her citizens by taking million dollars salaries causing more hardship
through high cost of living! It is like living for themselves and their
interests only. Even private sectors though taking top dollars, at
least, know how to give back to society and 'rise and sink' with their
employees. Sorry but not some gahmen. If you are sinking, they make
sure you sink deeper! Ever heard any minister say they will decline
their million dollar salaries in recognition of the crisis and its
effect on their citizens? Never!
WASHINGTON: US carrier Continental Airlines said Thursday it will cut 3,000 jobs and 67 less fuel-efficient planes from its fleet and reduce services to cope with soaring energy costs. "The airline industry is in a crisis. Its business model does not work with the current price of fuel and the existing level of capacity in the marketplace. We need to make changes in response," the company said in a letter to its more than 45,000 workers from chairman and chief executive Larry Kellner and president Jeff Smisek. "We will need to reduce our capacity to match the reduced demand ... Although these changes will be painful, we must adapt to the reality of today's market to successfully navigate these difficult times," the letter added. Continental said the industry was facing the "worst crisis" since the September 11, 2001 terror attacks that caused a severe slump in air travel. Kellner and Smisek will decline their salaries for the rest of the year and any payment under the annual incentive program for 2008, "in recognition of the crisis and its effect on their co-workers." |
Kellner and Smisek remind us of Iaccoca who gave up his
own million-dollar salaries during the crisis of recession and with that
leadership he turned around Chrysler years ago.
Do we have such qualities among our leaders. So far we only see "yes men" who only care about their own career preferring not to get into problems to preserve their own position or trying to curry favor to advance their own interest with the power that be as seen by lack of responses from all MPs when I last wrote to them about wrongful government policies like HDB over-charging and calling it subsidy.
Our leaders only push all blames in any failures of government policies like NFK, Mas Selamat and rising costs or recessions to others and people using hypocrisy and media to persist in their wrongs hoping to get away from all their errors and lack of qualities,
We have!!!
But it's just not in the P4P camp!!!
A consequence of adverse selection.
if you are in the ruling party securing million dollar pay checks annually..would u give it up too? humans are selfish especially in an enviroment so controlled that everyone is for themselves. the gabrament should deduct at least 20% of ministers pay and feed that amount back to the society in forms of housing, lowered taxes etc..but not, they have an increase of at least 20% and rise every other cost and name it higher standard of living. what good will higher standard of living do when citizens cannot afford it?
REFORMASI
REFORMASI
REFORMASI
Gone are the days where service to the nation does not depend on have a million dollar pay check.
Increase GST and always having surpluses every year taken from poor people.
REFORMASI
REFORMASI
REFORMASI
Remember what to do for the next GE.
This is called MERITOCRACY...you think you good, stand for election lah.Simple message they portray.Too bad...we farmer...so lanlan suck thumb...time to get back to farming
where are gazelle and clones?
Hey, how can you compare ministers with private sector CEOs?
You know private sector CEOs only care about money, money and money right?
Oh wait.
My bad.![]()
Honestly, is there anyone here in SG who can do a better job in running the nation?
Old Lee made it an uphill task for all who wishes to challenge or oppose, but only the strongest and fittest opposition party can have the power and ability to move and conquer the current Everest.
So far, strongest candidate is LTK, but not enough strenght or weight for any sheer victory.
WP must contest and win a GRC in the next GE then PAP will not keep their Poor Also Pay policies.