Originally posted by redDUST:our fren raymond is in line for a bumper bonus this year for raking up profits within his ministry to contribute to the Lee's coffers.
this is like the mao's time in china when all commoners need to contribute grain as a form of tax to the central government. because of the need to show higher productivity and also corruptions that exists then where grains are siphoned along the way, the common people, who is at the end of the food chain; needed to contribute more than their fair share and were reduced to nothing to eat. some of them had resorted to eating tree bark and soil. meanwhile, the guys at the top are boasting how successful the system is, as there is now record yield of grains from the farm plots. these stockpile of grains are then kept in huge quantities in godowns centrally, some rotting because of the excess collected. they could have been used to feed the hungry. unfortunately, the all the info the state controlled media report were the success of the system of governance; improved yield, farmers prospering because of higher productivity, etc.
here, the exact is being done, only this government is smarter. they stockpile cash where it won't rot. but the methods is the same, it tax the hell out of everybody, enrich themselves to no end, and report statistics that show that people are better off, employment up, economy doing well, traffic management is working, etc.
hidden behind these set of numbers, singapore remain a country the misled 66.6% can call home.
so are u all set to move to melbourne?
if u have any question on emigration, post it at this forum which i had open for the common singapore emigrants http://forums.delphiforums.com/quitters
if i cant answer ur answer, someone hopefully will.
Originally posted by robertteh:Minister Raymond Lim was taken to task at his Meeting with Sin Min residents about one year ago for repeatedly raising ERP charges and increasing ERP gantries without solving the traffic congestion problems.
I have posted alternative solutions to many forums namely :-
(1) Divide all roads into three tiers, (a) Expressway (ERP controlled)
(b) Major Roads (non-ERP alternative routes to city or CBD or high traffic economic zones like Jurong or Tampines etc (c ) Local Roads (Non-ERP roads where congestions do not affect economic activities.
Under such a 3-tier road network, there will be proper justifications and basis for charging ERP such as the following:
(1) ERP Gantries will be set up only in Expressways leading to CBD
(2) Alternative routes are always available to those to CBD, EZ.
(3) Citizens will be able to accept rationale for paying ERP for faster travel to CBD and EZ.
Home-going journeys should not be ERP-chargeable.
Being paid millions of salaries, do our PM, MM, SM, Ministers or senior civil servants have good ideas how to justify additional taxes to lessen people's burden and lessen the rising costs of living and economic competitiveness for the economy?
Just look at what Minister Raymond Lim has done during the past few months after meeting the many angry residents of Sin Min.
Instead he ignored their complaints and problems and carried on increasing the ERP charges and building more ERP gantries and expect the hard-pressed citizens to continue to bear with such system of authoritarian rule which does not benefit the road congestions nor any citizens.
Reform Party chief JBJ should be asked to raise this question in parliament as soon as possible. (WP seems to be switched off just like the PAP MPs because of some praises from the government about CST or LTK)
Leaders must have the convictions and passion to serve the people and not listen to half-baked million-dollar ministers who could hardly justify the ERP based on proper road planning as shown in the lack of systematic speed-congestion planning of roads.
Sin Min residents were right - by increasing ERP charges there were no improvements in the congestion problem but instead more and more ERP gantries are now set up even at residential areas without a distinction to differentiate need for ERP control for economic or non-economic travel.
a simple summary of a certain group of leaders in a certain little island..y bother looking at alterantives and hurt our precious brain cells when we can just "justify" rising charges?citizens will only whine and pay. better use our precious little amount of grey matter to think of other ways to siphon $$ from the citizens.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:so are u all set to move to melbourne?
if u have any question on emigration, post it at this forum which i had open for the common singapore emigrants http://forums.delphiforums.com/quitters
if i cant answer ur answer, someone hopefully will.
end nov. and thanks for the link.
i called the bank this morning to check on my car's outstanding loan as this will be the first things i am offloading now. the irony of it is the net cash back that i will be getting back from the sales proceed can pay for the same car in australia that i am driving now. i don't feel that bad already....
erp gantries, up yours!
most ppl working in CBD like myself have ERP charges paid by company.
i told my boss, maybe it is more effective that the company start looking for office outside CBD, or write in to SNEF to feedback the high cost of ERP charges or in the worse case, shift office to JB.\
even though i dont pay ERP out of my own pocket, i still feel this system is nto justificable.
It is simple as that... if charging would solve the problem, it would not be still there. I suggest LTA develope new routes and perhaps expand roads.
or even better. gahmen stop the releasing of new vehicle... wait... that would deprive themselve of new free rides...
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:It is simple as that... if charging would solve the problem, it would not be still there. I suggest LTA develope new routes and perhaps expand roads.
or even better. gahmen stop the releasing of new vehicle... wait... that would deprive themselve of new free rides...
