See words in bold. Explains alot on the increasing tarriffs and lack of buffer towards ever increasing petrol price. Petrol price just increases again yesterday woh.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
S'pore sets up two new institutes to boost water research and liveable cities
By S.Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 24 June 2008 1615 hrs
SINGAPORE: Singapore is boosting its capabilities in water
management and sustainable urban development. It will be setting up two
expert bodies - the Institute of Water Policy, under the Lee Kuan Yew
School of Public Policy, and the Centre for Liveable Cities.
Opening the World Cities Summit and the International Water Week,
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said every city's goal of a good living
environment and efficient use of resources cannot be achieved in
isolation.
There is no doubt countries place high importance on issues like
water management, energy efficiency, air quality and urban planning.
That's evident from the overwhelming response from delegates to the
World Cities Summit and the International Water Week.
PM Lee noted that urbanisation is happening at an unprecedented
scale. So to ensure cities remain dynamic engines of growth, sound
urban management policies are needed. And topping that list is energy
conservation.
Mr Lee said: "To achieve results in energy efficiency and
conservation, it is important to get the economics right. Energy,
whether electricity or petrol, should be priced properly and not
subsidised."
At the same time, Mr Lee noted that R&D on clean energy
technologies, including safe nuclear power, needs to be an important
component of mankind's response to global warming.
Another critical element of sustainable living is water management.
The Prime Minister feels that, on the whole, the world is not short of
water but what is lacking are sound water management practices.
He said: "It is not enough to build the best water treatment
plants, and then neglect to protect the water catchments from squatters
or pollution. Ensuring a clean and reliable supply of potable water
requires cities to take an integrated approach - from the reservoirs,
catchment areas and water treatment plants, to the reticulation,
sanitation and sewerage system. "
In Singapore's case, the National Research Foundation has a S$500
million programme to finance research in environmental and water
technologies.
Dr Tony Tan, Chairman, National Research Foundation, said: "These
investments have yielded dramatic reductions in the cost of water from
recycling of used water and desalination through the use of advanced
membrane technology."
As some of Singapore's solutions may be relevant to other emerging
cities, the country's two new institutes on water policy and urban
planning can play a role in collaborative research projects and
information sharing. - CNA/vm
SG is the only country that did not protest against the increasing petrol prices. Also the only country that did not have subsidy for the petrol and most likely similar for electricity and water ...
Thanks to western inventors, we are so lucky to have a chance to produce water at lower cost.
I wonder how is hyflux involved in this. Will it be competing against hyflux or complement it being used by hyflux. I assume its is more cost effective than hyflux's?
Hyflux is the one that collect water from air?
I think it has some niche uses especially in areas where its easier to setup Hyflux than to build a water treatment plant... and the speed of providing water is critical but its unable to produce alot ... Anyways, technology is advancing. I just wish I didn't have to drink newwater. Its a disgusting thought
Originally posted by mistyblue:SG is the only country that did not protest against the increasing petrol prices. Also the only country that did not have subsidy for the petrol and most likely similar for electricity and water ...
YOu have to give thanks to LKY and his PAP gang for this. There is nothing wrong when there is no subsidy as with the present ruling party it is their main "duty" to earn as much money as possible by not allowing any subsidy.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Hyflux is the one that collect water from air?
I think it has some niche uses especially in areas where its easier to setup Hyflux than to build a water treatment plant... and the speed of providing water is critical but its unable to produce alot ... Anyways, technology is advancing. I just wish I didn't have to drink newwater. Its a disgusting thought
Did the management of hyflux invented the water from air technology or was it invented, again, by a western inventor and purchased by the pore?
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Did the management of hyflux invented the water from air technology or was it invented, again, by a western inventor and purchased by the pore?
Don't know leh. I know a guy from my class I attended some time back that he's involved in hyflux - not sure as what role. I didn't know much about hyflux.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
YOu have to give thanks to LKY and his PAP gang for this. There is nothing wrong when there is no subsidy as with the present ruling party it is their main "duty" to earn as much money as possible by not allowing any subsidy.
Its private companies providing electricity and such.... so profits is no1.
But its disheartening to hear that from LHL...
of cuz energy should not be subsidised..or else they will have one less area to suck our money..makes most sense..
protest?? any group more then 5 persons gathering in a public place with a common intention for demostrations, crime..etc will kena arrest. everyone know that..who in the right mind and not in politics will try that?
see what happen to CSJ? he wans to play politics..he got what he asked for for fighting against tranny. he got pretty ok ideas but will not work in a "conservative" asian enviroment like sg. especially his opponent is an azzhole..i mean lawyer..
