Preda Branca = LIGHT HOUSE.... but normally we will call them Horsburgh Lighthouse!!!Originally posted by Atobe:"ASK THEM... WHY WE ' CANT GIVE UP LIGHT HOUSE!!!! "
Originally posted by NDU on 8 January 2003 - 11:56pm
Eh NDU, this is not a television programme. So dun call forum users viewer, cos that is not the proper "callsign." Oh by the way, I don't appreciate people messing around with my nick just because they have differences of opinion. It really demonstrates their character. "Viewers" wont put any blame on the Port Authorities, why? Cos if there is any fault, it will be the Navy's.Originally posted by NDU:Preda Branca = LIGHT HOUSE.... but normally we will call them Horsburgh Lighthouse!!!
sorry, what i tryin to say was... we WILL NEVER GIVE UP Horsburgh Lighthouse !!! ITS TOO IMPORTANT to us... what you say.... i cant say its wrong... its the WINDOW!!! kekekke for us to SEE mah..... but abt the water... errrr i think no ler... i think normally when we heading towards the Horsburgh Lighthouse.... we will traval on INTERNATIONAL WATER!! thast what i know lah.... not 100% correct... but the water around the lighthouse we WOULD CONSIDER AS SINGAPORE WATER!!
what i tryin to tell him (shortgun) was who actually got the info... ITS 100% NOT PORT CONTROL!! coz, i was at MY so call port control b4... which i myself see and hear!! how they pass the msg to port contro (his so call porty control)l!!! ....... just now i almost type the callsign out!! lucky... i still be able to control!! SO.... JUST WANNA PROOF TO HIM.... HIS PORT CONTROL INFO WAS 'GIVEN' BY SOME OTHERS DEPARTMENT!! SORRIE... I REALLY CANT TELL MUCH.....![]()
just hope he stop posting info which he think is correct!!! and start mislead viewer... coz, if end of the day... news never say anything abt how the port control CAN help in the accident.... viewer might start putting the blame on them!!!
cheers
What I can say is simpleÂ….Originally posted by Shotgun:Eh NDU, this is not a television programme. So dun call forum users viewer, cos that is not the proper "callsign." Oh by the way, I don't appreciate people messing around with my nick just because they have differences of opinion. It really demonstrates their character. "Viewers" wont put any blame on the Port Authorities, why? Cos if there is any fault, it will be the Navy's.
Oh by the way. The MPA has Vessel Traffic Information systems that can track and GUIDE ships that appear to be on a collision course. However, I'm not saying that they track RSN ships too.
Originally posted by solaris:
hello shotgun
I do not know NDU and i agree that his way of putting his point across may be a bit abrasive. However i have to agree with his points.![]()
you from navy? you agree with my point!! thanks... this shown that after spending so many in the navy i did learn something!!
me talk lao lan? hahahaha i'm from where... you know... coz, thats the way we train ....
last but not least... ppl who read ur post they will agree with you as you r good in expressing you view in words.... as for me... only ppl like you who know the picture then you will agree.....
I served onboard one of the APV for a significant period of time and the waters off Pedra Branca are certainly areas for which the RNS is responsible for patrolling. At every single moment throughout the year, one RSN ship(normally a PV of 182 SQN or a APV of 189 SQN) will be out at sea on patrol missions - This information was released in one of the Pioneer articles.
[b]Courageous was on a routine patrol mission
The APV is not stationary but probably rather at a speed of 3 - 4 knots - Most patrol ships do patrol at that speed at some point in the patrol and for all the news report about the traffic density off Pedra Branca, most watchkeeping officers of 182 and 189 will agree with me that off Pedra Branca, the traffic is relatively light once you are out of the maritime traffic separation scheme in operation there. This permit you to operate at a relatively low speed. However once we are in the traffic lanes, we will pick up speed to perform collision avoidance with the commercial vessels. As of now, we do not know the motion status of Courageous(Pennant Number 96). The patrol ships DO NOT receive collision avoidance guidance from the MPA VITS systems. The nav radar is definitely on as per the modus operandi of the mission. No comments about the EW status and I do not think any responsible naval personel will disclosed that in this forum. A possible scenario based on my experience of such missions could be as followed -
96 was off Pedra Branca on routine patrol mission and it could be at a speed ranging from 3 - 24. At the higher speed, the watch will be more vigilant and paradoxically the risk of collision will have been reduced due to the higher state of alert. However 96 could have been in a supposedly quiet area which permit it the luxury of cruising at a slow speed. The collision occurs at 1135pm with the next changing over due at midnight. Being in a quiet area and at the end of the watch, the watchkeepers could be in a more relaxed mood and with it reduced vigilance. They might not spot ANL Indonesia. ANL Indonesia probably had a course which brought them to the eastern extreme of the lane and this might not be detected by the watchkeepers. In short, I believed human negligence was to blame and we should not conjure up extraordinary scenarios to explain such incidents. The OOW, POOW, Radar Plotter of the Watch and the 2x Lookouts all share the blame but the key role rest with the OOW
Okay, whatever. Truce now.Originally posted by NDU:What I can say is simpleÂ….
You r highly educated and IÂ’m notÂ… me just N level, I cant use those POWDERFUL words like youÂ…..
As for the words ‘viewer’ if you wanna laugh… just carry on… as I cant think of a BETTER word then this…
But for the point you have madeÂ… I still donÂ’t agree!! CozÂ… its NOT the FACT!! Why solaris say he agree with my point? CozÂ… he know whats im trying to say and thatÂ’s some actual fact that I cant mention it down here!! If I were to say those callsign or how we gonna operate in the patrol sectorÂ… two things will happen!! If I being CAUGHT of telling those info down hereÂ… me kena screw big time!! 2nd, if OTHER country navy personal saw this piece of newsÂ… they will know how we operate!! AND FOR UR SO CALL VTIS FILE!! Go and check that WHO actually give them those file!!! As you are asking meÂ… IF IÂ’M THAT SMARTÂ…. I WOULD KNOW WHOS AT FAULTÂ…. HaloÂ…. Who mÂ’I to SAY WHICH PARTY is at fault? Ofcoz I cant answer this question!! But the ANSWER is pretty obvious!! Why ANL is allow to leave?
As for your nickÂ… I donÂ’t intend to play with it!! As I only notice it when you say it. SoÂ… paisay abt thatÂ…. And if you think that IÂ’m lao lanÂ…. IÂ’ve too agree with thatÂ…Â….. yes IÂ’mÂ…..![]()
halo...Originally posted by Atobe:Sadly, on the advice of the Forensic Science Department, the RSN has decided to call off the search for the last missing Navy Girl.
There seems to be no further news about the recovery of the aft section that was sliced off the Patrol Vessel, and which contained the sleeping quarters of all the four affected Navy Girls.