The only solution is to limit COEs and allow the price of a car to triple. No cars...no congestion. Alas! Singaporeans are the ones who demand the right to car ownership...in that case, don't whine about increasing ERP costs!
i seldom heard of singapore complaining about traffic jam. maybe this is what singaporeans dont mind if they wish to own a car. in that case, no need COE and ERP charges. how about that for a solution?
GOVT DONT MESS WITH OUR LIVES!!
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The only solution is to limit COEs and allow the price of a car to triple. No cars...no congestion. Alas! Singaporeans are the ones who demand the right to car ownership...in that case, don't whine about increasing ERP costs!
OM, this time I have to agree with you on what you suggested above. ERP is not the solution at all.
Originally posted by reyes:i seldom heard of singapore complaining about traffic jam. maybe this is what singaporeans dont mind if they wish to own a car. in that case, no need COE and ERP charges. how about that for a solution?
GOVT DONT MESS WITH OUR LIVES!!
the problem lies with our dear raymond dont like traffic jam when he is going home from work. when he is going home in his car, he see himself travel too slow that why he up the ERP. cos he is pay million and who care about the $2, $20 or $50 charge? as long he can go home with smooth traffic, you think he care if you have to pay more meh?
well... In Singapore, if you own a car, you are either
1. damn rich----- Well then the increase is good news to u, less ppl on road.
2. really need it ---- well.. nth u can do.. have to pass the cost to customers if possible.
3. a show off. ---- HAhahaha.... Too bad.
Personally, I think this is a good move by the gahmen, If you want to own a car can... but you pay as you go, no money, can... keep the car in garage lor, every day polish it.... Cos u dun really need one in singapore... This to me, is a better way to increase tax revenue than GST which is broad spectrum.
Its unfair to public transport(ie. taxis), you want ppl to take public transport mah... how can u also increase their prices?
*wears anti-flame suit......>.<
Originally posted by whiskers:well... In Singapore, if you own a car, you are either
2. really need it ---- well.. nth u can do.. have to pass the cost to customers if possible.
3. a show off. ---- HAhahaha.... Too bad.Personally, I think this is a good move by the gahmen, If you want to own a car can... but you pay as you go, no money, can... keep the car in garage lor, every day polish it.... Cos u dun really need one in singapore... This to me, is a better way to increase tax revenue than GST which is broad spectrum.
Its unfair to public transport(ie. taxis), you want ppl to take public transport mah... how can u also increase their prices?
Public roads should be for the public .
I agree that to the stinky rich, even if ERP per entry costs $20 would mean nothing to them but would be unimaginable to the majority. I guess a stinky rich man would be more happy when less can compete with them , in this case, road usage.
Other aspects of life:
1. Justice for all : Legal service. If you are not stinky rich, could you sue a stinky rich bad man when you could not afford the legal services required ?
2. Medical service for all : if you are not stinky rich, could you afford the medical service you need?
Is this world meant for the rich?
Animal farm.
What do you think about my proposed solution to cut cost for ROAD TAX PAYERS with less road usage :
well... In Singapore, if you own a car, you are either
3. a show off. ---- HAhahaha.... Too bad.Personally, I think this is a good move by the gahmen, If you want to own a car can... but you pay as you go, no money, can... keep the car in garage lor, every day polish it.... Cos u dun really need one in singapore... This to me, is a better way to increase tax revenue than GST which is broad spectrum.
does motocycle has to paid ERP? it seem this is nor related to the car only. truck? vans? pick up? why penalise the company transportation vehicle when it is necessary for them to use the road for business. to me it is just lame excuses for govt to increase their tax coffers.
Originally posted by storywolf:1) fixed the direct problem - just too many cars on the road !!! Every tom and harry can go show room and drive of with a car.
2) change the SBS & SMRT & TIB concept !!! We need more efficient and cheaper services - not fancy things like air-cond bus terminal, and stupid extra - that does little to transport people but cost more.
3) Take a page from Shanghai. They have problem of traffic, and without land to expand on roads. So they go for what they call sky highway system. They just build a road or highway on top of existing road or highway, it may cost more, but fastest and earier way then to dig underground.
My suggestion before:
Multi-level highways.
Seems like it's not a new concept at all; technology can already overtake this.
Congested sections on expressways like the CTE can do very well to implement this. Afterall, not all parts of the expressways experience jams.
But in the CBD, I would agree that space is indeed limited... Perhaps they should have parking spaces further away and regular shuttle buses in and out of the CBD to ferry people to and fro the carparks.
Originally posted by redDUST:end nov. and thanks for the link.
i called the bank this morning to check on my car's outstanding loan as this will be the first things i am offloading now. the irony of it is the net cash back that i will be getting back from the sales proceed can pay for the same car in australia that i am driving now. i don't feel that bad already....
erp gantries, up yours!
Another person to emigrate :(
The cost of living is already risen to high level.