Originally posted by mistyblue:But its disheartening to hear that from LHL...
Everytime i see those Lees, i feel like slapping their face man. So try to avoid lor.... But as hard as i try to avoid, they just keep appearing. Damn!
Originally posted by domonkassyu:of cuz energy should not be subsidised..or else they will have one less area to suck our money..makes most sense..
protest?? any group more then 5 persons gathering in a public place with a common intention for demostrations, crime..etc will kena arrest. everyone know that..who in the right mind and not in politics will try that?
see what happen to CSJ? he wans to play politics..he got what he asked for for fighting against tranny. he got pretty ok ideas but will not work in a "conservative" asian enviroment like sg. especially his opponent is an azzhole..i mean lawyer..
Precisely, they will not go for anything that make them earn less. Suckers are mbt, lee hsien loon, lKy and pap. They treat us all as money making machines.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Its private companies providing electricity and such.... so profits is no1.
But its disheartening to hear that from LHL...
what is so new . . . . . . . all the while he is like that so what is so disheartening. He is so damn self centred "kind" over the extreme, no wonder he can gain no respect from the people.
The earlier subsidies across the world are removed, the earlier crude prices will fall.
we have an organisation that kpkb over some hawker who priced their chicken rice differently but keep mum over petrol cartel, energy cartel etc.....
Originally posted by mistyblue:See words in bold. Explains alot on the increasing tarriffs and lack of buffer towards ever increasing petrol price. Petrol price just increases again yesterday woh.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By S.Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 24 June 2008 1615 hrsSINGAPORE: Singapore is boosting its capabilities in water management and sustainable urban development. It will be setting up two expert bodies - the Institute of Water Policy, under the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, and the Centre for Liveable Cities.
Opening the World Cities Summit and the International Water Week, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said every city's goal of a good living environment and efficient use of resources cannot be achieved in isolation.
There is no doubt countries place high importance on issues like water management, energy efficiency, air quality and urban planning. That's evident from the overwhelming response from delegates to the World Cities Summit and the International Water Week.
PM Lee noted that urbanisation is happening at an unprecedented scale. So to ensure cities remain dynamic engines of growth, sound urban management policies are needed. And topping that list is energy conservation.
Mr Lee said: "To achieve results in energy efficiency and conservation, it is important to get the economics right. Energy, whether electricity or petrol, should be priced properly and not subsidised."
At the same time, Mr Lee noted that R&D on clean energy technologies, including safe nuclear power, needs to be an important component of mankind's response to global warming.
Another critical element of sustainable living is water management. The Prime Minister feels that, on the whole, the world is not short of water but what is lacking are sound water management practices.
He said: "It is not enough to build the best water treatment plants, and then neglect to protect the water catchments from squatters or pollution. Ensuring a clean and reliable supply of potable water requires cities to take an integrated approach - from the reservoirs, catchment areas and water treatment plants, to the reticulation, sanitation and sewerage system. "
In Singapore's case, the National Research Foundation has a S$500 million programme to finance research in environmental and water technologies.
Dr Tony Tan, Chairman, National Research Foundation, said: "These investments have yielded dramatic reductions in the cost of water from recycling of used water and desalination through the use of advanced membrane technology."
As some of Singapore's solutions may be relevant to other emerging cities, the country's two new institutes on water policy and urban planning can play a role in collaborative research projects and information sharing. - CNA/vm
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:Did the management of hyflux invented the water from air technology or was it invented, again, by a western inventor and purchased by the pore?
Sigh!![]()
Are they try to kill us? This is truly a case of 'luo jing xia shi'. Everything increase, increase, increase and none is beneficial to the people![]()
Originally posted by pearlie27:
Hyflux or western inventor invented water from air technology? Where did you get the info?
oh ya, you are right, I was wrong to say that they make water from air.
I think there is such a device in the market but Hyflux basically does desalination of sea water using membrane technology.
Thus, I think the new lower-cost technology could be positioned to rival Hyflux but then, there is high chance it would not since no body would slap its own face.
So, the new lower-cost technology also uses membrane technology to derive drinkable water. since its said to be lower-cost, I think it is more cost-effective than Hyflux current technology. Else, it would not be labelled as lower-cost.
So, I suspect this technology might complement hyflux potable water-making process. If its not, that is it cannot be used to complement Hyflux tech, it simply means Hyflux may not be as competitive as this new business.
Just my layman point of view.
well, no one owes nobody no living. the best remains only.
Originally posted by pearlie27:
Oh my goodness! i thought Mah BT was a joker when he obfuscated reducing petrol tax as giving subsidize now we have our extraordinary PM repeating the risible spin. Is this the result of brain damaged by too much money?
