Originally posted by Zech Lee:my friend needs to serve NS too even though he is first generation PR because now the policy has changed.
according to my friend, the ICA says it is compulsory for him as first generation PR to serve NS under this "attract foreign talent" scheme. den my friend visited the BMTC already...
but my friend can choose whether to serve NS or not. if he chooses not to serve NS, then his PR will be taken away and it will be hard for him to apply for a student pass or etc. next time in Singapore
what is so great and good about the ruling party that people wanna be PR or citizen. Your china govt is better in taking care of you people. When you people get old, china govt pay you pension, if you get old here you will not be receiving pension. The PAP gahmen make you pay for insurance and you are only allow to draw the money at age 80 and above. 70 years old and above are allowed free travel on public transport and in Singapore when you grow old, no money no talk.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:what is so great and good about the ruling party that people wanna be PR or citizen. Your china govt is better in taking care of you people. When you people get old, china govt pay you pension, if you get old here you will not be receiving pension. The PAP gahmen make you pay for insurance and you are only allow to draw the money at age 80 and above. 70 years old and above are allowed free travel on public transport and in Singapore when you grow old, no money no talk.
i've been to China b4...even their state media has many good things to say about Singapore u noe...so our country is portrayed as a very clean, positive, upright, dynamic, wealthy and civilised first-world society. of course many PRC like SGP lah
People in China can retire at about 40-50 yrs old. Its rather attractive :-D
PRs should become Sg citizens! Then they can have a realistic feel of how we really live.
Maybe they should have a reality check. Advertisement usually bluff one. I heard our gahmen is trying to come out with something to attract our fellow singaporeans whom become PR/citizen in other countries, back here. Singapore is losing our own people to other countries and it has become quite a problem.
Originally posted by Justical:Maybe they should have a reality check. Advertisement usually bluff one. I heard our gahmen is trying to come out with something to attract our fellow singaporeans whom become PR/citizen in other countries, back here. Singapore is losing our own people to other countries and it has become quite a problem.
I think it is difficult cause when majority of them went to other countries to study, chances of them going back is not high due to several reason.
stress of overcrowding n reservist for the guys
Originally posted by Zech Lee:
i've been to China b4...even their state media has many good things to say about Singapore u noe...so our country is portrayed as a very clean, positive, upright, dynamic, wealthy and civilised first-world society. of course many PRC like SGP lah
Maybe you like to see things from the external point of view, which I think our country has successfully market as it is.
However, I believe and like to rely on the experience that individuals have experienced from the inside.
Clean? Maybe...certain nationals have been seen hanging their laundry, bedsheets, etc on the chin-up bar at my place to sun...
Positive? My manager has been using retrenchment has a fear factor to control the secretaries...
Upright? Refer to the above...
Dynamic? More FTs coming in easily and more locals trying to go out struggling...
Wealthy? I just look into the mirror and know that I am not...
Civilised? After suffer all the elbow jabs in the sardine-packed MRT...?
I'm not sure who are you trying to kid...
Originally posted by yamizi:Maybe you like to see things from the external point of view, which I think our country has successfully market as it is.
However, I believe and like to rely on the experience that individuals have experienced from the inside.
Clean? Maybe...certain nationals have been seen hanging their laundry, bedsheets, etc on the chin-up bar at my place to sun...
Positive? My manager has been using retrenchment has a fear factor to control the secretaries...
Upright? Refer to the above...
Dynamic? More FTs coming in easily and more locals trying to go out struggling...
Wealthy? I just look into the mirror and know that I am not...
Civilised? After suffer all the elbow jabs in the sardine-packed MRT...?
I'm not sure who are you trying to kid...
I believed the govt's main idea of attracting foreign professional is to let them settle in this country especially with the declining birthrate.
Unforutnately, they merely used this country as a stepping stone to other countries.
Originally posted by Zech Lee:I have one classmate from China who was suddenly offered a PR-ship by ICA last year for no reason. Attracting foreign talent, maybe?
And the ICA has encouraged him to take up Singapore Citizenship 3 years later, which is two years from now.
