We need to pay ministers high salaries to remain competitive.
We need to pay workers low salaries to remain competitive.
Yeah.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:We need to pay ministers high salaries to remain competitive.
Yeah.
"Man is the only creature that consumes without producing. He does not
give milk, he does not lay eggs, he is too weak to pull the plough, he
cannot run fast enough to catch rabbits. Yet he is lord of all the
animals. He sets them to work, he gives back to them the bare minimum
that will prevent them from starving, and the rest he keeps for
himself."
- George Orwell, Animal Farm
"ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL, BUT SOME ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS"
Originally posted by fymk:"Man is the only creature that consumes without producing. He does not give milk, he does not lay eggs, he is too weak to pull the plough, he cannot run fast enough to catch rabbits. Yet he is lord of all the animals. He sets them to work, he gives back to them the bare minimum that will prevent them from starving, and the rest he keeps for himself."
"ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL, BUT SOME ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS"
It's so sad.
I dread to think what Singapore will be like 5, 10, 20 years from now.
Haiz.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
It's so sad.I dread to think what Singapore will be like 5, 10, 20 years from now.
Haiz.
Some will move to different farms ....organic , free range farms that have PETA and SPCA's approval from the caged farm. Better for health. No stress.
I remember that book by George Orwell. Great book.
"Two legs, bad. Four legs, good" the sheep bleets.
And when the pigs gained power, they stood on 2 legs, it became
"Four legs good, two legs better!"
Everyone best do well to remember this important political satire, if they want rabid opposition political pigs who know nuts to manage our country and run the economy.
the pigs have been in power for 50 years..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:the pigs have been in power for 50 years..
As Charlize posted, the pigs tell us
We need to pay ministers high salaries to remain competitive.
wah!!SG no money lah,no money to pay CFP lah,even u renounce
SG citizenships.No worry.Just a joke.Who is the joker.
CSJ or PAP?
before u go to OZ,Adelaide seem not a good choice in the near future:
http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/surgeons-to-join-mass-resignation/2008/06/15/1213468219298.html
Surgeons to join mass resignation of hospital medical staff
June 15, 2008 - 1:44PM
About half of the general surgeons in each of Adelaide's three major public hospitals are preparing to resign, as the crisis in the state's health system worsens.
Last week about half of Adelaide's emergency department doctors tendered their resignations to take effect in two weeks unless their pay demands are met.
oh again,SA!!
June 15, 2008 -
http://news.smh.com.au/national/sa-teachers-expected-to-strike-this-week-20080615-2qtg.html
it is ok.First in 12 years!!
"Leave it to the DeerHunter to bring home the ''bacon'' when he finally can find a deer - as by the time he succeeds, we can probably roast a Gazelle sprinkled with diced mushrooms, some Bear slop, liver from a noisy lion, and fried over a 'point blank' fire in a $27 garbage bin."![]()
Like a political satire, only more creative......
Originally posted by DeerHunter:I remember that book by George Orwell. Great book.
Everyone best do well to remember this important political satire, if they want rabid opposition political pigs who know nuts to manage our country and run the economy.
I don't like CSJ for a reason but he is still a human being.
I don't like CSJ because I do not agree with how he does things.
However , I like and respect the Worker's Party members like Sylvia Lim who are fairly reasonable and cautious in politics.
Not every opposition is rabid and neither are they pigs. They are working for the betterment of the country which is a thankless and highly risky venture in my view. It is a thankless task. They deserve some respect because it is better to have opposition questioning than to have leaders resting on their laurels turning complacent.
"They (opp) deserve some respect because it is better to have opposition questioning than to have leaders resting on their laurels turning complacent."
100% agree on this...
Originally posted by charlize:We need to pay ministers high salaries to remain competitive.
Yeah.
Aiyooo.. so buay pah seh hor ?
"The government said it has been losing some of its best talent to private-sector employers over the past few years, as well as to poaching by governments as far away as China and Qatar.
Though the city-state is noted for paying its officials well, the government lost 10.6% of its lawyers, accountants and management executives to the private sector in 2006, up from 7.4% in 2005."
Singaporeans Fume Over Ministers' Pay Hike
Actually.. hor ..I think it's really becaws they don't want to work for LHL lah.
He become PM in 2004 , yes ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Aiyooo.. so buay pah seh hor ?
"The government said it has been losing some of its best talent to private-sector employers over the past few years, as well as to poaching by governments as far away as China and Qatar.
Though the city-state is noted for paying its officials well, the government lost 10.6% of its lawyers, accountants and management executives to the private sector in 2006, up from 7.4% in 2005."
Singaporeans Fume Over Ministers' Pay Hike
Actually.. hor ..I think it's really becaws they don't want to work for LHL lah.
He become PM in 2004 , yes ?
