Originally posted by jojobeach:If every Singaporean thinks like you, Singapore will not improve any further than what we are now.
Government can give her people the shittiest housing.. the lousiest health care, the cheapest education, and the crappiest policies....and we the Singaporean will just slurp it all up.. without any complains.
Pledging our allegiance to the Singapore flag.. does not mean we must also give up our soul.
And it does not mean remaining stagnant and not seek for improvements.
Anyway he changed tune so fast... First, he tells M13 that he can say M13 is wrong. Then when M13 took his post (from another thread) and put it here, he suddenly switched to saying he can disprove M13 by putting anything up.
Originally posted by xtreyier:No matter who rules, our allegience is to the flag, and each one of us is responsible to make Spore better. And who better then a citizen to initiate and make such changes?
Tell that to the ministers with first world pay whom can only secure developing nation type of wages for the commoners who have to pay first world prices.
Tell that to those who claim they have a mandate to rule Singapore by 66.6%.
Tell that to the elite classes who dare claim that NUS is number 1 and implied that overseas Singaporean students are wasting their parents' money in Australia yet the elite send their own children overseas. They are already stomping on Singaporeans with Australian degrees readily when they do not even look at their own backyard.
There is no empowerment for citizens unless they belong to the elite classes. Any dissent is squashed with full force of law or threats of how one can make singapore sink down by that idea.
Until empowerment is achieved, your statement is as worthless as used toilet paper. Most have to be robotic in order to survive in an semi automated environment.
Originally posted by fymk:Tell that to the ministers with first world pay whom can only secure developing nation type of wages for the commoners who have to pay first world prices.
Tell that to those who claim they have a mandate to rule Singapore by 66.6%.
Tell that to the elite classes who dare claim that NUS is number 1 and implied that overseas Singaporean students are wasting their parents' money in Australia yet the elite send their own children overseas. They are already stomping on Singaporeans with Australian degrees readily when they do not even look at their own backyard.
There is no empowerment for citizens unless they belong to the elite classes. Any dissent is squashed with full force of law or threats of how one can make singapore sink down by that idea.
Until empowerment is achieved, your statement is as worthless as used toilet paper. Most have to be robotic in order to survive in an semi automated environment.
I read that the Minister of National development is a graduate of Australian university, health minister is also a gradute from Australia, the Spore ambasador to US n the
deputy speaker of parliament also graduated from Australian university.
Originally posted by fymk:That is why I am in Australia. I contribute and pay taxes to a country which has given me alot of opportunities, scholarships and a better lifestyle.
Originally posted by xtreyier:No matter who rules, our allegience is to the flag, and each one of us is responsible to make Spore better. And who better then a citizen to initiate and make such changes?
Don't forget that the purpose of a government(hence a country) is to serve its people.. Not the other way round. No people = no country in the first place. Don't make the people the means to the soverignty of the government. You see in American movies speak of patriotism because America stands for the liberty of its people (though not consistently in practice) SG simply stands for PAP..
Dont expect much alliegences from the people to a country that has done nothing but enslave them for its reputation and justified pay rise and more bullcrap
Sad.
Originally posted by ulquiorra87:Don't forget that the purpose of a government(hence a country) is to serve its people.. Not the other way round. No people = no country in the first place. Don't make the people the means to the soverignty of the government. You see in American movies speak of patriotism because America stands for the liberty of its people (though not consistently in practice) SG simply stands for PAP..
Dont expect much alliegences from the people to a country that has done nothing but enslave them for its reputation and justified pay rise and more bullcrap
Well said. But our govt thinks differently wor...
"He made it clear that people should not take on those in authority as 'equals'."
The Straits Times 20th Feb 1994, George Yeo Yong Boon.
Originally posted by will4:
Based n ur reply, i remember visiting a pub n there is this chinese national waitress saying she been in this country for some years n never like this country.
Based on my own account and biases...
China nationals will always want to migrate out of the country especially the common people..... even the rich. If they don't like Singapore it's highly probable they can't make it to somewhere else better at that time and have no choice.
When asked that question however most will go into "defensive" mode and won't admit it. Face is very important to them.
I have a rich chinese national friend and he jokes with me at times.... If a chinese national chick seems to take on to you.... always ask yourself if she is after PR or $.
Originally posted by Genie99a:Based on my own account and biases...
China nationals will always want to migrate out of the country especially the common people..... even the rich. If they don't like Singapore it's highly probable they can't make it to somewhere else better at that time and have no choice.
When asked that question however most will go into "defensive" mode and won't admit it. Face is very important to them.
I have a rich chinese national friend and he jokes with me at times.... If a chinese national chick seems to take on to you.... always ask yourself if she is after PR or $.
I also read that Gong Li is sucessful in gaining local citizenship but she never turned up for the citizenship ceremony.
Did anyone know that Gongli still a critizen if she never turn up for the ceremony
Originally posted by Chunseah:Did anyone know that Gongli still a critizen if she never turn up for the ceremony
So what if she didn't turn up for ceremony.. she already got her passport and pink IC already.
She is super star.. ofcors the authorities have to exempt her .
Too much work managing kaypoh people stargazing ya know ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:So what if she didn't turn up for ceremony.. she already got her passport and pink IC already.
I think she just show her front asset to LHL, automatically, she got citizenship, me 3 yo came in already, still hv to wait for a few years before getting citizenship. why??
