Originally posted by Display Name:I can come out with 10 more options for this question.
But it seems like you are trying to suan someone by asking this questin, of coz choosing A lah.
No. I don't need to suan anyone. As i had mention, there is no right or wrong answer. No one will be penalise unless they wish to twist what i had written and come out with something else. If so, please start your own thread. It is just a simple test. It is called moral dilemma.
Very often in our lives, we will face such issues. This test is just to let you know for yourself where you stand should one day you face such a situation.
Thank you for your contribution.
This is a hypothetical situation to asses your ability to take responsibility for your actions. The purpose is so that you may understand those who are placed in position of leadership will face many difficult decisions. I had my own far share even as a private citizen.It is easy being armchair critics to criticise others, but if you were place in that position of responsibility, what would you have done?
You are the Captain of a passenger ship with 500 passengers and 50 crew members.
Travelling inthe middle of the ocean, the engine room caught fire. Standard Operating Procedures were to seal the exit door of the engine room and turn on the fire control system to contain the fire.
But a group of 15 young and brash officers decided to take matters into their own hands, believing that they could put out the fire with fire fighting equipment.
You scream over the intercom for them to get out, but they don't respond as you see them there fighting the fire on your video screen. The fire gets worse and if it is not contained by sealing the door immediately, it will engulf the entire ship and kill everyone aboard.
Your finger is laying on the button to seal the door. You left only 1 second. would you:-
a.) Seal the door, thereby killing the 15 officers, or
b.) leave the door open, allowing the fire to rage outside the engine room and destroy the whole ship, killing everyone?
There is no right or wrong answer. You will have to face moral issues over the decision yourself. If you wish to participate in this test, just answer a. or b. If you contribute more than one letter, then you would have killed all, for you would have taken more than 1 second and that 1 second will doom everyone.
Leadership responsibility test 2:
If you are the captain of a ship, you as the captain make $3.7 millions, while your lieutenants make $2.5 millions and your deck hands (sailors) make $20,000.
When the price of living goes up, your sailors are not making enough to provide basic necessities for their elderly parents, wife and children.
Will you as a leader:
1) Ask the ship owner to reduce the salary of the captain and lieutenants, distribute the excess of these salaries to help your ship crew.
or
2) Greedily keep all the money for yourself at the same time asking the ship owner for more salary because you get more from selling backside at the docks. Since you are no longer selling backside at the docks, you demand the same payment as you would get from selling backside.
What kind of moral leader do you think we have? (1) or (2)
There is no right or wrong answer, it's only a question of morality.
Originally posted by maurizio13:Leadership responsibility test 2:
If you are the captain of a ship, you as the captain make $3.7 millions, while your lieutenants make $2.5 millions and your deck hands (sailors) make $20,000.
When the price of living goes up, your sailors are not making enough to provide basic necessities for their elderly parents, wife and children.
Will you as a leader:
1) Ask the ship owner to reduce the salary of the captain and lieutenants, distribute the excess of these salaries to help your ship crew.
or
2) Greedily keep all the money for yourself at the same time asking the ship owner for more salary because you get more from selling backside at the docks. Since you are no longer selling backside at the docks, you demand the same payment as you would get from selling backside.
Maurizo, would you like to start your own thread? Why link yours with me? Are you so fearful that others may agree with my views that you must force them to listen to yours?
By all means, then, go ahead. Force all here to bow before your perceptions. I do no such things and will not treat my fellow citizens the way your kind do.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:Maurizo, would you like to start your own thread? Why link yours with me? Are you so fearful that others may agree with my views that you must force them to listen to yours?
By all means, then, go ahead. Force all here to bow before your perceptions. I do no such things and will not treat my fellow citizens the way your kind do.
If I start similar thread later thread gets ban, because it's the same leadership responsibility test. ![]()
Originally posted by DeerHunter:No. I don't need to suan anyone. As i had mention, there is no right or wrong answer. No one will be penalise unless they wish to twist what i had written and come out with something else. If so, please start your own thread. It is just a simple test. It is called moral dilemma.
Very often in our lives, we will face such issues. This test is just to let you know for yourself where you stand should one day you face such a situation.