How many percent do the lawyers , accountants and management executives form out of the entire population?
Did they include government owned privatised companies into the private sector list?
Originally posted by noisylion:
wah!!SG no money lah,no money to pay educations lah,even UNSW renounce
SG studentsships worry. not a joke.lionnoisy is the joker.
where to study now?
before u go to SG, education seem not a good choice in the near future:
UNSW - another one bites the dust…
Once again… i read with horror the news that UNSW campus in Singapore is going to close down.. !! Shocking !!
i mean,.. we’ve all heard of pte schools closing down, some fly by nite… foreign students getting left in the lurch…etc…we’re not too surprised. in the first place, these fly by nite pte schools are not endorsed officially by MOE, and they are pretty much a pte commerical enterprise…..
BUT the UNSW closing down ????And in Singapore some more? And it was EDB which had a part in the initial set up of UNSW in Singapore!!
… Now this IS surprising.
UNSW should have done due diligence before deciding to set up campus here… but can’t blame them… they need to make money, and it’s a commercial decision. But the EDB should have done its own due diligence to ensure continuity once UNSW opens here. The EDB represents Singapore’s interests… but what did they do?….
UNSW shut down after only 2 years is terribly damaging for Singapore’s reputation as an education hub.
i feel that there’s just too many about-turns in the education scene in Singapore.. Just TOO MANY !!! And it’s continuing…..
"sure-fail exams cause mental distress in siggie students:
Stop those scare tactics of "sure fail" exams
extracted from The Straits Times - June 6, 08
Many parents feel stressed when their children sit for high-stakes milestone exams like the Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) or the O and A levels.
Many schools use shock scare tactics that are remarkably out of date. I'm talking about the habit of many schools to set mid-year examination papers of an unduly high difficulty level.
One parent cited her daughter's experience in an all-girls school with a Maths paper set at such a difficult level that half the class flunked. Concerned about the impact of this on students' motivation levels, she wrote: "I appeal to the Ministry of Education to compare the disparity between the simplicity of published primary Maths textbooks and worksheets with the difficulty of exam papers set by the schools.
Many schools set mid-year exam papers at an unrealistically high level of difficulty, deliberately to "jolt" the students and parents into a state of panic to work harder for the PSLE or O level exam. When the preliminary exams roll around later this year, the same pattern will repeat itself.
Thousands of students will be in tears over unwanted failing grades. Thousands of parents' stress levels will rise,fearing their children will do as badly in the PSLE or O levels, as they did for their prelims.
I am not a pedagogist, but it seems sheer bad educational practice to deliberately set an exam paper that seeks to fail most students.
That is not education; that is a psychological manipulation of a rather negative and perverse nature.
Schools justify it by saying that a little bit of failure spurs students to try harder. The practice results in better grades, they may argue. But people who argue forget the impact of repeated failure on a child's motivation and self esteem.
Some principals and teachers who use this "fail-them" exam scare tactic will point out that it has worked for years and raised the school's average scores in PSLE.
My retort to that is simple :
Your school's aggregate average may improve, but how many vulnerable children's self-esteem have you destroyed in the process?
And just as pertinently, how many children's zest for learning have you destroyed? And how many individual students end up doing worse, not better, because of anxiety and stress?
Originally posted by DeerHunter:I remember that book by George Orwell. Great book.
How come you try to quote animal farm but fail to draw up the analogies that are blatantly obvious between the story and what's happening now?
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:
How come you try to quote animal farm but fail to draw up the analogies that are blatantly obvious between the story and what's happening now?
The only blatantly obvious analogy from the book i see here is a group of imbecile gansters bleeting like sheeps of " PAP bad, SDP or Opposition groups better!"
So do well to remember what will happen when pigs whom knows nuts about our economy or managing the country gets to rule.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:
The only blatantly obvious analogy from the book i see here is a group of imbecile gansters bleeting like sheeps of " PAP bad, SDP or Opposition groups better!"
So do well to remember what will happen when pigs whom knows nuts about our economy or managing the country gets to rule.
Look at other developed countries, their political climate change once in a while and still they are surviving . Don't look down on your fellow Singaporeans who present a different view of how the country can be better ran as pigs who know nuts.
Do you think the ministers really know how to run everything ? They depend on the civil service and consultants to carry out and advise them on their policies. When LKY first started, he had to invite military advisers from Israel to set up Singapore's defence , a dutch economist to draw up plans for Singapore's economic future and train his new party how to run a country.
Stagnancy breeds complacency . Just like how stagnant water breeds a crapload of dengue carrying mosquitoes. So you really don't want a whole parliament with members of the same party all the time. You want someone to challenge their policies and present another opinion.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:
Please do try to come up with a better argument, our own government would contradict you right off the bat.
