Almost 100% increase in Fuel prices in Singapore over one year. Ahem.
Has anyone realised that? $2.20 a litre now, heading towards $2.50 or even $3.00 a litre soon.
It seems every country around Singapore is actively engaging in some form of protests, asking the govt for some form of help of relief but it seems here in our sunny island state...
The silence is strange isn't it?
Is Mass demonstration really a good way for the people to let off steam or ask govt to help?
Or will there be a singaporean who might snap one day and pull something like what happened in tokyo recently?
Less talk more action please.![]()
I think people in Singapore probably are less price-sensitive to fuel prices compared to people in the region.
Not to say it has no effect, but I think it the effect is abit different here.
And another point, more importantly, people in Singapore are pragmatic and realistic. They are used to price increases. Besides, for fuel, they know this is not something that any government has a control of.
Let's say you protest, and then what...? Can that make the Saudi oil-wells pump more oil? Actually it has no impact isnt it?
Those people in Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, they demonstrate for what actually..?? It's not like their governments can cover the fuel increase, today oil is around $130 per barrel. So what they are doing is also pointless.
Meat Pao.
are u organising?
or are u sitting and waiting for someone else to do it first?
subsides for oil is not the way to go.
subsidies will only cause the oil prices to go up again.
time to ride a bloody bike ?
Originally posted by Zwei51:Almost 100% increase in Fuel prices in Singapore over one year. Ahem.
Has anyone realised that? $2.20 a litre now, heading towards $2.50 or even $3.00 a litre soon.
It seems every country around Singapore is actively engaging in some form of protests, asking the govt for some form of help of relief but it seems here in our sunny island state...
Is Mass demonstration really a good way for the people to let off steam or ask govt to help?
Or will there be a singaporean who might snap one day and pull something like what happened in tokyo recently?
blame it on the record oil prices these days.....our government also doesnt want it to happen really, not to their benefit anyway. Mass demo for what?? all those countries around us protest, got results or not?? furthemore, these countries r mainly developing ones, where their daily lives r more affected by these price increases than developed countries... .
some of these countries are also oil producing themselves but even kena increase leh, what more a non oil producing country like us!!
but then a bit of sweetener lah, road tax cutting down by 15 percent lah, offset from erp charges. tao chio liao....
... demonstrations, protests, we/you all know what happens when anyone attempts such things... hence the silence..
... but this doesn't mean people are 'used to it', 'accepted their fate', etc..
... I drive daily, and although people aren't out on the streets shouting for some form of relief, they sure are driving meaner...
... try getting in the way of another motorist now and watch what happens.. they will be so pissed that they had to lose speed because they feel that cruising along uninterrupted saves on consumption.. which is true to some extent...
... as such, we can expect to read more about Road Rage to come...
Originally posted by Zwei51:Almost 100% increase in Fuel prices in Singapore over one year. Ahem.
If this government has the welfare of her people at heart, it should have a strong impetus to remove the $0.40 per litre (approx.) petrol tax.
But this government is all about syphoning as much money from it's population to let the reserves look good and extracting the money through deca-million dollar salaries.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
If this government has the welfare of her people at heart, it should have a strong impetus to remove the $0.40 per litre (approx.) petrol tax.
But this government is all about syphoning as much money from it's population to let the reserves look good and extracting the money through deca-million dollar salaries.
Come to think of it, I rather they keep the $0.40 tax and reduce GST by the amount that they would have 'lost' if they reduced the $0.40 tax
Originally posted by eagle:
Come to think of it, I rather they keep the $0.40 tax and reduce GST by the amount that they would have 'lost' if they reduced the $0.40 tax
to make things simple to culculate, they will raise everything by 40cents.
i am in total agreement to this. the petrol tax reduction is a form of help offered that can help the guys like me manage better.
but knowing `them', it will be `offset' by other increase.
Originally posted by redDUST:i am in total agreement to this. the petrol tax reduction is a form of help offered that can help the guys like me manage better.
but knowing `them', it will be `offset' by other increase.
every which way but lose. ![]()
every which way but lose.
exit left.....
How about STOP driving a Car or Bike and take public transport for a change.......
it is not better in USA and Canada,and many places.
MY and Indonesia gavaman cant afford to give subsidy anymore.
http://www.gasbuddy.com/gb_retail_price_chart.aspx?time=24
http://www.gasbuddy.com/gb_gastemperaturemap.aspx
click this,different prices in USA!!
Inflation happening in many places,Dear!!
R u just return from Mars?
Problems in SG also happening in many places.but worst?
HK people just pay hi prices to monopolized Park N Shop
and Wellcome suppermarkets.
NTUC Fairprice have to cater voters feelings every 5 years.
Originally posted by hloc:How about STOP driving a Car or Bike and take public transport for a change.......
Next thing you know, public transport raise fares again
Originally posted by hloc:How about STOP driving a Car or Bike and take public transport for a change.......
yes, i am alternating at least once a week using the train.
sometimes, i work from home.
sg ppl used to just suffer the change liaoz..to meek to speak up.govt say change den change lor..cuz say liao also useless..govt dont wan subsidy this and that cause dont want lazy bones here.(cuz they rather keep the money themselves) what to do??go demo less den 5 mins kena arrest by police..den pay for bailing..worth it??
Originally posted by eagle:
Next thing you know, public transport raise fares again
Yup..... they will rise fare onces a year. But fuel price goes up every few mths nowadays..... In the long run, still slightly cheaper..... and I might get a pay rise due to increase PAX number.....
Damn I bet the ISA is watching this!
So better be constructive and a good boy.
CLOSE NAC LA!@@#$$%&%^
All the money busted!!!! And look at the attendance! 2 years ago spent 3 million on what stupid POPagenda and only 50 turned up!!!! What a disgrace!!!
Check NAC. CHECK NAC!!!!!!
Phew...and use the money to subsidise petrol. But hor, our gahman sees the word 'subsidies' as a bad word....so also cannot.
So dun use the word subsidies, use payout/dividend/shares/profit/damnit!
wat's NAC?
As if voicing out will help anything. Aye, don't wanna get slapp with stupid excuses anymore lah, what excse have you not hear to justify anything. even if protest, things will not change. Waste time only