This is a hypothetical situation to asses your ability to take responsibility for your actions. The purpose is so that you may understand those who are placed in position of leadership will face many difficult decisions. I had my own far share even as a private citizen.It is easy being armchair critics to criticise others, but if you were place in that position of responsibility, what would you have done?
You are the Captain of a passenger ship with 500 passengers and 50 crew members.
Travelling inthe middle of the ocean, the engine room caught fire. Standard Operating Procedures were to seal the exit door of the engine room and turn on the fire control system to contain the fire.
But a group of 15 young and brash officers decided to take matters into their own hands, believing that they could put out the fire with fire fighting equipment.
You scream over the intercom for them to get out, but they don't respond as you see them there fighting the fire on your video screen. The fire gets worse and if it is not contained by sealing the door immediately, it will engulf the entire ship and kill everyone aboard.
Your finger is laying on the button to seal the door. You left only 1 second. would you:-
b.) leave the door open, allowing the fire to rage outside the engine room and destroy the whole ship, killing everyone?
There is no right or wrong answer. You will have to face moral issues over the decision yourself. If you wish to participate in this test, just answer a. or b. If you contribute more than one letter, then you would have killed all, for you would have taken more than 1 second and that 1 second will doom everyone.
I think this scenario given by DeerHunter hardly describes the situation our government is facing.
The facts are, the government has huge amount of reserves, in the past they told us that the reserves will be used to help citizens through difficult times should it arise. But difficult times are upon us and they have gone back on their words.
This is more a case of having 2 rooms in a villa, one room is where the elites will feast on meat and wine; while another room for the poor with only porridge to eat. Alot like Manor Farm.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I think this scenario given by DeerHunter hardly describes the situation our government is facing.
The facts are, the government has huge amount of reserves, in the past they told us that the reserves will be used to help citizens through difficult times should it arise. But difficult times are upon us and they have gone back on their words.
This is more a case of having 2 rooms in a villa, one room is where the elites will feast on meat and wine; while another room for the poor with only porridge to eat. Alot like Manor Farm.
No. I had already mentioned 'moral dilemma'. I am not talking about any particular isolated incident or incidents. It is only a simple test, one each of us will have to go through.
Even i as a private citizen went through it. Nothing as spectacular as people lives being taken away, but equally devasting for lives were impacted by my decision.
I will reveal that i cried and screamed to the stars in the quiet of the night in a far away isolated land at why i was given such a task, but the only answer i had were the stars twinkling away merrily, as if mocking me for being given the chance to play God but am found weak, given the emotional state i was in.
I sincerly hope none will ever be put into such a situation, but i know such hopes will never be realized, for each and everyone of us will face our moral dilemmas one day, sooner or later, and wish them the strength to do what they must do.
What kind of a passenger ship is that? If the officers are properly trained and knew about the fire fighting system in the engine room, they would have evacuated the engine room and closed the door and then activate the automated fire fighting sysem, even if the captain died of a heart attack.
You think the captain can do everything by himself meh? Without his officers?
If captain chooses (a), what a stupid captain ?!
Why restrict the answers to only a or b? This kind of situation cannot possibly happen !
Originally posted by maurizio13:Leadership responsibility test 2:
Will you as a leader:
or
Why so crude?
Say sell mee siam instead lah. ![]()
Two women whom you loved the most fall into the sea - your mother and your wife. They can't swim but you can.
You can only save one. Who will you save if
a) one is swept further away from you by the currents?
b) both of them are equidistant from you but they are 20 metres apart from one another?
There is right and wrong answers.![]()
Lol! Ok, seems like the few of you like to live in denial and hell bent to wreck this thread. By all means. But what's done, had been done. Perhaps for the sake of others, who don't wish to continue to read nonsense here, i declare this thread closed and test done?
Originally posted by DeerHunter:This is a hypothetical situation to asses your ability to take responsibility for your actions. The purpose is so that you may understand those who are placed in position of leadership will face many difficult decisions. I had my own far share even as a private citizen.It is easy being armchair critics to criticise others, but if you were place in that position of responsibility, what would you have done?
Weird ley, why the captian cannot control his crew?
Originally posted by DeerHunter:
No. I don't need to suan anyone. As i had mention, there is no right or wrong answer. No one will be penalise unless they wish to twist what i had written and come out with something else. If so, please start your own thread. It is just a simple test. It is called moral dilemma.
