Originally posted by O o O:Time Start Thinking Investing Stock for Long Term
by andrewPKyap (31 Jan 2008)
A bit of history lesson....
July 2007
BTW you people know that the market crashed today? [page: 1, 2, 3,... 25, 26, 27]
November 2007
Looks like its getting really serious.... [page: 1, 2, 3,... 42, 43, 44]
Jan 2008
It no longer just Looks like its getting really serious..... [page: 1, 2, 3,... 13, 14, 15]
31st Jan
Time start thinking of investing...
Don't be an idiot...
As each week goes by, the despots' policies of greed and heavy taxes looks like making the lives of silliporeans much more worse than it is now....
...and the traitorous dogs are still singing their praises even with billion dollars losses supporting foreigners...
Time Start Thinking Investing Stock for Long Term
thanks for bumping up my thread with your new nick after your panty sniffing nick was banned... hahaha... nice work coolie....
http://ftalphaville.ft.com/blog/2008/07/28/14760/singapores-australand-shocker-down-under/
It's unusual - but for some struggling investors somehow comforting - to see that occasionally, the Singaporeans make bum investment decisions and end up losing (a lot) of money.
Following earlier news that Australand Property Group, the Australian unit of Singapore's CapitaLand, will seek as much as A$557m ($532m) from shareholders after first-half profit dropped 79 per cent amid plunging property values, it seems timely to examine the forays by various Singaporean entities into ventures Down Under.
While business media in Australia focused on the shock profit warning by ANZ bank, the bigger shock, according to Australian commentator Stephen Mayne, was Australand's announcement of an emergency A$557m capital raising.
As Mayne noted in his daily blog The Mayne Report, Australand began the day with a market cap of A$905m and claimed net tangible assets of A$1.66 per share, despite the stock having tumbled from a December 2007 peak of A$2.60 to Friday's close of just 98c.
Lo and behold, says Mayne, "today we get a one for one rights issue priced at just 60c, with Sing Inc only promising to step in for their share of $302m whilst the remaining $255m could fail if the stock tanks when trading resumes".
If Singapore Inc wasn't standing behind Australand, you have to wonder if the company would have even survived because for shock value today's announcement is very similar to the surprising $500m capital raising that then-MFS chief executive Michael King unveiled on Friday, January 18, 2008, before he resigned the following Monday.
Australand's chairman made the following statement at the April 17 AGM: "Our balance sheet and the facilities we have in place are well supported by quality assets and strong operating cash flows from the business."
The company's chief executive Bob Johnston also gave no hint of the coming drama, reassuring shareholders that gearing was only 40.4 per cent, net profit came in at A$269m in 2007 and distributions were a most impressive 17c a share.
The collapsing listed property trust sector has turned up some extraordinary developments but, as Mayne notes, "if even the Singapore government's vehicle is in trouble with total debts of A$1.5bn, things must be really crook".
And, when you sit down to tabulate the - er, less lucrative - among Singapore Inc's Aussie experiences of late - "terrible" is Mayne's word. Singapore Power laid out A$8.14bn in cash for the Alinta east coast assets last August and then failed to flip it into SP Ausnet. This has left Singapore Power lumbered with A$17bn in debt and the same power assets are today probably worth about A$6bn.
Singapore Inc's Temasek meanwhile ploughed A$400m into ABC Learning at $7.30 a share 12 months ago and has watched almost 90 per cent of that evaporate.
Similarly, the decision to take a one third interest in the Myer Melbourne property play at a valuation of A$600m now looks ridiculous, as does the $717.5m purchase of a half share in Westfield Parramatta in April 2007 on a skinny yield of about 5 per cent.
On top of the recently not-so-profitable Singaporean investments in western banks, the shine is beginning to look distinctly duller on Singapore's famed investment acumen.
This entry was posted by Gwen Robinson on Monday, July 28th, 2008 at 11:25 and is filed under Capital markets. Tagged with Australand, CapitaLand. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
thanks for bumping up my thread with your new nick after your panty sniffing nick was banned... hahaha... nice work coolie....
He's a pathetic lifeform la. Create clone accounts to troll around one after another.
