition, several opposition members have been sued time and time again to bankruptcy. Many potential candiate will most probably think twice in joining the opposition.
You tell me, which government in the world don't suppress their oppositions??? And if that govern dun do it, i think most probably they will be gone in no time.
Put yourself in the position as leader of PAP, are you going to tell the opposition to join in debate, share idealogies, free to speak your mind seminars and allow them to speak to public bad about you????...
I am not saying that PAP is good or the best, but they are good in stopping opposition, and that is what politics is all about, you cannot blame them. If let say worker party wins and govern singapore, do you think they are going to allow PAP (became opposition) freedom of speech on bad stuff about them??
Originally posted by 333225520:I think the majority of Singaporean don't really want a sudden change of gov, but the gradual increase of oppoistion in the parliment. This is important as a single voice in parliment is not a good thing since policy are passed without full debate on both side.
There is a down side to having a major opposition as well...we must be careful NOT to follow certain countries like the US and taiwan, where the debate becomes a me vs you debate.
Times when a ruling or oppostion oppose each other just because you do not belong to my faction, instead of doing what is best for the country.
Why do you think that the US have such a hard time implementing policy dealing with global warming? Because the conservative parts of the country refuse to listen to global warming being a reality simply because the liberals told everyone that there is a thing called global warming.
Originally posted by angel7030:
You tell me, which government in the world don't suppress their oppositions??? And if that govern dun do it, i think most probably they will be gone in no time.
Put yourself in the position as leader of PAP, are you going to tell the opposition to join in debate, share idealogies, free to speak your mind seminars and allow them to speak to public bad about you????...
I am not saying that PAP is good or the best, but they are good in stopping opposition, and that is what politics is all about, you cannot blame them. If let say worker party wins and govern singapore, do you think they are going to allow PAP (became opposition) freedom of speech on bad stuff about them??
In fact, most countries in the first world don't. I don't think there's any leader in the first world countries going round suing anyone opposing them to bandruptcy or keep changing the law to suppress the opposition.
So you mean as a leader of PAP, it is best to shut out the opposition voice? Then why bother to have GE? And what the parliment for? For wayang? The PAP can just decide everything and then announce to public. No need MP, no need GE, just need MIW. Will be saving money also.
With a stronger opposition in parliamnet, at least we will be seeing less of "it's an honest mistake, let's move on" or "we need to increase our ministers' pay to prevent corruption". ![]()
Originally posted by ray245:
There is a down side to having a major opposition as well...we must be careful NOT to follow certain countries like the US and taiwan, where the debate becomes a me vs you debate.
Times when a ruling or oppostion oppose each other just because you do not belong to my faction, instead of doing what is best for the country.
Why do you think that the US have such a hard time implementing policy dealing with global warming? Because the conservative parts of the country refuse to listen to global warming being a reality simply because the liberals told everyone that there is a thing called global warming.
Similarly, when the ruling party get too strong, it become cocky as what the PAP is doing now and start distancing themselve from the common people, living in their ivory tower. ![]()
Originally posted by 333225520:Similarly, when the ruling party get too strong, it become cocky as what the PAP is doing now and start distancing themselve from the common people, living in their ivory tower.
Should we or should we not wait for a time when singapore can produce an opposition party capable of out-manauvering the PAP by their sheer ability and talent to do so, or should we throw the opposition into power without thinking if they can run the country better than the PAP?
After all, throwing in a party that may not run the country well may ensure that any future hope for a opposition will be extinguished. It could be possible for the people to be so pissed with a new party terrible running of the country, that it destroy any trust the people have in the opposition.
Should we think in the long term, or the short term?
Originally posted by ray245:
Should we or should we not wait for a time when singapore can produce an opposition party capable of out-manauvering the PAP by their sheer ability and talent to do so, or should we throw the opposition into power without thinking if they can run the country better than the PAP?
After all, throwing in a party that may not run the country well may ensure that any future hope for a opposition will be extinguished. It could be possible for the people to be so pissed with a new party terrible running of the country, that it destroy any trust the people have in the opposition.
Should we think in the long term, or the short term?
I never said that the opposition should take over but there should be more opposition MPs to represent us instead (pls scroll up and read my post again).
The current situation is where the PAP MPs are putting up a big wayang show during every parliamental debate.
Sorry to jump in like this...
I just like to ask, what would be the effect if
many more do what GN do?
and many politicolly inclined migrate to USA and become citizen of the greatest nation in the world that is the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and debate as an american citizen for their supporters here?
just hypothetical onlys.
can they come back later say after n years when thing have changed entirely to get citizenship? Is anything still possible?
i no no leh.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Sorry to jump in like this...
I just like to ask, what would be the effect if
many more do what GN do?
and many politicolly inclined migrate to USA and become citizen of the greatest nation in the world that is the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and debate as an american citizen for their supporters here?
just hypothetical onlys.
can they come back later say after n years when thing have changed entirely to get citizenship? Is anything still possible?
i no no leh.
Would love to see more of Gopalan Nair in action.
Originally posted by angel7030:
but there is rules for the political game,in west politics is competition to win the election.Just like debate,u cannot stop the against party to speak,if so ,the game is not fair.