Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, trying to assuage public anger over a steep hike in fuel prices, said on Monday government ministers would take a 10 percent cut in allowances.
Abdullah also said that ministers' overseas holidays would be reduced and mega projects delayed to save costs.
Together the measures will result in a saving of 2 billion ringgit, ($613 million), he told reporters after a meeting on ways to cushion the impact of high fuel prices.
"The government also feels the people's pain and the top leadership should lead by example in facing this challenge. As such, the entertainment allowance for the prime minister, deputy prime minister and ministers and deputy ministers will be reduced by 10 percent," he said.
Spiralling crude oil prices have driven up the cost of some states' fuel subsidies to near crippling levels.
Malaysia followed India, Indonesia, Taiwan and Sri Lanka last week, raising pump prices and provoking a public outcry and protests by opposition groups.
On Monday, Nepal's government said it had sanctioned a rise in fuel prices, and truckers in South Korea vowed to stop work over the high cost of diesel.
Abdullah said the decision to increase the price of fuel was a difficult one, but there had been no choice.
Petrol prices were increased by 41 percent and diesel 63 percent in line with a global surge in oil prices, a measure that would drive inflation to a 10-year high of 4.2 percent in 2008.
"In all honesty, it was a difficult and agonising decision to make. Many times, we have been tempted to walk away from such a difficult decision," Abdullah told an energy conference.
Fight for Survival
Since May, Abdullah has been fighting for his political survival after his coalition endured its worst performance at the ballot box in 50 years of rule.
The fuel hike has further soured the mood in the country, and the opposition has been trying to seize on the popular discontent.
Abdullah's political future remained at risk and the new measures did not add up to much, political analysts said.
"The measures are too little. It's just cosmetic, it cannot dampen the anger of the people," said political analyst Yahya Ismail.
Cutting ministers' allowances won't save a great deal of money in any case because, unlike their counterparts in countries such as Singapore, they don't earn a lot, said Khoo Kay Peng, another political analyst.
"There are more critical things that the government should look into, such as cutting down and streamlining the public sector," he said.
Malaysia's main stock index was down 1.37 percent on Monday in step with stocks across Asia, and the ringgit fell about a quarter of a percent, again tracking currencies in the region as investors fretted about record high oil prices.
State media reported last week that the government also planned measures such as widening the social safety net for the poor, increasing the number of price-controlled items and improving public transport.
The government says it will save 13.7 billion ringgit ($4.2 billion) as part of a broad overhaul of its heavily subsidised energy pricing system, and days after the hikes were announced there has been some recognition of the government's plight.
"Either we bear the pain now and become more efficient and productive, or let our future generations carry the burden of high national debts and continuing with our wasteful ways," the Edge financial daily said.
Pump prices for petrol in Malaysia are still among the cheapest in Asia.
People hold rallies and protests in Malaysia and the BN regime has no choice but to make small PR moves to appease public anger and frustration.
Here is Singapore, majority all scared and depoliticised so no pressure on PAP regime.
They can keep on paying themselves highest pay in the entire world.
PAP regime are not afraid of the people, they is why they can act cocky.
This type of bastard regime, I will not support.
i agree with what you say,
PAP has been untouchable that why they act like tyrannt. or bastard.
then again, there must be many bastard supporter in singapore so that their continueal existence is ensure.
we need to look at ourself and ask we need not exercise our vote when it matters!
One can really wonder about the mandate of the PAP when one sees autistic and retarded supporters like Gazelle and clones.
Cut in allowances..10%..not pay.
That is small change.wonder if there is a cut in kickbacks ![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:People hold rallies and protests in Malaysia and the BN regime has no choice but to make small PR moves to appease public anger and frustration.
Here is Singapore, majority all scared and depoliticised so no pressure on PAP regime.
They can keep on paying themselves highest pay in the entire world.
PAP regime are not afraid of the people, they is why they can act cocky.
This type of bastard regime, I will not support.
Poh, you speak my mind, bingo. People here are just so "brainless" to be so fearful of this oppressive gahmen to allow them becoming more and more daring to take advantage on the nation. Bet you, if one day PAP member goes round telling citizen A that he is stupid, A will admit he is stupid.
Why be fearful ? Fear not...If I were you guys, be brave and stand up against them..don't be brainless...go out and paint the town red !!
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Poh, you speak my mind, bingo. People here are just so "brainless" to be so fearful of this oppressive gahmen to allow them becoming more and more daring to take advantage on the nation. Bet you, if one day PAP member goes round telling citizen A that he is stupid, A will admit he is stupid.