His other nicks are Love Supreme, TCH05, Pekei, Chinkara, Guttorosa, Mammalia, Aelop, Point_Blank, DeerHunter, 4 different versions of LIES, few childish versions insulting the moderators
Not sure if this pathetic lifeform has any other unknown clones banned though.
Originally posted by Leeky:
http://ftalphaville.ft.com/blog/2008/07/28/14760/singapores-australand-shocker-down-under/It's unusual - but for some struggling investors somehow comforting - to see that occasionally, the Singaporeans make bum investment decisions and end up losing (a lot) of money.
Following earlier news that Australand Property Group, the Australian unit of Singapore's CapitaLand, will seek as much as A$557m ($532m) from shareholders after first-half profit dropped 79 per cent amid plunging property values, it seems timely to examine the forays by various Singaporean entities into ventures Down Under.
While business media in Australia focused on the shock profit warning by ANZ bank, the bigger shock, according to Australian commentator Stephen Mayne, was Australand's announcement of an emergency A$557m capital raising.
As Mayne noted in his daily blog The Mayne Report, Australand began the day with a market cap of A$905m and claimed net tangible assets of A$1.66 per share, despite the stock having tumbled from a December 2007 peak of A$2.60 to Friday's close of just 98c.
Lo and behold, says Mayne, "today we get a one for one rights issue priced at just 60c, with Sing Inc only promising to step in for their share of $302m whilst the remaining $255m could fail if the stock tanks when trading resumes".
If Singapore Inc wasn't standing behind Australand, you have to wonder if the company would have even survived because for shock value today's announcement is very similar to the surprising $500m capital raising that then-MFS chief executive Michael King unveiled on Friday, January 18, 2008, before he resigned the following Monday.
Australand's chairman made the following statement at the April 17 AGM: "Our balance sheet and the facilities we have in place are well supported by quality assets and strong operating cash flows from the business."
The company's chief executive Bob Johnston also gave no hint of the coming drama, reassuring shareholders that gearing was only 40.4 per cent, net profit came in at A$269m in 2007 and distributions were a most impressive 17c a share.
The collapsing listed property trust sector has turned up some extraordinary developments but, as Mayne notes, "if even the Singapore government's vehicle is in trouble with total debts of A$1.5bn, things must be really crook".
And, when you sit down to tabulate the - er, less lucrative - among Singapore Inc's Aussie experiences of late - "terrible" is Mayne's word. Singapore Power laid out A$8.14bn in cash for the Alinta east coast assets last August and then failed to flip it into SP Ausnet. This has left Singapore Power lumbered with A$17bn in debt and the same power assets are today probably worth about A$6bn.
Singapore Inc's Temasek meanwhile ploughed A$400m into ABC Learning at $7.30 a share 12 months ago and has watched almost 90 per cent of that evaporate.
Similarly, the decision to take a one third interest in the Myer Melbourne property play at a valuation of A$600m now looks ridiculous, as does the $717.5m purchase of a half share in Westfield Parramatta in April 2007 on a skinny yield of about 5 per cent.
On top of the recently not-so-profitable Singaporean investments in western banks, the shine is beginning to look distinctly duller on Singapore's famed investment acumen.
This entry was posted by Gwen Robinson on Monday, July 28th, 2008 at 11:25 and is filed under Capital markets. Tagged with Australand, CapitaLand. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your
Hi,Better run and let go all yr shares in the above-mentioned companies
You see lah .. you see lah..
You go and put someone with the tendency to take risk as chair person lah !!!
She think it's the great singapore sales issit ?
Now lau gui kor !!!!
My son LKY always say as long as we lost some but gain more,it is ok!!!
How to gain more? More ERPs,GST,Misc household bills like June PUB bills, we will be ok lah,sucking the locals to pay the FTs,mah.
understand!!!
LADIES AND GENTLEMEN....THE INCREDIBLE MR ANDREW PK YAP !!!!
He gonna stun us all with his genius in investment and predicts the fall of the world economy.
ALL HAILS TO HIM OR ELSE IT IS TOO LATE......