Surely, a 'deerHunter' should be more confident of his own position if he dare to start a thread for open discussion in a public forum ?
Is this not a typical style that has been developed into a kiasu characteristic of Singaporean "leadership" that "all things shall be equal" with the exception of his own rules being applied ?
Why will you see things being twisted unless you have been poor in anticipating events that open itself to several ways of handling the issues ?
Are you so incompetent that you will be so worried of your thread being twisted to serve other purposes - as if your thread has any values for alternative uses ?
Is this not an irony that you should on the one hand attempt to deride the ease of being an armchair critic, but will develop a hypothetical event to further develop the abilities of an armchair critic ?
In the first place, should we not ask for your credentials in making this effort at creating your 'test' ? What is the basis of measuring the results if there are no right or wrong answers ? Who decide the final test results ?
Can we trust you to give us the results, when we do not even know how you score ?
Surely, for one who is so lacking in confidence and have been exposed for all the flawed opinions and views posted will have found it difficult to make any decision - let alone a simple decision to determine if what he sees as a 'deerHunter' is truly the deer that he is seeking to shoot, or was that deer a gazelle ... ?
This test must be the most challenging idiocy created by a wannabe juvenile 'deerHunter' for his own passtime based on some psyco-idiology readings.
Firstly, the captain of the vessel must be either untrustworthy and too willing to abandon ship, when his crew find that the ship can still be salvageable;
or the unspeakable truth is that the captain is too old and senile but insist on commanding the ship well beyond his years - overtaken by technology and skills; and panicking too early for his own good, and that of the ship and passengers - compared to the "group of 15" whom he views as "young and brash" {???}
Secondly, sailing a ship will require trust and confidence in each others skills, abilities, and experience to handle situations of any kind. Has the Captain shown this trust in the skills, training and experience of his subordinates ?
Thirdly, did the captain ask for a situation report and have a clear appreciation of the crisis before attempting to lock out the doors and contain the fire ?
Fourthly, surely the doors of the ship can be opened from both sides manually, allowing anyone to escape from any compartment in the ship - as no naval architect will design a ship as a death trap.
Fifth, is the Captain more knowledgeable of the crisis that is developing, or those who are immediately on the spot ?
By the standards of a juvenile 'deerHunter' there is no right or wrong answer.
Strong leadership require the skills to develop those whom he command, and to trust those skills and training that each of those under his command had received.
Trust and confidence require that those under command should be given the space to operate, and keep the leader informed of the big picture, so that all is within control.
Is it any use to panic, and jump the gun too early ?
How can you hope to be a successful 'deerHunter' if you will pull the trigger so eagerly even before your cock-eyed vision can focus with the cross-hair of your scope ?
Originally posted by Atobe:Surely, a 'deerHunter' should be more confident of his own position if he dare to start a thread for open discussion in a public forum ?
Is this not a typical style that has been developed into a kiasu characteristic of Singaporean "leadership" that "all things shall be equal" with the exception of his own rules being applied ?
Why will you see things being twisted unless you have been poor in anticipating events that open itself to several ways of handling the issues ?
Are you so incompetent that you will be so worried of your thread being twisted to serve other purposes - as if your thread has any values for alternative uses ?
Is this not an irony that you should on the one hand attempt to deride the ease of being an armchair critic, but will develop a hypothetical event to further develop the abilities of an armchair critic ?
In the first place, should we not ask for your credentials in making this effort at creating your 'test' ? What is the basis of measuring the results if there are no right or wrong answers ? Who decide the final test results ?
Can we trust you to give us the results, when we do not even know how you score ?
Surely, for one who is so lacking in confidence and have been exposed for all the flawed opinions and views posted will have found it difficult to make any decision - let alone a simple decision to determine if what he sees as a 'deerHunter' is truly the deer that he is seeking to shoot, or was that deer a gazelle ... ?
This test must be the most challenging idiocy created by a wannabe juvenile 'deerHunter' for his own passtime based on some psyco-idiology readings.