Birds of the same feathers flocked together, so small minds think alike. Never has lee hsien loong for once think for the good of the people who feed him. He is always introducing, doing things against the good of the people.
Originally posted by Crimsonlknight:Everytime i see those Lees, i feel like slapping their face man. So try to avoid lor.... But as hard as i try to avoid, they just keep appearing. Damn!
I know how you feel. Its happier not to watch TV and see our local news at all.
13th time petrol stations adjust the price up.(It does come down)
5th time electricity tarrif goes up. (this never come down ever)
Originally posted by Lin Yu:we have an organisation that kpkb over some hawker who priced their chicken rice differently but keep mum over petrol cartel, energy cartel etc.....
Yeah that's the irony
Originally posted by FocusPoint:Sigh!
Are they try to kill us? This is truly a case of 'luo jing xia shi'. Everything increase, increase, increase and none is beneficial to the people
everything except our salary :-P
ya da ya da ya da....
eventually they are just trying to say....
NOTHING SHOULD BE SUBSIDISED.
why?
BECAUSE THERES NO FREE LUNCH.
period.
Originally posted by mistyblue:See words in bold. Explains alot on the increasing tarriffs and lack of buffer towards ever increasing petrol price. Petrol price just increases again yesterday woh.
By S.Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 24 June 2008 1615 hrsSINGAPORE: Singapore is boosting its capabilities in water management and sustainable urban development. It will be setting up two expert bodies - the Institute of Water Policy, under the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, and the Centre for Liveable Cities.
Opening the World Cities Summit and the International Water Week, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said every city's goal of a good living environment and efficient use of resources cannot be achieved in isolation.
There is no doubt countries place high importance on issues like water management, energy efficiency, air quality and urban planning. That's evident from the overwhelming response from delegates to the World Cities Summit and the International Water Week.
PM Lee noted that urbanisation is happening at an unprecedented scale. So to ensure cities remain dynamic engines of growth, sound urban management policies are needed. And topping that list is energy conservation.
Mr Lee said: "To achieve results in energy efficiency and conservation, it is important to get the economics right. Energy, whether electricity or petrol, should be priced properly and not subsidised."
At the same time, Mr Lee noted that R&D on clean energy technologies, including safe nuclear power, needs to be an important component of mankind's response to global warming.
Another critical element of sustainable living is water management. The Prime Minister feels that, on the whole, the world is not short of water but what is lacking are sound water management practices.
He said: "It is not enough to build the best water treatment plants, and then neglect to protect the water catchments from squatters or pollution. Ensuring a clean and reliable supply of potable water requires cities to take an integrated approach - from the reservoirs, catchment areas and water treatment plants, to the reticulation, sanitation and sewerage system. "
In Singapore's case, the National Research Foundation has a S$500 million programme to finance research in environmental and water technologies.
Dr Tony Tan, Chairman, National Research Foundation, said: "These investments have yielded dramatic reductions in the cost of water from recycling of used water and desalination through the use of advanced membrane technology."
As some of Singapore's solutions may be relevant to other emerging cities, the country's two new institutes on water policy and urban planning can play a role in collaborative research projects and information sharing. - CNA/vm
Look, I sincerly empathise with those who are hit hard by the energy crisis. Even if we were to take public transport, cut down the amount of cars and buses, or save electricity, the fact is, oil will still not drop, or drop to significant levels.
Because oil is a commodity heavily used for industrialization. Factories, manufacturing, and shipments rely on it. The only real way oil will be go down is to STOP buying consumer goods altogether! But it would not be realistic, hell no, not even me would give up on my new hp or HDTV.
We need alternative energy research. And rather than to bitch and moan and blame everyone else under the sun, lets think positively - sustainable approach.
Oil prices will continue to rise as economies get more affluent and demand for better manufactured consumer goods. Much of oil costs will be added to the costings and passed on to us. Thus, if we want a certain lifestyle, then we best be prepared to pay more for it, AT OUR OWN EXPENSE AND NOT OUR FELLOW CITIZEN'S EXPENSE, thru the cries for subsidies and tax cuts.
Either we learn to accept reality and live within our means or we make everyone else pay for our selfish desire of materialism.
Originally posted by mistyblue:SG is the only country that did not protest against the increasing petrol prices. Also the only country that did not have subsidy for the petrol and most likely similar for electricity and water ...
... correction; it isn't that we DID NOT...
... we are all NOT ALLOWED to protest against the increases...
... people are just hanging on by their fingernails, and all pent up inside...
.. what's gonna give? Who knows...?