Originally posted by Midlusionz:
How bout the malaysian who travel to and fro to work in SG? Isn't that very unfair?
but our minister said that it is to improve the traffic flow.
what about residents at Toa Payoh, isn't that very unfair too?
Someone intending to set up a Fight Club???
the gahmen is trying to herd us around like sheeps.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:
How bout the malaysian who travel to and fro to work in SG? Isn't that very unfair?
no problem wans. Like those working in CBD area , its reported that their employers pay for their parking and maybe ERPs.
So, I think we should simply pass the cost to the employers who earns much more than they pay the employees. a few hundred or tens of dollars more a month paid to employees is really nothing if not zilch.
So, in my humble opine, its totally fair because, in this world, no one should owe anyone a living. If you are paid, better work for it. Else, you should be replaced. Even if you contributed for the last 40 odd years, no one owes you any shiit. You have been paid and like anyone else, in a democracy, you are expected to deliver and be accountable. You do not own the country.
If this guy buay song, no one will stop him from giving up his position for the next better player.
'this guy' and 'you' means people in general. no to offend anyone here. cheers!
Originally posted by freedom4ever:but our minister said that it is to improve the traffic flow.
what about residents at Toa Payoh, isn't that very unfair too?
I dun believe in "Our minister say this say that" thingy .. Do u know how many m'sian travel to and fro? As for the resident at TPY .. There's why they are complaining about it.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
no problem wans. Like those working in CBD area , its reported that their employers pay for their parking and maybe ERPs.So, I think we should simply pass the cost to the employers who earns much more than they pay the employees. a few hundred or tens of dollars more a month paid to employees is really nothing if not zilch.
So, in my humble opine, its totally fair because, in this world, no one should owe anyone a living. If you are paid, better work for it. Else, you should be replaced. Even if you contributed for the last 40 odd years, no one owes you any shiit. You have been paid and like anyone else, in a democracy, you are expected to deliver and be accountable. You do not own the country.
If this guy buay song, no one will stop him from giving up his position for the next better player.
'this guy' and 'you' means people in general. no to offend anyone here. cheers!
The ERP of cos its useful towards Singaporeans but hey those malaysian traveling to and fro damn poor thing .. Unless something is done about malaysian .. Then i will said this is a good idea.
Since when are their ideas good anyway? Many of their policies contradict each other. Dont even think they read or understand the contents before approving.....
Definitely not more good years ahead. Rather, more problems ahead.
Originally posted by Crimsonlknight:Since when are their ideas good anyway? Many of their policies contradict each other. Dont even think they read or understand the contents before approving.....
Definitely not more good years ahead. Rather, more problems ahead.
You mean public opinion and opposition opinions should be consulted before passing any policy?
democracy?
I no no de.
Policies on ERP and COEs seem contradictory
Lee Su Shyan
Mon, Jun 30, 2008
The Straits Times
I AM puzzled by the recent announcements on the impending Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) rate changes, with effect from July7.
I vividly remember reading a Straits Times article in March or April this year on a Land Transport Authority (LTA) report on the benefits of introducing ERP in Orchard Road.
The report stated that before ERP was introduced, retailers were worried the measures would drive away customers.
However, instead of business going downhill, retailers in Orchard are enjoying record boom. One reason was that ERP deterred motorists who used Orchard Road as a thoroughfare, and genuine shoppers flocked there to shop. The report also stated that car speeds were an optimum 20kmh to 30kmh, and ERP gantries in Orchard succeeded in keeping down traffic.
Now, on June 17, the LTA announced that car speeds in Orchard have fallen considerably, ERP charges will go up from $1 to $2 and operating hours on Saturdays will be from 11.30am to 8pm.
My question is, who validates and verifies that cars are moving at optimum speed? Who checks these reports? Who decides that, three months ago, the speed was optimum, but now it is no longer so?
One possible reason is that there are more cars on the road now. Cars are cheaper, application for car loans is easier, COE prices have dropped considerably, and rebates are given to motorists who switch to CNG cars.
The LTA controls the number of COEs issued, and although it says it will control the number of COEs issued because of highly congested roads, many policies are implemented to make car ownership easier.
So why does the LTA continue to issue COEs, even though it stated in a report last year that COEs issued are way above the stipulated quota - 9 per cent instead of 3 per cent?
And after issuing so many COEs, the LTA introduces ERP gantries everywhere with higher prices and longer operating hours to discourage vehicle use. Why not control the issuing of COEs in the first place?
I hope the LTA can shed some light on these apparently contradictory policies.
Jennifer Wong (Ms)
Originally posted by HyperFocal:Policies on ERP and COEs seem contradictory
Lee Su Shyan
Mon, Jun 30, 2008
The Straits Times
I AM puzzled by the recent announcements on the impending Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) rate changes, with effect from July7.I vividly remember reading a Straits Times article in March or April this year on a Land Transport Authority (LTA) report on the benefits of introducing ERP in Orchard Road.
The report stated that before ERP was introduced, retailers were worried the measures would drive away customers.
However, instead of business going downhill, retailers in Orchard are enjoying record boom. One reason was that ERP deterred motorists who used Orchard Road as a thoroughfare, and genuine shoppers flocked there to shop. The report also stated that car speeds were an optimum 20kmh to 30kmh, and ERP gantries in Orchard succeeded in keeping down traffic.Now, on June 17, the LTA announced that car speeds in Orchard have fallen considerably, ERP charges will go up from $1 to $2 and operating hours on Saturdays will be from 11.30am to 8pm.
My question is, who validates and verifies that cars are moving at optimum speed? Who checks these reports? Who decides that, three months ago, the speed was optimum, but now it is no longer so?
One possible reason is that there are more cars on the road now. Cars are cheaper, application for car loans is easier, COE prices have dropped considerably, and rebates are given to motorists who switch to CNG cars.
The LTA controls the number of COEs issued, and although it says it will control the number of COEs issued because of highly congested roads, many policies are implemented to make car ownership easier.
So why does the LTA continue to issue COEs, even though it stated in a report last year that COEs issued are way above the stipulated quota - 9 per cent instead of 3 per cent?
And after issuing so many COEs, the LTA introduces ERP gantries everywhere with higher prices and longer operating hours to discourage vehicle use. Why not control the issuing of COEs in the first place?
I hope the LTA can shed some light on these apparently contradictory policies.
Jennifer Wong (Ms)
Sounds like drug addiction leh...