Firstly, the captain of the vessel must be either untrustworthy and too willing to abandon ship, when his crew find that the ship can still be salvageable;
or the unspeakable truth is that the captain is too old and senile but insist on commanding the ship well beyond his years - overtaken by technology and skills; and panicking too early for his own good, and that of the ship and passengers - compared to the "group of 15" whom he views as "young and brash" {???}
Secondly, sailing a ship will require trust and confidence in each others skills, abilities, and experience to handle situations of any kind. Has the Captain shown this trust in the skills, training and experience of his subordinates ?
Thirdly, did the captain ask for a situation report and have a clear appreciation of the crisis before attempting to lock out the doors and contain the fire ?
Fourthly, surely the doors of the ship can be opened from both sides manually, allowing anyone to escape from any compartment in the ship - as no naval architect will design a ship as a death trap.
Fifth, is the Captain more knowledgeable of the crisis that is developing, or those who are immediately on the spot ?
By the standards of a juvenile 'deerHunter' there is no right or wrong answer.
Strong leadership require the skills to develop those whom he command, and to trust those skills and training that each of those under his command had received.
Trust and confidence require that those under command should be given the space to operate, and keep the leader informed of the big picture, so that all is within control.
Is it any use to panic, and jump the gun too early ?
How can you hope to be a successful 'deerHunter' if you will pull the trigger so eagerly even before your cock-eyed vision can focus with the cross-hair of your scope ?
Had enough? I do know for sure you will NEVER make a leader in anycase with all that stupid responsibility shirking questions. How's your PMS? Seems like you have PMS daily. Do watch that anger, your spleen's about to burst. But no matter, as you live in a rubbish bin. I will just collect the bin and cremate it together with you inside. Makes my samaritan job easier.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:Had enough? I do know for sure you will NEVER make a leader in anycase with all that stupid responsibility shirking questions. How's your PMS? Seems like you have PMS daily. Do watch that anger, your spleen's about to burst. But no matter, as you live in a rubbish bin. I will just collect the bin and cremate it together with you inside. Makes my samaritan job easier.
Hmmm .. So what's your ideal leadership should be? Pls do share with us.
Originally posted by poker69:
Weird ley, why the captian cannot control his crew?
More importantly.
Why has the Minister of Fire Safety done? But then, it's an honest mistake, the 15 crew member death is expendable. We must move on, not talk about this anymore.
Originally posted by charlize:
Why so crude?
Say sell mee siam instead lah.
Mee siam difficult to make millions, unless it's mee siam with hum. ![]()
I think if i were to answer the question .. I will said i am useless .. As a captain i am not able to protect my crew and worst of all they do not have trust in mi =(
Seriously, if it's a big fire, I doubt just sealing off the engine room will help. Most likely, the fuel tanks explode and take the whole ship and crew down to the bottom.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:I think if i were to answer the question .. I will said i am useless .. As a captain i am not able to protect my crew and worst of all they do not have trust in mi =(
Good answer, if you are the captain, the fire happened only due to the captain's incompetence. ![]()
Seriously, if it's a big fire, I doubt just sealing off the engine room will help. Most likely, the fuel tanks explode and take the whole ship and crew down to the bottom.
Poseidon ftw dude!
Good answer, if you are the captain, the fire happened only due to the captain's incompetence.
/cry
I may choose the option A.
It seemed that TS is trying to subtlely telling us that for the sake/interest of our country, some people are needed to be sacrificed in times of crisis.
And it seems that DeerHunter and Atobe have turned into arch enemies.
Originally posted by Spartans:I may choose the option A.
It seemed that TS is trying to subtlely telling us that for the sake/interest of our country, some people are needed to be sacrificed in times of crisis.
You are new? DeerHunter = Gazelle = TCH05 = Love Supreme = Guttorosa = Mammalia = Pekei = Aelop =
Gazelle has always been against Atobe, me and a few dozen other forumers. ![]()
Originally posted by Spartans:I may choose the option A.
You should choose option A with a minor correction. The captain should also seal himself in with the crew, since it's his incompetence that led to the fire in the first place. His failure to delegate responsibility to the Minister of Fire Safety.
You are new? DeerHunter = Gazelle = TCH05 = Love Supreme = Guttorosa = Mammalia = Pekei = Aelop =
Gazelle has always been against Atobe, me and a few dozen other forumers.
As I mentioned in another thread, I dun think DeerHunter = Gazelle.
Gazelle is incapable of writing such English standard. His English standard is simply pathetic.