Many services transportation cost would be passed to consumers. Taxi is public transport. People are encouraged to take public transport. But the ERP hike would pass the cost to consumers. Businesses transport their goods & foods from place to place. They are also affecting passing the cost to their business partners and consumers.
Would the recently announced ERP hike , compounded with oil price hikes incur to the people a higher cost of living?
And 'coincidentally' in the same news on ERP hike, it was announced that new bus services would be introduced and sounds like not cheap.
What is going on?
How much is being collected from ERP and road and car related expenses?
when implem, tell people to start work hour flexi, now after start flexi, evening still has erp, saturday also erp.
erp= every road pay
built multi layer highway, closed them during peak hour, likewhat happen during recent encounter at shanghai
it was told due to some traffic problem below certain section of the multi layer highway, miss one importance EXIT, you need to go round the stupid outer ring road 1, juntion past outer ringroad 2, juntion pass outer ring road 3, before can get off to ground level of the desination i want to go.
Originally posted by eagle:My suggestion before:
Multi-level highways.
Seems like it's not a new concept at all; technology can already overtake this.Congested sections on expressways like the CTE can do very well to implement this. Afterall, not all parts of the expressways experience jams.
But in the CBD, I would agree that space is indeed limited... Perhaps they should have parking spaces further away and regular shuttle buses in and out of the CBD to ferry people to and fro the carparks.
Actually a simple way to solve all this would be to implement flexible 24 hours workday. The issue right now is everybody knocks off at around the same time, resulting in crowding in MRTs, Buses and Roads.
Like the recent changes to the Taxi charges, I find it ridiculous, most of the time during peak hours, you find the Taxi drivers waiting in queues, not doing any productive work, yet they are paid more for doing nothing. They actually get paid more for doing less or no work. Something grave errors in their policy implementation.
Originally posted by zaxis:when implem, tell people to start work hour flexi, now after start flexi, evening still has erp, saturday also erp.
erp= every road pay
built multi layer highway, closed them during peak hour, likewhat happen during recent encounter at shanghai
it was told due to some traffic problem below certain section of the multi layer highway, miss one importance EXIT, you need to go round the stupid outer ring road 1, juntion past outer ringroad 2, juntion pass outer ring road 3, before can get off to ground level of the desination i want to go.
Singapore is very good at this one => build flyovers along CTE over the commonly congested exits like AMK ave 3 & 5, so that those going further north do not need to join in those exiting at these areas.
However, one thing I do support at the moment is the construction of KPE to attempt to ease some traffic off CTE; parallel expressways solution.
Afterall, LTA do have the survey results of cars entering and exiting these exits along CTE.
ERPs at the entrance of all carparks.
Let's tax all the cars.![]()
the best is to increase to 5 dollar per gantry, and the whole stretch of ecp and pie will have at least 5 gantries.
1 car - 25 dollars per day
10 cars - 250 dollars
100 cars - 2500 dollars
lol..we are the richest country inturn of transport!!
they should also set up a gantry at the woodlands check point too. there always traffic jam at the custom especially during the weekend.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:they should also set up a gantry at the woodlands check point too. there always traffic jam at the custom especially during the weekend.
I think you have brought out the most overlooked aspect for ERP.
I kudos you.
I salute you.
If implemented, the woodland check point would be congestion free.
this is achieved by having a cheap ERP fee of $20 SGD per entry.
Like this, no need to go JB buy petrol liao. All fuel revenue goes to singapore.
afterall, JB vehicles come here enjoy should pay and pay for the enjoyment also what . Some more some vehicles give out very toxic black smoke wans. Like entertainment industry. They song song enjoy liao, must pay also.
Why no ERP at checkpoint ha? Diplomatico ar?
they introduce traffic to singapore too right? its congested right? severely congested right? and then leh ? what happen? Opposition? where are you when needed? june holiday over soon leh.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
I think you have brought out the most overlooked aspect for ERP.I kudos you.
I salute you.
If implemented, the woodland check point would be congestion free.
this is achieved by having a cheap ERP fee of $20 SGD per entry.
Like this, no need to go JB buy petrol liao. All fuel revenue goes to singapore.
afterall, JB vehicles come here enjoy should pay and pay for the enjoyment also what . Some more some vehicles give out very toxic black smoke wans. Like entertainment industry. They song song enjoy liao, must pay also.
Why no ERP at checkpoint ha? Diplomatico ar?
they introduce traffic to singapore too right? its congested right? severely congested right? and then leh ? what happen? Opposition? where are you when needed? june holiday over soon leh.
is there a place for me to give my suggestion to them?
i really hope there is an ERP at woodlands checkpoint. then next time i see where got jam i can go suggest to them also.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:is there a place for me to give my suggestion to them?
i really hope there is an ERP at woodlands checkpoint. then next time i see where got jam i can go suggest to them also.
How bout the malaysian who travel to and fro to work in SG? Isn't that very unfair?