i see alot of people complaining about the situation in sg but many arent taking up the challenges of emigrating to other countries?
why??
emigration is not an easy process and tough at certain times when u are out of your familiar zone, but it sure beats feeling frustrated and angry all the times in SG.
who know? u might want to come back and live in SG with a different new perspective too.
Fishy,
Unfortunately, most of the countries SGreans want to immigrate to.. don't have the same open leg policy like SG.
So you go figure lor.
Complaining are for people who are well-fed.
Migration wont solve problems..feedback from s'poreans who lives overseas said that they still find s'pore the best place to live in..one of the reasons is safety..wonder y they migrate knowing this reason..
So many new registered users.
So many wonderful things to say about Singapore.
Keep it up. ![]()
Originally posted by fishbuff1:i see alot of people complaining about the situation in sg but many arent taking up the challenges of emigrating to other countries?
why??
emigration is not an easy process and tough at certain times when u are out of your familiar zone, but it sure beats feeling frustrated and angry all the times in SG.
who know? u might want to come back and live in SG with a different new perspective too.
u already answer part of your own qns..it aint ez..have u ever thought that avg sg people got no god damn $$$ to migrate??
Originally posted by charlize:So many new registered users.
So many wonderful things to say about Singapore.
Keep it up.
i thought in the past there used to be a nick called fishbuff.
i am leaving. soon.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:i see alot of people complaining about the situation in sg but many arent taking up the challenges of emigrating to other countries?
why??
Originally posted by pearlie27:
It is a tad simplistic to say that when one voices some concern one must think of leaving the country. As concerned citizens shouldn't we participating in the public life of the nation?
Public Life?
Protest?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Public Life?Protest?
Public life means issues that affect the general public. Participation means taking part in public discussions to give our views and hopefully one day we'll be able to stage peaceful demonstrations when the need arises.
National day parade?
Originally posted by Go:
National day parade?
Does national day parade affects your life or your children's future?
Does the any others affect your life or your children's future ?
It is just that one belongs to a positive and the other belongs to a negative
Originally posted by Go:
Does the any others affect your life or your children's future ?
It is just that one belongs to a positive and the other belongs to a negative
What do you mean by "one belongs to a positive and the other belongs to a negative"? Hope i get you right "the any others affect your life or your children's future" include the forever increasing ERP fees and gantries and the increase in GST.
Pearlie,
Our gahmen.. wants you to guai guai sit at home.. keep quiet.. don't talk too much.. don't think too much...don't argue with them ..... just study hard... work like a cow.. then give them taxes, don't ask, don't question... because they are always right.
OK? Good.
boss... dun fire mi hor.... i dun wan to go back ar....
Public life means issues that affect the general public. Participation means taking part in public discussions to give our views and hopefully one day we'll be able to stage peaceful demonstrations when the need arises.
We live in Singapore and there is definitely nothing wrong to engage in any discussion on local issues that affect our life rather than be indifferent to what is happening and affect life in Singapore. There are people who take this as something negative and do name calling "losers",, "sheep", "anti-PAP" and you name it.
The ruling party of course hope that nobody at all voice out any negative issues concerning them, but this is fat hope really. WE are not robots, we are human with brain, flesh, feelings, intellect, freedom . . . .
Well yeah you yourself said that it is difficult to uproot your whole family and bring them to live in an entirely new place, never to return again... You just don't sever ties with Singapore without some amount of hesitation... There is a lot that we love about this country, just that there are some problems too.
Uprooting them only to bring them back is even worse, would have made the decision seemingly a waste of time.
I don't think most Singaporeans are prepared to take off unless they have much stronger reasons to do so.
The grass always looks greener on the other side. Is migration the solution to the complaints? No country is perfect. Every country has its positive points and negative points. It all depends on what you really want at that point in time. Personally I have expeience both sides of the coins. Though away from S'pore for so many years, I still call S'pore my home. And when the "Ang Mohs" asked me how come I can speak clear and proper English, I will proudly said that I am from Singapore where English is the mainstream in schools for a multicultural society. See, the positiveness of our education (English) that gives one a chance to migrate and intergrate into an Ang Moh country.
Originally posted by Tammiemeow:The grass always looks greener on the other side. Is migration the solution to the complaints? No country is perfect. Every country has its positive points and negative points. It all depends on what you really want at that point in time. Personally I have expeience both sides of the coins. Though away from S'pore for so many years, I still call S'pore my home. And when the "Ang Mohs" asked me how come I can speak clear and proper English, I will proudly said that I am from Singapore where English is the mainstream in schools for a multicultural society. See, the positiveness of our education (English) that gives one a chance to migrate and intergrate into an Ang Moh country.
That's what the North Korean government has been telling their citizens, "the grass always looks greener on the other side". ![]()
Originally posted by Tammiemeow:The grass always looks greener on the other side. Is migration the solution to the complaints? No country is perfect. Every country has its positive points and negative points. It all depends on what you really want at that point in time. Personally I have expeience both sides of the coins. Though away from S'pore for so many years, I still call S'pore my home. And when the "Ang Mohs" asked me how come I can speak clear and proper English, I will proudly said that I am from Singapore where English is the mainstream in schools for a multicultural society. See, the positiveness of our education (English) that gives one a chance to migrate and intergrate into an Ang Moh country.
The ability to speak English.. only makes your life easier in a English speaking country.
But it does not means you are able to integrate into their culture just because you speak their language.
It has more to do with your behavior.. your beliefs.. your ability to accept and become part of their culture. And most importantly, their acceptance of the difference in you.
There are many immigrant in western country who do not speak the language.. yet they live and thrived like many who do.
Your adaptability is what makes or breaks you in a foreign land.
migrating is about the whole family. not yourself imho .. One member dun wish to migrate u can forget bout it.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
i thought in the past there used to be a nick called fishbuff.
yup, same old person.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Fishy,
Unfortunately, most of the countries SGreans want to immigrate to.. don't have the same open leg policy like SG.
So you go figure lor.
open leg policy? wow.. 1st time i hear this.
btw, i just saw this SG indian lady news caster on SBS channel here.
http://www20.sbs.com.au/sbscorporate/index.php?id=1249