Originally posted by mistyblue:
Respect is not given but earned. You do not need to have Singapore citizenship to get respect. Respect is also not given to a piece of paper that gives you a certain citizenship. Its just that Singapore citizenship just happen to open more doors to other countries but I think the western countries will get the message that Singapore citizenship is losing it previous value as it is given rather freely to anyone who wants to be a citizen.
Singapore citizenship is like the flyers you receive from the street.
dont ever convert to sg citizenship..no diff frm a pr. but if maintain original citizenship, at least gt a leeway should things fail..
a cunning rabbit will have more then an exit.
Originally posted by Zech Lee:
i think nowadays the govt is taking away more and more privileges from PRs to 'force' them to become Singapore Citizens. so in the end only we citizens enjoy the privileges and PRs will have very little to enjoy, maybe.i think we Singaporeans are more respected worldwide than ppl from other countries.
What type of privleges were taken away?
Can be precise?
Singaporeans respected? You sure or not? Sometimes taking the MRT makes me feel ashame to be a Singaporean looking at how inconsiderate the rush-phucks are.
Now, in any public area, even in office, so many are foreigners. When talking, I have no choice but be careful else accidentally say something they no like to hear.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Now, in any public area, even in office, so many are foreigners. When talking, I have no choice but be careful else accidentally say something they no like to hear.
U careful not to hurt their pride. I hear something like Spore men need to serve NS in order to learn basic manners n this came from the mouth of a PRC lecturer.
Originally posted by yamizi:What type of privleges were taken away?
Can be precise?
Singaporeans respected? You sure or not? Sometimes taking the MRT makes me feel ashame to be a Singaporean looking at how inconsiderate the rush-phucks are.
Things like higher school fees than last time lor. Last year my friend pays the same sum of school fees as Singaporeans every month. This year onwards, he has to pay 30 dollars more per month.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Now, in any public area, even in office, so many are foreigners. When talking, I have no choice but be careful else accidentally say something they no like to hear.
This is quite similiar to my friend's case. My friend is worried that if he takes up Singapore Citizenship, Singaporeans may be unhappy and may not regard him as a Singaporean at all. In the end, he may end up in nowhere...
Originally posted by will4:
U careful not to hurt their pride. I hear something like Spore men need to serve NS in order to learn basic manners n this came from the mouth of a PRC lecturer.
There's more rude things from a PRC mouth than you want to know.
Walau...this PRC lecturer is damn retarded lor! Even my friend don't think this way. Maybe this lecturer needs to be caned in Singapore prison to "learn basic manners".
Originally posted by Zech Lee:Walau...this PRC lecturer is damn retarded lor! Even my friend don't think this way. Maybe this lecturer needs to be caned in Singapore prison to "learn basic manners".
When this thing happened, it is inside a lift. Basically he said in NS, enlistees need to greet their spec or officers n cannot talk back to them. They seemed to be very proud
of their PLA especially their air force officer can go to the moon.
Originally posted by mistyblue:There's more rude things from a PRC mouth than you want to know.
Their mouth is ver sharp especially their criticism is like a dagger to the heart.
When this thing happened, it is inside a lift. Basically he said in NS, enlistees need to greet their spec or officers n cannot talk back to them. They seemed to be very proudof their PLA especially their air force officer can go to the moon.
I think this so-called PRC lecturer don't even know how to think lor.
The astronauts in China are not even under the Chinese air force lor, but under a different organisation.
Also, it is the astronauts themselves who go to the moon, but not this stupid lecturer wad...so what's the point for him to be so proud?
Just offer newater to the PRC lecturer lor.
Cheers!
There are some indians from India and PRC from China.. Some of them got this mentality .. "Damn, i am out from my country and i am able to get such a high pay job in SG .. Woo damn big fuck i am" Thinking they are all good.
Originally posted by Zech Lee:Things like higher school fees than last time lor. Last year my friend pays the same sum of school fees as Singaporeans every month. This year onwards, he has to pay 30 dollars more per month.
30SGD per month more to exempt from NS liability which includes our reservist terms, I think worth it leh.
How many Singaporean guys agree?
Originally posted by yamizi:30SGD per month more to exempt from NS liability which includes our reservist terms, I think worth it leh.
How many Singaporean guys agree?
me..me..i dun mind pay $50
he's better off remaining as a chinese nationale
Originally posted by Zech Lee:
This is quite similiar to my friend's case. My friend is worried that if he takes up Singapore Citizenship, Singaporeans may be unhappy and may not regard him as a Singaporean at all. In the end, he may end up in nowhere...
If he is converting to Singaporean, I don't see why the other Singaporean would be unhappy if he is not using Singapore as a stepping stone to migrate to someone else (In fact, I am more than happy to welcome him). Afterall, he MUST give up his China citizenship first. He will also be getting whatever goodies PLUS shit we are getting from the gov.
PR still have their original citizenship and yet enjoy much of the benefit the local are getting (but not the responsibility). And they can easily return to their homelands if anything goes wrong. ![]()
I remember I used to have a friend who holds a pink IC but he was borned in Perak (if I remember correctly). However, upon NS, he was made to go ICA to declare to give up the citizenship, so that he can serve NS.
Haha.
Anyway he managed to keng from Pes BP to Pes E.
He's good.
Haha.
No one wants to die needlessly for a country which do not take care of its own countrymen
PR only wad. can renounce it and go back china as and when he wishes. somemore he will not have to serve NS as he is first generation PR.
if he is smart, cling on to his PRC citizenship, and remain as a citizen of the world's future superpower.
BTW is it posible for Ex-Singaporeans to apply for Singapore PR?
The other day saw that Singapore is trying to woo back ex-singaoporeans leh. So maybe can loh
Originally posted by mistyblue:The other day saw that Singapore is trying to woo back ex-singaoporeans leh. So maybe can loh
Yippy-YAi-Yippy-Yay!!!
Originally posted by deathmaster:PR only wad. can renounce it and go back china as and when he wishes. somemore he will not have to serve NS as he is first generation PR.
if he is smart, cling on to his PRC citizenship, and remain as a citizen of the world's future superpower.
my friend needs to serve NS too even though he is first generation PR because now the policy has changed.
according to my friend, the ICA says it is compulsory for him as first generation PR to serve NS under this "attract foreign talent" scheme. den my friend visited the BMTC already...
but my friend can choose whether to serve NS or not. if he chooses not to serve NS, then his PR will be taken away and it will be hard for him to apply for a student pass or etc. next time in Singapore