Hi Friends,
Assuming there is such a thing as saturation where no more hike can be applied on certain costs of living :
1. ERP hike, hypothetically lets say it reaches its ceiling at $20 per entry.
2. GST hike, hypothetically lets say it reaches 1st world 'standard' of 25 %.
3. Parking lets say $10 per 30 minutes. HDB season lets say $200 per month
4. Petrol lets say $10 per litre.
5. Diesel lets say $8 per litre.
6. Road tax lets say $5 000 per year.
7. Car Maintenance lets say 6months costs you minimum $1000 per visit.
What else can be increased after these psychological limits have reached?
I mean how can this last for another 50 years?
What else might then be introduced?
New champions?
Ciggies -> $50?
Sounds like Hyperinflation
increase until that stage quite crazy liao. next time maybe got flying vehicles, so they will charge airspace, airways.. :P
Originally posted by mistyblue:Ciggies -> $50?
Sounds like Hyperinflation
oh yeah, good point, that could be one way.
hawker food stalls, lets say rentals doubled or trippled. The cost is easily addressed by price hikes by the seller to the eaters. say 1 plat char kuay tiao hiked to $15 per plate (1st world standard).
bus fare - $3 per every 3 bus stops travelled.
taxi fare - $20 per entry, ermm... I mean just flag down a cab and hopping on board, world class meter shows $20 and counting. This does not include ERP and peak hours. say, 7am - 8am : surcharge of $10; 8am-9am : surcharge of $15 ; 9am - 10am : surcharge of $20 (yi si , yi si only).
hair cut - 10minute-haircut price hike to $25 per basic fundamental cut. (according to 1st world standard)
electricity - average house bill hiked to $500 per month.
Water - average house bill hiked to $400 per month.
Flat - average leasing fee for home ownership for $1 million for a 4 room .
Above all hypotheticals.
Assuming come true, wow, good good ah . Everyone not only have to be millionaire but mulit-millionaires if they able to survive in town.
Cheers!!!
Originally posted by cuddles:increase until that stage quite crazy liao. next time maybe got flying vehicles, so they will charge airspace, airways.. :P
well, anything is possible now that oil price cannot be stopped by no man. :(
Wah under this kind of hike, then my salary better also hike.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Wah under this kind of hike, then my salary better also hike.
4 room costs 1mil. Thinking about it, its not as farfetched as it sounds, to me.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Wah under this kind of hike, then my salary better also hike.
And we need to ask ourselves, why western MNCs invest in Asia?
Cheaper labour?
We need to just ask ourselves, can the pore really pay its people 1st world salary like that found in the west?
Costs will surely keep going up. But salary may not go up in tandem.
Imagine porean salary costs the same as 1st world and cost of living is also 1st world.
will there still be economic miracle and the 4 dragonflys?
and I have not even included the cost of educating a person to 1st world tertiary education level. I optimistically estimated that to be no less than $1 0 0 0 , 0 0 0 per head. And that is coming from your pocket. Work harder.
Maybe the moment your kid is born in the hospital, they slap not just your kid's bum but also slap a tax on you.
Maybe.
Just maybe.![]()
they will start charging u air that u breathe in.
tax u for the CO2 u breathe out. as well as farts for contributing to greenhouse gases.
tax u for walking around the island.wasting land spaces.
tax drivers and riders for just by being around will increase chance of RTA.
have a an1 ju1 le4 ye4(safe housing and happy job) tax.
shui4 shui4 ping2 an1(peace for every year) tax.
ai1 jia1 ai1 hu4 (every family) tax. kena tax just because we form a family.
internet tax.
using public resource like police,ambulance tax
(Fill in the blank) tax..
they happy they can tink of all kinds of tax n fines to siphon our money. tink income tax lor..we earn our keep, we kena tax for tat..
1. Like US lor.....car less than 2 persons cannot drive outer lanes.
2. HDB dwellers can only buy cars with less than 1000cc engine.
3. Buy one motorbike get 3 free.
4. Income tax increase another 50% for transportation fee.
5. Shut down petrol stations.
6. Limit the number of car mechanics.
7. Car inspections 4 times a year!
8. Must wear helmet when driving.
9. No air-con allowed when driving.
10. Re introduce Trams.
The cool laws:
11. 4-day work week.
12. Show your publics transport ticket to get huge discounts.