Originally posted by Civilgoh:How accurate is the figure on STs, I really doubt. Time and again I hear people around me saying if possible they want to migrate. There are people with children residing overseas and are getting their parents to join them. Some are on scholarship overseas and plan to work and stay permanently there. Few I know of are preparing to study overseas and plan not to return to Singapore after their study. Sad to see more leaving.
I just spoke to a PR cleaner and she says she is planning to apply for PR and does not mind becoming a Singapore citizen and she does not know very well how the gahmen in Singapore works. I told her about our ruling party and after that she says she rather earn $$$ and return to China and going to stay on already. I have met many from China who told me they are not interested to make Singapore their country but just want to earn big bucks here and get lost.
Civilgoh, you do have the right to challenge the figure published on ST but you cant do that by quoting personal observation, isolated incidents and hearsay etc because such statements are not quantifiable and reliable to be use as a representation of the entire population.
Personally I already know 3 PRC colleagues who cant get used to life back in China after living in Singapore for a few years and they are planning to become a Singapore citizens. Can I use these 3 colleagues as an example to represent the views of all PRC FT in Singapore?
Originally posted by Midlusionz:
It's like an act of a mother ignoring her kids while she dote on the neighbour's kids or anyone except hers.All the foreigners at my workplace.. DIDNT even think of settling down in SG.
That is a good example. In Cantonese "sake woon meen fun woon tai".
Originally posted by £Ä¬€Ú°:Civilgoh, you do have the right to challenge the figure published on ST but you cant do that by quoting personal observation, isolated incidents and hearsay etc because such statements are not quantifiable and reliable to be use as a representation of the entire population.
Personally I already know 3 PRC colleagues who cant get used to life back in China after living in Singapore for a few years and they are planning to become a Singapore citizens. Can I use these 3 colleagues as an example to represent the views of all PRC FT in Singapore?
Ask them a question .. IF just IF a war break out between China and Singapore and they are to choose a side .. Which will be their choice?
Originally posted by £Ä¬€Ú°:Civilgoh, you do have the right to challenge the figure published on ST but you cant do that by quoting personal observation, isolated incidents and hearsay etc because such statements are not quantifiable and reliable to be use as a representation of the entire population.
It is not up to you to say if I have the right or not. Troll, just don't expect the unrealistic from the people here. I speak about facts and reality and I am not subjecting myself to what you said. If you still don't understand, please go back to school to learn basic English.
Then your 3 PRC colleagues are very smart.
They become SG citizen.. and keep their PRC citizen at the same time. Who don't want ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Then your 3 PRC colleagues are very smart.
They become SG citizen.. and keep their PRC citizen at the same time. Who don't want ?
and by continuing to be a PR citizen, they will be paid pension in time to come.
I think you cant hold dual citizenship in Singapore after a certain age.
Too bad .. Their roots ain't here.
- Reason for them to come to SG .. The job here and the currency exchange. No jobs .. Back to their homeland.
- Reason for Singaporeans to migrate or work oversea .. Too many PRC etc etc getting jobs here and goverment attracting such..
Originally posted by Go:I think you cant hold dual citizenship in Singapore after a certain age.
That's what we all thought.
But when my PRC friends told me they can... and they've been doing it for several years already.. you tell me lor.
Who ensure they don't break the rules ?
If Singapore confiscate their PRC passport. they just have to apply for a replacement. Who's to say the system is perfect ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:That's what we all thought.
But when my PRC friends told me they can... and they've been doing it for several years already.. you tell me lor.
Who ensure they don't break the rules ?
If Singapore confiscate their PRC passport. they just have to apply for a replacement. Who's to say the system is perfect ?
jo, our ruling party is desperate to this extent - so pathetic. They value the foreigners more than locals.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:jo, our ruling party is desperate to this extent - so pathetic. They value the foreigners more than locals.
Actually I also wonder why our gahmen is so despo lah.
Yah lah.. he wants to increase population to 5 or 6 million, do it properly lah.
Opening a flood gate will only drown his own people. This is very common sense mah.
I really don't have confidence with our new PM. That is why I am waiting to see what is going to happen to him after his father is gone.
And when the SGD and Yuan close in value.. will there be more influx or an exodus ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Actually I also wonder why our gahmen is so despo lah.
Yah lah.. he wants to increase population to 5 or 6 million, do it properly lah.
Opening a flood gate will only drown his own people. This is very common sense mah.
I really don't have confidence with our new PM. That is why I am waiting to see what is going to happen to him after his father is gone.
And when the SGD and Yuan close in value.. will there be more influx or an exodus ?
It is not to the advantage of people of Singapore to have such an incompetent, idiotic, self centred PM. He does not have the PM calibre.
SGD and Yuan close in value, I suppose there will be exodus where the china people in Sg is concerned.