Even our own government admits, it is the people HERE on the internet that they are trying to engage that really matter in the political long run, not the politically apathetic bunch that are happy to let things be without question. The fact that they need to say there is a need for a "counter-insurgency" speaks volumes about their realization that the people on the web are hardly sheeps, but a very real and rising generation that are less willing to leave their country unquestioningly into the hands of big brother and who will question things.
It seems that you are sore not because the people here are sheeps, but because you are unable to win... oh well.
Here's a tip, try logic, it works.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Please do try to come up with a better argument, our own government would contradict you right off the bat.
Even our own government admits, it is the people HERE on the internet that they are trying to engage that really matter in the political long run, not the politically apathetic bunch that are happy to let things be without question. The fact that they need to say there is a need for a "counter-insurgency" speaks volumes about their realization that the people on the web are hardly sheeps, but a very real and rising generation that are less willing to leave their country unquestioningly into the hands of big brother and who will question things.
It seems that you are sore not because the people here are sheeps, but because you are unable to win... oh well.
You are not seeking better agument. You only want others to agree to your deluded arguments. Any dissension by others, you insult them. Thus, no point i rationalize with you. I am not a faith-healer. I can't heal the blind.
win? win what? is there even a prize? And you dare advise trying logic? Seems you better use it on yourself first if you think yourself so highly as to be a position to give 'tips'.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Please do try to come up with a better argument, our own government would contradict you right off the bat.
It's like that... Lunatics always think that everyone around them is the crazy one; to them, they are the normal ones.
We see the same thing happening now; everyone thinks that this particular forumer is talking rubbish, yet he thinks that it is everyone else who talks rubbish. ![]()
Well you can bring a horse to water, but you can't make it drink.
He can call people here on the internet sheep for all he wants, but the fact remains that our government simply does not see it this way nor would they agree with him one bit.
In fact they shown it again and again that the views raised here are something they take seriously and want to engage such stuff proves beyond any shadow of a doubt that more or less an increasing amount of people are not willing to simply toe the line.
There are crackpots in every movement, to accuse each and every person here who disagrees with him as a deluded sheep is as silly to some saying agreeing with even a bit of the PAP's policies mean we are sheep. Everybody has thier own stand and position and unfortuntately it seems that the number that is starting to see things aside from the party line and have good reasons for doing so.
As we can see, calling people here sheep is more of DeerHunter's way of making himself feel good then actually having any sort of effect, nor making any difference in here, as well as allowing him to avoid answering the glaring holes punched into his poorly-constructed arguments by fmyk, adobe and what have you not. In which case we can just say "+1" to him.
I don't think he's a lunatic eagle, just more of a coward.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Well you can bring a horse to water, but you can't make it drink.
He can call people here on the internet sheep for all he wants, but the fact remains that our government simply does not see it this way nor would they agree with him one bit.
In fact they shown it again and again that the views raised here are something they take seriously and want to engage such stuff proves beyond any shadow of a doubt that more or less an increasing amount of people are not willing to simply toe the line.
There are crackpots in every movement, to accuse each and every person here who disagrees with him as a deluded sheep is as silly to some saying agreeing with even a bit of the PAP's policies mean we are sheep. Everybody has thier own stand and position and unfortuntately it seems that the number that is starting to see things aside from the party line and have good reasons for doing so.
As we can see, calling people here sheep is more of DeerHunter's way of making himself feel good then actually having any sort of effect, nor making any difference in here, as well as allowing him to avoid answering the glaring holes punched into his poorly-constructed arguments by fmyk, adobe and what have you not. In which case we can just say "+1" to him.
I don't think he's a lunatic eagle, just more of a coward.
AFAIK, your contribution to this forum has always about talking lion cock, and after 3 pages, you have not contributed a single facts about the subject, but instead get yourself busy with flame war and name calling.
FYI, the subject for this thread is "Social Welfare Health costs", and we would really like to read what you have to say about the subject not the TS.
cheers
Affordable, Universal Health Care -- The Singapore Model
will americans consider the singappore model???
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-xIxFvWR5o
Originally posted by £Îª€Ú°:
AFAIK, your contribution to this forum has always about talking lion cock, and after 3 pages, you have not contributed a single facts about the subject, but instead get yourself busy with flame war and name calling.FYI, the subject for this thread is "Social Welfare Health costs", and we would really like to read what you have to say about the subject not the TS.
cheers
Yawn, lionnoisy deserves what he gets. When you play with the bull, sometimes you get the horn. At the very least lionnoisy ought to be able to hold his own when people start to play the game he is playing, but apparently he is incapable of that.
What more is there to add to the subject when you have a deerhunter getting pummeled badly? More nails into the coffin? More replies from recently created counter-insurgency accounts?