Originally posted by charlize:Becoming a sg citizen means ... you can contribute your hard earned money to the CPF Board.
Ask not what the MIW can do for you but rather what you can do for the MIW.
Really.
laugh ha h aha ![]()
Originally posted by Zech Lee:
Yeah quite 'lucky' in that sense lor. but as mentioned earlier, my friend has the freedom to give up his PR-ship in order not to serve NS next time, if he feels like doing so.Also under the "foreign student scheme", this will not result in him being punished by the garmen. If he gives up his PR-ship, then he may have difficulty applying for student pass next time in Singapore.
But my friend said that he "looked forward to NS" after the garmen organised a visit to the BMTC for him this year and he found his IMT result to be quite good, which may have boosted his confidence in NS.
Have you done your NS?
i've been to China b4...even their state media has many good things to say about Singapore u noe...so our country is portrayed as a very clean, positive, upright, dynamic, wealthy and civilised first-world society. of course many PRC like SGP lah
Thais also perceive SG as a very clean, positive, highly developed, wealthy, advanced, and first-world society. Many Thais, including me, also want to take up SG or any other first-world citizenship as "something to fall back on" in case Thailand plunging into instability, which is very likely in the next 2-3 years. (I don't need to say more why.) For me, I have already been granted Canadian citizenship so I don't need to think about Singapore or elsewhere anymore.
But China is fast becoming my target for 3rd citizenship because of many opportunities, proximity to Thailand, and my ties to China as 3rd generation.
The only drawback of SG is it is too small a country.
The good thing of residing in a big country with vast land area and easy access to sea shores like the US, Canada, Australia, or China (but India not included for its mediocre infrastructure) is you feel like you have more freedom to crisscross or go anywhere you want within their territory.
Originally posted by yamizi:Have you done your NS?
Nope.
my friend and i r both from a boys' school. actually going to e army is not compulsory in china, so i guess my friend can join it anytime if he wants
Very difficult to get in the Chinese military though, from what my friend has told me. They have such a large talent pool, that to get in you really have to be best of the best, super fit.
Even wearing glasses eliminates you instantly and automatically from the selection process.
Originally posted by MrSean:
Very difficult to get in the Chinese military though, from what my friend has told me. They have such a large talent pool, that to get in you really have to be best of the best, super fit.Even wearing glasses eliminates you instantly and automatically from the selection process.
oh, my friend has perfect eyesight and is one of the two people in our class of 35 ppl who do not wear glasses.
Originally posted by will4:
U careful not to hurt their pride. I hear something like Spore men need to serve NS in order to learn basic manners n this came from the mouth of a PRC lecturer.
I think this lecturer of yours needs to learn basic manners.
Of course S'poreans got respect in China lah!!
Pay so many $$ there, didn't get back something (not money tho), how can?
Anyway, back to ur frd's situation. It's really his choice, I would reject the NS and remain as his original nationality. At least he go back PRC liao, cannot find a decent job, still can teach English. Language teacher's pay is quite the good one.
Originally posted by Zech Lee:Nope.
What are been exhibited and what you will be going through will be totally different.
Of course the amenities and facilities are way better during our fathers' time. But the regimental lifestyle is not necessary easily adapted by anyone.
Originally posted by yamizi:What are been exhibited and what you will be going through will be totally different.
Of course the amenities and facilities are way better during our fathers' time. But the regimental lifestyle is not necessary easily adapted by anyone.
But the Kam Lam-ness is still the same.....
my daughter in law who is a Malaysia and a doctor in TTSH and a PR, our sily sg pays her S$2000 as a housing allowance , my son who is in NS as a CPT MO earning lesser salary and no other allowance except free lunches at cockhouse deprived him of specialist course for 1.4 years,what the use of citizenship?
Both of them will serve their bonds with this sg and say thank u and good bye to Sinkapore after 3 years.
Who u want 2 be,my daughter-in law or my son????
Originally posted by yamizi:What are been exhibited and what you will be going through will be totally different.
I agree.
I agree.
I kena told many of the PRC joined full time go into Civil Defence.
oh...but why?
Can Singaporeans upgrade to be PRs. Will there be a long queue for the upgrade, longer than free goodies queue. Ha Ha Ha
oh...but why?
I think it mayb due to safety reason such as intelligence clearance.
Originally posted by Changeweneed:Can Singaporeans upgrade to be PRs. Will there be a long queue for the upgrade, longer than free goodies queue. Ha Ha Ha
Local upgrade to be citizen of other countries cause 1000 locals have given up their citizenship for the past three years.
Don't!!!Cannot play Airsoft.At least move to a place where you can eat chewing gum.Here is safe,but too safe for your own good till the freedom is restricted.
PR not good... be a Singaporean if u wanna stay in singapore. if not, get out of here...
well, if anybody is smart,they wouldnt take up citizenship, unless they are sportsmen, which require them to be citizens before they can represent singapore.
Originally posted by deathmaster:well, if anybody is smart,they wouldnt take up citizenship, unless they are sportsmen, which require them to be citizens before they can represent singapore.
I think the govt is trying to increase the local population since many local refused to give or delayed giving birth.
i received ICA letters on a regular basis addressing to my ex-china tenants in SG and pursuading them to take up citizenships. obviously, they didnt bother.
Originally posted by fishbuff1:i received ICA letters on a regular basis addressing to my ex-china tenants in SG and pursuading them to take up citizenships. obviously, they didnt bother.
Of course they don't bother. There is no real benefit to convert.
Being a PR, can already enjoy most, if not, more benefits than being a Singaporean, why anyone will be so stupid to give up their own citizenship to convert?
I think the govt is trying to increase the local population since many local refused to give or delayed giving birth.
Soon, we will be a nation which made up mostly of PR and foreigners.
By the way, do other countries also count PR and foreigners when coming up with their population statistic?