look where singaproe is.. and the countries above us.. you will barf
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Democracy_Index
first world country indeed..nOT!
Thank you for the article. Wow, Malaysia, hong KOng, SouthKorea, Philippines, India, Pakistan are ahead of Singapore. I am surprised INdia is ahead of Singapore.
In Singapore, it does not matter if there is democracy, the pap gahmen is focused on money making. Democracy can pose as a threat to their profit making. For gahmen who claim Singapore a first world country yet it is behind third world countries for democracy, what a great joke.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Thank you for the article. Wow, Malaysia, hong KOng, SouthKorea, Philippines, India, Pakistan are ahead of Singapore. I am surprised INdia is ahead of Singapore.
In Singapore, it does not matter if there is democracy, the pap gahmen is focused on money making. Democracy can pose as a threat to their profit making. For gahmen who claim Singapore a first world country yet it is behind third world countries for democracy, what a great joke.
yeah you have what nots like Albania, Palestine (this has got to be a joke), Timor-Leste ahead of Singapore!
this no one dares to publish in the newspapers??
anything we are not in top 20 no one dares to publish in the papers.
Originally posted by foxwalk:yeah you have what nots like Albania, Palestine (this has got to be a joke), Timor-Leste ahead of Singapore!
this no one dares to publish in the newspapers??
anything we are not in top 20 no one dares to publish in the papers.
PAP works on kiasu kiasi mentality.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:PAP works on kiasu kiasi mentality.
... for themselves
Democracy has its pro and cons too.
Too democratic and we will end up like Taiwan and Indian where their governments cannot function properly due to the incessant hinder from the oppositions.
Too strict and we become mindless citizens who only know how to mind our own business.
relax we are above north korea. just need to beat msia can le
like jay would say.. 比�比去,比�比去,比丘比丘比丘比�丘
in essence.. why compare?
Originally posted by Spartans:Democracy has its pro and cons too.
Too democratic and we will end up like Taiwan and Indian where their governments cannot function properly due to the incessant hinder from the oppositions.
Too strict and we become mindless citizens who only know how to mind our own business.
Depends on to what extent democracy is allowed. If protest leads to chaos and division then it is negative, but here in Singapore even peaceful protest is not allowed. Shake head. All is expected of us as people of Singapore from the PAP is to be a yes sir, yes sir nation. We are to be led by the "nose" by PAP and not questioning them.
Which democratic first world country leader will want to sue for defamation when his integrity is questioned?
Originally posted by Civilgoh:Depends on to what extent democracy is allowed. If protest leads to chaos and division then it is negative, but here in Singapore even peaceful protest is not allowed. Shake head. All is expected of us as people of Singapore from the PAP is to be a yes sir, yes sir nation. We are to be led by the "nose" by PAP and not questioning them.
Which democratic first world country leader will want to sue for defamation when his integrity is questioned?
Indeed we need to strike a balance between democracy and efficiency. It is by no mean an easy task.
And yes you are right. Suing oppostion rivals are rarely heard of in other first world nations.
Originally posted by Spartans:
Indeed we need to strike a balance between democracy and efficiency. It is by no mean an easy task.And yes you are right. Suing oppostion rivals are rarely heard of in other first world nations.
As a man, old man lee simply has no "du liang". He is too narrow minded and is a paranoid.
Lee Kuan Yew must die.
Originally posted by Spartans:Democracy has its pro and cons too.
er.. taiwan and indian economy doing not bad wor....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew must die.
Imagine there's no Heaven
It's easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today
Imagine there's no countries
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace
You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one
Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world
You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will live as one
Originally posted by foxwalk:look where singaproe is.. and the countries above us.. you will barf
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Democracy_Index
first world country indeed..nOT!
Oh my! The ranking is not so nice. Has this wiki been reported in your Straits Times yet?
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:Oh my! The ranking is not so nice. Has this wiki been reported in your Straits Times yet?
Be assured, it will not be reported. Anything Singapore lacks behind the PAP controlled press will not report.
Bravo... you came up with that conclusion from a Wikipedia article that anyone with a wikipedia account can edit... furthermore, the article is based on 2 refrences only and only one estimate the democracy index...
you come up with that kind of conclusion in a school report you sure kena D -
In addition, it is stated right there we have a hybrid regime... I will take that anytime over a "flawed democracy"
I don't believe in total democracy... Democracy will only work if Singapore's citizen is mature enough to accept the responsibility... and that I doubt will happen in the near future...
"Power to the people", if Singaporean are given the power, I can guess a few things that would be passed... (1) Lower down the GST... yay, everything is cheaper, then who will pay for government infrastructure... (2) Abolish ERP... yay, then suddenly traffic jam everywhere... (3) Legalise Chewing gum... yay, now got chewing gum everywhere...
Singapore society is not ready to handle the responsibility of democracy...
"Power to the people", if Singaporean are given the power, I can guess a few things that would be passed... (1) Lower down the GST... yay, everything is cheaper, then who will pay for government infrastructure... (2) Abolish ERP... yay, then suddenly traffic jam everywhere... (3) Legalise Chewing gum... yay, now got chewing gum everywhere...
Beware, you may be unknowingly under influence of PAP propaganda.
You mean now no traffic jam?
Really? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:You mean now no traffic jam?
Really?
Now got traffic jam... but later more traffic jam... imagine causeway... ![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
Beware, you may be unknowingly under influence of PAP propaganda.
Can you prove that Singaporeans are mature enough?
If they are matured enough, they wont be talking about the same article over and over again. that to me is jiak pah boh sai pang.
Can you prove that Singaporeans are mature enough?
What is your definition of mature?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What is your definition of mature?
A mature society would (1) Make decission based on the country's interest, not themselves (don't stray into you anti-LKY talk here), (2) Have great forsight, don't make decission based on current whims (3) Be able to retain culture
Basically be able to make decissions without destroying he country...
So far, all I heard from Singaporeans are complaints of NS, complaints of GST, complaints, complaints and more complaints wihtout even thinking why the decission was made in the 1st place... Would you have this country runned with full democracy by these kind of people?
I have heard people wanting Singapore to legalise public demonstration... Have people forgotten about 1964 riots... Do people even think there is a possibility that a peaceful demonstration can lead to a riot... (Tibet) especially in Singapore, can such a small country afford such a riot... (1992 Los Angeles Citywide riot). Would you have this country in full democracy lead by people with fforesight like this...?
Fact... full democracy will lead to a failure one day because humans are creatures of emotions 1st logic 2nd... we need a supreme authority to make sure we don't stray to bad decissions... Be it LKY now, or Someone else in the future...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What is your definition of mature?
Poh, no point talking to those who refuse to know and accept the truth and reality.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
Poh, no point talking to those who refuse to know and accept the truth and reality.
whose truth and whose reality ?