Good thing i made a right move long time back by being a citizen of the United Kingdom and giving up my Singaporean citizenship, now i just come here to visit my family & relatives like every 3 months. Looks like the road up ahead in Singapore isn't going to be pretty smooth. Good luck to all those living here and are in the middle of their decision making to move out, it's isn't too late yet...
Originally posted by Dimitri The Wanderer:Good thing i made a right move long time back by being a citizen of the United Kingdom and giving up my Singaporean citizenship, now i just come here to visit my family & relatives like every 3 months. Looks like the road up ahead in Singapore isn't going to be pretty smooth. Good luck to all those living here and are in the middle of their decision making to move out, it's isn't too late yet...
Hi,
What's your job in UK? If you're coming back every 3 months...considering the air fare you have to earn a lot sia...
Civilgoh, this is the solution that our million dollar salaried ministers think of to solve our "brain drain" issue. "Singaporeans born and bred here want to leave? Let them leave" they will say. They have prcs to take over us! That is why unversity fees are rising with no inkling of stopping whereas these people get to be here on scholarships. It gets more ridiculous and infuriating the more you think about it.
Midillusionz, I don't think the media has the balls nor intergrity to publish anything on these boards. BUT they can plaster James Gomez all over because of a stupid form.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:nowadays prc are everywhere... EVERYWHERE!!!!
its getting scary u noe. >.<
Fully agree.
I think my neighbourhood has 2 massage palours or something.
Originally posted by yamizi:Hi,
What's your job in UK? If you're coming back every 3 months...considering the air fare you have to earn a lot sia...
I work full-time as an architect and my part-time side line job is a personal fitness trainer, not mainly for making extra money but i have a love for sports and bodybuilding. It's nice to share the knowledge of sports with people as well.
Originally posted by Dimitri The Wanderer:Good thing i made a right move long time back by being a citizen of the United Kingdom and giving up my Singaporean citizenship, now i just come here to visit my family & relatives like every 3 months. Looks like the road up ahead in Singapore isn't going to be pretty smooth. Good luck to all those living here and are in the middle of their decision making to move out, it's isn't too late yet...
I have got a friend who have been living in London for about 6 years now. He is working for an investment bank and making a pretty decent living. His sibling however decide to return to singapore after 3 years because she doesnt like the place too much.
I think the road ahead for UK is going to be tougher than Singapore because domestically, the economy is slowing down and there are sign of subprime problem in UK right now. Furthermore, UK biggest trading partner, USA is heading for recession and the strong GBP is not helping either.
I would say Good Luck to you too.
Originally posted by Dimitri The Wanderer:
I work full-time as an architect and my part-time side line job is a personal fitness trainer, not mainly for making extra money but i have a love for sports and bodybuilding. It's nice to share the knowledge of sports with people as well.
Sounds cool...I wonder how to settle out of Singapore with my aged, illed and illiterate parents...
Well if the going gets tough, i'll just move out to another country and start earning there. I'm almost 30 now and plan to retire by 40. Why the early age of retiring from working life if you do ask, well i'm quite content with life and i'm glad to have broken the million pound mark. Plus sports & fitness is going to be around for a long time, definately after i pass on, so that's something i can fall back on. no regrets, thanks for the good luck kiddo but i think you need it more considering where you are standing at the moment.
Originally posted by Dimitri The Wanderer:
Help me moderate in my forum? ![]()
Originally posted by Dimitri The Wanderer:Well if the going gets tough, i'll just move out to another country and start earning there. I'm almost 30 now and plan to retire by 40. Why the early age of retiring from working life if you do ask, well i'm quite content with life and i'm glad to have broken the million pound mark. Plus sports & fitness is going to be around for a long time, definately after i pass on, so that's something i can fall back on. no regrets, thanks for the good luck kiddo but i think you need it more considering where you are standing at the moment.
wow... which one earns you more? Architect or as personal trainer?
Quite an achievement to reach the million pound mark so young... almost 30 means not yet 30?
Originally posted by yamizi:Sounds cool...I wonder how to settle out of Singapore with my aged, illed and illiterate parents...
Get yourself some black & white papers, go overseas and look around carefully, start small and you'll see yourself breathing in freedom away from the cursed land you're on.
PRC infested country.
Originally posted by £Ä¬€Ú°:I have got a friend who have been living in London for about 6 years now. He is working for an investment bank and making a pretty decent living. His sibling however decide to return to singapore after 3 years because she doesnt like the place too much.
I think the road ahead for UK is going to be tougher than Singapore because domestically, the economy is slowing down and there are sign of subprime problem in UK right now. Furthermore, UK biggest trading partner, USA is heading for recession and the strong GBP is not helping either.
I would say Good Luck to you too.
May i ask what field is your friend's sibling in?