Originally posted by angel7030:
I think she just show her front asset to LHL, automatically, she got citizenship, me 3 yo came in already, still hv to wait for a few years before getting citizenship. why??
You got what asset ? Your neh neh got as shiny a hers anot ?
People marry Singapore tobacco executive.. you marry who ? That young boi what's his name ?
They met at race horse tracks ... you met your guy at east coast park....
Cannot compare......this is meritocrazy....
Originally posted by jojobeach:So what if she didn't turn up for ceremony.. she already got her passport and pink IC already.
Originally posted by jojobeach:You got what asset ? Your neh neh got as shiny a hers anot ?
People marry Singapore tobacco executive.. you marry who ? That young boi what's his name ?
They met at race horse tracks ... you met your guy at east coast park....
Cannot compare......this is meritocrazy....
oh, ya hor, damn, and people talk in high class public forum, me only post at sgforums...hmmm..me must go breast implant liao...see can hook up drug lord and enjoy life.
Originally posted by Rednano:
Soon, all geyland and joo chiat PRC gals will get citizenship too.
Next MP for geyland and joo chiat GRC will be Gongli.
I read a comment by a local forumer on Gong Li's failure to attend the citizenship ceremony. It is said that the quality of life in this country is better with no reporter
chasing star. The troubling part is according to the local many foreign professional upon taking the local citizenship got aim to migrate to other countries as it is easier to obtain citizenship if they got Spore citizenship.
Originally posted by will4:I read a comment by a local forumer on Gong Li's failure to attend the citizenship ceremony. It is said that the quality of life in this country is better with no reporter
chasing star. The troubling part is according to the local many foreign professional upon taking the local citizenship got aim to migrate to other countries as it is easier to obtain citizenship if they got Spore citizenship.
So, we are the gateway to heaven. We are all gatekeeper. Jarga door one.
SG is a free country .U are welcome come and go.....
Good luck
There are about 60,000 FT became Singapore PR and
another 15,000 became citizens a year.
http://siewkumhong.blogspot.com/2007/08/wpqs-16-july-2007-permanent-residency.html
In 2006,57000 became PR and 13,000 became citizens.
U can hold other passports when u are PR.
But Singapore u have to renounce ALL other citizenships
before u take up Singapore one.
Yes SG is a free country where its citizens are free to go but the PM will remain the same no matter what. LOL.

http://siewkumhong.blogspot.com/2007/08/wpqs-16-july-2007-permanent-residency.html
Originally posted by lionnoisy:SG is a free country .U are welcome come and go.....
Good luck
There are about 60,000 FT became Singapore PR and
another 15,000 became citizens a year.
In 2006,57000 became PR and 13,000 became citizens.
U can hold other passports when u are PR.
But Singapore u have to renounce ALL other citizenships
before u take up Singapore one.
oh. so what happened to the other 44000 ? They quit Singapore eh ? Why har ?
Instead of giving them PR.. why not just offer them Citizenship from the get go ?
Citizenship.. with compulsory confirmation after 2 years. Subject to acceptance from the Immigration.( to weed out the bad apples).
Once 2 years past.. SG Immigration will auto issue the passport and NRIC, a confirmation will be sent out to the immigrant's home country's immigration department to auto renounce their home citizenship...
Wah lah ! More Singaporeans.. no more PR abuse !!!
Singapore is a great country.. why do we have to beg and coax PRs to convert to SC ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:oh. so what happened to the other 44000 ? They quit Singapore eh ? Why har ?
Instead of giving them PR.. why not just offer them Citizenship from the get go ?
Citizenship.. with compulsory confirmation after 2 years. Subject to acceptance from the Immigration.( to weed out the bad apples).
Once 2 years past.. SG Immigration will auto issue the passport and NRIC, a confirmation will be sent out to the immigrant's home country's immigration department to auto renounce their home citizenship...
Wah lah ! More Singaporeans.. no more PR abuse !!!
Singapore is a great country.. why do we have to beg and coax PRs to convert to SC ?
didnt know about this?. are u saying it is in offically in effect now or are u just giving a suggestion?. u mean forced conscritopn NS style? I don't know about How ICA stuff works but if what u claim to be true, i say that PRs are Farked!
Officially enlisted in Singapore?!!
I sort of agree with u, Just offer citizenship and trap them as i know many PRs after having tasted life after 2 years, jump onto a boat and run off to US, Australia and UK.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:didnt know about this?. are u saying it is in offically in effect now or are u just giving a suggestion?. u mean forced conscritopn NS style? I don't know about How ICA stuff works but if what u claim to be true, i say that PRs are Farked!
Officially enlisted in Singapore?!!
I sort of agree with u, Just offer citizenship and trap them as i know many PRs after having tasted life after 2 years, jump onto a boat and run off to US, Australia and UK.
U mean the PR from this country decided to go US or Australia after tasting life in this country? What is the reason for their decision not to stay in this country after two
years?
Originally posted by will4:
U mean the PR from this country decided to go US or Australia after tasting life in this country? What is the reason for their decision not to stay in this country after twoyears?
after 5 years of work expereince in singapore, they can get the same field of work they are in in other countries with a much higher pay and better quality of life with the added benefit of PR. Which fool doesnt want that?