My classmate has lived in Singapore for a few years already and he speaks just like all of us. He also gets A1 or A2 for his English as well.
He told me that he likes Singapore very much, too. However, he somehow feels that Singaporeans generally would not welcome him to become a Singapore Citizen and he feels puzzled whether to take up Singapore Citizenship or not.
Singapore and China Citizenship. Which one should he choose?
Like does not mean they will stay permanently here. I speak them and almost everyone I speak to come here to earn $ and return thereafter.
It's a politic thingy. China and Singapore has very good tie (SG invested a lot of $$$ in China) therefore China state media will say good thing about Singapore.
Originally posted by 333225520:It's a politic thingy. China and Singapore has very good tie (SG invested a lot of $$$ in China) therefore China state media will say good thing about Singapore.
YOu hit the nail on the head, bingo.
Originally posted by pearlie27:
Of course stick to his China citizenship unless he likes the 2 years of enslavement.
even if my friend stick to China citizenship and remain as PR, also must serve NS...
sure or not, did you hear wrongly?
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
If TS's fren is a second generation PR, it is compulsory for him to serve full time NS.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
it's true that he as first generation PR has to serve NS.
cos he took the offer from the ICA under this "Foreign Student Scheme"...
it's true that he as first generation PR has to serve NS.cos he took the offer from the ICA under this "Foreign Student Scheme"...
NS is not just the 2 years but the entire package also include the reservist.
Originally posted by 333225520:NS is not just the 2 years but the entire package also include the reservist.
surely is liddat one mah...
the same people who were complaining about the burdens of citizenship, complaining about foreigners coming here to reap all the benefits, and sharing none of the burden, are now encouraging this foreign chap here to just get the PR and not citizenship ? ....
it sounds awfully like slapping oneself in the face, no ? .... ![]()
I would say, if you want to come here to enjoy the fruits of our society, you jolly well share in it's burdens too ... and no, i don't mean just paying taxes ...
it's true that he as first generation PR has to serve NS.cos he took the offer from the ICA under this "Foreign Student Scheme"...
Wah then he quite 'lucky' wor.
Wish him all the best in charging up the hill!
Haha.
Originally posted by Fatum:
the same people who were complaining about the burdens of citizenship, complaining about foreigners coming here to reap all the benefits, and sharing none of the burden, are now encouraging this foreign chap here to just get the PR and not citizenship ? ....
it sounds awfully like slapping oneself in the face, no ? ....
I would say, if you want to come here to enjoy the fruits of our society, you jolly well share in it's burdens too ... and no, i don't mean just paying taxes ...
I support forcing all PR to choose to convert to Singaporean after they have stayed in Singapore for maybe 2 to 3 years. And having 1st generation PR serve NS as well (including reservist). If so, I will welcome them with my both hands extended (both legs also can). ![]()
But from what I know from all my PR friends, none wanted to convert to Singaporean as they don't see any advantage in doing so (maybe should make it mandatory?).
Becoming a sg citizen means ... you can contribute your hard earned money to the CPF Board.
Ask not what the MIW can do for you but rather what you can do for the MIW.
Really.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Becoming a sg citizen means ... you can contribute your hard earned money to the CPF Board.
Ask not what the MIW can do for you but rather what you can do for the MIW.
Really.
So wat can i do for MIW? ![]()
Originally posted by yamizi:Wah then he quite 'lucky' wor.
Wish him all the best in charging up the hill!
Haha.
Yeah quite 'lucky' in that sense lor. but as mentioned earlier, my friend has the freedom to give up his PR-ship in order not to serve NS next time, if he feels like doing so.
Also under the "foreign student scheme", this will not result in him being punished by the garmen. If he gives up his PR-ship, then he may have difficulty applying for student pass next time in Singapore.
But my friend said that he "looked forward to NS" after the garmen organised a visit to the BMTC for him this year and he found his IMT result to be quite good, which may have boosted his confidence in NS.
wow, so it is true that there is no such thing as free lunch. LKY himself did mention that no such thing as free lunch. Tell your friend be wise to make the right choice. China govt takes better care of the peoplel, PAP keep taking $ from people.