That has already been displayed by Gazelle and echoed by Lionnoisy
Originally posted by kramnave:Why be fearful ? Fear not...If I were you guys, be brave and stand up against them..don't be brainless...go out and paint the town red !!
Sometimes, I find the fear in Singaporeans rather baseless.
Originally posted by eagle:That has already been displayed by Gazelle and echoed by Lionnoisy
ha ha ha, these 2 die hard fans of lky, lhl and PAP. Sometimes they are funny, they provide free entertainment to us. Not sure how to regard them, stupid? naive? stubborn? shallow? and on and on.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Sometimes, I find the fear in Singaporeans rather baseless.
It is baseless..can't be helped if people spread baseless rumours like you'll lose your civil service job, don't get HDB flat, get arrested etc. Theres quite a few people here. In fact there are people who tell you that Singaporeans are fearful and keep on perpetuating that...and i don't know where that came from.
since kramnave mentioned that it's not pay, den what are "entertainment allowances"? ![]()
Originally posted by purpledragon84:since kramnave mentioned that it's not pay, den what are "entertainment allowances"?
erm...when they decide to sell of national assets they need to bring their clients go KTV ? ![]()
har.. really like company lunch kind of allowances ah? i think our govt will just reward themselves with a 10% increment in entertainment allowances for having a clear investigation on how MSK escaped..
Originally posted by kramnave:It is baseless..can't be helped if people spread baseless rumours like you'll lose your civil service job, don't get HDB flat, get arrested etc. Theres quite a few people here. In fact there are people who tell you that Singaporeans are fearful and keep on perpetuating that...and i don't know where that came from.
Haven't you come across singaporeans who are fearful of the gahmen and by mentioning gahmen they will say something to shut your mouth?
Minority dare speak their mind and vote against them though they are in civil / govt service. Came across this army guy who told forumers he voted against PAP and thereafter he still got promoted. His message to those who fear PAP by not dare to vote for opposition is - "look here I am in the army and I voted for opposition but I still got my promotion. No need to fear govt but to be bold to exercise your right in voting."
its the thoughts that count. at least they showed that they are with the citizens.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:its the thoughts that count. at least they showed that they are with the citizens.
The Malaysian government has the heart for the nation but I can't speak the same for PAP.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Haven't you come across singaporeans who are fearful of the gahmen and by mentioning gahmen they will say something to shut your mouth?
Minority dare speak their mind and vote against them though they are in civil / govt service. Came across this army guy who told forumers he voted against PAP and thereafter he still got promoted. His message to those who fear PAP by not dare to vote for opposition is - "look here I am in the army and I voted for opposition but I still got my promotion. No need to fear govt but to be bold to exercise your right in voting."
"Haven't you come across singaporeans who are fearful of the gahmen and by mentioning gahmen they will say something to shut your mouth?"
I don't know who have you been mixing around with but no, I have never met such people in my entire life.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
The Malaysian government has the heart for the nation but I can't speak the same for PAP.
......there is a reason they almost lost the election. As much as you hate the PAP...sorry if im going to offend you once again but don't let the hatred make you stupid.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
well well, i think more than enough is said. just wait for the upcoming elections bah.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:
well well, i think more than enough is said. just wait for the upcoming elections bah.
Thats what people say before every election. From what I see, SDP is going to get raped again. WP will stand strong in Hougang but these days, even opposition supporters are condemning the party with a SMC and almost won a GRC and choose to support lost causes instead. Will have to see how it performs outside hougang. WP is the biggest chance of an upset but it'll need more support.
how about CSJ?
sued thrice i think.
Originally posted by deathmaster:how about CSJ?
sued thrice i think.
What about him ? The last time he went to challenge a beleagued health minister his party got raped. Even if he challenges wong kan seng he'll get raped.
Title is perhaps a little bit wrong.....its not a pay cut, more like an allowance cut.....and only 10%....
But anyway,
Dont try to do the same thing in Singapore....
In my opinion, such thing is counter-productive and harmful to Singapore interest.
High pay = better managers.
Low pay = incompetent losers.
Very simple thing.
Ministers, civil servants in Singapore now = technocrats.
Ministers, civil servants in Singapore after low pay = corruptors.
Trust me dont shake this principle, it is really not good.
Meat Pao.
... besides, our government has a Crutch Mentality that high pay will prevent corruption... while Welfare for the People on the other hand, must not be a crutch...
... speaks volumes about our govt ...