... I believe it would turned out that the motorist, SHOULD have kept a proper look out for pedestrians if it was just an ordinary public member who hit Wrixen...
================================
Top Iras official not to blame for fatal crash
Lee Seng Giap
Wed, Jun 04, 2008
The Straits Times
A TOP civil servant whose car hit a Victoria School student along Marine Parade Road in October last year was yesterday cleared of criminal negligence in the fatal accident.
State Coroner Victor Yeo came round to this view following testimony by several witnesses at the inquiry into the death of Secondary 4 student Wrixon Chew Teck Cheng, 16, who died six days after the accident.
The driver of the car was Ms Chin Li Fen, 48, an Assistant Commissioner of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (Iras). Named as a potential defendant at the inquiry, she elected to remain silent.
One witness, airline pilot Lars Anders Schoden, 42, said the lights for pedestrians to cross were clearly red at the time of impact.
The court heard that after a graduation ceremony at school that day, Wrixon and two schoolmates headed for a tuition class. But as they were about to board a bus, he received a call to return to school to pick up a pen.
His schoolmate Arthur Lim Wei Quan, 16, walked back to school with him. As they were on the pedestrian crossing, the green man signal started flashing, said Arthur, who was a little ahead of his friend.
As they stood on the divider, however, Wrixon showed him a paper plate on which had been written well wishes by his schoolmates, and decided to pass it back to their friend at the bus stop.
He was hit by Ms Chin's car as he ran diagonally across the road.
Coroner Yeo, returning an open verdict, said evidence suggested that Wrixon could have failed to keep a proper lookout for oncoming vehicles.
ELENA CHONG
tsk tsk.. even in driving theory you learn ALWAYS to look out for pedestrians.. wtf..
... perks of being a Top Civil Servant appears to be many...
this kind of perks u want ah..? die already go another world that time all the debts all come back one.. if no another world, karma in this world will come back one..
but some pedestrians can really bo hiew one leh
moral of the story: want to kill someone in singapore, use a car.
Originally posted by eagle:but some pedestrians can really bo hiew one leh
... if I've not mistaken, being a motorist here in SG, you are responsible to keep a Proper Look Out for Pedestrians... especially when near crossings, junctions, schools, estates..
... even when the pedestrian is in the wrong, if you hit him/her, you failed to look out for pedestrians...
Originally posted by freedom4ever:moral of the story: want to kill someone in singapore, use a car.
... no be a Civil Servant...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... if I've not mistaken, being a motorist here in SG, you are responsible to keep a Proper Look Out for Pedestrians... especially when near crossings, junctions, schools, estates..
... even when the pedestrian is in the wrong, if you hit him/her, you failed to look out for pedestrians...
well, if the pedestrian suddenly run across the road and you cannot brake in time, having no warning before that?
it's like... you dun charge the MRT driver for someone jumping down the tracks suddenly.
it all depends on the witnesses' statements :(
Originally posted by eagle:well, if the pedestrian suddenly run across the road and you cannot brake in time, having no warning before that?
it's like... you dun charge the MRT driver for someone jumping down the tracks suddenly.
... I think MRT Trains are altogether a different thing - it takes considerable distance for a train to stop...
... so there's really no excuse for cars... but chances of getting off lightly or scotfree is slim if you're just an ordinary Joe or Jane...
Originally posted by eagle:but some pedestrians can really bo hiew one leh
some? i think at 95% of the pedestrians don't bother to check clear before crossing minor roads, entrance and exit of car parks. and the parents of children don't even teach them to check.
i don't remember experiencing that when i was young. all my elders never failed to ask me to watch out for vehicles while crossing.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:moral of the story: want to kill someone in singapore, use a car.
No lah, you need to be a top civil servant first.
and it was at a traffic light junction.. with the green light on.. im 100% sure there's something called "anticipating the traffic light".. when approaching the green light, u are supposed to reduce speed in case it turns yellow.. during TP if u fail to do this its 8pts straight..
and as the article wrote, the boys were standing at the divider, not like behind some cars or vans and blocked from the driver's view and rushing out all of a sudden.. in this case the driver cannot say she failed to see them, and hence were unable to anticipate their actions..
Originally posted by red_amoeba:even if i agree that she (the driver) shld not be 100% responsible for the accident, she is at least 50% as being a driver, she should exercise care and concern whilst operating the vehicle.
How can she escaped without any faults? Its unbelievable. What speed is she driving at ? is it with speed limit? A child can run how fast? You mean she cannot see and take action? Then what is she doing when she drive? Eyes look at what?
Sure, she escape the crutch of laws but I hope she has sweet dreams every night when she goes to bed…
that's why I always say... The one who suffers most when someone commits suicide on the MRT tracks is the MRT driver :(
i believe that civil servant was speeding, any vehicle reaching a pedestrian crossing, especially near school, should slow down and put their foot on the brake pedal.
When you slow down, the reaction to evade and brake will be faster, even if you knock down a kid of that age, most likely he/she may get an injury, but to die mean that the impact is strong, therefore she had failed to slow down and also fail to emergency brake.
In the court of Angels, she is found partially guilty thereby sentencing her to 10 years ban on all vehicle including bicycle and a month jail to repent herself.
the poor man will be like so guo yu bu qu even though its not his fault.. knowing u killed someone, even though he wanted to die la, but still...
Originally posted by eagle:well, if the pedestrian suddenly run across the road and you cannot brake in time, having no warning before that?
About safe speed - choosing a speed that allows a car driver to stop safely within the distance that he knows to be clear.
Ms Chin was not driving at a safe speed. Otherwise, the student would have had escaped unscathed or suffered only minor injuries, at worst.
would the kid's parents use a car to bang that civil servant dead?
Originally posted by 333225520:
No lah, you need to be a top civil servant first.
This is a very sensitive issue...
Originally posted by googoomuck:About safe speed - choosing a speed that allows a car driver to stop safely within the distance that he knows to be clear.
Ms Chin was not driving at a safe speed. Otherwise, the student would have had escaped unscathed or suffered only minor injuries, at worst.
What would you suggest to be a safe speed? Even car accidents (between cars) can happen at less than 40km/h, and I have pictures to show how badly damaged a car could be at that speed. Thus, what else can we expect of a car hitting a human at that speed?
Anyway the article is still too vague for us to give any summary judgement. Any one of us can easily give reasons why she is in the wrong, but any one of us could also easily give reasons why it could be unavoidable. Either way, all are merely speculations.
But no matter what, she will still have to bear the burden of having killed a fellow human being for the rest of her life.
Ms Chin was cleared of criminal negligence because Wrixon could have failed to keep a proper lookout for oncoming vehicles.
There are countless people jaywalking everyday, does this mean I can drive a car and start knocking them down cause they "failed to keep a proper lookput for oncoming vehicles" too?
The TS may only find answers when he can access the record books about cases.
If there is same kind of situation case, and the result different then that is the answer.
If not, that is also the answer.
Only records can tell.
There should be sufficient examples to compare, i guess.
When his friend was crossing the road, the green man signal was flashing but the pilot said that it was clearly red at the time of impact.
The traffic light would have been red and had just turned green. Here was a car that hit the student and flung him 10 m away as reported in ST, 24 April 2008. The evidence suggested that she was anticipating that the light would have turned green by the time her car reached the traffic junction and so did not slow down. Was she not driving at unsafe speed?
Anyway it's a kangaroo court. Don't expect much fairness. The headline says Top Iras official not to blame for fatal
crash . Top Iras official, get it?
i tot usually is 人比车大 leh.
now 车比人大?