UPI Editor at Large Arnaud de Borchgrave's interview with Singapore's Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew in Singapore Feb. 2, 2008
Arnaud de Borchgrave : So how do you see the future of capitalism?
Lee Kuan Yew : As chairman of the equivalent of our Sovereign Wealth Fund, we examine and decide where to invest our money, in equities or bonds or what have you. Our fund managers are paid five times what I get. Why? Because they have had good track records in growing our fund and we know what they could command in the private sector. They are dealing with billions of dollars every day and must be compensated accordingly.
Unbridled capitalism, winner takes all like in America, does not work unless you can cope with an underclass. So here we also stay with the losers, make sure they have enough to live on, with healthcare, equal education opportunities for their children whose parents can no longer afford it. It's very important they not feel abandoned. So we have workfare and ingenuous ways to keep them working as we don't want layabouts doing nothing. We also subsidize homes which they would not be able to buy. A society can only survive if there is a sense of equity and fair play.
Homer, Next time include the URL link please.
Haiz, that old man is really going senile.
http://www.spacedaily.com/reports/An_Interview_With_Lee_Kuan_Yew_2008_999.html
Scroll down to almost the bottom.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Homer, Next time include the URL link please.
Haiz, that old man is really going senile.
http://www.spacedaily.com/reports/An_Interview_With_Lee_Kuan_Yew_2008_999.html
Do we want a leader like him to continue to lead the nation?
We have top losers always thinking of ways and means to earn more and more money out of the people whom many are already coping to make ends meet. The top losers are drawing million and million dollar for their salary from the people who feed them whom they consider losers.
A society can only survive if there is a sense of equity and fair play.
Lee Kuan Yew said that!
Shock!
Horror!
Arghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!
I want Lee Kuan Yew to die, not Lee Kuan Yew talk cock to ang moh journalist.
Lee Kuan Yew, die now.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew said that!
Shock!
Horror!
Arghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!
The top losers in this country draw million and million dollar of salary from people who feed them. They earn million dollar salary from people whom he called losers. If Singaporeans are losers, lky, please stop earning money out of singaporeans.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
The top losers in this country draw million and million dollar of salary from people who feed them. They earn million dollar salary from people whom he called losers. If Singaporeans are losers, lky, please stop earning money out of singaporeans.
dude.. the underclass in sg dont need to pay tax if i am not wrong ?
besides gst
Originally posted by elementalangel:dude.. the underclass in sg dont need to pay tax if i am not wrong ?
besides gst
Does not pay tax does not mean he has every right to call anyone loser. It is unfortunate that Singapore has such a shitty leader like him.
Losers?
then they are earning money from losers too o:
doesnt that make them worse than losers?
Originally posted by Fureur:Losers?
then they are earning money from losers too o:
doesnt that make them worse than losers?
agree with you. They including lky are worse than losers.
Actually, I reckon them to be pretty darn smart to be leeching of losers. With a million dollar paycheck, who can call em losers?
Originally posted by elementalangel:dude.. the underclass in sg dont need to pay tax if i am not wrong ?
besides gst
Har ?? I read this I almost fall of my chair.
What does GST means ? Goods and Service TAX.
That one is not a tax.. then what ? Donation ???????
Harlow.. Tax is not just Income TAX.
Everything Gahmen collect from you is a form of TAX.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Har ?? I read this I almost fall of my chair.
What does GST means ? Goods and Service TAX.
That one is not a tax.. then what ? Donation ???????
Harlow.. Tax is not just Income TAX.
Everything Gahmen collect from you is a form of TAX.
perhaps the forumer meant donation to the leegime.
he and other ministers are still able to snatch our hard earned money makes us losers..
pls pay your income taxes.what? what has my income gotta do with the govt?what tax did you say it is again??income tax?screw that..
Originally posted by domonkassyu:he and other ministers are still able to snatch our hard earned money makes us losers..
pls pay your income taxes.what? what has my income gotta do with the govt?what tax did you say it is again??income tax?screw that..
losers are pap and lky, especially lky who is so kiasu kiasi that he fears harm from media, press so once he became PM he made press works for him, what a bloody loser he is.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:losers are pap and lky, especially lky who is so kiasu kiasi that he fears harm from media, press so once he became PM he made press works for him, what a bloody loser he is.
Originally posted by extra one:
u remind me of playboy_1985
Me no playboy OK. I am serious to see improvement in the way PAP runs the country.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew said that!
Shock!
Horror!
Arghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!