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:LADIES AND GENTLEMEN....THE INCREDIBLE MR ANDREW PK YAP !!!!
He gonna stun us all with his genius in investment and predicts the fall of the world economy.
ALL HAILS TO HIM OR ELSE IT IS TOO LATE......
Yawn... let the facts speak for themself....
UPDATE 1-Singapore's Temasek invests another $900 mln in Merrill
Reuters - 4 hours ago
SINGAPORE, July 29 (Reuters) - Singapore state investor Temasek Holdings [TEM.UL] has pumped in an additional $900 million in Merrill Lynch (MER. ...
...and going forward, prevent the despots from destroying singapore by being apathetic... support Dr Chee Soon Juan for democratic checks and balances before it is too late.
so, when do you think we can see you among the line-up standing behind Dr Chee??? don't just talk - do!
...but I think it can be expected of you - all talk no action, just like that phantom book of yours.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
so, when do you think we can see you among the line-up standing behind Dr Chee??? don't just talk - do!...but I think it can be expected of you - all talk no action, just like that phantom book of yours.
Haha...soon he may have to write his book in prison.....
Thanks for bumping up my thread but don't be an idiot and keep on referring to an old thread that was superseeded by the current one....
but up to you, if you prefer to be an idiot, as long as you keep on bumping up my threads...
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:Haha...soon he may have to write his book in prison.....
haha traitorous as-sniffing dog of the despots...
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
so, when do you think we can see you among the line-up standing behind Dr Chee??? don't just talk - do!...but I think it can be expected of you - all talk no action, just like that phantom book of yours.
.....Dr Chee can have all the glory of being Singapore's martyr and expose the dishonorable despots and their as-sniffing delusional dogs like yourself... hahaha...
...how is it that I have a coolie that keeps bumping up my thread and a delusional dog that keeps on promoting my book even before it comes out...
...sigh... I am so blessed by the delusional's god thingy (or son thingy).... hahaha....
SINGAPORE, July 29 (Reuters) - Singapore state investor Temasek Holdings [TEM.UL] has pumped in an additional $900 million in Merrill Lynch
That's really bizzare ... what are these bozos at the top think they're doing?
The bleeding has to stop!
.....Dr Chee can have all the glory of being Singapore's martyr and expose the dishonorable despots and their as-sniffing delusional dogs like yourself... hahaha..
.... which basically means that inspite of all your rhetorics, you don't have the balls to stand shoulder to shoulder with the great Dr Chee?
.... still all talk and no action, still giving excuses.....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:...how is it that I have a coolie that keeps bumping up my thread and a delusional dog that keeps on promoting my book even before it comes out...
...sigh... I am so blessed by the delusional's god thingy (or son thingy).... hahaha....
.... and I will continue to promote your book as and when I see fit.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:.... which basically means that inspite of all your rhetorics, you don't have the balls to stand shoulder to shoulder with the great Dr Chee?
.... still all talk and no action, still giving excuses.....
.... and I will continue to promote your book as and when I see fit.
Come on...how can you insult the one and only Genius in the world!!!! Later he dun tell u the latest speculation how??? U no money to make u know???
Hee hee
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:Come on...how can you insult the one and only Genius in the world!!!! Later he dun tell u the latest speculation how??? U no money to make u know???
Hee hee
wrong again.... the one and only genius in the world, according to Mr Yap is Dr Chee. Mr Yap do not have the balls to stand and be counted among Dr Chee's supporter inspite of all that he has said about Dr Chee.\
either no balls, or even Dr Chee don't want him.
Will Nikkei break 13000???!!!
Nikkei 225 13,080.93 - 295.88 *11:00
ST Index
2,879.55 -26.52
* Last Updated : Monday, August 04, 2008 9:05:57 AM
The dishonorable despots pushed property and other prices up so much (and pushed up their own salaries so they do not suffer the effects) the apathetic silliporeans and as- sniffing dogs will suffer. Serves the silliporeans right for not standing up to the despots when the they persecute Dr Chee Soon Juan et al.
Spirit of Singapore, kiasuism, and now the kiasu spirit will come back to haunt them.
by andrewPKyap (31st JANUARY 2008)