I want Lee Kuan Yew to die, not Lee Kuan Yew talk cock to ang moh journalist.
Lee Kuan Yew, die now.
We hope that you'll join him on that day too. Why stop at getting rid of one shameless git when you can get rid of more?
what i think he means is in capitalism. there is 100% will have a winner, and a loser. for someone to succeed, someone has to fall. he is not insulting the underclass as failures, rather referring to them as the collateral damage of someone rich from capitalism.
or he could just be going senile and be insulting poor people in an international interview. do you really think he's that dumb?
Originally posted by sexyfats:what i think he means is in capitalism. there is 100% will have a winner, and a loser. for someone to succeed, someone has to fall. he is not insulting the underclass as failures, rather referring to them as the collateral damage of someone rich from capitalism.
or he could just be going senile and be insulting poor people in an international interview. do you really think he's that dumb?
I don't think anyone here considers him dumb. The problem with this loser old man lky is that his growing arrogance knows no end and he thinks by who he is he has every right to say anything about anyone, any country, any politicians and so on. He has very serious attitude problem and the bad attitude is like a terminal illness he is suffering.
Looks like the government critics are all imbeciles....either that or they are all illiterate. LKY is talking about how a government must engage the underclass, the losers in the race up the economic ladder. What he said is true...consultation fees at polyclinics are ridiculously low, the child of a road sweeper has the same opportunity as the son of the tycoon to win government scholarships and HDB flats are subsidized by the government.
LKY is NOT calling the lower class losers, but just stating that in a capitalist society, there MUST be people made worse off ('losers') if there are people benefiting from the system ('winners').
in a true capitalist society such as the US, where everyone fights for themselves and takes home their own earnings, leaving those who did not fare as well as themselves to fend for themselves, which they cannot. thus in singapore, the government does step in to take care of this group of people and make sure they do not feel left out of society, as society will disintegrate and become unstable if this (large) group of people were to fall out of pace with the rest of the community.
i do agree that lky is arrogant and he could have brought his point across in a more pleasant way. his attitude most probably comes from his thinking that singapore is his, as he led it through the difficult times and brought much progress.
however, i also do agree that what he said is true and is for the betterment of society on the whole, although it may sound harsh to individuals, especially those being referred to as the 'underclass'. it is a fact of life that they are the ones at the tail end of singapore's great economic growth, not enjoying its benefits as much as the upper class.
but you must also bear in mind that income equity is a government aim and there are policies which benefit the 'underclass' more than the upper class. take for example income tax in singapore. the lower class who earn less than 20k annually dont have to pay a single cent of income tax at all, while the upper class may have to pay up to 20% of their take home income.
so dont feel insulted by lky. he is just looking out for society's welfare by promoting the welfare of the lower class, and not letting them feel abandoned. remember that the government has policies in your favour to promote equity. lky may have not said it in a nice way, but his aims are for the good of society.
if you're not happy with him, just wait for him to die. although the government will likely remain the same and run the country in the same way, this sort of comments probably wont be made anymore. =]
Well said, sexyfats, oxford mushroom and ayucrazy.
The critics (like civilgoh and co.) in this forum simply look like a bunch of zealots, very quick to put their common enemy (LKY) down, but are not entirely sound in their judgement. And their antics, such as calling for LKY to die (eg. poh ah pak) are not in the least impressive. Without LKY, SG would be part of M'sia. In which case, the only place you can go to is China. Wait, isn't SG becoming a China nowadays
So, LKY is still achieving his goals
What the critics have is aggression. But aggression in itself is not enough.
Are you harsh critics sitting somewhere in the middle-lower class? Pencil-pushers perhaps? Long hours, deteriorating mind and spirit? Cursing, swearing under your breaths all day, every day? My sympathies.
And to answer that pressing question in the back of your mind:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/313748
(yes you are)
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Looks like the government critics are all imbeciles....either that or they are all illiterate. LKY is talking about how a government must engage the underclass, the losers in the race up the economic ladder. What he said is true...consultation fees at polyclinics are ridiculously low, the child of a road sweeper has the same opportunity as the son of the tycoon to win government scholarships and HDB flats are subsidized by the government.
Oh Gawd.. another silver spooner.
Oii.. the world is bigger than that student dorm of yours.
Get your butts down to the underclass and talk to them yourself. Then you come here and tell us how well engaged the gahmen is with the underclass.
Consultation fees ?? bwahahahah.. the consultation fees are low.. it's the treatment and aftercare that's gonna kill you .
You know the difference between your fantasy and the real world ?